Claims 4, 30, are pending in this application.
Claims 1-3, 5-29, 31-36, are deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 4, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zambrowicz et al., Clin Pharm and Therapeutics (2012), 92(2): 158-169.
Zambrowicz et al., teaches composition of LX4211, is SGLT1 inhibitor. See the entire document, particularly, the abstracts, introduction, tables 1-2, 4, and the discussion.
When LX4211 inhibits SGLT1 per the prior art, it must do so whether or not the subjects suffer from CF as in claim 4. Such is inherent property of LX4211. Therefore, the sub-populations in claim 4, are inherent in the prior art.
“An inherent structure, composition or function is not necessarily known . . . or obvious.” Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2003). “Insufficient prior understanding of inherent properties of known composition does not defeat finding of [inherency]; insufficient scientific understanding does not defeat showing of inherency; [invention] is no more than showing that [prior art] did not recognize function inherently present”. Atlas Powder Co. v IRECO Inc., 51 USPQ2d 1943 (Fed Cir, 1999). A new use, new function or new property which is inherent in prior art composition is not patentable. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA, 1977).
Response
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends Zambrowicz et al., does not teach the sub-population of claim 4. Hence, the prior art cannot anticipate the claim. This is not persuasive for reasons set forth above. See particularly, the cited decisional laws.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 30, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamino et al., US20190192482 A1, in view of Zambrowicz et al., Clin Pharm and Therapeutics (2012), 92(2): 158-169.
Minamino et al., teaches composition of SGLT1 inhibitors, e.g. LX4211 [0005]: [4], [9], [0046], [0056] for treating cystic fibrosis, hyperglycemia, dyslipidemia, etc. [0037]. See also the entire document. The prior art teaches LX4211, cystic fibrosis, hyperglycemia, dyslipidemia as examples. However, Zambrowicz et al., teaches as set forth above under anticipatory rejection.
Having known as set forth above, a POSA would have known and be motivated to select LX4211 and CF from the invention by Minamino at the time the invention was made with reasonable expectation of success. Applicant did as taught by the prior arts.
Response
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends Minamino in view of Zambrowicz does not teach the sub-population of claim 4, and that Minamino does not teach inhibition of SGLTI, does not teach sotagliflozin or treatment of CF. This is not correct. Minamino et al., teaches composition of SGLT1 inhibitors, e.g. sotagliflozin (LX4211) for treating CF. See particularly [9].
This is a RCE of applicant's earlier Application No. 17/639,831. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephone Inquiry
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-1600.
/TAOFIQ A SOLOLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625 December 31, 2025