DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application, filed 1 March, 2022, is a national stage application of PCT/US20/49147, filed 3 September, 2020, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application 62/896,116, filed 5 September, 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6 April, 2026, is acknowledged and has been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (Formula I, wherein B1 is an optionally substituted heteroaryl), and Species – Compound 469, shown to the right, in the reply filed on 5 September, 2025 is maintained.
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s claimed invention, filed 6 April, 2026, in the matter of Application N° 17/639,401. Said documents have been entered on the record.
Claims 1, 5, 18, 73, 95, and 117 are amended. Claims 2 and 56 are canceled. No new matter was introduced.
Thus, Claims 1, 5, 18, 24, 73, 91, 95, 116-118, 120-124, 126-127, and 131 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Response to Arguments
Claim 2 and the previously withdrawn Claim 56 have been canceled. Therefore, the rejections of these claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 and Double Patenting are moot.
Applicant's arguments filed 6 April, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
While Applicant’s amendments clarify and narrow the claim language, they do not overcome the obviousness or double patenting rejections, as they primarily refine the previously recited genus to more closely correspond to the elected species without introducing a patentably distinct feature.
The requirement for restriction/election is maintained. Group II remains proper, and the election of species is also maintained. The elected species, Compound 469, is expressly taught by Pitis, which discloses the identical compound and its S1P1 receptor modulating activity.
Applicant argues that Pitis teaches compounds that are selective for S1P1, whereas fingolimod of Pitsch is a broader S1P agonist (S1P1, S1P3, S1P4 and S1P5), and that Pitsch does not disclose or suggest that selective S1P1 modulation would be effective in treating epilepsy, particularly in view of reported augmentation of S1P1 and S1P3 in TLE models. Applicant concludes that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to use the selective S1P1 compounds of Pitis for treating epilepsy (Remarks, Pg. 12, Para 1).
This argument is not persuasive.
Pitsch teaches that modulation of sphingosine-1-phosphate receptors (S1PRs) produces anti-epileptic and anti-convulsant effects in temporal lobe epilepsy models, thereby implicating S1P receptor signaling in seizure modulation. Fingolimod, as described in Pitsch, targets multiple S1P receptor subtypes, including S1P1, and exhibits robust anti-convulsant and neuroprotective effects (2018, Abstract). Accordingly, Pitsch establishes that S1P receptor modulation, including S1P1, is therapeutically relevant to epilepsy.
The fact that fingolimod modulates multiple S1P receptor subtypes does not limit the teaching of Pitsch to multi-receptor activity, nor does it suggest that such multi-receptor modulation is required for efficacy. Pitsch does not teach that activity at S1P3 or other receptors is necessary, nor does it indicate that selective S1P1 modulation would be ineffective. Rather, S1P1 is expressly among the receptors targeted and therefore implicated in the observed therapeutic effects.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the S1P1-modulating compounds of Pitis to the treatment of epilepsy with a reasonable expectation of success, because Pitsch teaches that modulation of S1P receptors produces anti-convulsive effects, and S1P1 is a known member of this receptor family (see MPEP §2143.02).
To the extent Applicant relies on the newly discovered use of the compounds for treating epilepsy, such discovery does not render the claimed invention non-obvious. The compounds of Pitis are identical and already know to modulate S1P1 receptor activity, and Pitsch provides motivation to apply S1P receptor modulators to epilepsy. Thus, the claimed method represents the application of a known compound to a therapeutic use suggested by the prior art (see MPEP §2144.07).
Further, any difference in receptor selectivity represents, at most, routine optimization of known S1P receptor modulators and does not confer patentable distinction in the absence of evidence of unexpected results (see MPEP §2144.05 II).
Accordingly, for the reasons set forth above, the rejections for Claims 1, 5, 18, 24, 73, 91, 95, 116-118, 120-124, and 131 under 35 U.S.C. 103 and Double Patenting are maintained.
Regarding Claims 126-127, Applicant argues that Whalley does not cure the alleged deficiencies of Pitis and Pitsch because Whalley teaches administration of CBD in combination with standard anti-epileptic drugs, and that the S1P1 modulators of Pitis would not have been considered standard anti-epileptic drugs (Remarks, Pg. 12, Para 3).
This argument is not persuasive.
Pitis and Pitsch, as discussed above, teach the use of the claimed compounds, including Compound 469, for the treatment of epilepsy. Whalley is not relied upon to teach S1P1-modulating compounds, but rather to teach the well-established practice of administering an anti-epileptic agent in combination with one or more additional anti-epileptic drugs including those recited in the claims.
Once a compound is known or suggested to be useful in the treatment of epilepsy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer such a compound in combination with other known anti-epileptic drugs, as taught by Whalley, because combination therapy is a known and common approach in the treatment of epilepsy to improve therapeutic outcomes. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer the compounds of Pitis and Pitsch in combination with at least one additional anti-epileptic drug, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant’s argument that the claimed compounds are not “standard” anti-epileptic drugs is not commensurate with the scope of the claims, which do not require that the claimed compound itself be a standard anti-epileptic drug, but merely require co-administration with another anti-epileptic drug. Whalley expressly teaches such co-administration.
Accordingly, for the reasons set forth above, the rejections for Claims 126-127 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Additionally, below can be found new objections necessitated by amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 117 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims recite substituent variables for “R30” that no longer correspond to any position in the recited chemical structures. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (MAINTAINED)
Claims 1, 5, 18, 24, 73, 91, 95, 116-118, 120-124, and 131 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pitis et al. (WO 2018/231745 Al, cited in IDS), hereinafter Pitis, and Pitsch et al. (Molecular Neurobiology (2019) 56:1825–1840, Published 22 June 2018, Issue Date March 2019), hereinafter Pitsch.
Reference ‘745 shares the same Assignee with instant application.
Pitis teaches compounds, or pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, or pharmaceutical compositions thereof, for modulating the activity of S1P1 receptor and methods of using the same (‘745, Abstract.)
Regarding Claims 1 and 18, Pitis teaches methods of treating or preventing pain or cancer, the methods comprise administering one or more compounds of Formula I,
, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (‘745, Pg. 18, as in instant Claim 1), wherein AA is
(as in instant Claim 18), W is O, X is O, n is 1, R2 is a C2 alkyl – an ethyl group, R3 is a C2 alkyl – an ethyl group, B2, B3, and B4 are each independently CR38, R38 is H, B1 is a non-substituted heteroaryl, and D1 is a non-substituted [hetero]aryl.
Regarding Claims 5, Pitis teaches D1 and B1 are
(‘745, Pg. 19), wherein Z1 is N, Z2 is N, Z3 is O, and D1 is a non-substituted [hetero]aryl.
Regarding Claim 73, Pitis teaches
(‘745, Pg. 24), wherein Z6 is NR40, R40 is H, Z7 is N, Z8 and Z9 are each independently CR41, R41 is H, R35 is H, and R36 is H.
Regarding Claim 91, Pitis teaches
(‘745, Pg. 24.)
Regarding Claim 95 and 116, Pitis teaches Compound 469,
(‘745, Pg. 25-26, 222, 270-271, and 349-350, Claim 116.)
Regarding Claim 117, Pitis teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising one or more compounds as provided or described herein, and further, methods comprising administering pharmaceutical compositions thereof (‘745, Pg. 26-27.)
Regarding Claim 118, Pitis teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising one or more compounds as described herein, which can also comprise a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Regarding Claim 131, Pitis teaches amount of compound to be administered is that amount which is therapeutically effective (‘745, Pg. 139.)
Pitis fails to teach modulating the activity of S1P1 receptor is effective in methods for treating and/or preventing epilepsy and epilepsy-related syndromes.
However, Pitsch teaches therapeutic effects in temporal lobe epilepsy (TLE) with the immunomodulator fingolimod, which targets sphingosine-phosphate receptors (S1PRs), and found it exerted robust anti-convulsive activity in kainate-induced SE mice treated in the chronic TLE stage (as in instant Claims 120-124) and had neuroprotective and anti-gliotic effects and reduced cytotoxic T cell infiltrates (2019, Pg. 1825, Abstract.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the S1P1 modulating compounds taught by Pitis, for the treatment of epilepsy in view of Pitsch, which establishes that modulation of S1P1 is effective in reducing seizures associated with temporal lobe epilepsy. One would have been motivated to make this application because Pitis identifies the compound’s activity at S1P1, and Pitsch expressly links S1P1 modulation with anticonvulsant benefit, thereby suggesting that known S1P1 modulators, such as Pitis’s Compound 469, would be useful as anti-epileptic agents. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Pitsch teaches that the mechanism of S1P1 modulation itself confers seizure control, making it obvious to apply the S1P1-modulating compound of Pitis to epilepsy broadly, including temporal lobe and other forms of epilepsy.
Claims 126-127 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pitis (WO 2018/231745 Al), and Pitsch (Molecular Neurobiology (2019) 56:1825–1840), as applied to Claims 1, 5, 18, 24, 73, 91, 95, 116-118, 120-124, and 131 above, and further in view of Whalley et al. (WO 2012/093255 A1), hereinafter Whalley.
Regarding Claims 126-127, Whalley teaches a method for the treatment of epilepsy, which comprises administering to a subject in need thereof, cannabidiol (CBD) in combination with a standard antiepileptic drug (SAED) (‘255, Pg. 5-6, Para 0032), such as ethosuximide, valproate and Phenobarbital (‘255, Pg. 7, Para 0053.) The combinations are particularly well suited in the treatment of conditions generally considered refractory to existing medication, and have proven beneficial in one or more of the following: reducing the incidence of tonic-clonic seizures, increasing the amount of time a patient is seizure free, increasing the latency to onset of seizure, decreasing the overall duration of the seizure; and reducing the severity and mortality of the seizures (‘255, Pg. 6, Para 0037.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the Compound 469 for the treatment of Epilepsy, in view of the teachings of Pitis and Pitsch, in combination with standard anti-epileptic drugs as taught by Whalley, because Whalley establishes that co-administration of novel agents with conventional AEDs is a recognized strategy in epilepsy treatment, and one would have reasonably expected that combining Compound 469 with standard AEDs would yield effective seizure control.
Double Patenting (MAINTAINED)
Claims 1, 5, 18, 24, 73, 91, 95, 116-118, 120-124, and 131 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,912,693 in view of Pitsch (Molecular Neurobiology (2019) 56:1825–1840).
Patent ‘693 also teaches “Compound 469” (the instantly elected Species), for modulating the activity of S1P1 receptor, pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, pharmaceutical compositions thereof, and methods of using the same, but cite different conditions and diseases.
However, Pitsch teaches therapeutic effects in temporal lobe epilepsy (TLE) with the immunomodulator fingolimod, which targets sphingosine-phosphate receptors (S1PRs), and found it exerted robust anti-convulsive activity in kainate-induced SE mice treated in the chronic TLE stage and had neuroprotective and anti-gliotic effects and reduced cytotoxic T cell infiltrates (2019, Pg. 1825, Abstract.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the S1P1 modulating compounds taught by Patent ‘693, for the treatment of epilepsy in view of Pitsch, which establishes that modulation of S1P1 is effective in reducing seizures associated with temporal lobe epilepsy. One would have been motivated to use this compound because Patent ‘693 identifies the compound’s activity at S1P1, and Pitsch expressly links S1P1 modulation with anticonvulsant benefit, thereby suggesting that known S1P1 modulators, such as Compound 469, would be useful as anti-epileptic agents. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Pitsch teaches that the mechanism of S1P1 modulation itself confers seizure control, making it obvious to apply the S1P1-modulating compound of Patent ‘693 to epilepsy broadly, including temporal lobe and other forms of epilepsy.
Claims 1, 5, 18, 24, 73, 91, 95, 116-118, 120-124, and 131 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 125-129 and 133-141 of copending Application No. 18/296,018 in view of Pitsch (Molecular Neurobiology (2019) 56:1825–1840).
‘018 teaches the genus of Formula 1 and the instantly elected species “Compound 469”, for modulating the activity of S1P1 receptor, pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, pharmaceutical compositions thereof, and methods of using the same, but cite different conditions and diseases.
However, Pitsch teaches therapeutic effects in temporal lobe epilepsy (TLE) with the immunomodulator fingolimod, which targets sphingosine-phosphate receptors (S1PRs), and found it exerted robust anti-convulsive activity in kainate-induced SE mice treated in the chronic TLE stage and had neuroprotective and anti-gliotic effects and reduced cytotoxic T cell infiltrates (2019, Pg. 1825, Abstract.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the S1P1 modulating compounds taught by ‘018, for the treatment of epilepsy in view of Pitsch, which establishes that modulation of S1P1 is effective in reducing seizures associated with temporal lobe epilepsy. One would have been motivated to use this compound because ‘018 identifies the compound’s activity at S1P1, and Pitsch expressly links S1P1 modulation with anticonvulsant benefit, thereby suggesting that known S1P1 modulators, such as Compound 469, would be useful as anti-epileptic agents. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Pitsch teaches that the mechanism of S1P1 modulation itself confers seizure control, making it obvious to apply the S1P1-modulating compound of ‘018 to epilepsy broadly, including temporal lobe and other forms of epilepsy.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627