DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to preliminary amendment filed on 01/28/2026. As directed by the amendment, no claims were canceled, claims 1 and 11-15 were amended, and no claims were newly added. Thus, claims 1-15 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sokol et al. (US 2014/0259474; hereinafter “Sokol”).
Regarding claim 1, Sokol discloses an air vent assembly comprising:
a body (valve post 459), the body comprising:
a first internal chamber ([0110] valve post 459 defines a cavity) arranged between an input port (fluid inlet 414) and an outlet port of the body (nozzle 428), wherein the first internal chamber is in fluid communication with the input port and the outlet port and arranged to receive a fluid or a gas ([0151] “a fluid flow pathway from the fluid inlet 414 to the nozzle 428 in the brush tip 325 is opened”… where fluid passes from fluid channel 396 into the cavity of valve body 459), the first internal chamber comprising:
a first inner surface having a first inner surface portion (Annotated Fig. 15B below… internal inner surface of annular section of valve post 459) and a second inner surface portion (Annotated Fig. 15B below… internal inner surface of beveled section); and
a first valve (lower poppet 394; Fig. 15B) comprising an expandable element (lower poppet spring 393), the first valve arranged to receive the fluid or the gas and transition from an open state (attach base 318… [0151] lower poppet 394 is pushed away from a sealing position, compressing lower poppet spring 393… thus opening fluid flow path from inlet 414 to nozzle 428) to a closed state (remove base 318… [0156] lower poppet 394 is forced to seal post aperture 462 by the lower poppet spring 393”);
an exit channel in fluid communication with the first internal chamber (channel within aperture 462), and arranged between the second inner surface portion of the first inner surface (channel within aperture 462 had fluid flow from the internal inner surface of beveled section towards it) and the outlet port (channel of aperture 462 leads fluid to nozzle 428), the exit channel having a first exit aperture (hole in aperture 462) arranged within the second inner surface portion of the first inner surface of the first internal chamber (Annotated Fig. 15B above shows inner surface of beveled section has the aperture 462 within it; [0111] “…the valve post 459 defining the post aperture 462”);
wherein, in the closed state, the first valve is arranged to contact the first exit aperture and impede a flow of the fluid or gas into the exit channel ([0111] lower poppet 394 seals against aperture 462, impeding flow; also described in [0156]).
Regarding claim 2, Sokol discloses wherein in the open state, the first valve is arranged at a distance from the first exit aperture of the exit channel and arranged to at least partially allow flow of the fluid or the gas into the exit channel ([0151] when the lower poppet 394 is pushed away [distanced], the fluid flow pathway from the fluid inlet 414 to nozzle 428 is open, meaning the aperture 462 and channel are allowing fluid flow).
Regarding claim 3, Sokol discloses wherein in the open state, the fluid or the gas exerts a first pressure on the first valve (0151] open state compresses lower poppet spring 393 with a first pressure force), and wherein in the closed state the fluid or the gas exerts a second pressure on the first valve ([0156] removing base 318 applies second pressure to lower poppet spring 393 for extension).
Regarding claim 4, Sokol discloses the first valve comprises the expandable element having an external surface (outer surface of lower poppet spring 393), wherein the external surface is arranged to contact at least a portion of an inner surface of a housing of the first valve (outer surface of lower poppet spring 393 contacts inside annular surface of lower poppet 394; Fig. 15B spring 393 goes through hole in poppet 394), and wherein an outer surface of the housing of the first valve is arranged to contact at least a portion of the first exit aperture of the exit channel in the closed state (sealing surface 464 touches aperture 462).
Regarding claim 5, Sokol discloses the air vent body comprises one or more radially disposed cross channels (latch slots 458) arranged between the first valve and a first internal passage in fluid communication with the first valve (Fig. 18 inlet 414 directs fluid towards base cap 389 and base plate 390, which then travels up through first valve lower poppet 394), the first internal passage having a first end comprising the inlet port (inlet 414) and a second end comprising a lip (base cap 389 and base plate 390); wherein the cross channels are formed by indentations on the lip (Fig. 15B latch slots 458 on top of base cap 389), wherein the expandable element of the first valve and the housing of the first valve are arranged on the lip (spring alignment post 499 Fig. 15B on base plate 390); wherein the cross channels are in fluid communication with the first internal passage and the first internal chamber (underside of slots 458 and underside of inlet for chamber of valve post 489 are accepting the same fluid flow communication from base).
Regarding claim 6, Sokol discloses the assembly body comprises a second internal chamber arranged between the exit channel and the outlet port and in fluid communication with the exit channel and the outlet port (chamber within fluid outlet 406, defined by conduit wall 405).
Regarding claim 7, Sokol discloses the outlet port comprises a second valve (Fig. 15B upper poppet 412).
Regarding claim 8, Sokol discloses the second internal chamber comprises a blocking element arranged between the exit channel and a second internal passage ([0117] upper poppet 412 positioned within fluid outlet 406; [0151] fluid passes through aperture 462 prior to fluid movement through upper poppet 412 apertures in regards to positioning between the previously defined exit channel and bobbin aperture 504), wherein the second internal passage has a first end in fluid communication with the second internal chamber and a second end in fluid communication with the outlet port (bobbin aperture 504; [0151] fluid passes bobbin aperture 504 to flow towards nozzle 428).
Regarding claim 9, Sokol discloses the blocking element comprises a frustoconical flange portion arranged to prevent the fluid from flowing past the frustoconical flange portion (see Fig. 15B upper poppet 412 has a frustoconical flange, which is specifically beveled to form sealing surface 417 creating a fluid-tight seal).
Regarding claim 10, Sokol discloses the blocking element comprises an inner portion arranged at a distance from the exit channel (post 419 is arranged inside poppet 412 above aperture 462).
Regarding claim 11, Sokol discloses an oral irrigator system (Fig 12 sonic toothbrush and water flosser 110) comprising:
a pump in fluid communication with a reservoir and a channel of the oral irrigator, the pump comprising a pump cylinder in which a pressurized flow is created ([0084] “the toothbrush/flosser device 110 may be connected with an irrigator hose 215 from a water flosser base unit (not shown) having a fluid reservoir and pump to provide a pulsating, high pressure water flow to the irrigator tip 228”; high pressure flow means a pressurized flow is created via a pump cylinder);
an air vent assembly having an input port in fluid communication with the pump cylinder ([0097] “A fluid inlet 414 may extend from a portion of the removable base 318 for connection with a hose (not shown) that is connected to a water flosser base unit (not shown). “); wherein the air vent assembly comprises:
a body (valve post 459), the body comprising:
a first internal chamber ([0110] valve post 459 defines a cavity) arranged between the input port (fluid inlet 414) and an outlet port of the body (nozzle 428), wherein the first internal chamber is in fluid communication with the input port and the outlet port and arranged to receive a fluid or a gas ([0151] “a fluid flow pathway from the fluid inlet 414 to the nozzle 428 in the brush tip 325 is opened”… where fluid passes from fluid channel 396 into the cavity of valve body 459), the first internal chamber comprising:
a first inner surface having a first inner surface portion (Annotated Fig. 15B above… internal inner surface of annular section of valve post 459) and a second inner surface portion (Annotated Fig. 15B above… internal inner surface of beveled section); and
a first valve (lower poppet 394; Fig. 15B ) comprising an expandable element (lower poppet spring 393), the first valve arranged to receive the fluid or the gas and transition from an open state (attach base 318… [0151] lower poppet 394 is pushed away from a sealing position, compressing lower poppet spring 393… thus opening fluid flow path from inlet 414 to nozzle 428) to a closed state (remove base 318… [0156] lower poppet 394 is forced to seal post aperture 462 by the lower poppet spring 393”);
an exit channel in fluid communication with the first internal chamber (channel within aperture 462), and arranged between the second inner surface portion of the first inner surface (channel within aperture 462 had fluid flow from the internal inner surface of beveled section towards it) and the outlet port (channel of aperture 462 leads fluid to nozzle 428), the exit channel having a first exit aperture (hole in aperture 462) arranged within the second inner surface portion of the first inner surface of the first internal chamber (Annotated Fig. 15B above shows inner surface of beveled section has the aperture 462 within it; [0111] “…the valve post 459 defining the post aperture 462”); wherein, in the closed state, the first valve is arranged to contact the first exit aperture and impede a flow of the fluid or gas into the exit channel ([0111] lower poppet 394 seals against aperture 462, impeding flow; also described in [0156]).
Regarding claim 12, Sokol discloses in the open state, the first valve is arranged at a distance from the first exit aperture of the exit channel and arranged to at least partially allow flow of the fluid or the gas into the exit channel (see rejection to claim 2 above; [0151] when the lower poppet 394 is pushed away [distanced], the fluid flow pathway from the fluid inlet 414 to nozzle 428 is open, meaning the aperture 462 and channel are allowing fluid flow).
Regarding claim 13, Sokol discloses the first valve comprises the expandable element having an external surface (see rejection to claim 4 above; outer surface of lower poppet spring 393), wherein the external surface is arranged to contact at least a portion of an inner surface of a housing of the first valve (outer surface of lower poppet spring 393 contacts inside annular surface of lower poppet 394; Fig. 15B spring 393 goes through hole in poppet 394), and wherein an outer surface of the housing of the first valve is arranged to contact at least a portion of the first exit aperture of the exit channel in the closed state (sealing surface 464 touches aperture 462).
Regarding claim 14, Sokol discloses the assembly body comprises one or more radially disposed cross channels (see rejection to claim 5 above; latch slots 458) arranged between the first valve and a first internal passage in fluid communication with the first valve (Fig. 18 inlet 414 directs fluid towards base cap 389 and base plate 390, which then travels up through first valve lower poppet 394), the first internal passage having a first end comprising the inlet port (inlet port 414) and a second end comprising a lip (base cap 389 and base plate 390); wherein the cross channels are formed by indentations on the lip (Fig. 15B latch slots 458 on top of base cap 389), wherein the expandable element of the first valve and the housing of the first valve are arranged on the lip (spring alignment post 499 Fig. 15B on base plate 390); wherein the cross channels are in fluid communication with the first internal passage and the first internal chamber (underside of slots 458 and underside of inlet for chamber of valve post 489 are accepting the same fluid flow communication from base).
Regarding claim 15, Sokol discloses the assembly body comprises a second internal chamber arranged between the exit channel and the outlet port and in fluid communication with the exit channel and the outlet port (see rejection to claim 6 above; chamber within fluid outlet 406, defined by conduit wall 405), and wherein the second internal chamber comprises a blocking element arranged between the exit channel and a second internal passage (see rejection to claim 8 above; [0117] upper poppet 412 positioned within fluid outlet 406; [0151] fluid passes through aperture 462 prior to fluid movement through upper poppet 412 apertures in regards to positioning between the previously defined exit channel and bobbin aperture 504), wherein the second internal passage has a first end in fluid communication with the second internal chamber and a second end in fluid communication with the outlet port (bobbin aperture 504; [0151] fluid passes bobbin aperture 504 to flow towards nozzle 428).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on pages 8-9 of the remarks, regarding the rejection to claims 1 and 11 that “the claims require a valve whose state transition (open to closed) is driven by pressures P1/P2 of the received fluid/gas, via expansion of an "expandable element" whose external surface is arranged to contact an inner surface of a valve housing, and where a housing outer surface seals the exit aperture in the closed state”. However, Examiner disagrees that this is what the claim requires. The language from claim 1 lines 9-11 is “a first valve comprising an expandable element, the first valve arranged to receive the fluid or the gas and transition from an open state to a closed state”. The expandable element is not claimed as a structure changed by the pressure of the fluid/gas, and the valve itself is claimed to firstly, receive fluid or gas, and secondly, transition from an open and closed state. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
Applicant argues, on pages 9-10 of the remarks, that “Sokol does not disclose the claimed "expandable element" that expands due to fluid or gas pressure and whose external surface is "arranged to contact" an inner surface of a valve housing to effect sealing”. However, Examiner disagrees that the expandable element is a structure that requires fluid or gas pressure to expand, as is argued in the paragraph above. Furthermore, the language of the claim regarding “arranged to contact” is actually in claim 4 of the rejection. However, in Sokol, the lower poppet spring 393 (expandable element) is located within the lower poppet valve 394 (first valve), and paragraph [0111] states “A top end of the lower poppet spring 393 seats within a cylindrical cavity 500 in the bottom of the lower poppet 394”. Thus, the expandable element, spring 393 of Sokol, does contact the inner surface of the first valve, poppet 393 of Sokol, as evidenced. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
Applicant argues, on page 10 of the remarks, that “The independent claims require the valve "receives the fluid or the gas and transition[s] from an open state to a closed state " under pressures P1/P2 applied by the flowing medium (SPEC [0042] "first pressure P1," [0043] "second pressure P2")”. However, Examiner notes that the actual claim language from claim 1 lines 9-11 as written do not claim the detail of pressures P1/P2, etc., presented in the arguments. The rejection to claims 1 and 11 above reject the claim language as presented since the features “arranged to receive the fluid or gas” and “transition from an open state to a closed state” are separated by the term “and”. The first valve as evidenced by Sokol reads on the claim as written. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GWYNNETH L HOWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785