DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A in the reply filed on 10/8/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 9, 11-12 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/ species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/8/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the from claim 10: chamber (in addition to the channel) positioned between the eye shell and the synthetic trabecular meshwork tissue must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5, 7 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Within claim 5, line 1: “synthetic trabecular meshwork” should be replaced with --synthetic trabecular meshwork tissue-- in order to maintain consistent claim terminology throughout the claims (see claim 1, line 7; and claim 4, line 1).
Within claim 7, line 1: “the corneal portion integral” should be replaced with --the corneal portion is integral--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Within claim 1, line 2: Applicant claims, “a rigid or semi-rigid eye shell”; Examiner can find no written description for what constitutes a rigidi or semi-rigid eye shell – although both terms are used numerous times within the original disclosure there are no examples of materials would qualify as rigid or semi-rigid nor are there bounds given (such as the young’s modulus) which would define a material as semi-rigid vs flexible. In paragraph [0041] of Applicant’s specifications the focus of eye shell description is in embodiments in which the eye shell is soft/ flexible to mimic real human tissues. Claim(s) 2-8 and 10, which depend from claim 1, inherit all the problems associated with claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BERNAL (US 2020/0118466 A1) in view of Van Dalen et al. (US 2012/0021397 A1 – as cited by Applicant).
With respect to claim 1:
BERNAL discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Specifically, BERNAL discloses a synthetic eye model (eye model device 100), as can be seen in figs. 1-6 (paragraphs [0030-0031]), comprising:
a rigid or semi-rigid eye shell (resilient material making up a subsection of separable anterior segment 230 including the sclera 272, limbus 286, with or without the cornea 292) (paragraph [0042]);
a synthetic iris base (iris 288) positioned within the eye shell (subsection of separable anterior segment 230 including the sclera 272, limbus 286, with or without cornea 292) (paragraphs [0042-0043]);
an eye core (subsection of ciliary body 276 not including the iris 288) positioned within the eye shell (subsection of separable anterior segment 230 including the sclera 272, limbus 286, with or without cornea 292) and encircling the synthetic iris base (iris 288) (paragraph [0042]),
a schlemm’s canal (paragraph [0042]),
a synthetic trabecular mesh tissue (trabecular mesh framework) (paragraph [0042]).
However, BERNAL does not disclose the specifics of the schlemm’s canal (specifically that the eye core (subsection of ciliary body 276 not including the iris 288) including a channel integral to the eye core (subsection of ciliary body 276 not including the iris 288) configured to replicate Schlemm’s canal of a human eye) nor the location of the synthetic trabecular mesh tissue (trabecular mesh framework) (specifically that it is coupled to the eye shell (subsection of separable anterior segment 230 including the sclera 272, limbus 286, with or without cornea 292) and extends across the channel) (as required by claim 1).
Van Dalen et al. teaches a synthetic eye model (model human eye), as can be seen in fig. 4A, (paragraph [0075]), comprising:
An eye core (area from which iris portions 315a, 315b extend in fig. 3A near ciliary body) including a channel (tubes) integral to the eye core (area from which iris portions 315a, 315b extend in fig. 3A near ciliary body) configured to replicate Schlemm’s canal (paragraph [0075]); and
A synthetic trabecular mesh tissue (trabecular meshwork 410) that extends across the channel (tubes) (paragraph [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the channel (tubes) and the synthetic trabecular mesh tissue (trabecular meshwork 410) that extends across the channel (tubes), as taught by Van Dalen et al., for the undisclosed details of the schlemm’s canal and the synthetic trabecular mesh tissue (trabecular mesh framework), as disclosed by BERNAL, as the details of the structures should be interchangeable (as both are used to replicate the same structures within a model eye). (PLEASE NOTE: In making the aforementioned combination, the channel (tubes), as taught by Van Dalen et al., would be positioned on the eye core (subsection of ciliary body 276 not including the iris 288) near to the limbus (286) at the base of the iris (288), as disclosed by BERNAL. And the synthetic trabecular mesh tissue (trabecular meshwork 410), as taught by Van Dalen et al., would span the added channel (tubes) of the eye core (subsection of ciliary body 276 not including the iris 288) and be at least indirectly coupled to the eye shell (resilient material making up a subsection of separable anterior segment 230 including the sclera 272, limbus 286, with or without cornea 292), as disclosed by BERNAL and modified by Van Dalen et al..)
With respect to claim 2:
Further comprising a synthetic cornea (cornea 292), as disclosed by BERNAL, disposed over the eye shell (a subsection of separable anterior segment 230 including the sclera 272, limbus 286, without cornea 292) (Please note: The cornea (292), as disclosed by BERNAL, can be considered part of a combination of structures (including at least a subsection of separable anterior segment 230 including the sclera 272, limbus 286, optionally cornea 292) which make up the eye shell as required by claim 1; however, claim 2 requires the cornea and the eye shell to be separate (in order for the cornea to be disposed over the eye shell). As such, the subsection of separable anterior segment (230) including the sclera (272) and limbus (286) alone is considered to make up the eye shell as claimed, and the cornea (292) to make us the synthetic cornea as claimed. As can be seen the synthetic cornea (cornea 292) is over (on top of) the eye shell (a subsection of separable anterior segment 230 including the sclera 272, limbus 286, without cornea 292).)
With respect to claim 6:
Wherein the rigid or semi-rigid eye shell (a subsection of separable anterior segment 230 including the sclera 272, limbus 286, with or without cornea 292), as disclosed by BERNAL, includes a corneal portion (cornea 292) and a scleral portion (sclera 272) (paragraph [0042]). (Please note: The cornea (292), as disclosed by BERNAL, can be considered part of a combination of structures (including at least a subsection of separable anterior segment 230 including the sclera 272, limbus 286, optionally cornea 292) which make up the eye shell as required by claim 1; however, claim 6 requires the corneal portion and the scleral portion to both be part of the shell. As such, the subsection of separable anterior segment (230) including the sclera (272), limbus (286), AND the cornea (292) is considered to make up the eye shell as claimed; thus the corneal portion (cornea 292) is a portion thereof as claimed.)
With respect to claim 7:
Wherein the corneal portion (cornea 292), as disclosed by BERNAL, is integral (is made from a single piece/ made from the same material as seen in fig. 7) to the scleral portion (sclera 272) (paragraph [0046]).
With respect to claim 10:
Further comprising a chamber (anterior chamber 232), as disclosed by Bernal, positioned between the eye shell (subsection of separable anterior segment 230 including the sclera 272, limbus 286, with or without cornea 292) and the synthetic trabecular meshwork tissue (trabecular meshwork 410), as disclosed by Bernal and modified by Van Dalen et al. (as discussed above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-5, 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter (should Applicant overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph): Examiner can find no references alone nor in combination which render obvious:
With respect to claim 3:
A synthetic eye model comprising:
An eye shell;
A synthetic iris base positioned within the eye shell;
An eye core position within the eye shell and encircling the synthetic iris base, the eye core including BOTH a channel integral to the eye core configured to replicate Schlemm’s canal of the human eye AND a protrusion adjacent to the channel and being configured to replicate a scleral spur of a human eye; and
A synthetic trabecular meshwork tissue coupled to the eye shell and extending across the channel.
With respect to claim 5:
A synthetic eye model comprising:
An eye shell;
A synthetic iris base positioned within the eye shell;
An eye core position within the eye shell and encircling the synthetic iris base, the eye core including a channel integral to the eye core configured to replicate Schlemm’s canal of the human eye; and
A synthetic trabecular meshwork tissue (comprising the specific material of a hydrogel-based synthetic tissue) coupled to the eye shell and extending across the channel.
With respect to claim 8:
A synthetic eye model comprising:
An eye shell;
A synthetic iris base positioned within the eye shell;
An eye core position within the eye shell and encircling the synthetic iris base, the eye core comprising a plurality of eye core pieces (as opposed to the singular pieces as referenced within the office action), the eye core including a channel integral to the eye core configured to replicate Schlemm’s canal of the human eye; and
A synthetic trabecular meshwork tissue coupled to the eye shell and extending across the channel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HARA (US 2009/0291423 A1 – as cited by Applicant) discloses a synthetic eye model with an eye core including a channel configured to replicate Schlemm’s canal. However, HARA does not disclose the channel to be covered by a synthetic trabecular mesh frame work (the canal does not appear to be covered as it is fully enclosed within the eye core itself).
OMATA et al. (US 2020/0135056 A1) discloses a synthetic eye model with an eye core including a channel configured to replicate Schlemm’s canal which is covered by a synthetic trabecular meshwork tissue. However, OMATA et al. does not disclose the synthetic eye model to include the additional required structures of a rigid or semirigid eye shell nor the synthetic iris base (nor the interaction/ positioning of these structures with eye core or the synthetic trabecular meshwork tissue).
Slabber et al. (US 2023/0237932) discloses a synthetic eye model as claimed. However, Slabber et al. does not qualify as prior art (the earliest filing date is Feb 22 2021).
/REBECCA S PRESTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3774