Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3, 7-9 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (KR 20130046283) based on the EPO translation as previously cited, in view of newly cited TASKIN (Pub 2016).
Regarding claim 1, LEE discloses a hyaluronic acid catechol conjugate and use thereof (0001) which is used as a cell culture scaffold (tissue regeneration platform) (line 316) comprising coating the surface (forming coating layer) of an artificial material used for medical purposes (scaffold) with a mixed solution comprising hyaluronic acid catechol conjugate (line 124, 197-201, [0082]).
LEE discloses the support can be a medical device such as an implant, artificial joints, bones, blood vessels or valves (all are 3 dimensional) (lines 241-250) and made of a variety of polymer materials (lines 251-252) but does not explicitly disclose a three dimensional scaffold consisting of polycaprolactone.
However, TASKIN discloses 3D polydopamine functionalized coiled micro fibrous scaffolds in which polycaprolactone (PCL) was used to make 3D coiled microfibers (three dimensional scaffold consisting of polycaprolactone) in which the surface was functionalized with catecholic polydopamine (coating layer comprising a catechol compound) (Abs, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the polymeric medical devices (scaffolds) coated with catechol of LEE to be a three dimensional scaffold consisting of polycaprolactone as taught by TASKIN because the 3D structure allows for significantly higher cell infiltration depth over time compared to 2D (p. 15868, Cellular Infiltration, Fig 4D) and overcomes the limited porosity of conventional 2D scaffolds that leads to limited proliferation rate as 3D scaffolds have enhanced viability/proliferation after 28 days of culture compared to the 2D ones (Fig 3F) and PCL is one of the most common FDA approved synthetic polymers (p.15870, Discussion paragraph 3).
LEE discloses a hyaluronic acid catechol compound chemical formula (Fig 1), but does not explicitly disclose the formula including a sodium salt.
However, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the chemical compound of LEE to include a sodium salt based on the types of cells or tissues being cultured. Additionally, it would have been obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions through routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2-3, LEE discloses the coated material can be used as a cell culture scaffold (tissue cells for culture provided, salivary gland is cultured) (line 316) and that neural stem cells can be cultured (line 273). It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. Further, it has been held that "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." Additionally a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.
The limitation regarding tissue cells and a salivary gland are considered materials worked on or intended use limitations as the device of modified LEE is capable of being used to culture any desired cells or tissues.
Regarding claim 7 LEE discloses a hyaluronic acid catechol conjugate and use thereof (0001) which is used as a cell culture scaffold (tissue regeneration platform) (line 316) comprising coating the surface (forming coating layer) of an artificial material used for medical purposes (scaffold) with a mixed solution comprising hyaluronic acid catechol conjugate (line 124, 197-201, [0082]).
LEE discloses the support can be a medical device such as an implant, artificial joints, bones, blood vessels or valves (all are 3 dimensional) (lines 241-250) and made of a variety of polymer materials (lines 251-252) but does not explicitly disclose a three dimensional scaffold consisting of polycaprolactone.
However, TASKIN discloses 3D polydopamine functionalized coiled micro fibrous scaffolds in which polycaprolactone (PCL) was used to make 3D coiled microfibers (three dimensional scaffold consisting of polycaprolactone) in which the surface was functionalized with catecholic polydopamine (coating layer comprising a catechol compound) (Abs, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the polymeric medical devices (scaffolds) coated with catechol of LEE to be a three dimensional scaffold consisting of polycaprolactone as taught by TASKIN because the 3D structure allows for significantly higher cell infiltration depth over time compared to 2D (p. 15868, Cellular Infiltration, Fig 4D) and overcomes the limited porosity of conventional 2D scaffolds that leads to limited proliferation rate as 3D scaffolds have enhanced viability/proliferation after 28 days of culture compared to the 2D ones (Fig 3F) and PCL is one of the most common FDA approved synthetic polymers (p.15870, Discussion paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 8, LEE discloses the coated material can be used as a cell culture scaffold (line 316) and that stem cells can be cultured (line 273) but does not explicitly disclose culturing a salivary gland on the coating layer.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of LEE to include culturing a salivary gland on the coating layer as the type of cell chosen. Based on the benefits of the coating taught by LEE (lines 233-235, 320-326) it would have been obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable types of cells or tissues to culture through routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, LEE discloses the method of forming the coating layer comprises immersing the support in the coating solution [0097].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Specifically applicant argues that one would not be motivated to change the polycaprolactone functionalized with catecholic polydopamine of TASKIN, the examiner points out that the rejection relied upon TASKIN for teaching specifically a polycaprolactone scaffold as a substitution for the three dimensional scaffold of LEE and did not rely on TASKIN to teach the coating layer. The above combination relies upon maintaining the coating layer as taught by LEE and replacing only the scaffold with that taught by TASKIN.
It is noted, that the independent claim 7 was not amended as in current claim 1 (which now incorporates previous dependent claim 6) and applicant has provided no specific arguments against the previous rejection.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799