Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Applicant’s reply filed 8/10/26 is acknowledged. Claims 17-18 were canceled. Claims 1-16 and 19-20 are pending and are under examination.
Response to Reply
Drawings
In light of applicant’s claim amendments, the prior drawing objections are withdrawn except for the following below.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the aperture carrier heat block (claim 9); proximity switch (claim 10); and optical strip detector (claim 20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In light of applicant’s claim amendments, the prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn except for following below.
Claims 1-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The prior rejection of claim 1 is maintained. Claim 1 is rejected because “said assay in an offset position” and “said assay is maintained in said non-planar operating position” is unclear. Are these positions referring to the same position?
The prior rejection of claim 2 is maintained. Claim 2 is rejected because “an operating position” raises an antecedent basis issue. Is the operating position different from the non-planar operating position?
The prior rejection of claim 4 is modified. Claim 4 is rejected because “non-planar flow path about said assay in a testing position” is unclear in light of the “offset position” and “non-planar operating position” in claim 1. Is the non-planar flow path different from the flow path in claim 1?
The prior rejection of claim 5 is modified. Claim 5 is rejected because “elevated flow path about said assay in a testing position” is unclear in light of the “offset position” and “non-planar operating position” in claim 1. Is this flow path a different structural flow path from the flow path claimed in claim 1?
The prior rejection of claim 9 is maintained. Claim 9 is rejected because “aperture carrier heat block” is unclear.
The prior rejection of claim 11 is maintained. Claim 11 is rejected because it is unclear whether “optical interrupter” is a structural feature.
The prior rejection of claim 14 is modified. Claim 14 is rejected because “said non-planar support position” and “said angular offset” raise an antecedent basis issue.
The prior rejection of claim 15 is maintained. Claim 15 is rejected because “aligns a proximate portion of said assay external of said assembly” is unclear. Claiming “external” of said assembly appears to describe the assay as being beyond the scope of the claimed invention.
The prior rejection of claim 20 is maintained. Claim 20 is rejected because “said distal portion” of said assay raises an antecedent basis issue.
The prior rejection of claim 20 is maintained. Claim 20 is rejected because “an integrated incubator . . . allowing concurrent image acquisition by said camera” is unclear. In light of applicant’s specification, the incubator functions to thermally control said assay while concurrently image acquisition by said camera is performed. The incubator does not appear to control the function of the camera.
Claim Interpretation
The Office asserts that terms and phrases like “adapted to” and “wherein” constitute recitations of intended use language for purposes of examination. The Office asserts that in the examined claims reciting such “adapted to” language, the claim language that follows such recitations does not necessarily denote structure MPEP 2173.05(g). The functional limitation was evaluated and considered, for what it fairly conveys to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Similarly, a “wherein” clause may have a limiting effect on a claim if the language limits the claim to a particular structure. MPEP 2111.04. The determination of whether a “wherein” clause is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. While all words in each claim are considered in judging the patentability of the claim language, including functional claim limitations, not all limitations provide a patentable distinction.
During patent examination, the examined claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, unless a term has been given a special definition in the specification (“BRI”). See MPEP 2111.
Prior Art Rejections
In light of applicant’s claim amendments, the prior art rejection by Lochhead is modified, and the following rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lochhead et al. (“Lochhead,” US Pub. No. 2012/0071342, previously cited).
As to claim 1, Lochhead discloses an apparatus to generate a test result from an assay when contacted with a sample, said apparatus comprising:
a non-planar optics module to align and maintain said assay in an offset position, wherein said non-planar optics module includes a substantially planar proximate support portion (4552 or 4554 in fig. 46) and an angled opposing substantially non-planar distal support portion (4552 or 4554 in fig. 46, either portion 4552 or 4554 can be planar or elevated in [0216] et seq.), said distal support portion being disposed at an elevation relative to said proximate support portion, and wherein said proximate support portion and said distal support portion are structurally adapted to position corresponding longitudinal portions of said assay at different elevations in a non-planar operating position (figs. 45-46 et seq.), and wherein said proximate support portion and said distal support portion are cooperatively arranged to define said non-planar operating position and a directional fluid flow path along said assay that permits flow toward at least one testing region while inhibiting flooding of sample flow into said at least one testing region of said assay ([0216] et seq.);
an incubator incubate said assay (fig. 26, assay system 2600 includes components for incubation to occur as described in [0156] et seq.); and
an optical detector to image said assay in said offset position while said assay is maintained in said non-planar operating position (figs. 2, 12, 18, 46; [0079] et seq. includes reader instrument 100, 1200; laser illumination module 104, 1204; imaging system 124, 1800, a camera or imaging device to image the cartridge).
As to claim 2, see portion of cartridge 110 overhang in fig. 17; and portion of cartridge 4500 overhang the fin features 4550 in [0216] et seq.
As to claims 3-5, see fig. 26, [0132] et seq. discloses cartridge having a planar surface adjacent assay surface 2620 and angled parts with ports. Also see e.g., fig. 47, [0218] et seq.
As to claim 10, see [0079] et seq., which discloses reader instrument 100 may include an interlock switch that electrically disengages light emitting circuitry when cartridge is not inserted or only partially inserted.
As to claims 11 and 12, see [0079] for proximity switch, and [0079, [0108] and [0164] for the functional claim language (e.g., breaks a path . . ., and performs at least two image detections).
As to claim 13, [0110] discloses safety interlock switch 1258 (FIGS. 13 and 15) monitors when a cartridge is properly inserted into reader instrument 1200, thereby enabling laser illumination to occur.
As to claims 14-15, Lochhead discloses in e.g., [0163] et seq., an assembly to generate a test result from an assay, an optics module comprising: a. an offset frame (e.g., fig. 45-46) to receive and maintain said assay, wherein said frame includes an upper tier platform portion (e.g., 4552 or 4554) angled relative to a lower tier platform portion (4552 or 4554) and wherein said lower tier platform and said upper tier platform are cooperatively arranged to create a non-planar support for said assay; and wherein said angular offset adapted to induce a directional fluid flow path and inhibit flooding of said assay; and b. a camera ([0163] et seq.) optically aligned about said frame, wherein said camera adapted to acquire at least one image of said assay in said non-planar support position during incubation to detect analyte presence or absence based on reflectance or transmission values. See [0163] et seq., and claim interpretation above.
As to claim 16, see angled portion (“pivot point”) between 4552 and 4554 in fig. 46.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochhead in view of Dunn et al. (“Dunn,” US Pub. No. 2013/0244313, previously cited).
See Lochhead above.
As to claims 6-7, while Lochhead discloses in [0216], when cartridge 4500 is resting on second portion 4554, then flow plate 324 within cartridge 4500 lies at a 5-degree angle with respect to the resting surface such that inlet port 4528 is slightly elevated with respect to the outlet port of the flow plate (not visible), and in [0218], one side of tilt rack 4700 is designed to be higher than an opposing end such that the top surface of tilt rack 4700 is at an angle 4752 with respect to the surface on which the tilt rack rests, Lochhead does not specifically disclose the distal portion is about ten degrees to about thirty degrees, or about 20 degrees, offset from said proximate portion.
Dunn discloses in e.g., [0294], the cartridge may have an internal tilt relative to a level orientation, which is sufficient to drive flow of the liquid sample from the inlet port to the outlet port. In another aspect, one, two, and/or three of the factors, namely, the tilt, the capillary action, and the wicking pad, may contribute to driving the flow of the liquid sample from the inlet port to the outlet port. In another aspect, the tilt is at an angle between 2 and 45 degrees relative to a level orientation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lochhead’s angle to have the distal portion is about ten degrees to about thirty degrees, or about 20 degrees, offset from said proximate portion because Lochhead discloses the angle 4752 may be, for example, 5 degrees or any suitable angle to optimize the fluid flow for the particular assay being run (e.g., [0218] of Lochhead).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochhead in view of Miller (US Pub. No. 2012/0142020, previously cited).
See Lochhead above.
As to claim 8, while Lochhead discloses in fig. 26, [0138] et seq., cartridge has a planar surface adjacent assay surface and has angled part with ports that align with illumination beam by integrated lens, Lochhead does not specifically disclose a bend aligned between a proximate portion and an opposing distal portion. Miller discloses in e.g., [0036] et seq., as shown in FIG. 1A, the cover 1 of the cartridge is made of a rigid material, preferably plastic, capable of repetitive deformation without cracking at flexible hinge region 10. The cover 1 further comprises a paddle 7 (“bend”), which is moveable relative to the body of the cover 1, and which is attached to the body by flexible hinge region 10. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lochhead’s planar surface with a bend because it would be desirable to design the cartridge for rapid determination of analytes in liquid samples by various assay techniques including immunoassays.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochhead in view of Markovsky et al. (“Markovsky,” US Pub. No. 2018/0238809, previously cited).
See Lochhead above.
As to claim 9, while Lochhead discloses an aperture carrier in figs. 1-2, Lochhead does not specifically disclose a heat block. In [0078] et seq., Markovsky discloses an incubator 102 that may heat assay 21 to provide the proper incubation environment for a corresponding assay and diagnostic test. Incubator 102 is in communication to the cavity 3 and is capable of maintaining a consistent temperature within cavity 3 by heating at a pre-defined rate. Incubator 102 may include a heater. The heater may be a ceramic heater, a resister heater element and the like. Typically, cavity 3 is designed to be small so that the heater need only draw minimum current. In that way, heating only essential areas and providing insulation around those areas minimizes power requirements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a heat block because it would provide the proper incubation environment for an assay and diagnostic test.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markovsky in view of Lochhead.
See Markovsky and Lochhead above.
As to claim 19, the combination of Markovsky and Lochhead disclose the optics module images said assay adjacent a bend about said assay in a testing position. See fig. 14 and [0105] et seq. of Markovsky. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to specifically have optics module in a particular testing position because it would help improve the quality of the images.
As to claim 20, Markovsky discloses an apparatus to generate a test result from an assay, a modular interface comprising: a. a housing (fig. 1 et seq.) adapted to align and maintain said assay in an offset position; c. an optical strip detector (e.g., [0077] et seq.); d. a light level detector (e.g., [0088] et seq.; “adapted to” is intended use and/or functional claim language); e. an imaging device adapted to monitor illumination and maintain imaging conditions (e.g., image sensor, [0089] et seq.); f. a light source (e.g., [0054] et seq.; the combination of Markovsky and Lochhead disclose a light source aligned to illuminate said assay in said offset position); and g. an integrated incubator adapted to thermally control said assay while image acquisition by said camera is concurrently being performed (e.g., incubator 102, [0049] et seq.; “adapted to” is intended use and/or functional claim language).
Regarding claim 20, Markovsky does not specifically disclose an offset frame, and wherein said distal portion of said assay is disposed at an angular elevation relative to a proximate portion, thereby defining a non-planar flow path for sample migration along said assay. Lochhead discloses figs. 2, 12-18, 26, 46-49; [0079] et seq. recites assay cartridge holder 300 is angled within cartridge holder assembly 1254, which is angled within housing 1202; [0216] et seq. recites cartridge 4500 has fin features 4550 includes a first portion 4552 and a second portion 4554. When cartridge 4500 is resting on second portion 4554, then flow plate 324 within cartridge 4500 lies at a 5-degree angle with respect to the resting surface such that inlet port 4528 is slightly elevated with respect to the outlet port of the flow plate (not visible). The angle of induced tilt may be any angle appropriate for optimum flow of the particular liquids being used in the assay. Optionally, the position of the inlet port and the direction of the tilt may be reversed, i.e., the inlet port may be located near textured grooves 344, and the cartridge may be tilted such that the end with the textured grooves rests higher than a distal end away from the textured grooves. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the upper tier platform portion disposed at an angular offset relative to the lower tier platform portion because it may be advantageous to place the assay cartridge at a tilt so as to assist with the fluid flow (e.g., [0216] of Lochhead).
Furthermore, with regard to claim 20, while Markovsky disclosers an imaging detector in [0048], Markovsky does not specifically disclose a camera. Lochhead discloses in e.g., [0163], a camera or another suitable imaging device, e.g., sensor 128 of fig. 2 is connected within reader instrument 100 and brought online in step 3110) aligned about said frame. Lochhead’s camera is optically aligned with said assay in said offset position and adapted to capture at least one image indicative of analyte presence or absence during incubation (e.g., “adapted to” is intended use and/or functional claim language). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to specifically have a camera because it would be advantageous to utilize a commonly known imaging device.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's arguments/remarks filed 8/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments/remarks do not appear to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
8/22/2026