DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Any rejections and or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are currently pending.
Claim 17 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-16, and 18-21 are currently rejected.
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuang, U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2015/0203395 A1.Claims 11, 12, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuang, U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2015/0203395 A1 in view of Amma et al., International Patent Publication WO2018/235725 A1.Claim 6 has an objection for depending from a rejected claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted 14 November 2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or second paragraph
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 provides for a glass composition in terms of percentages of the individual compounds, Nb2O5, La2O3, and Gd2O3, but does not define if the percentage is in terms of mass % or mole %. This renders the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the claims are read in terms of mass or weight percentages.
Claim 20 provides for a glass composition in terms of percentages of the individual compounds, Nb2O5, La2O3, and Gd2O3, but does not define if the percentage is in terms of mass % or mole %. This renders the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the claims are read in terms of mass or weight percentages.
Claims 2-16, 18, 19, and 21 are rejected as indefinite since they depend either directly or indirectly from claims 1 and 20 without correcting the issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuang, U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2015/0203395 A1.
Kuang discloses an optical glass composition comprising in terms of mass percentages: 1-13% of SiO2, 6-15% of B2O3, 5-22% of TiO2, 35-60% of La2O3, 1-15% of Gd2O3, 2-10% of ZrO2, 1-15% of Nb2O5, 0.5-8% of ZnO, 0-8% of WO3, 0-10% of Y2O3, 0-8% of MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO, and 0-0.1% of Sb2O3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0022]-[031]. Kuang discloses the optical glass has a refractive index of 1.95-2.07 See paragraph [0032]. Kuang discloses the optical glass has an Abbe number of 25-35. See paragraph [0032]. Kuang discloses the optical glass is an optical element used in optical devices. See paragraphs [0002]-[0005]. The compositional ranges of Kuang are sufficiently specific to anticipate the optical glass as recited in claims 1—10, 13-15, 20, and 21. See MPEP 2131.03.
Specifically, as to claim 1, Kuang discloses Examples 1-40 (see Tables 1-4), which reads on an optical glass comprising 1-30 mass% of Nb2O5, 10-60 mass% of La2O3, and 1-20 mass% of Gd2O3, a refractive index from 1.9-2.3, as recited in instant claim 1. Since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kuang would inherently possess the t450 property as recited in claim 1. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
As to claim 2, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kuang would inherently possess the t520 property as recited in claim 2. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 3, Kuang discloses the glass comprises 5-22 mass% of TiO2, (see paragraph [0024]), since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kuang would inherently possess the Ti2+/Ti4+ property as recited in claim 3. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 4, Kuang discloses the glass comprises 1-15 mass% of Nb2O5, (see paragraph [0027]), since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kuang would inherently possess the Nb2+/Nb5+ property as recited in claim 4. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 5, Kuang discloses Examples 1-40 (see Tables 1-4), which reads on the optical glass comprising 1-20% of SiO2, 1-25% of B2O3, and 1-30% of TiO2, as recited in instant claim 5.
As to claim 6, Kuang discloses Examples 1-10, 12, 13, 15-21, 23-37, 39, and 40 (see Tables 1-4), which reads on the optical glass comprising in terms of mass percentages 0-15% of ZrO2 and 0-5% of Y2O3, as recited in instant claim 6.
As to claim 7, Kuang discloses Examples 1-40 (see Tables 1-4), which reads on the comprising in terms of mass percentages 0-5% of CaO and 0-5% of SrO, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 8, Kuang discloses the glass comprises 6-15 mass% of B2O3 and 1-13 mass% of SiO2 (see paragraphs [0022] and [0023]), since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kuang would inherently possess the B3+/Si4+ property as recited in claim 8. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 9, Kuang discloses Examples 1-40 (see Tables 1-4), which reads on the optical glass comprising substantially no arsenic, fluorine, and lead, as recited in instant claim 9.
As to claim 10, Kuang discloses Examples 1-40 (see Tables 1-4), which reads on the optical glass having an Abbe number of 20-35, as recited in instant claim 10.
As to claim 13, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kuang would inherently possess the same liquidus viscosity property as recited in claim 13. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 14, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kuang would inherently possess the same thermal expansion coefficient of at most 95 x 10-7/°C, as recited in instant claim 14. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 15, since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Kuang would inherently possess the same density of at most 5.5 g/cm3, as recited in instant claim 15. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 16, Amma et al. disclose the optical glass is a light guide plate (see paragraph [0004]), which reads on the light guide plate as recited in instant claim 16.
As to claim 20, Kuang discloses Examples 2, 12, 15, 32, and 34-37 (see Tables 1-4), which reads on an optical glass comprising 6.1-9% of Nb2O5, 45-50.5% of La2O3, and 6-9% of Gd2O3, as recited in instant claim 20.
As to claim 21, Kuang discloses Examples 2, 12, and 15 (see Tables 1-2), which reads on an optical glass having a refractive index of 1.95-2.00, as recited in instant claim 21.
Claims 11, 12, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuang, U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2015/0203395 A1 in view of Amma et al., International Patent Publication WO2018/235725 A1.
This rejection is over the International Patent Publication because this reference qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). However, for convenience, the column and line numbers of the English language equivalent US Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0123044 A1 will be cited below.
Kuang teaches an optical glass composition comprising in terms of mass percentages: 1-13% of SiO2, 6-15% of B2O3, 5-22% of TiO2, 35-60% of La2O3, 1-15% of Gd2O3, 2-10% of ZrO2, 1-15% of Nb2O5, 0.5-8% of ZnO, 0-8% of WO3, 0-10% of Y2O3, 0-8% of MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO, and 0-0.1% of Sb2O3. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0022]-[031]. Kuang teaches the optical glass has a refractive index of 1.95-2.07 See paragraph [0032]. Kuang teaches the optical glass has an Abbe number of 25-35. See paragraph [0032]. Kuang teaches the optical glass is an optical element used in optical devices. See paragraphs [0002]-[0005]. Kuang teaches Examples 1-40 (tables 1-4) which read on the compositional limitations of claim 1.
Kuang fails to teach that the glass has the recited thickness, long diameter, and that the glass is a light guide, for various wearable image display devices.
Amma et al. teach an optical glass composition comprising in terms of mass percentages: 0-70% of SiO2, 5-70% of Nb2O5, 0-0% of Ta2O5, 0-15% of Li2O, 0-20% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, 0-30% of SrO, 0-550% of BaO, 0-55% of TiO2, 0-55% of ZrO2, 0-55% of WO3, 0-55% of Bi2O3, 0-55% of TeO2, and 1-55% of Ln2O3, where Ln is at least one of Y, La, Gd, Yb, and Lu. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0085]-[0106]. Amma et al. teach the optical glass has a thickness of 0.01-2 mm. See paragraph [0044]. Amma et al. teach the optical glass have an area of 8cm2 (800 mm2) or even 6,500cm2 (650,000 mm2). See paragraph [0045]. Amma et al. teach the optical glass is an optical plate useful in various devices such as glasses with projector, glass or goggle type displays, or virtual reality displays. See paragraph [0128]. The compositional ranges of Amma et al. are sufficiently similar to the glasses of Kuang.
As to claim 11, Kuang as modified by Amma et al. teach the optical glass plate has a thickness of 0.01-2 mm (see paragraph [0044]), which reads on the optical glass having a thickness of at most 1 mm, as recited in instant claim 11.
As to claim 12, Kuang as modified by Amma et al. teach the area of the main surface of the optical glass is at least 8 cm2 (800 mm2) and more preferably at least 6,500 cm2 (650,000 mm2) wherein one dimension of the main surface would be of at least 50 mm (see paragraph [0045]), which reads on the optical glass having a long diameter of the main surface of 50 mm or longer, as recited in instant claim 12.
As to claim 16, Kuang as modified by Amma et al. teach the optical glass is a light guide plate (see paragraph [0004]), which reads on the light guide plate as recited in instant claim 16.
As to claims 18 and 19, Kuang as modified by Amma et al. teach the optical glass is a light guide plate in different products such as wearable equipment including glasses with projector, glass and goggle type displays, and virtual reality display devices (see paragraph [0128]), which reads on the light guide plate being a wearable image device selected from eyeglasses with a projector, eyeglasses or goggle type displays, virtual reality or augmented reality display devices, and virtual image display devices; and the wearable image display device, as recited in instant claims 18 and 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 10 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19 under 102(a)(1) over Amma et al. (WO 2018/235725 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a 103 rejection of Kuang in view of Amma et al. as shown in the rejection above.
Conclusion
The additional references cited on the 892 have been cited as art of interest since they are considered to be cumulative to or less than the art relied upon in the rejections above. Specifically, U.S. Patent Application Publications US 2003/0040422 A1 and US 4,584,279.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
29 December 2025
EAB