DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 14-17 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beretta (US 6,901,848) in view of Rotta et al (US 11,122,938).
Beretta discloses the apparatus for preparing a beverage liquid (e.g., milk) claimed including an ejector 3 with an outlet 4 at a distal end of the ejector, a steam inlet 6, and an air inlet wherein the ejector comprises a housing, a temperature sensor 12 configured to measure a temperature of the beverage liquid, a steam supply 2 coupled to the steam inlet wherein a steam valve 11 is provided to control a flow of steam to the ejector, an air supply 19 coupled to the air inlet wherein an air valve 15 is provided to control a low of air to the ejector, and a controller 10 to control the steam supply and the air supply including its flow rate such that a mixture of air and steam exits the ejector when the temperature of the beverage liquid is below a first temperature (also, see column 4, line 66 to column 5, line 4 which discloses for the mixture of the air and steam supplied until a predetermined temperature, e.g., 70º C is reached) and to control the steam supply and the air supply to deliver only steam when the temperature of the liquid is at or above the first temperature (e.g., above 80º C; also, see column 5, lines 5-13). But, Beretta does not the ejector having the air and the steam inlets that are separately located on the housing of the ejector.
Rotta discloses it is known to have an ejector with a housing 10 with an air inlet 10b that is provided separately from an steam inlet 10a as illustrated in Figure 3 which would provide more effective bubble breaking action and prevent a backflow which may damage an air pump (column 1, lines 53-57).
In view of Rotta, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Beretta with the ejector that is provided with the air and the steam inlets that are separately located on the housing as an alternative arrangement to add air and steam to adequately and sufficiently provide heating and frothing of the beverage liquid while providing a protection against any backflow of flow which may damage an air supply component such as an air pump.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beretta in view of Rotta as applied to claims 9, 10, 14-17 and 43 above, and further in view of Paoletti (US 6,968,776).
Beretta in view of Rotta discloses the structure claimed except for the ejector with a steam nozzle as claimed.
Paoletti discloses it is known to provide an ejector with a steam nozzle 50 that receives steam under pressure from a steam inlet wherein Paoletti also discloses for air that is drawn into the air inlet by a venturi shown by a constricted air passage (column 9, lines 4-13) or by lower-pressure vacuum caused by the steam emitted from the steam nozzle.
In view of Paoletti, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Beretta, as modified by Rotta, with the steam nozzle as claimed in order to increase the velocity at which the steam enters the ejector which therefore also improves the input of air to ejector.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues it would not have been obvious to modify Beretta with the teachings of Rotta because Beretta teaches away from sing an ejector that receives milk. This argument is not deemed persuasive since Rotta does not show receiving milk through the ejector but discloses for emitting air and steam through its ejector as shown in Beretta. Furthermore, it is noted that Rotta is applied for teaching the air and steam inlets that are separately located on the housing of the ejector which does not teach away or render the ejector of Beretta inoperative when modified by Rotta.
Regarding claim 43, it is noted that Rotta discloses for only the mixture of the air and steam emitted below the first temperature (i.e., below the desired temperature such as 70 C) wherein the flow of the air and the steam is stopped when the temperature of the liquid reached the desired temperature.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761