DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1, 5-15, 22 and 24-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/11/25.
Applicant’s election of claims 16 and 19-21 in the reply filed on 11/11/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2007/0259216 to Logan (hereinafter referred to as “LOGAN”).
Regarding claim 16, LOGAN teaches a microbial electrochemical system (see generally LOGAN at Abstract and ¶10), comprising:
an anode and a cathode (see LOGAN at Fig. 7 depicting anode 707 and Figs. 1-4 of various systems into which the anode of Fig. 7 would be employed);
the anode comprising: (i) a conductive material (see LOGAN at Fig. 7 depicting conductive anode material 712 or rod 710); (ii) a bacteria (see LOGAN at ¶88); and (iii) a polymer, a catalyst, a mineral, or any combination thereof (see LOGAN at Fig. 7 depicting biodegradable substrate 707 and ¶44 teaching the biodegradable substrate being a synthetic polymer) wherein the bacteria and the polymer, catalyst, mineral or combination thereof is deposited on at least one surface of the anode (see LOGAN at ¶88 and ¶124 teaching the bacteria and the biodegradable polymer attached to the anode so as to be deposited as claimed).
Regarding claim 21, LOGAN teaches the microbial electrochemical system capable of operating at a current density in the range as claimed (see LOGAN at ¶85 and e.g. Fig. 1 which would be capable of providing power to the electrodes so as to supply a current density within the range as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over LOGAN.
Regarding claim 19, LOGAN teaches the electrochemical system capable of producing hydrogen (LOGAN at ¶14 and ¶32). Moreover, since LOGAN teaches the anode comprising the elements as set forth, i.e. the conductive material, bacteria and a polymer as claimed, it would be reasonably expected to also to be capable of providing a hydrogen production rate in the range as claimed. Furthermore, as set forth in LOGAN, the production of hydrogen is an electrochemical process that requires the bacteria and application of a voltage (see LOGAN at ¶34). It is additionally noted that LOGAN teaches the use of the same bacteria (see LOGAN at ¶35) and the electrochemical system of LOGAN would be capable of providing a range of voltages which would therefore allow for the adjustment of the resulting hydrogen evolution reaction rate.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the hydrogen production rate so as to be capable of producing hydrogen gas at a rate within the range as claimed.
Regarding claim 20, LOGAN teaches the microbial electrochemical system in which the microbial fuel cell could be useable in wastewater treatment (see LOGAN at ¶31). Moreover, since LOGAN teaches the anode comprising the elements as set forth, i.e. the conductive material, bacteria and a polymer as claimed, it would be reasonably expected to also to be capable of providing a COD removal in the range as claimed. Consequently, it would appear that the electrochemical system of LOGAN would be capable of providing for the COD removal in the range as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub. No. 2010/0270158 to Logan teaching a desalination device and method
US Pub. No. 2014/0255729 to Sheridan teaching a microbial fuel cell having an electrically conductive foam electrode
US Pub. No. 2020/0131650 to Kumar et al., teaching an engineered electrode for electrobiocatalysis and process to construct the same
US Pat. No. 9,160,024 to Moore et al., teaching a method of grafting of biomolecules onto microbial fuel cells
US Pat. No. 9,356,297 to Atanassov et al., teaching the facile fabrication of scalable, hierarchically structured polymer-carbon architectures for bioelectrodes
/BRYAN D. RIPA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794