DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/04/2025, with respect to the 103 rejections of claim 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejection of claim 20 and its dependent claims have been withdrawn.
No arguments were made with respect to claims 21 and 22
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20, 1 ,2, 23 and 38-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant amended claim 20 to remove the alternative placement language by replacing ORs with. This renders the claim unclear as the blocking container can only be in one of the positions listed at a time. The claim should be rewritten in a way similar to ‘that the placing-back position is chosen from an original storage position of the at least one blocking container, an original storage position of the target container and other empty storage position; or picking-up, in a case that the cache mechanism of the at least one robot is entirely occupied by the at least one blocking container, the target container by the at least one robot from the storage rack and keeping the target container on the at least one robot’. Applicant is not required to use the language suggested by the examiner. Claims 40-42 have a similar issue to that cited in claim 20 as they claim alternative embodiments but do not use alternative language leaving the claims reading as the blocking container options can exist at the same time. Appropriate amendments to claim 20 and 40-42 to clarify that these are a selection of options chosen from and not coexistent outcomes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. US 2019/0352092 in view of Zhang et al. CN 107226310 A.
Zheng discloses an electronic device, comprising:
(Re claim 21) “at least one memory and at least one processor” (‘AGV’ abstract, para 0008), . “the at least one memory storing computer-readable instructions, and the at least one processor is used to execute the computer-readable instructions, wherein, the at least one processor executes the computer-readable instructions to achieve a container transporting method based on dense storage, the method comprising at least one of a picking-up process and a return process, wherein the picking-up process comprises: picking-up, in a case that at least one blocking container that blocks pickup of a target container is stored on a storage rack, the at least one blocking container from the storage rack by at least one robot and temporarily storing the at least one blocking container on a cache mechanism of the at least one robot, wherein the target container is one of at least one container to be picked up; and
picking-up, by the at least one robot, the target container from the storage rack and storing the target container on a cache mechanism of the at least one robot, and picking-up the at least one blocking container from the cache mechanism of the at least one robot and placing the at least one blocking container on the storage rack at an original storage position of the at least one blocking container, an original storage position of the target container or other empty storage position” (para 0054). “the return process comprises: placing, in a case that at least one blocking container that blocks return of a target container is stored on a storage rack, the at least one blocking container from an original storage position of the at least one blocking container on the storage rack to a position that does not form a block by at least one robot, wherein the target container is one of at least one container to be returned; and picking-up, by the at least one robot, the target container from the cache mechanism of the at least one robot and placing the target container at a return position on the storage rack” (para 0054. ‘fetch or place’ abstract). The return process is just the reverse of the picking process same the place process would be the reverse of the fetch process.
Zheng does not disclose picking-up, in a case that the cache mechanism of the at least one robot is entirely occupied by the at least one blocking container, the target container by the at least one robot from the storage rack and keeping the target container on the at least one robot.
Zhang teaches picking-up, in a case that the cache mechanism of the at least one robot is entirely occupied by the at least one blocking container, the target container by the at least one robot from the storage rack and keeping the target container on the at least one robot (page 6 lines 7-13).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Zheng to include picking-up, in a case that the cache mechanism of the at least one robot is entirely occupied by the at least one blocking container, the target container by the at least one robot from the storage rack and keeping the target container on the at least one robot because when the cache is full the robot cannot perform any other tasks.
Zheng discloses a container transporting system based on dense storage, wherein the system comprises at least one robot, the at least one robot performs at least one of a picking-up process and a return process, wherein the picking-up process comprises:
(Re claim 22) “picking-up, in a case that at least one blocking container that blocks pickup of a target container is stored on a storage rack, the at least one blocking container from the storage rack by at least one robot and temporarily storing the at least one blocking container on a cache mechanism of the at least one robot, wherein the target container is one of at least one container to be picked up; and picking-up, by the at least one robot, the target container from the storage rack and storing the target container on a cache mechanism of the at least one robot, and picking-up the at least one blocking container from the cache mechanism of the at least one robot and placing theat (the at) least one blocking container on the storage rack at an original storage position of the at least one blocking container, an original storage position of the target container or other empty storage position” (para 0054). “the return process comprises: placing, in a case that at least one blocking container that blocks return of a target container is stored on a storage rack, the at least one blocking container from an original storage position of the at least one blocking container on the storage rack to a position that does not form a block by at least one robot, wherein the target container is one of at least one container to be returned; and picking-up, by the at least one robot, the target container from the cache mechanism of the at least one robot and placing the target container at a return position on the storage rack” (para 0054. ‘fetch or place’ abstract). The return process is just the reverse of the picking process same the place process would be the reverse of the fetch process.
Zheng does not disclose picking-up, in a case that the cache mechanism of the at least one robot is entirely occupied by the at least one blocking container, the target container by the at least one robot from the storage rack and keeping the target container on the at least one robot.
Zhang teaches picking-up, in a case that the cache mechanism of the at least one robot is entirely occupied by the at least one blocking container, the target container by the at least one robot from the storage rack and keeping the target container on the at least one robot (page 6 lines 7-13).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Zheng to include picking-up, in a case that the cache mechanism of the at least one robot is entirely occupied by the at least one blocking container, the target container by the at least one robot from the storage rack and keeping the target container on the at least one robot because when the cache is full the robot cannot perform any other tasks.
Allowable Subject Matter
No prior art was found which would, alone or in combination, reject the limitations of claim 20 and its dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655