Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6-9 are presented for examination.
Claims 10-20 and 22 are withdrawn from examination.
The amendments and remarks filed on 01/06/2026 have been received and entered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1, 2, 4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loftsson (US 20030109492) in view of Behmer (Submitted by the applicant).
Loftsson teaches a method for enhancing the aqueous solubility of an active ingredient which is
insoluble or sparingly soluble in water, said active ingredient being a drug, cosmetic additive, food
additive or agrochemical, said method comprising combining said active ingredient with beta.-
cyclodextrin in an aqueous complexation medium, said medium comprising from about 0.1% to about
80% (weight/volume) of beta.-cyclodextrin and from about 0. 1% to about 5% (weight/volume) of a
negatively- or positively-charged compound which forms an inclusion or non-inclusion complex with
beta.-cyclodextrin and its inclusion complexes, said charged compound being acceptable for use in a
pharmaceutical, cosmetic, food or agricultural composition. See Para [0023] and claims. Loftsson
teaches that With regard to agrochemicals, those contemplated for use in this invention include
pesticides (including, for example, insecticides and nematicides), fungicides, herbicides and plant growth regulators. See Para [0059] and claim 21. The use of alpha, beta and gamma cyclodextrin is
taught in claim 23. The use of a sterol, such as cholesterol is taught in claim 28. The determination of optimum proportions or amounts are considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary. Loftsson makes clear that cyclodextrins have been previously used for stabilizing compounds, such as sterols.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to solubilize sterols with cyclodextrins,
motivated by the teachings of Loftsson, which teaches the use of stabilized sterols by cyclodextrins in
agricultural field. Loftsson does not teach wherein the sterol is sequestered by the plant and being transported to the root, stalks and fruit of the plant via the phloem and where the sterol is solubilized by cyclodextrin.
Behmer teaches sterols are sequestered by the plant and are transported via the phloem. See page 489,
column 1, para 1. It would have been obvious to combine Loftsson and Behmer, considering that Loftsson teaches he use of sterols and cyclodextrin in agriculture as old and well known and Behmer teaches sequestering sterols by the plant and transported by the phloem. The transportation to any parts of the plant, such as roots, stalks and fruits, by phloem is the expected property Behmer's teachings.
The relied upon references in combination make clear that sterols which have been encapsulated or
solubilized by cyclodextrin have been previously used in agriculture. Behmer teaches sterols are
sequestered by the plant and are transported via the phloem to the roots and different parts of the
plant. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use stabilized and
encapsulated sterols in the method of Behmer in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been noted. Applicant in his remarks argues that “claim 1 does not
require the inclusion of an enzyme or any other component as required by Czap and Loftsson”. It is the examiner’s position that Loftsson does not require the inclusion of enzymes or other components. Gzap has not been relied upon in the instant Office action.
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617