DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s amendments to claims 19-26, filed on 04 August 2026, now incorporate all of the limitations of independent claim 27 and therefore claims 19-26 are rejoined with Group IV, claims 27 and 29-38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 19, 24-27, 29-32, 34, 35 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soumillon et al (International Patent Application No. WO 2018064640, published 05 April 2018) in view of Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015).
Regarding claim 27, Soumillon teaches a solid support detection system comprising a solid support and a plurality of pens (i.e., wells; [00123] and FIG. 1A), a plurality of oligonucleotide-conjugated beads with each bead comprising a bead and a plurality of oligonucleotide complexes conjugated to the bead (FIG. 6 and [00117]). Soumillon teaches that each oligonucleotide complex comprises a primer sequence ([00117]), an optically readable well-identifying barcode comprising (i.e., the barcode is optically readable by the hybridization of fluorescently labeled complementary probes; 3 or more cassetable barcode sequence [00147], hybridization probes [00149], and FIG. 5). Soumillon teaches that each capture probe on a capture object has a different unique molecular identifier (UMI) from other capture probes on the capture object (i.e., a plurality of UMIs; [00139]). Soumillon teaches that the capture sequence on the capture oligonucleotide is a random hexamer (i.e., there is more than one distinct capture sequence on oligonucleotides conjugated to the same bead; [00134]). Soumillon teaches a plurality of wells, each comprising one oligonucleotide bead ([00123]).
Soumillon teaches a plurality of fluorescently labeled hybridization probes (i.e., optically readable oligonucleotide probes comprising a second plurality of nucleotide sequences) that are complementary to the cassetable barcode sequences on the bead ([00149]) that the location of each cell barcode is identified via imaging of the hybridization probes and recorded (i.e., mapped; [00498]).
Soumillon does not teach that at least one nucleotide sequence of the second plurality of nucleotide sequences carries two or more distinct fluorescent labels, wherein the second plurality of nucleotide sequences is capable of forming a number of uniquely distinguishable fluorescent combinations that exceeds the number of distinct fluorescent labels used to form each fluorescent word.
However, Schimak teaches oligonucleotide probes that comprise up to 3 distinct fluorophores (e.g. the Arch915 probe on SI pg. 5, row 1 of SI Table 1, comprising 2 internal Cy5 dyes, a 5' Cy3 dye and a 3' Atto 488 dye). Schimak teaches that this combinatorial labeling approach allows for the detection of 2n-1 targets (i.e., the claimed words of the optically readable well-identifying barcode; pg. 62 column 2 ¶ 1), where n is the number of distinct fluorophores. Therefore, Schimak teaches a plurality of nucleotide sequences that are capable of forming a number of uniquely distinguishable fluorescent combinations that exceeds the number of distinct fluorescent labels used to form the fluorescent word (e.g., the n=3 distinct fluorescent labels taught by Schimak would enable 2n-1, or 15, possible targets).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the hybridization probes taught by Soumillon with the combinatorial labeling method taught by Schimak to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this modification because Schimak specifically teaches that multi-labeled probes provide a higher maximum signal and an increased signal to background as compared to single-labeled probes (pg. 66 column 2 ¶ 2), providing potential advantages such as time saving through reduced exposure times or increased accuracy of barcode assignment. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the spatial imaging of fluorescent oligonucleotide probes.
Regarding claim 29, Soumillon teaches a cell in a well comprising one of the oligonucleotide-conjugated beads ([0007]).
Regarding claim 30, Soumillon teaches that the cell is a T cell ([00234] and [00457]).
Regarding claim 31, Soumillon teaches T cells stained with antigen (i.e., an interacting molecular component) in individual wells ([00459]).
Regarding claim 32, Soumillon teaches that the biological cell in the well is a macrophage (i.e., an antigen presenting cell; [0084], [00234], [00261]). In this embodiment there is a cell in the wells containing one of the oligonucleotide-conjugated beads, the cell is an antigen presenting cell, and the cell is an interacting molecular component (i.e., the cell interacts with the oligonucleotide-conjugated bead).
Regarding claim 34, Soumillon teaches performing a protein expression assay (i.e., a functional assay) on a biological cell and observing a detectable signal generated during said assay (FIG. 4B, [00580] and [00581]).
Regarding claim 35, Soumillon teaches that the biological micro-object (i.e., the cell) is lysed using a lysing reagent (i.e., a cell lysing agent) in the well ([00637]).
Regarding claim 19, Soumillon in view of Schimak teaches optically readable probes comprising 18-20 nucleotides (SI Table 1).
Regarding claim 24, Soumillon teaches that the capture sequence on the capture oligonucleotide of a capture object is not the same (i.e., there are different types of capture sequences on an individual capture object; [00144]).
Regarding claims 25 and 26, Soumillon teaches capture sequences that comprise polyT sequences ([00144]) or TCR/BCR sequences ([00237]).
Regarding claim 68, Schimak teaches a nucleotide probe sequence comprising 3 distinct fluorophores capable of forming 2n-1 unique fluorescent combinations (e.g., if n = 3, then 7 unique combinations; pg. 62 column 2 ¶ 1 and SI Table 1).
5. Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soumillon et al (International Patent Application No. WO 2018064640, published 05 April 2018) in view of Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Cekan et al (International Patent Application No. WO 2020070325, with valid priority to 05 October 2018).
Regarding claims 20-23, the solid support detection system of claim 27 is discussed fully above and incorporated here.
Schimak teaches an optically readable oligonucleotide probe comprising 4 fluorophores (however, only 3 distinct fluorophores; SI Table 1). Schimak additionally teaches that their probes of 18-20 nucleotides can be labeled with “at least twice the number of labels” (i.e., at least 8 fluorophores; pg. 66 column 2 ¶ 3). Neither Soumillon nor Schimak specifically teaches 4, 5, 6 or 7 distinct fluorophores on the optically readable probe.
However, Cekan teaches the simultaneous detection of 7 distinct fluorophores (FIG 3 and pg. 15 lines 15-20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the optically readable probe taught by Soumillon in view of Schimak to have incorporated up to at least 8 fluorophores, as specifically taught by Schimak (pg. 66 column 2 ¶ 3), and to have at least 7 of those fluorophores be spectrally distinct fluorophores as taught by Cekan, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to increase the number of distinct fluorophores in order to combinatorially increase the number of possible targets (i.e., words) as taught by Schimak (e.g., at 7 distinct fluorophores as disclosed by Cekan, Schimak teaches that there are 2n-1 possible targets, or 127 possible words). In addition, the ordinary artisan would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the imaging of multiply-labeled oligonucleotide probes.
6. Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soumillon et al (International Patent Application No. WO 2018064640, published 05 April 2018) in view of Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015) as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Correa et al (Evaluation of antigen-conjugated fluorescent beads to identify antigen-specific B cells, Frontiers in Immunology, 9, 493, 1-17, published 23 March 2018).
Regarding claim 33, the method of claim 31 is discussed fully above and incorporated here. Soumillon further teaches that each pen (i.e., well) comprises a plurality of micro-objects ([00365]) and that micro-objects are antigen coated beads (beads with covalently attached antigens; [0083]) or B cells ([00372]), but Soumillon does not specifically teach an embodiment wherein a well comprises a cell and an antigen-coated bead with the capture object (i.e., the oligonucleotide-conjugated bead).
However, Correa teaches an assay for the identification of antigen-specific monoclonal antibodies wherein antigen-coated beads are mixed with B-cells and then sequenced to identify variable regions (FIGURE 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method taught by Soumillon such that antigen-coated beads were sequestered with B-cells as taught by Correa to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this combination because Soumillon specifically teaches that all of the claimed components can be used in their nanopen array and Correa teaches assays related to these components. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the monitoring of cellular assays by sequencing techniques.
7. Claims 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soumillon et al (International Patent Application No. WO 2018064640, published 05 April 2018) in view of Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015) as applied to claims 27 and 29 above, and further in view of Love et al (United States Patent Application No. US20190218607, published 18 July 2019).
Regarding claims 36-38, the methods of claims 27 and 29 are discussed fully above and incorporated here.
Soumillon teaches a microfluidic substrate wherein cells and oligonucleotide-conjugated beads are co-partitioned within individual pens (i.e., wells). Soumillon does not teach a gasket that divides the plurality of wells into separated areas nor do they teach a solid support comprising more than 100,000 wells.
However, Love teaches a solid support detection system wherein a gasket is used to separate the wells into 6 separate areas (FIG. 18 and [0395]) and that such solid supports comprise 10,000-1,000,000 wells ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the microfluidic substrate taught by Soumillon with the seq-well substrate taught by Love to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this substitution because the substrate taught by Soumillon only teaches up to a maximum of 20,000 pens ([00377]) and the device taught by Love would allow for the analysis of many more single cell samples per experiment. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictably results because the known techniques in the cited reference predictably result in the co-partitioning of cells with barcoded beads in reaction wells as a precursor to single-cell library preparation and sequencing.
8. Claim 66 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soumillon et al (International Patent Application No. WO 2018064640, published 05 April 2018) in view of Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Kokoris et al (United States Patent Application No. US 20170037456, published 09 February 2017).
Regarding claim 66, the solid support detection system of claim 27 is discussed fully above and incorporated here.
Neither Soumillon nor Schimak teach that the oligonucleotide complex is attached to the bead via a reversible linker.
However, Kokoris teaches DNA complexes comprising capture probes attached to beads via a reversible linker ([0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the oligonucleotide complex taught by Soumillon in view of Schimak to have comprised a reversible linker as taught by Kokoris to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this modification in order to cleave the oligonucleotide complex from the bead for more efficient retrieval of captured nucleic acids for downstream application. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the attachment of oligonucleotide species to beads.
9. Claim 67 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soumillon et al (International Patent Application No. WO 2018064640, published 05 April 2018) in view of Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Eltoukhy et al (United States Patent Application US 20150266022, published 24 September 2015).
Regarding claim 67, the solid support detection system of claim 27 is discussed fully above and incorporated here.
Neither Soumillon nor Schimak teach that the solid support comprises a fiber optic faceplate, wherein each fiber of the faceplate is aligned with one of the plurality of wells.
However, Eltoukhy teaches a substrate that comprises a fiber optic faceplate, wherein optical fibers are aligned with wells to facilitate subsequent analysis ([0144] and FIGs 11 and 12).
It would have been obvious to have modified the substrate taught by Soumillon in view of Schimak to have incorporated the fiber-optic faceplate as taught by Eltoukhy to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Soumillon teaches a CCD based detection ([00389]) and Eltoukhy teaches that fiber-optic detectors are known alternates to CCD detectors ([0144] and [0145]). In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the detection and analysis of signals from wells.
Double Patenting
11. Claims 19, 24-27, 29-32, 34-35 and 68 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-26 of copending Application No. 19/028,385 in view of Soumillon et al (International Patent Application No. WO 2018064640, published 05 April 2018) and Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015).
Claim 19 of the copending application teaches all the limitations of instant claim 27 except the limitations that at least one nucleotide sequence of the second plurality of nucleotide sequences carries two or more distinct fluorescent labels, wherein the second plurality of nucleotide sequences is capable of forming a number of uniquely distinguishable fluorescent combinations that exceeds the number of distinct fluorescent labels used to form each fluorescent word.
However, Soumillon in view of Schimak teaches these limitations as discussed fully above and incorporated here.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the hybridization probes in the copending claims with the combinatorially labeled probes taught by Schimak to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this modification because Schimak specifically teaches that multi-labeled probes provide a higher maximum signal and an increased signal to background as compared to single-labeled probes (pg. 66 column 2 ¶ 2), providing potential advantages such as time saving through reduced exposure times or increased accuracy of barcode assignment. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the spatial imaging of fluorescent oligonucleotide probes.
The limitations of claims 28 and 29 of the instant application are taught by claims 19 and 24 of the copending application.
The limitations of claims 30-32, 34 and 35 and 68 are by claim 19 of the copending application in view of Soumillon.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 20-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-26 of copending Application No. 19/028,385 in view of Soumillon et al (international Patent Application No. WO2018064640, published 05 April 2018) and Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Cekan et al (International Patent Application No. WO 2020070325, with valid priority to 05 October 2018).
Neither the copending application, Soumillon nor Schimak teach the limitations of claim 33.
However, Cekan teaches these limitations as discussed fully above and incorporated here.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the optically readable probe taught by the copending application in view of Soumillon and Schimak to have incorporated up to at least 8 fluorophores, as specifically taught by Schimak (pg. 66 column 2 ¶ 3), and to have at least 7 of those fluorophores be spectrally distinct fluorophores as taught by Cekan, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to increase the number of distinct fluorophores in order to combinatorially increase the number of possible targets (i.e., words) as taught by Schimak (e.g., at 7 distinct fluorophores as disclosed by Cekan, Schimak teaches that there are 2n-1 possible targets, or 127 possible words). In addition, the ordinary artisan would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the imaging of multiply-labeled oligonucleotide probes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 33 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-26 of copending Application No. 19/028,385 in view of Soumillon et al (international Patent Application No. WO2018064640, published 05 April 2018) and Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015) as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Correa et al (Evaluation of antigen-conjugated fluorescent beads to identify antigen-specific B cells, Frontiers in Immunology, 9, 493, 1-17, published 23 March 2018).
Neither the copending application, Soumillon nor Schimak teach the limitations of claim 33.
However, Correa teaches these limitations as discussed fully above and incorporated here.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the copending claims in view of the methods taught by Soumillon in view of Schimak such that antigen-coated beads were sequestered with B-cells as taught by Correa to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this combination because Soumillon specifically teaches that all of the claimed components can be used in their nanopen array and Correa teaches assays related to these components. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the monitoring of cellular assays by sequencing techniques.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 36-38 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-26 of copending Application No. 19/028,385 in view of Soumillon et al (International Patent Application No. WO2018064640, published 05 April 2018) and Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015) as applied to claims 27 and 29 above, and further in view of Love et al (United States Patent Application No. US20190218607, published 18 July 2019).
Neither the copending application, Soumillon nor Schimak teach the limitations of claims 35-38.
However, Love teaches these limitations as discussed fully above and incorporated here.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the microfluidic substrate taught by the copending application in view of Soumillon and Schimak with the seq-well substrate taught by Love to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this substitution because the substrate taught by Soumillon only teaches up to a maximum of 20,000 pens ([00377]) and the device taught by Love would allow for the analysis of many more single cell samples per experiment. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictably results because the known techniques in the cited reference predictably result in the co-partitioning of cells with barcoded beads in reaction wells as a precursor to single-cell library preparation and sequencing.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 66 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-26 of copending Application No. 19/028,385 in view of Soumillon et al (International Patent Application No. WO2018064640, published 05 April 2018) and Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Kokoris et al (United States Patent Application No. US 20170037456, published 09 February 2017).
Neither the copending application, Soumillon nor Schimak teach the limitations of claim 66.
However, Kokoris teaches these limitations as discussed fully above and incorporated here.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the microfluidic substrate taught by the copending application in view of Soumillon and Schimak with the to have comprised a reversible linker as taught by Kokoris to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this modification in order to cleave the oligonucleotide complex from the bead for more efficient retrieval of captured nucleic acids for downstream application. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the attachment of oligonucleotide species to beads.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 67 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-26 of copending Application No. 19/028,385 in view of Soumillon et al (International Patent Application No. WO2018064640, published 05 April 2018) and Schimak et al (MiL-FISH: Multilabeled Oligonucleotides for Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization Improve Visualization of Bacterial Cells, Applied Environmental Microbiology, 82, 1, published 22 December 2015) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Eltoukhy et al (United States Patent Application US 20150266022, published 24 September 2015).
Neither the copending application, Soumillon nor Schimak teach the limitations of claim 67.
However, Eltoukhy teaches these limitations as discussed fully above and incorporated here.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the microfluidic substrate taught by the copending application in view of Soumillon and Schimak to have incorporated the fiber-optic faceplate as taught by Eltoukhy to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification because Soumillon teaches a CCD based detection ([00389]) and Eltoukhy teaches that fiber-optic detectors are known alternates to CCD detectors ([0144] and [0145]). In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the detection and analysis of signals from wells.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
12. Any rejection in the Office Action filed 06 April 2026 not reiterated here has been overcome by amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 27 and 29-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
13. No claims are allowed.
/BRIAN ELLIS YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 1684 /JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682