DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment, filed 04/20/26, has been fully considered. Claim(s) 1, 6, and 10 is/are amended; claim(s) 2, 3, 7–9, 11, 13–15, 18, and 19 stand(s) as originally or previously presented; and claim(s) 4, 5, 12, 16, and 17 is/are canceled.
Upon considering said response, the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection set forth in the Office Action mailed 02/05/26 has/have been withdrawn. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The text forming the basis for the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 may be found in a prior Office Action.
Claim(s) 1–3, 6, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitao et al. (JP 2001015167 A, with mach. translation) (Kitao) in view of Noguchi et al. (US 20030043532 A1) (Noguchi) and DeWulf et al. (US 20170117575 A1, from 09/10/25 IDS) (DeWulf).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Kitao discloses a secondary battery (cylindrical battery, e.g., ¶ 0001) comprising (per annot. fig. 2 below) an electrode assembly (electrode body 2) which has an anode tab formed at one end thereof and a cathode tab formed at an opposite end thereof (claim 1)/electrode tabs having different polarities formed at longitudinally opposite ends, respectively (claim 10) (opposite-polarity tabs 3; see also fig. 1); a case in which the electrode assembly is received and which is open at opposite ends thereof in a longitudinal direction of the case (can 1; see also fig. 1’s lids 12s’ closing openings); and a pair of cap assemblies which are coupled to the respective opposite ends of the case (lids 12 plus terminals 5), wherein a first one of the cap assemblies includes a cap plate coupled to one of the opposite ends of the case (lid 12); a terminal plate on the cap plate (TPlate (nut 8) and to be electrically connected to an external terminal (necessarily configured as such for external output); a current collector electrically connected to the electrode assembly (screw member 55 connected to tabs 3 and, thus, electrically connected to electrode assembly);
a terminal pin coupled to the current collector and the terminal plate and electrically connecting the current collector and the terminal plate (TPin (screw shaft 53)); and an insulating member made of an insulating material and electrically insulating the cap plate from both of the terminal plate and the terminal pin (packing members 7/71, which, as seen in conventional battery’s packing 93 of fig. 4/¶ 0005, are insulating to prevent shorting), and wherein a second one of the cap assemblies includes a cap plate coupled to the other one of the opposite ends of the case (opposite lid 12; see also FIG. 1); and a terminal on the cap plate (opposite terminal 5) and electrically connected to the electrode assembly (necessarily via opposite screw 55 and tabs 3).
Although not appearing necessarily limited to this configuration with insulators between both terminals and cap plates to achieve the desired battery and terminal outputs, Kitao fails to explicitly disclose that this second terminal is electrically connected to the cap plate.
Noguchi, in teaching an energy storage device (Abstract), teaches insulating one terminal from the cap plate (via insulating plate 19 in fig. 2) while electrically connecting the other terminal to the opposite cap plate and to the electrode assembly (see boss 27 directly connected to terminal plate 28 and coupled to electrode assembly in fig. 2, where terminal plate 28 appears to also be a separate member from the battery’s housing and, thus, reasonably a separate “cap plate”).
Kitao is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely batteries with cap plates and terminals on both ends. Noguchi is analogous because they are reasonably pertinent to a problem the inventor would have faced, namely how to organize the insulator-terminal configuration at each end of the energy storage device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to routinely insulate one of Kitao’s cap plates from the terminal pin and plate while electrically connecting the other terminal to the electrode assembly and cap plate with the reasonable expectation of forming a successful battery with suitable terminal outputs, as suggested by Noguchi.
Kitao further discloses that the current collector of the first one of the cap assemblies is electrically connected to the anode tab (necessarily for output from electrode assembly, as seen in connection between screw 55 and tabs 3 in Kitao’s annot. fig. 2), and wherein the terminal of the second one of the cap assemblies includes a terminal plate to be electrically connected to an external terminal, a current collector electrically connected to the cathode tab, and a terminal pin coupled to the current collector and the terminal plate to electrically connect the current collector and the terminal plate (by having same structure as cap assembly above—besides omitting insulator between terminal pin/plate and cap plate based on Noguchi—but on opposite end; note that terminal plate would necessarily be configured to electrically connect to external terminal for power output, as in Kitao’s ¶ 0021).
Claim 10’s limitation “the terminal plate electrically connected to an external terminal” appears to merely reflect the terminal plate’s intended use given the scope is to the battery versus some higher-order system. As noted above for claim 1, the terminal plate would necessarily be capable of connecting to an external terminal for power output (as in Kitao’s ¶ 0021).
Nonetheless, arguendo, if the terminal plate were positively required to electrically connect to an external terminal, DeWulf teaches that it is well known to assemble cells into a battery module and connect them via busbars (¶ 0089). The skilled artisan would recognize that such connection would occur at the terminal because such is how power is output (as in Kitao’s ¶ 0021).
DeWulf is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely terminal-cap connections in batteries with longitudinally opposed terminals.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to electrically connect Kitao’s cell/terminal plate to another battery via an external terminal such as a busbar with the reasonable expectation of achieving successful electrical connection and power output, as taught by DeWulf.
As further seen above, Kitao discloses an approximately centered terminal on each end, yet, while not appearing strictly limited to this configuration to achieve the desired electrical connection, modified Kitao fails to disclose that the terminal plate of the first one of the cap assemblies and the terminal of the second one of the cap assemblies are entirely arranged on one half of the respective cap plate in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the case.
DeWulf further teaches a cylindrical battery with terminals on each longitudinal end (Abstract, fig. 8), where 1) the terminals may each be centered (fig. 8B); 2) one terminal may be centered, while another is offset entirely on one lateral half of the cap plate (fig. 8A); or 3) each terminal may be entirely offset (fig. 8C).
As DeWulf recognizes centered and offset terminals as functionally equivalent for electrical connection, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to routinely offset each of Kitao’s terminal plates to be entirely on one lateral half of the respective cap plate in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the case with the reasonable expectation of achieving successful electrical connection, as suggested by DeWulf. Per MPEP 2144.04 (VI.)(C.), rearranging parts is generally prima facie obvious absent unexpected results or modification to the device’s operation. Here, there appear to be no secondary considerations from rearranging either terminal, and such would not seem to modify Kitao’s battery’s operation because each terminal would merely shift laterally while maintaining electrical connection.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified Kitao discloses the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the anode tab and the cathode tab are disposed at the respective opposite ends in a longitudinal direction of a winding axis of the electrode assembly (Kitao’s fig. 1), wherein the case has the longitudinally opposite ends opened (Id.).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kitao discloses the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the insulating member of the first one of the cap assemblies includes a first insulating member made of an insulating material, which is disposed between the terminal plate and the cap plate (packing member 71 in Kitao’s annot. fig. 2), and a second insulating member made of an insulating material, which is disposed between the terminal pin and the cap plate (packing member 7 in Kitao’s annot. fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kitao discloses the secondary battery of claim 10, wherein the first one of the cap assemblies includes a plurality of insulating members made of an insulating material (packing members 7/71 in Kitao’s annot. fig. 2).
Claim(s) 7–9 and 13–15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitao et al. (JP 2001015167 A) (Kitao) in view of Noguchi et al. (US 20030043532 A1) (Noguchi) and DeWulf et al. (US 20170117575 A1) (DeWulf), as applied to claims 6 and 11, further in view of Urano et al. (US 20060073382 A1) (Urano).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kitao discloses the secondary battery of claim 6, wherein each of the cap assemblies includes a third insulating member made of an insulating material, which is disposed between the cap plate and the electrode assembly (insulator 62 on each end in Kitao’s annot. fig. 2).
However, despite Kitao’s desiring adequate insulation between the electrode assembly and case to mitigate electrode active material peeling due to external shocks or vibrations (¶ 0031), modified Kitao fails to further disclose that each cap assembly further includes a fourth insulator between the third insulator and electrode assembly.
Urano, in teaching a battery (Title), teaches insulating plate 5 directly above electrode assembly 2 and beneath insulator 22/23/25 (e.g., fig. 1), where the insulating plate includes a slot 20 through which the electrode assembly’s lead 7 extends (fig. 1). Urano teaches that if the battery suffers longitudinal impact from dropping, this insulating plate prevents the electrode assembly’s upper surface from deforming, which prevents short-circuiting (¶ 0016).
Urano is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely battery insulation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Urano’s slotted insulating plate above each end of Kitao’s electrode assembly and extend Kitao’s tabs through each plate’s slot with the reasonable expectation of protecting the electrode assembly from deformation and short-circuiting due to dropping the battery, as taught by Urano.
Thus, modified Kitao would disclose a fourth insulating member made of an insulating material disposed between the third insulating member and the electrode assembly (Urano’s plate, which would be between Kitao’s insulator 62 and electrode assembly).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, modified Kitao discloses the secondary battery of claim 7, wherein each of the fourth insulating members has a slit formed therethrough, into which the anode tab or the cathode tab is inserted (Urano’s slot), wherein the anode tab or the cathode tab is electrically connected to the respective current collector between the third insulating member and the fourth insulating member (per Kitao’s annot. fig. 2, when incorporating Urano’s insulating plate, the tabs would connect to screw 55 between Urano’s plate and Kitao’s insulator 62; compare to substantially similar instant fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kitao discloses the secondary battery of claim 11, wherein the plurality of insulating members includes a first insulating member disposed between the terminal plate and the cap plate (packing member 71 in Kitao’s annot. fig. 2), as well as a second insulating member disposed between the terminal pin and the cap plate (packing member 7, Id.), and a third insulating member disposed between the cap plate and the electrode assembly (insulator 62, Id.).
However, despite Kitao’s desiring adequate insulation between the electrode assembly and case to mitigate electrode active material peeling due to external shocks or vibrations (¶ 0031), modified Kitao fails to explicitly disclose a fourth insulating member disposed between the third insulating member and electrode assembly.
Urano, in teaching a battery (Title), teaches insulating plate 5 directly above electrode assembly 2 and beneath insulator 22/23/25 (e.g., fig. 1), where the insulating plate includes a slot 20 through which the electrode assembly’s lead 7 extends (fig. 1). Urano teaches that if the battery suffers longitudinal impact from dropping, this insulating plate prevents the electrode assembly’s upper surface from deforming, which prevents short-circuiting (¶ 0016).
Urano is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely battery insulation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Urano’s slotted insulating plate above at least the end of Kitao’s electrode assembly corresponding to the first cap assembly and extend Kitao’s tabs through the insulator’s slot with the reasonable expectation of protecting the electrode assembly from deformation and short-circuiting due to dropping the battery, as taught by Urano.
Thus, modified Kitao would disclose a fourth insulating member disposed between the third insulating member and the electrode assembly (Urano’s plate, which would be between Kitao’s insulator 62 and electrode assembly).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, modified Kitao discloses the secondary battery of claim 13, wherein the fourth insulating member has a slit formed therethrough, into which the electrode tab is inserted (Urano’s slot), wherein the electrode tab is electrically connected to the current collector between the third insulating member and the fourth insulating member (per Kitao’s annot. fig. 2, when incorporating Urano’s insulating plate, the tabs would connect to screw 55 between Urano’s plate and Kitao’s insulator 62; compare to substantially similar instant fig. 4A).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitao et al. (JP 2001015167 A) (Kitao) in view of Noguchi et al. (US 20030043532 A1) (Noguchi) and DeWulf et al. (US 20170117575 A1) (DeWulf), as applied to claims 1 and 10, further in view of Wendling et al. (US 20100215996 A1) (Wendling).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, modified Kitao discloses the secondary battery of claims 1 and 10.
Kitao, as seen in annot. fig. 2, further exemplarily discloses attaching the tabs directly to the current collector and terminal pin (screw 55 and shaft 53/flange 51, respectively) yet, while not appearing necessarily limited to this configuration to achieve the desired electrical connection (note that Kitao discloses no technical significance to or preference for this configuration), fails to explicitly disclose that the current collector includes a main current collecting plate connected to the terminal pin and an auxiliary current collecting plate connected to the electrode assembly, and wherein the main current collecting plate and the auxiliary current collecting plate are coupled to each other by welding.
Wendling, in teaching an end cap for a cylindrical electrochemical cell (Abstract), teaches that multiple, welded current collectors ultimately connected to a terminal are well known in the art (e.g., figs. 1–5). Wendling specifically embodies electrical contact members 38 and 50 such as leads (¶ 0037, 0064; fig. 1), where an intermediate conductive lead can be welded to tab 39 of the contact member to maintain reliable contact between bundles of the electrode assembly 60 and the contact member (¶ 0065, fig. 1–5).
Wendling is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely current-collector structures in electrochemical cells such as secondary batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to weld Kitao’s tabs to multiple, welded current collectors connected to Kitao’s terminals—and, thus, form main and auxiliary collecting plates as part of the collector (see similar instant fig. 4A)—with the reasonable expectation of achieving suitable electrical connection and output and reliably securing the tabs to the collector, as suggested by Wendling.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 10 have been considered. Applicant’s amendment overcame the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection—which, as noted above, has been withdrawn—and necessitated the new grounds of rejection citing the new reference(s) DeWulf, as established above.
Additionally, to promote compact prosecution, Examiner respectfully observes no secondary considerations or any other technical effect from shifting the terminal laterally on the cap plate in the instant disclosure, and, thus, such appears obvious in light of DeWulf.
Conclusion
/J.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 7/2/2026