Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 11, 13, 15-21, 23, 26 and 28-30 are pending.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 10, 12, 14, 22, 24-25, 27 are cancelled.
Claims 13, 15-21, 23, 26 and 28-30 are withdrawn.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5 7-9 and 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11248088 B2 in view of HUANG (Synthesis of Fluorescent Carbohydrate-Protected Au Nanodots for Detection of Concanavalin A and Escherichia coli. Analytical chemistry. 2009) and LIU (A facile one-pot synthesis of higher yield porphyrin functionalized Co3O4 nanoparticles. Materials Science and Engineering B. 2015.).
The patent recites a hybrid nanodot made by a process comprising an operation of reacting a mixture of poly(ethylene imine) (PEI) and an amino acid selected from the group consisting of serine, threonine, cysteine, tyrosine, asparagine, glutamine, lysine, aspartic acid, glutamic acid and mixtures thereof under hydrothermal reaction conditions, wherein the weight ratio of amino acid to PEI is about 3:1 to about 1:1, and wherein PEI has an average molecular weight of about 1200 g/mol to about 1800 g/mol determined by light scattering (claim 1), which reads on a nanoparticle wherein the core is an amorphous core formed from a hydrothermal reaction between threonine and polyethylenimine (PEI). The nanodots exhibit excitation-dependent fluorescence emission (claim 6), which reads on photoluminescent core.
The patent does not teach functionalizing the nanoparticle with a carbohydrate using a hydrothermal process.
HUANG teaches nanoparticles that are used for fluorescence detection of Escherichia coli (abstract). Nanoparticles are often used for diagnostic purposes (Page 875, paragraph 2). Mannose is functionalized on the surface of these nanoparticles because it binds well to Escherichia coli allowing for fluorescence detection (figure 7), which allows for targeting of Escherichia coli (E. Coli). The nanoparticle has a dimeter of 1.8 nm (page 877, paragraph 1). The diameter of the particle has an effect on the intensity of the luminescence (Page 879, paragraph 1).
LIU teaches using a hydrothermal reaction to create porphyrin functionalized nanoparticles (abstract). The hydrothermal formation allowed for a high yield (page 57, paragraph2), was inexpensive convenient and quicker (page 58, paragraph 6). Porphyrin was attached using this method (scheme 1).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate functionalizing the surface with a carbohydrate, such as mannose. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because mannose can act as a targeting moiety because it binds well to Escherichia coli allowing for fluorescence detection, and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as nanoparticles for diagnostic use and the composition in LI can be used as a diagnostic agent and can have various targeting moieties attached.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate forming the core and functionalizing the nanoparticle through a hydrothermal reaction. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because a hydrothermal reaction is inexpensive, simple, convenient and quick, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as the formation of nanoparticles.
Note, since the same compost ion and formation is used, it would be inherent that the prior art would have the same properties of “the photoluminescence from the core is emittable within the range of about 400 nm to about 650 nm” and “wherein the emittable photoluminescence is at least 1.5 times a comparator nanoparticle which does not comprise both threonine and PEI”, unless proven otherwise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (US 7,261,875 B2) in view of HUANG (Synthesis of Fluorescent Carbohydrate-Protected Au Nanodots for Detection of Concanavalin A and Escherichia coli. Analytical chemistry. 2009), YANG (Green, Hydrothermal Synthesis of Fluorescent Carbon Nanodots from Gardenia, Enabling the Detection of Metronidazole in Pharmaceuticals and Rabbit Plasma. Sensors. 2018.) and LIU (A facile one-pot synthesis of higher yield porphyrin functionalized Co3O4 nanoparticles. Materials Science and Engineering B. 2015.).
Regarding claim 1, LI teaches a composition that has a core made from branched polyethyleneimine (PEI) (column 3, paragraph 2 and column 8, paragraph 5) and threonine (column 10, paragraph 3). The composition is designed to be a carrier for drugs or diagnostic agents and can have various targeting moieties attached (abstract).
LI does not teach functionalizing the surface with a carbohydrate, such as mannose or forming the core and functionalizing via a hydrothermal reaction.
HUANG teaches nanoparticles that are used for fluorescence detection of Escherichia coli (abstract). Nanoparticles are often used for diagnostic purposes (Page 875, paragraph 2). Mannose is functionalized on the surface of these nanoparticles because it binds well to Escherichia coli allowing for fluorescence detection (figure 7), which allows for targeting of Escherichia coli (E. Coli). The nanoparticle has a dimeter of 1.8 nm (page 877, paragraph 1). The diameter of the particle has an effect on the intensity of the luminescence (Page 879, paragraph 1).
YANG teaches a method of forming fluorescent carbon nanoparticles (abstract). A hydrothermal reaction is used to form the core and functionalization (page 2, paragraph 3). This method allowed for simplicity, cost-effectiveness, and convenience (page 2, paragraph 3).
LIU teaches using a hydrothermal reaction to create porphyrin functionalized nanoparticles (abstract). The hydrothermal formation allowed for a high yield (page 57, paragraph2), was inexpensive convenient and quicker (page 58, paragraph 6). Porphyrin was attached using this method (scheme 1).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate functionalizing the surface with a carbohydrate, such as mannose. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because mannose can act as a targeting moiety because it binds well to Escherichia coli allowing for fluorescence detection, and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as nanoparticles for diagnostic use and the composition in LI can be used as a diagnostic agent and can have various targeting moieties attached.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a diameter of 1.8 nm. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the diameter has an effect on the luminescence of the nanoparticle, and reasonably would have expected success because both references are in the same field of endeavor, such as nanoparticles for diagnostic use.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate forming the core and functionalizing the nanoparticle through a hydrothermal reaction. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because a hydrothermal reaction is inexpensive, simple, convenient and quick, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as the formation of nanoparticles. Note, since the core would be formed in the same way, hydrothermal, and from the same components, PEI and threonine, it would inherently be an amorphous core, unless proven otherwise.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art’s composition would have the same chemical/physical properties of “wherein the emittable photoluminescence is at least 1.5 times a comparator nanoparticle which does not comprise both threonine and PEI” and “a zeta potential of more than about +5 mV” as claimed by Applicant, because the prior art has the same components as claimed by Applicant, unless proven otherwise.
Regarding claim 5, LI teaches a composition that has a core made from branched polyethyleneimine (PEI) (column 3, paragraph 2 and column 8, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 7, HUANG teaches nanoparticles that are functionalized with Mannose (figure 7). Furthermore, the prior art’s composition would have the same chemical/physical properties of “wherein the emittable photoluminescence e is at least 4 times a comparator nanoparticle which does not comprise mannose” as claimed by Applicant, because the prior art has the same components as claimed by Applicant, unless proven otherwise.
Regarding claim 8, HUANG teaches the nanoparticle has a dimeter of 1.8 nm (page 877, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 9, Applicant’s specification states that the photoluminescent stability is effected by the component used as the shell (Page 12, paragraph 5) and the components of the core (page 7, paragraph 3), therefor since the art has the same shell, mannose, it would have the same physical/chemical property of photoluminescence stability of at least 95% after 30 minutes of irradiation, wherein the photoluminescence is fluorescence.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI (US 7,261,875 B2), HUANG (Synthesis of Fluorescent Carbohydrate-Protected Au Nanodots for Detection of Concanavalin A and Escherichia coli. Analytical chemistry. 2009), YANG (Green, Hydrothermal Synthesis of Fluorescent Carbon Nanodots from Gardenia, Enabling the Detection of Metronidazole in Pharmaceuticals and Rabbit Plasma. Sensors. 2018.) and LIU (A facile one-pot synthesis of higher yield porphyrin functionalized Co3O4 nanoparticles. Materials Science and Engineering B. 2015.) in view of DONG (Antibacterial effects of carbon dots in combination with other antimicrobial reagents. PLOS One. 2017.).
LI, HUANG, YANG, and LIU teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above. As discussed above, HUANG teaches targeting E. Coli.
LI, HUANG, YANG, and LIU do not teach a minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC) of 64
µg/mL.
Regarding claim 11, DONG teaches a carbon nanodot with a MIC of 64
µg/mL (abstract). This value allowed for complete inhibition of growth for E. coli which equates to good antibacterial properties (page 5, paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a MIC of 64
µg/mL. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it allows for complete inhibition of growth of E. coli, which gives the composition increased antibacterial properties, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as nanoparticles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, the instantly claimed nanoparticles are particularly advantageous for use in a rapid detection method for pathogenic bacteria with high sensitivity for detecting very low bacteria concentrations. The photoluminescence of the claimed nanoparticles is at least 1. 5 times that of a comparator nanoparticle which does not comprise both threonine and PEI. The combination of threonine and PEI under hydrothermal conditions allows for (after polymerization or crosslinking) a further rearrangement and aromatization into a conjugated pi system. This is particularly advantageous for providing the high and/or stable photoluminescent property of the nanoparticle, in contrast to other amorphous core nanoparticles, which can have numerous electron-hole defects which act to reduce the photoluminescent property. Specification, page 7, lines 17-27.
This argument is not persuasive. Unexpected results must be supported by factual evidence, and attorney argument is not evidence. See In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399,1405 (CCPA 1974). The cited paragraphs of the Specification detail benefits of the claimed method but do not state that unexpected results were obtained. Thus, Applicant has not provided evidence that unexpectedly superior results were obtained with the claimed method. "Mere improvement in properties does not always suffice to show unexpected results." In re Soni, 54 F.3d 746,751 (Fed. Cir. 1995). In the instant case, as discussed above, LI teaches a core made from PEI and threonine and YANG and/or LIU teach the advantageous of a hydrothermal reaction formation. Since the properties arise from the specific components and formation method, it can be understood to have the same properties, unless proven otherwise.
For a complete discussion of unexpected results, Applicants are referred to MPEP 716.02 et seq.
Applicant argues, the claimed nanoparticles as recited in amended claim 1 comprise carbohydrates that are functionalized on the surface of the nanoparticle through a hydrothermal process. Functionalization with a carbohydrate through a hydrothermal process is particularly advantageous as specific bacterial cells can be targeted when used in an assay. Compared to unfunctionalized nanoparticles, carbohydrate functionalized nanoparticles are able to be endocytosed to a larger extent without causing the bacterial cells to undergo apoptosis. Additionally, unspecific binding is largely reduced. This allows for the bacteria assay to be more accurate and/or precise. Id, page 7, line 34 to page 8, line 3.
The argument is not persuasive because as discussed above, HUANG teaches that Mannose is functionalized on the surface of nanoparticles because it binds well to Escherichia coli allowing for fluorescence detection (figure 7), which allows for targeting of Escherichia coli (E. Coli). It is also well known in the art that a targeted nanoparticle, such as the one described in HUANG, will target and bind better than a non-targeted nanoparticle.
Applicant argues, the presently claimed nanoparticles bind to bacteria more efficiently and are subsequently taken up by the bacteria cells. The nanoparticles provide a brighter photoluminescence, with an at least 8-fold higher intensity compared to serine-PEI nanoparticles (about 90,000 a.u.) Id, page 7, line 29-32 and Figure 1.
The argument is not persuasive because as discussed above, HUAG teaches using mannose to make the nanoparticles targeting, which would lead to higher binding and LI teaches using a threonine/PEI core, which Applicant states is giving the higher intensity.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/S.L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618