DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see Applicant Remarks (filed on 12/19/2025), with respect to claims 1 and 5 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments against the rejections in view of the prior art of record have been fully considered, but are not persuasive, as they do not address the new grounds of rejection and/or interpretation below necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the guiding part has a thickness gradually decreasing from the center of the adhesive surface towards the two edges of the adhesive surface along the width direction”; it is unclear if it is the guiding part the structure that has a thickness gradually decreasing from the center of the adhesive surface towards the two edges of the adhesive surface along the width direction, or if it is the adhesive surface itself the structure that has said gradually decreasing thickness. A review of the Specification appears to indicate that “the adhesion pattern has a protruded shape, and the height of the adhesion pattern becomes decreasing gradually along the longitudinal direction or the width direction” ([0012]).
Claim 5 is rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
103 are summarized as follows:
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20180095421 A) in view of Jaegal (KR 20140103408 A), in view of Han (US 20160029767 A1), further in view of Straub (US 4824702 A), as evidenced by Ladd-Kimbrough (US 20190045903 A1); see the translations attached to the Office Action filed on 09/29/2025).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1. Lee’s Annotated Figure 1b.)]
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2. Lee’s Annotated Figure 2.)]
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3. Lee’s Annotated Figure 2)]
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an artificial nail (Figure 1B and Translation 2: [0001]) comprising: an exposed part (12) exposed to an outside; an adhesive surface (surface 14 facing the natural nail N / N, as shown in Fig. 1B) capable of being adhered on a real nail; two or more adhesion patterns formed on the adhesive surface (pattern 18a-18b formed in a checkerboard shape; Translation 2: [0034]), the adhesion patterns having a height (shown in Figures 2A-B); a base part; and a guiding part formed between the adhesion surface and the base part (Lee’s Annotated Figure 1b, above), wherein the guiding part has a groove shape (groove shape since the interior surface of the artificial nail has a concave shape that creates a groove) extending with a determined width along a width direction of the adhesive surface (as shown in the Annotated Figure).
Wherein the height of the adhesion patterns decreases gradually from a center of the adhesive surface towards two edges of the adhesive surface along the width direction of the adhesive surface, wherein the height of the adhesion patterns decreases gradually from the guiding part towards an end of the adhesive surface along a longitudinal direction of the adhesive surface (please see Lee’s Annotated Figures 2 & 4 above). The Examiner notes that the longitudinal end portions of the adhesive surface (pattern 18a-18b formed in a checkerboard shape) are formed so as to be shallower than the middle portion in the longitudinal direction with respect to the surface of the guiding part (as shown in the Annotated Figure above). See also page 5, paragraph 4, of the Translation 1.
Wherein the adhesive surface (14 facing the natural nail N / N, as shown in Fig. 1B) and the guiding part have a curved surface along the width direction (since as shown in the Annotated Figure, said parts have a curved surface that follows/resemble the natural curvature of a nail).
Lee discloses a gradient of the adhesion patterns decreasing in height from the guiding part towards an end of the adhesive surface, as explained above, but fails to specifically disclose that “the guiding part … has a thickness thinner than that of the base part”, “and the guiding part has a thickness gradually decreasing from the center of the adhesive surface towards the two edges of the adhesive surface along the width direction”, and “wherein a cross-section of the adhesion patterns is a circle”.
Jaegal discloses an artificial nail (Figure 3B, [0001]) comprising a thickness that decreases from the first end (12), which refers to the end that is attached close to the cuticle, and the second end (14), which refers to the free edge or “nail tip” (see [0017], [0022] and Figure 3B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Lee’s artificial nail to make it comprising a thickness that decreases from the first end (i.e. the base) to the free end, since such modification would follow the anatomical structures of a real nail, as evidenced by Ladd-Kimbrough (see Figure 1B and [0005]), making the artificial nail natural and compatible.
Therefore, Lee and Jaegal, as combined above, discloses the guiding part has a thickness thinner than that of the base part, since the base part would be the thickest part of the artificial nail and the guiding part being the next part of the nail in the direction towards the free end would be thinner.
Han discloses an artificial nail (Figure 1, [0057]) comprising a thickness that, with respect to its width, tapers (e.g., decreases) from a maximum thickness (128, Figure 7) along its width in its central region towards its side edges [0066]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Lee’s artificial nail to make it comprising the guiding part having a thickness gradually decreasing from the center of the adhesive surface towards the two edges of the adhesive surface along the width direction, since such modification would add flexibility to the artificial nail, making it easier to conform to the shape of the natural nail.
Straub discloses a false fingernail system (claim 10 and Figure 3), comprising a pattern of adhesive that is used to apply/adhered to finger using said adhesive pattern (col 3, lines 8-10); wherein a cross-section of the adhesion patterns is a circle (since the adhesive is applied in a dot pattern, col 2, line 8 to col 3, line 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Lee’s artificial nail to make the cross-section of the adhesion pattern a circle, since such modification would require a simple change of shape, which is a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed adhesive pattern was significant (MPEP 2144).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Jaegal, in view of Han, further in view of Straub, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Giron (US 20190104823 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee, Jaegal, Han and Straub, as combined above, discloses the artificial nail made of a synthetic resin material (Lee: [0001]), but fails to specifically disclose “wherein at least one portion of the artificial nail is made of at least one material selected from the group consisting of an acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, a polyurethane, an acryl, a polypropylene and a polyethylene”.
However, Giron discloses an artificial nail and its method of manufacturing (Abstract), wherein at least one portion of the artificial nail is made of at least one material selected from the group consisting of an acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, a polyurethane, an acryl, a polypropylene and a polyethylene (since it is made of a polyethylene [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee/Jaegal/Han/Straub’s nail to make it of a polyethylene, since such modification would make the artificial nail of a thermoplastic polymer which softens when hot and which can be molded while retaining its shape after cooling ([0079]).
Conclusion
/LUIS RUIZ MARTIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772