DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 43-61 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 43-59, line 1, “a projector” should read “the projector”.
Regarding claim 49, line 2, “…first laser beams…” should read “…the first laser beams…”.
Regarding claim 50, line 1, “…a diffuser…” should read “…the diffuser…”.
Regarding claim 50, line 2, “… first laser beams…” should read “…the first laser beams…”.
Regarding claim 51, line 1, “…a diffuser and a circulator” should read “the diffuser and the circulator”.
Regarding claim 60, line 3, “a projector…” should read “the projector…”.
Regarding claim 60, line 11, “…one or more objects…” should read “…the one or more objects…”.
Regarding claim 61, line 1, “…a solid-state LIDAR system…” should read “…the solid-state LIDAR system…”.
Regarding claim 61, line 1, “…according to 60…” should read “…according to claim 60…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 60 invokes § 112(f), specifically the following claim limitation invoke § 112(f).
Regarding claim 60:
Processing means
The above limitation uses a generic placeholder “processing means” coupled with functional language “configured to calculate distance…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the recited function. Further, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Although the term “processing means” is not one of the recognized nonce terms, such as “means” or “step”, the presumption of not invoking 354 U.S.C. 112(f) is overcome. Specifically, “processing means” is not a term of art with structural connotation to one skilled in the art.
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for performing “processing means” is in [0054], the processing means comprise a processor or a microprocessor; [0075], the processing means 400 generally comprise a processor or a computer comprising algorithms for calculating the distance to an object based on the reflected laser light detected. Therefore, the interpretation of “processing means” is a computer processor to calculate the distance to an object based on reflected light detected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42 and 54-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi et al. (US 20190049097 A1, hereinafter “Rossi”), modified in view of Benitez et al. (US 20160010811 A1, hereinafter “Benitez”), in view of Mor et al. (US 20160025993 A1, hereinafter “Mor”).
Regarding claim 42, Rossi teaches a projector for illuminating a scene with a discrete spot pattern, comprising:
a laser array comprising a plurality of discrete solid-state laser light sources operable for emitting a diverging first laser beam (Rossi; Fig. 1, [0207], the illumination unit comprises array of light sources LSA S1 (an array of VCSEL [0211]) includes a multitude of light sources 1 which are regularly arranged at a pitch Q1. From the figure can clearly see the emitted light has a divergent angle of 10˚),
a mixing chamber extending along a main optical axis and configured for receiving and allowing each of said first laser beams to diverge until, for each first laser beam, at least a portion of its light rays is overlapping with light rays of adjacent first laser beams (Rossi; Fig. 1, [0217], a distance between LSA S1 and MLA LL1 is referred to as D1. Implies a mixing chamber to constraint the light source and microlens array; [0219], it turned out that for specific selections of pitches P1, wavelengths L1 and distances D1, a contrast present in such a pattern is particularly high, whereas for other distances, only much lower contrast is present in a created pattern; [0131], it can be provided that subsets of microlenses illuminated by neighboring ones of the light source are overlapping, i.e. the subset of microlenses illuminated by a first light source and the subset of microlenses illuminated by a second light source neighboring the first light source have at least one microlens in common. Such an overlap on MLA of light emitted from neighboring light source can, in particular when lasers such as VCSELs are used as light sources, reduce or even eliminate speckle formation),
a reshaping optical system (Rossi; Fig. 1, [0207], an illumination module includes a microlens array MAL LL1 including a multitude of microlenses 2 (equivalent to reshaping optical system)) configured for
receiving the overlapping light rays of said first laser beams exiting said mixing chamber (Rossi; [0131], it can be provided that subsets of microlenses illuminated by neighboring ones of the light source are overlapping, i.e. the subset of microlenses illuminated by a first light source and the subset of microlenses illuminated by a second light source neighboring the first light source have at least one microlens in common. Such an overlap on MLA of light emitted from neighboring light source can, in particular when lasers such as VCSELs are used as light sources, reduce or even eliminate speckle formation), and
generating a plurality of discrete second laser beams wherein each second laser beam comprises light rays originating from multiple first laser beams (Rossi; [0215], interference between light emitted from a specific light source 1 but having passed through different ones of the microlenses 2 can interfere so as to produce an interference pattern, such that, in the far field after interacted with MLA LL1, all the interference patterns superimpose. Therefore, the emitted light 5 produces a high-intensity interference pattern which can be used to illuminate a scene or be caught on a screen. Fig. 2, clearly seen a discrete spot pattern), and wherein said reshaping optical system comprises a first micro-lens array comprising a plurality of micro-lenses, and wherein each micro-lens is configured for generating one of the second laser beams of said plurality of second laser beams (Rossi; Fig. 1, [0207], an illumination module includes a microlens array MAL LL1 including a multitude of microlenses 2 (equivalent to reshaping optical system); second beams can be seen after the microlens array LL1),
Rossi does not teach,
wherein at least a portion of an inner wall of said mixing chamber is a reflective wall for reflecting laser light or wherein at least a portion of an inner wall of said mixing chamber comprises a mirror,
a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern.
Benitez teaches,
wherein at least a portion of an inner wall of said mixing chamber is a reflective wall for reflecting laser light or wherein at least a portion of an inner wall of said mixing chamber comprises a mirror (Benitez; Fig. 1, [0039], device 100 is a mixing optic including a mixing chamber 101 with highly reflective bottom and side walls, which may be specular and/or diffuse. This chamber is covered with reflective sheet 112, which also forms the top of the mixing chamber. The surface of reflective sheet 112 is highly reflective, specular and/or diffuse),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using highly reflective sheet on the bottom and side walls of the mixing chamber predictably to reflect back the peripheral light of the laser array and improve the homogenous of the light distribution.
However, Rossi modified in view of Benitez still not teach,
a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern.
Mor teaches, a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern (Mor; Fig. 1, [0031], a projection lens 146 is mounted on spacers 142, typically such that die 120 lies on the focal plane of the lens; [0022], projection lens 146 collects and collimates the light emitted by the light source. The combination of the VCSELs and the projection lens generates a pattern of light spot according to the geometrical layout of the VCSELs; in combine with Rossi’s invention using microlens array to form a spot-light pattern with Mor’s invention using the projection lens to project spot-light pattern in the target area, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to realize that the combination will successfully project the second laser beams with discreate spot pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using project lens system to collect and collimate the light emitted by the light source (Mor; [0022]).
Regarding claim 54, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42 wherein said laser array is a one-dimensional or a two-dimensional laser array (Rossi; Fig. 1, [0056], the first array of light sources (LSA) (includes an array of VCSELs [0122]) includes light sources which are regularly arranged at a pitch Q1 (light source pitch Q1) which is equal to lens pitch P of the microlenses (P=Q1)).
Regarding claim 55, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42 wherein each of said solid-state light sources of said laser array is a semiconductor laser, preferably a vertical-cavity surface- emitting laser (Rossi; Fig. 1, [0056], the first array of light sources (LSA) (includes an array of VCSELs [0122]) includes light sources which are regularly arranged at a pitch Q1 (light source pitch Q1) which is equal to lens pitch P of the microlenses (P=Q1)).
Claim(s) 43 and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Sugiyama et al. (JP 2003131165 A, hereinafter “Sugiyama”).
Regarding claim 43, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42.
Rossi does not teach, wherein said reshaping optical system is configured such that a number of second laser beams formed by the reshaping optical system is lower than a number of first laser beams emitted by the laser array.
Sugiyama disclosed in Fig. 4, paragraph [0032], illustrating the principle of a light source-conjugate optical system (split and combined optical system); [0033] the light source 1 used is assumed to be a semiconductor laser array, and the light beams from each emitter are collimated by collimating lenses 2 using microlenses; [0038], the emitter is projected onto the first lens L1 on the focal plane on the exit side. This image is superposition of images from all emitters at the same location , so even if one emitter deteriorates, it does not result in loss of part of the illumination light. The overlap also average out variations between emitters; [0039]-[0040], following by 1st/2nd MLA and image lens L2 and then inverted to form one image. Clearly seen that the original beams has been split and combined while passing through the reshaping optic system and the output beams is less then input beams due to superimpose process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include wherein said reshaping optical system is configured such that a number of second laser beams formed by the reshaping optical system is lower than a number of first laser beams emitted by the laser array taught by Sugiyama with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using several reshaping optical system to split or combine the light source. This image is superposition of images from all emitters at the same location, such that even if one emitter deteriorates, it does not result in loss of part of the illumination light (Sugiyama; [0022]-[0023], [0038]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 59, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42.
Rossi does not teach, wherein the reshaping optical system is further configured for refocussing the overlapping light rays.
Sugiyama disclosed in Fig. 4, paragraph [0032], illustrating the principle of a light source-conjugate optical system (split and combined optical system); [0033] the light source 1 used is assumed to be a semiconductor laser array, and the light beams from each emitter are collimated by collimating lenses 2 using microlenses; [0038], the emitter is projected onto the first lens L1 on the focal plane on the exit side. This image is superposition of images from all emitters at the same location , so even if one emitter deteriorates, it does not result in loss of part of the illumination light. The overlap also average out variations between emitters; [0039]-[0040], following by 1st/2nd MLA and image lens L2 and then inverted to form one image. Clearly seen that the original beams has been split, combined and refocusing while passing through the reshaping optic system and the output beams is less then input beams due to superimpose process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include wherein said reshaping optical system is configured such that a number of second laser beams formed by the reshaping optical system is lower than a number of first laser beams emitted by the laser array taught by Sugiyama with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using several reshaping optical system to split or combine or refocusing the light source. This image is superposition of images from all emitters at the same location, such that even if one emitter deteriorates, it does not result in loss of part of the illumination light (Sugiyama; [0022]-[0023], [0038]-[0038]).
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Holt et al. (US 10139217 B1, hereinafter “Holt”).
Regarding claim 44, Rossi as modified above teaches the as recited in to claim 42.
Rossi does not teach, wherein said plurality of discrete solid-state laser light sources are grouped into a plurality of tiles and said tiles are arranged for forming a one-dimensional or a two-dimensional array of tiles, and wherein each tile comprises a number of said plurality of discrete solid-state laser light sources associated to said tile.
Holt disclosed, in Fig. 4A, column 16, line 32, multiple dies could be disposed relative to such an astigmatic optical element to provide respective patterns of illumination from respective sets of light-emitted elements of the different dies. Such different dies could be provided to increase a degree of power dissipation from the dies to increase a total number of sets of light-emitting elements on the dies and corresponding total number of different patterns of illumination that can be provided by the light emitter, or to provide some other functionality. This is illustrated by way of example in Fig. 4A, which shows a first die 410a and a second die 420a that each include respective pluralities of light-emitting elements (column 4, line 1, e.g., LEDs or VCSELs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include wherein said plurality of discrete solid-state laser light sources are grouped into a plurality of tiles and said tiles are arranged for forming a one-dimensional or a two-dimensional array of tiles, and wherein each tile comprises a number of said plurality of discrete solid-state laser light sources associated to said tile taught by Holt with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using different dies could be provided to increase a degree of power dissipation from the dies to increase a total number of sets of light-emitting elements on the dies and corresponding total number of different patterns of illumination that can be provided by the light emitter, or to provide some other functionality (Holt; column 16, line 32).
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Holt, in view of Carson et al. (US 20200310005 A1, hereinafter “Carson”).
Regarding claim 45, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 44.
Rossi does not teach, further comprising a beam expander configured for increasing illumination in inter-tile areas so as to increase a homogeneity of a light distribution incident on the first micro-lens array.
Carson disclosed in Fig. 3A, paragraph [0032], light source 310 (array of light sources such as VCLEs…. [0021]) is aligned on-axis with a principal axis of two microlenses 320, 330. The microlenses act as a beam expander with the first lens 320 increasing the divergence of the beam (equivalent to a beam expander to incase illumination in inter-rile area, clearly see the beam passing through 320 has been expanded in order to pass through second micro lens 330), and the second lens 330 collimating and reducing divergence of the beam such that the resulting beam 340 and its field of illumination are significantly greater than the initial beam emitted from the light source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include wherein said plurality of discrete solid-state laser light sources are grouped into a plurality of tiles and said tiles are arranged for forming a one-dimensional or a two-dimensional array of tiles, and wherein each tile comprises a number of said plurality of discrete solid-state laser light sources associated to said tile taught by Holt, include further comprising a beam expander configured for increasing illumination in inter-tile areas so as to increase a homogeneity of a light distribution incident on the first micro-lens array taught by Carson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using microlens array 320 as a beam expander to expand the light coming from light source 310 such that its field of illumination are significantly greater than the initial beam emitted from the light source (Carson; [0032]).
Claim(s) 46-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Cox et al. (US 20030011888 A1, hereinafter “Cox”).
Regarding claim 46, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42.
Rossi does not teach, wherein said first micro-lens array is configured such that each micro-lens of the first micro-lens array comprises a focal point located on a flat plane or on a curved plane, and wherein said flat plane or said curved plane is located between the first micro-lens array and the projector lens system.
Cox teaches, wherein said first micro-lens array is configured such that each micro-lens of the first micro-lens array comprises a focal point located on a flat plane or on a curved plane, and wherein said flat plane or said curved plane is located between the first micro-lens array and the projector lens system (Cox; Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0023], a cross-sectional of an optical system includes an array of opto-electronic device (e.g., CCDs, RCPDs, LEDs, and VCSELS [0020]). Microlenses 24-32 have been added above opto-electronic devices 8-16, respectively. surface 20 defined by the field of curvature of fore optic 4 (equivalent to curved plane corresponds to a curved focal plane of the projector lens system). Clearly see each microlens is focus on the curved plane 20 (equivalent to each micro lens comprises a focal point located on a curved plane)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include wherein said first micro-lens array is configured such that each micro-lens of the first micro-lens array comprises a focal point located on a flat plane or on a curved plane, and wherein said flat plane or said curved plane is located between the first micro-lens array and the projector lens system taught by Cox with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using microlens array to focus opto-electronic device 6 (may include light sources/detectors) on a curved plane which is the focal plane for lens 4 predictably the light emitted from the opto-electronic device can be focused on the focal plane of the lens 4 such that to correct the optical aberrations of the projector lens system.
Regarding claim 47, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42.
Rossi does not teach, wherein said first micro-lens array is configured such that each micro-lens comprises a focal point located on a curved plane, and wherein said curved plane corresponds to a curved focal plane of the projector lens system.
Cox teaches, wherein said first micro-lens array is configured such that each micro-lens of the first micro-lens array comprises a focal point located on a flat plane or on a curved plane, and wherein said flat plane or said curved plane is located between the first micro-lens array and the projector lens system (Cox; Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0023], a cross-sectional of an optical system includes an array of opto-electronic device (e.g., CCDs, RCPDs, LEDs, and VCSELS [0020]). Microlenses 24-32 have been added above opto-electronic devices 8-16, respectively. surface 20 defined by the field of curvature of fore optic 4 (equivalent to curved plane corresponds to a curved focal plane of the projector lens system). Clearly see each microlens is focus on the curved plane 20 (equivalent to each micro lens comprises a focal point located on a curved plane)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include wherein said first micro-lens array is configured such that each micro-lens of the first micro-lens array comprises a focal point located on a flat plane or on a curved plane, and wherein said flat plane or said curved plane is located between the first micro-lens array and the projector lens system taught by Cox with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using microlens array to focus opto-electronic device 6 (may include light sources/detectors) on a curved plane which is the focal plane for lens 4 predictably the light emitted from the opto-electronic device can be focused on the focal plane of the lens 4 such that to correct the optical aberrations of the projector lens system.
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Ikeoh et al. (US 20210165101 A1, hereinafter “Ikeoh”).
Regarding claim 48, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42.
Rossi does not teach, further comprising a second micro-lens array configured for decreasing a divergence angle of the first laser beams emitted by the solid-state laser light sources, preferably the second micro-lens array is arranged between the laser array and the first micro-lens array.
Ikeoh teaches, further comprising a second micro-lens array configured for decreasing a divergence angle of the first laser beams emitted by the solid-state laser light sources, preferably the second micro-lens array is arranged between the laser array and the first micro-lens array (Ikeoh; Fig. 17A-17B, [0120], the laser beams that are emitted from the light emitting element 112n are incident on the element 121n1 (equivalent to second micro lens array) before the beam diameter of those laser beams becomes wider than the lens diameter; [0121], the laser beams are not incident on the neighboring lens element 121n1. However, at the timing when the laser beams reach the lens element 121n2, the beam diameter of those laser beams becomes wider than the lens diameter (lens element 121n2 equivalent to first microlens array).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include further comprising a second micro-lens array configured for decreasing a divergence angle of the first laser beams emitted by the solid-state laser light sources, preferably the second micro-lens array is arranged between the laser array and the first micro-lens array taught by Ikeoh with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using microlens array to reduce the divergence of the light source before the beam diameter of those laser beams becomes wider than the lens diameter (Ikeoh; [0120]-[0121]).
Claim(s) 49-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Adams et al. (US 20150053658 A1, hereinafter “Adams”).
Regarding claim 49, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42.
Rossi does not teach, further comprising a diffuser and/or a circulator configured for increasing the overlapping of first laser beams within the mixing chamber.
Adames teaches, further comprising a diffuser and/or a circulator configured for increasing the overlapping of first laser beams within the mixing chamber (Adames; Fig. 9, [0069], a random diffuser 902 may be placed in front of or within the beam homogenizer assembly 408 so that the uniformity of outgoing energy A5 is improved in relation to the incoming energy A1. The random diffuser 902 generally causes the light passing through it to spread out (equivalent to increasing the overlapping of first beams) so that the irradiance of energy A3 received by the second micro lens array 906 is less than without the diffuser. The diffuser is also used to randomize the phase of the beam striking each micro lens array. This additional random phase improves the spatial uniformity by spreading out the high intensity spots observed without the diffuser).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include further comprising a diffuser and/or a circulator configured for increasing the overlapping of first laser beams within the mixing chamber taught by Adames with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the random diffuser 902 generally causes the light passing through it to spread out so that the irradiance of energy A3 received by the second micro lens array 906 is less than without the diffuser. The diffuser is also used to randomize the phase of the beam striking each micro lens array. This additional random phase improves the spatial uniformity by spreading out the high intensity spots observed without the diffuser (Adames; [0069]).
Regarding claim 50, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 49.
Rossi does not teach, further comprising a diffuser configured for increasing the overlapping of first laser beams within the mixing chamber and wherein the diffuser is arranged between said second micro-lens array and said first micro-lens array.
Adames teaches, further comprising a diffuser configured for increasing the overlapping of first laser beams within the mixing chamber and wherein the diffuser is arranged between said second micro-lens array and said first micro-lens array (Adames; Fig. 9, [0069], a random diffuser 902 may be placed in front of or within the beam homogenizer assembly 408 so that the uniformity of outgoing energy A5 is improved in relation to the incoming energy A1. The random diffuser 902 generally causes the light passing through it to spread out (equivalent to increasing the overlapping of first beams) so that the irradiance of energy A3 received by the second micro lens array 906 is less than without the diffuser. The diffuser is also used to randomize the phase of the beam striking each micro lens array. This additional random phase improves the spatial uniformity by spreading out the high intensity spots observed without the diffuser; Fig. 11B, 11D, [0078], illustrates a corrected image 1108 that is formed by adding the correction lens 1001 (e.g., single lens that contains 2500 microlens; equivalent to 2nd microlens) into the optical path before the first micro lens array 904. The correction lens can be placed before or after the random diffuser 902 in the optical path if it is need, but before the first microlens array 904).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include further comprising a diffuser and/or a circulator configured for increasing the overlapping of first laser beams within the mixing chamber taught by Adames with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the random diffuser 902 generally causes the light passing through it to spread out so that the irradiance of energy A3 received by the second micro lens array 406 is less than without the diffuser. The diffuser is also used to randomize the phase of the beam striking each micro lens array. This additional random phase improves the spatial uniformity by spreading out the high intensity spots observed without the diffuser. Furthermore, the position of diffuser can be either before or after the correction lens (formed by microlens array) depending on the design requirement (Adames; [0069], [0078]).
Claim(s) 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Adams, in view of Belsley (US 20070189341 A1, hereinafter “Belsley”).
Regarding claim 51, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 49.
Rossi does not teach, further comprising a diffuser and a circulator, and wherein the circulator is arranged between said second micro-lens array and said diffuser.
Belsley disclosed in Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0046], [0048], the optical switch (214/310) (equivalent to circulator) can either selected combining beam 312/314 one or the other or both (shown in Fig. 3 and paragraph [0048] for detail); Fig. 5, [0076], using optical elements including prisms, mirrors, half-mirrors, beam splitters, dichroic films to direct, combine, direct, focus, diffuse, amplify, or otherwise process electromagnetic radiation (equivalent including diffuser and circulator (optical switch component some in Fig. 2, Fig. 3)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include further comprising a diffuser and/or a circulator configured for increasing the overlapping of first laser beams within the mixing chamber taught by Adames, include further comprising a diffuser and a circulator, and wherein the circulator is arranged between said second micro-lens array and said diffuser taught by Belsley with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using optical elements including circulator, lens diffuser, prisms, mirrors, half-mirrors, beam splitters, dichroic films to direct, combine, direct, focus, diffuse, amplify, or otherwise process electromagnetic radiation (Belsley; [0046], [0048], [0076]). Though the position of a diffuser, a circulator and second microlens array is not disclosed in Rossi modified in view of Benitez, Mor, Adames and Belsley, MPEP § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP § 2144.01 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts).
Claim(s) 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Adams, in view of Holt, in view of Cox.
Regarding claim 52, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 49.
Rossi does not teach,
wherein the laser array is composed of a number of VCSEL chips, wherein each VCSEL chip comprises a plurality of laser emitters, and wherein each laser emitter corresponds to one of said discrete solid-state laser light sources, preferably a number of micro-lenses in the second micro-lens array is equal or smaller than a total number of emitters of the laser array.
Holt disclosed, in Fig. 4A, column 16, line 32, multiple dies could be disposed relative to such an astigmatic optical element to provide respective patterns of illumination from respective sets of light-emitted elements of the different dies. Such different dies could be provided to increase a degree of power dissipation from the dies to increase a total number of sets of light-emitting elements on the dies and corresponding total number of different patterns of illumination that can be provided by the light emitter, or to provide some other functionality. This is illustrated by way of example in Fig. 4A, which shows a first die 410a and a second die 420a that each include respective pluralities of light-emitting elements (column 4, line 1, e.g., LEDs or VCSELs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include further comprising a diffuser and/or a circulator configured for increasing the overlapping of first laser beams within the mixing chamber taught by Adames, include wherein the laser array is composed of a number of VCSEL chips, wherein each VCSEL chip comprises a plurality of laser emitters, and wherein each laser emitter corresponds to one of said discrete solid-state laser light sources taught by Holt with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using different dies could be provided to increase a degree of power dissipation from the dies to increase a total number of sets of light-emitting elements on the dies and corresponding total number of different patterns of illumination that can be provided by the light emitter, or to provide some other functionality (Holt; column 16, line 32).
However, Rossi modified in view of Benitez, Mor, Adames and Holt still not teach,
preferably a number of micro-lenses in the second micro-lens array is equal or smaller than a total number of emitters of the laser array.
Cox teaches, preferably a number of micro-lenses in the second micro-lens array is equal or smaller than a total number of emitters of the laser array (Cox; Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0023], a cross-sectional of an optical system includes an array of opto-electronic device (e.g., CCDs, RCPDs, LEDs, and VCSELS [0020]). Microlenses 24-32 have been added above opto-electronic devices 8-16, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include further comprising a diffuser and/or a circulator configured for increasing the overlapping of first laser beams within the mixing chamber taught by Adames, include wherein the laser array is composed of a number of VCSEL chips, wherein each VCSEL chip comprises a plurality of laser emitters, and wherein each laser emitter corresponds to one of said discrete solid-state laser light sources taught by Holt, include preferably a number of micro-lenses in the second micro-lens array is equal or smaller than a total number of emitters of the laser array taught by Cox with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using microlens array to focus opto-electronic device 6 (may include light sources/detectors) on a curved plane which is the focal plane for lens 4 predictably the light emitted from the opto-electronic device can be focused on the focal plane of the lens 4 such that to correct the optical aberrations of the projector lens system. To better align the curvature of the focal plane of the lens 4 with each emitter light source, a one by one match of the emitter with microlens is needed as expected.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Watson et al. (US 20060268241 A1, hereinafter “Watson”).
Regarding claim 53, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42.
Rossi does not teach, further comprising a Bragg volume grating configured for reducing a wavelength spread of the first laser beams.
Watson teaches, further comprising a Bragg volume grating configured for reducing a wavelength spread of the first laser beams (Watson; Fig. 23, [0160], a VECSEL (may include MLA [0178]) with intracavity frequency conversion utilizing a VBG 2310 to frequency-stabilize a surface emitting laser. VBG 2310 also serves as a reflector element of an output coupler, thereby defining an extended cavity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include further comprising a Bragg volume grating configured for reducing a wavelength spread of the first laser beams taught by Watson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using a VBG to frequency-stabilize a surface emitting laser (Watson; [0160]).
Claim(s) 56-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Bloemen et al. (US 20200194973 A1, hereinafter “Bloemen”).
Regarding claim 56, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42.
Rossi does not teach, wherein said laser array is a front-end VCSEL array.
Bloemen teaches, wherein said laser array is a front-end VCSEL array (Bloemen; Fig. 3, [0032], VCSELs with top emitter (equivalent to front-end VCSEL array) emitting away from the substrate 101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include wherein said laser array is a front-end VCSEL array taught by Bloemen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for using front-end VCSEL is that the common optical structure may include transparent material provided on top of the semiconductor layer structure of the VCSEL array. Alternatively, a planarization layer may be provided in order to provide an essentially plain surface at the level of the light emitting areas of the single VCSELs (Bloemen; [0032], [0039]).
Regarding claim 57, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42.
Rossi does not teach, wherein said laser array is a back-end VCSEL array comprising a plurality of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers configured for emitting laser light through a substrate of the back-end VCSEL array.
Bloemen teaches, wherein said laser array is a back-end VCSEL array comprising a plurality of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers configured for emitting laser light through a substrate of the back-end VCSEL array (Bloemen; Fig. 7, [0063], five VCSELs 130 emitting laser light 10 through the semiconductor substrate 101 (bottom emitter; equivalent to back-end VCSEL)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include wherein said laser array is a back-end VCSEL array comprising a plurality of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers configured for emitting laser light through a substrate of the back-end VCSEL array taught by Bloemen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for using back-end VCSEL is that the common optical structure may be integrated, especially etched in the semiconductor substrate of VCSEL array. The high refractive index of the semiconductor substrate enables a relatively flat profile of the common optical structure. A planarization layer may be provided after integrating the common optical structure in the semiconductor substrate (Bloemen; [0029], [0030]).
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Adams, in view of Bloemen.
Regarding claim 58, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 49.
Rossi does not teach, wherein the laser array is a back-end VCSEL array comprising said second micro-lens array, and wherein the second micro-lens array comprises micro-lenses configured for reducing a divergence angle (BVCSEL) of each of the vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers of the VCSEL array, preferably the second micro-lens array is etched in the substrate of the back-end VCSEL array.
Bloemen teaches, wherein the laser array is a back-end VCSEL array comprising said second micro-lens array, and wherein the second micro-lens array comprises micro-lenses configured for reducing a divergence angle (BVCSEL) of each of the vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers of the VCSEL array, preferably the second micro-lens array is etched in the substrate of the back-end VCSEL array (Bloemen; Fig. 7, [0063], five VCSELs 130 emitting laser light 10 through the semiconductor substrate 101 (bottom emitter; equivalent to back-end VCSEL). The microlenses 143 are etched together with the common optical structure 140 in order to provide transformed laser light 150 which is imaged to the respective sector in the reference plane; [0066], the associated microlens 143 collimates laser light 10 such that the divergence is reduced such that the improved illumination pattern is achieved).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include further comprising a diffuser and/or a circulator configured for increasing the overlapping of first laser beams within the mixing chamber taught by Adames, include wherein the laser array is a back-end VCSEL array comprising said second micro-lens array, and wherein the second micro-lens array comprises micro-lenses configured for reducing a divergence angle (BVCSEL) of each of the vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers of the VCSEL array, preferably the second micro-lens array is etched in the substrate of the back-end VCSEL array taught by Bloemen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the common optical structure (such as microlenses) may be integrated, especially etched in the semiconductor substrate of VCSEL array. The high refractive index of the semiconductor substrate enables a relatively flat profile of the common optical structure. A planarization layer may be provided after integrating the common optical structure in the semiconductor substrate (Bloemen; [0029], [0030], [0063], [0066]).
Claim(s) 60-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossi, modified in view of Benitez, in view of Mor, in view of Van Dyck et al. (WO 2017068199 A1, hereinafter “Van Dyck”).
Regarding claim 60, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42 for illuminating the scene with a discrete spot pattern (please see mapping of claim 42 above).
Rossi does not teach, a solid-state LIDAR system for determining distances to one or more objects of a scene comprising:
a light receiving device comprising a multi-pixel detector configured for detecting spots of reflected laser light representing the discrete spot pattern as reflected by the one or more objects of the scene,
a controller for controlling said projector and said light receiving device so as to detect and accumulate said reflected laser light in synchronization with said illumination of the scene, and
processing means configured to calculate distances to one or more objects of said scene based on said accumulated reflected laser light.
Van Dyck teaches,
a solid-state LIDAR system (Van Dyck; page 6, lines 24-32, solid state LIDAR system) for determining distances to one or more objects of a scene comprising:
a light receiving device comprising a multi-pixel detector configured for detecting spots of reflected laser light representing the discrete spot pattern as reflected by the one or more objects of the scene (Van Dyck; Page7, line 17-21, the present invention uses range gating to determine the distance travelled by a light pulse that has been transmitted and subsequently reflected by a target object; page 15, lines 28-34, the detector comprises a plurality of picture elements i.e., it consists of a picture element array with adequate optics arrange to project an image of the scenery (including the illuminated spots) onto the picture element (refer to an individual light sensitive area or well of a pixel),
a controller for controlling said projector and said light receiving device so as to detect and accumulate said reflected laser light in synchronization with said illumination of the scene (Van Dyck; page 7, line 1-12, processing means configured to calculate the distance to the object as a function of exposure values generated by said picture elements in response to said detected light; wherein the picture elements are configured to generate said exposure values by accumulating, for each pulse of said sequence, a first amount to electrical charge representative of a first amount of light reflected by said object during a first predetermined time window and a second electrical charge representative of a second amount of light reflected by said object during a second predetermined time window, said second predetermined time window occurring after said first predetermined time window), and
processing means configured to calculate distances to one or more objects of said scene based on said accumulated reflected laser light (same as above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include a solid state LIDAR system including receiver, controller and processing means taught by Van Dyck with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the projector system taught by Rossi modified in view of Benitez and Mor to the solid state LIDAR system taught by Van Dyck predictably to improve the performance of the LIDAR system.
Regarding claim 61, Rossi as modified above teaches the projector as recited in claim 42 (please see mapping of claim 42 above).
Rossi does not teach, a vehicle comprising a solid-state LIDAR system according to claim 60 having a field of view covering at least a part of an area surrounding said vehicle, and wherein said at least part of an area corresponds to said scene.
Van Dyck teaches, a vehicle comprising a solid-state LIDAR system according to claim 60 (please see mapping of claim 60 above) having a field of view covering at least a part of an area surrounding said vehicle, and wherein said at least part of an area corresponds to said scene (Van Dyck; Page 9, line 21-38, according to an aspect of the present invention, there is provided a vehicle, comprising: a system as described above arranged to operatively cover at least a part of an area surrounding said vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the projector taught by Rossi to include mixing chamber with a reflective wall taught by Benitez, include a projector lens system configured for receiving said second laser beams and for projecting the second laser beams towards the scene , and wherein said projected second laser beams are forming said discrete spot pattern taught by Mor, include a solid state LIDAR system including receiver, controller and processing means; further using in a vehicle with a field of view covering at least a part of an area surrounding said vehicle, and wherein said at least part of an area corresponds to said scene taught by Van Dyck with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the projector system taught by Rossi modified in view of Benitez and Mor to the solid state LIDAR system of a vehicle with a field of view covering at least a part of an area surrounding said vehicle, and wherein said at least part of an area corresponds to said scene taught by Van Dyck predictably to improve the performance of the LIDAR system on a vehicle.
Conclusion
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645