Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 7 January 2026.
Claims 1-8 are canceled.
Claim 9 is amended.
Claims 9-17 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weston (US Patent No. 5480381 A), in view of Young (US Patent Publication No. 20180361078 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Weston discloses a device (Weston: Fig. 1, injector) for administering a fluid, comprising a cylinder (Fig. 1, metering chamber 31), including an open dispensing end (Fig. 1, nozzle 20); a piston (Fig. 1, piston 7), which is displaceable in the cylinder (Fig. 1 and 2, piston 7 moves within chamber 31) between a front end position (Fig. 2) and a rear end position (Fig. 1) and is connected to a piston rod (Fig. 1, comprising piston 7’s length and connecting rod 6) such that the piston moves in unison with the piston rod throughout an entire stroke of the piston (Fig. 1, piston 7 and connecting rod 6 travel together in unison, the piston 7 moving together with the rod 6 once the rod 6 makes contact, moving an entire stroke forward together; col 5, ln 37-55) which, along a first direction (Fig. 1, axis Y towards proximal end of device), protrudes from a rear end of the cylinder (Fig. 1, metering chamber 31) opposite the open dispensing end (Fig. 1, piston 7’s length protrudes from rear end of chamber 31); a nonreturn valve (Fig. 1, valve 19 is a non-return valve; col 3, ln 59-67) closing the open dispensing end (Fig. 1, valve 19 sealingly closes off distal end of chamber 31); and a tensioning device (Fig. 1, comprising compression spring 5 and cylindrical cam 11) connected to the piston rod (Fig. 1, compression spring is connected to connecting rod 6), including a ramp (Fig. 1, cylindrical cam 11) which is rotatable via a motor (Fig. 1, motor-gearbox assembly 4), and a ramp track (Fig. 1 above, ramp track X) extending along a helical line (Fig. 1, ramp track X extends along a helical line of the cam 11), wherein the tensioning device (Fig. 1, comprising compression spring 5 and cylindrical cam 11) can move the piston rod (Fig. 1, comprising piston 7’s length and connecting rod 6) along the first direction (Fig. 2 to 1, piston 7 moves backwards) in a tensioning procedure (col 5, ln 37 – col 6 ln 12) until the piston is in the rear end position (Fig. 1), thereby filling the cylinder (Fig. 1, metering chamber 31) with the fluid to be administered (Fig. 1, injector draws liquid into chamber 31 and is loaded ready for use; col 5, ln 37-55), and to pretension the piston rod (Fig. 1, comprising piston 7’s length and connecting rod 6) toward the open dispensing end (Fig. 1 and 2, piston 7 is pretensioned towards nozzle 20), wherein the tensioning device (Fig. 1, comprising compression spring 5 and cylindrical cam 11), when the piston (Fig. 1, piston 7) is in its rear end position (Fig. 1), can release the piston rod (Fig. 1, comprising piston 7’s length and connecting rod 6) in a dispensing procedure (Fig. 2, injector has discharged fluid in administration procedure; col 5, ln 56 – col 6, ln 12) such that, owing to the pretension which is present (Fig. 1, compression spring 5 is compressed), the piston (Fig. 2, piston 7) is moved counter to the first direction toward the open dispensing end (Fig. 2, piston 7 moves towards nozzle 20) and, in the process, fluid in the cylinder (Fig. 1, metering chamber 31) is dispensed via the nonreturn valve (Fig. 2, liquid travels through valve 19 during administration; col 5, ln 56 – col 6 ln 12) for administration (Fig. 2, injector has discharged fluid in administration procedure; col 5, ln 56 – col 6, ln 12), wherein the ramp track (Fig. 1 above, ramp track X) ascends from a first plateau (Fig. 1 above and 6, first plateau Y, signified as a plateau Before reference A) along a region of inclination (Fig. 6 above, ramp track X where reference A travels) to a second plateau (Fig. 1 above and 6, second plateau Y, signified as the area where reference B rests) and descends from the second plateau (Fig. 1 above, second plateau Z) to the first plateau (Fig. 1 above, first plateau Y) via a transition flank (Fig. 6 above, area of ramp track X where reference C slides across), wherein the ramp track (Fig. 1 above, ramp track X) has a transfer region (Fig. 6 above, transfer region D) connecting the second plateau (Fig. 1 above and 6, second plateau Y, signified as the area where reference B rests) and the transition flank (Fig. 6 above, area of ramp track X where reference C slides across), wherein the tensioning device (Fig. 1, comprising compression spring 5 and cylindrical cam 11) includes a roller (Fig. 1, cam follower 10) which is in contact with the ramp track (Fig. 1, follower 10 contacts ramp track X) and which is mounted rotatably in a driver (Fig. 1 above, follower 10 is mounted to driver E), the driver (Fig. 1 above, driver E) being connected to the piston rod (Fig. 1 above, driver E is connected to connection rod 6), and therefore, upon rotation of the ramp along a first rotation direction (Fig. 6 above, rotation occurs from reference A to B; col 5, ln 37-55), the ramp track (Fig. 1 above, ramp track X) runs below the thus rotating roller (Fig. 6 above, ramp track X runs below follower 10), wherein, in the tensioning procedure (col 5, ln 37 – col 6 ln 12), the ramp track (Fig. 1 above, ramp track X) rotates along the first rotation direction (Fig. 6 above, rotation occurs from reference A to B; col 5, ln 37-55) such that the roller (Fig. 1, cam follower 10) runs on the region of inclination (Fig. 6 above, ramp track X where reference A travels) as far as the second plateau (Fig. 1 above, second plateau Z) and the piston (Fig. 1, piston 7) thereby moves to the rear end position (Fig. 1, piston 7 is retracted; col 5, ln 37-55), wherein, in the dispensing procedure (Fig. 2, col 5, ln 37 – col 6 ln 12), starting from a contact of the roller (Fig. 1, cam follower 10) with the second plateau (Fig. 1 above, second plateau Z), the ramp track (Fig. 1 above, ramp track X) rotates along the first rotation direction (Fig. 6 above, rotation occurs from reference A to B; col 5, ln 37-55) until the roller (Fig. 1, cam follower 10) runs over the transfer region (Fig. 6 above, cam follower 10 must travel across transfer region D) and, on account of the tensioning, accelerates toward the first plateau (Fig. 6 above, signified by reference C, follower 10 accelerates towards first plateau Y) and, as a result, the piston (Fig. 1, piston 7) moves toward the open dispensing end (Fig. 2, piston 7 moves toward nozzle 20), wherein the administering device (Fig. 1, injector) includes precisely one cylinder (Fig. 1, metering chamber 31), precisely one piston (Fig. 1, piston 7) and precisely one piston rod (Fig. 1, comprising piston 7 and connection rod 6), and wherein the tensioning device (Fig. 1, comprising compression spring 5 and cylindrical cam 11) comprises a helical spring (Fig. 1, compression spring 5 is helical) which, when the piston is in the rear end position (Fig. 1), contribute to the pretensioning which is present (Fig. 1, compression spring 5 is compressed).
Weston does not expressly disclose the tensioning device comprises two helical springs which run parallel to each other and which both, when the piston is in the rear end position, contribute to the pretensioning which is present.
Young teaches a tensioning device (Young: Fig. 12, drive springs 4) comprising two helical springs (Fig. 12, springs 4 are helical) which run parallel to each other (Fig. 12, springs 4 are parallel with each other) and which both, when a piston is in a rear end position (Fig. 6), contribute to a pretensioning which is present (drive springs 4 are pretensioned; para. 0071). Examiner interprets that the two helical springs 4 of Young would be provided equidistant from the center axis of the piston.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tensioning device of Weston such that the tensioning device comprises two helical springs which run parallel to each other and which both, when the piston is in the rear end position, contribute to the pretensioning which is present as taught by Young in order to not require the use of a very large or powerful spring (Young: para. 0014).
Regarding claim 10, Weston in view of Young discloses the device above.
Weston does not expressly disclose that the two helical springs are arranged spaced apart from each other transversely with respect to their longitudinal directions.
Young teaches two helical springs (Fig. 12, springs 4 are helical) that are arranged spaced apart from each other transversely with respect to their longitudinal directions (Fig. 12, springs 4 are spaced out transversely).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tensioning device of Weston such that the two helical springs are arranged spaced apart from each other transversely with respect to their longitudinal directions as taught by Young in order to allow equal distribution of drive force (Young: para. 0071 and 0084).
Regarding claim 11, Weston in view of Young discloses the device above.
Weston does not expressly disclose the two helical springs have the same dimensions.
Young teaches two helical springs (Fig. 12, springs 4 are helical) that have the same dimensions (Fig. 12, springs 4 are identical in shape and size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tensioning device of Weston such that the two helical springs have the same dimensions as taught by Young in order to allow equal distribution of drive force (Young: para. 0071 and 0084).
Regarding claim 12, Weston in view of Young discloses the device above.
Weston does not expressly disclose the two helical springs have the same dimensions.
Young teaches two helical springs (Fig. 12, springs 4 are helical) that have the same dimensions (Fig. 12, springs 4 are identical in shape and size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tensioning device of Weston such that the two helical springs have the same dimensions as taught by Young in order to allow equal distribution of drive force (Young: para. 0071 and 0084).
Regarding claim 13, Weston in view of Young discloses the device above.
Weston does not expressly disclose the two helical springs are arranged such that their longitudinal directions are parallel to a longitudinal direction of the piston rod.
Young teaches two helical springs (Fig. 12, springs 4 are helical) are arranged such that their longitudinal directions are parallel to a longitudinal direction of a piston rod (Fig. 12, springs 4 are parallel with plunger rod 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tensioning device of Weston such that the two helical springs are arranged such that their longitudinal directions are parallel to a longitudinal direction of the piston rod as taught by Young in order to allow the springs to expand parallel to the axis of the assembly during operation (Young: para. 0097).
Regarding claim 14, Weston in view of Young discloses the device above.
Weston does not expressly disclose the two helical springs are compression springs.
Young teaches two helical springs (Fig. 12, springs 4 are helical) are compression springs (springs 4 become compressed during operation; para. 0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tensioning device of Weston such that the two helical springs are compression springs as taught by Young in order to allow for a significant drive force (Young: para. 0071).
Regarding claim 15, Weston in view of Young discloses the device above.
Weston does not expressly disclose the piston rod is connected to two guide rods via a connecting part, and wherein the guide rods extend within the two helical springs.
Young teaches a piston rod (Fig. 12, piston rod 2) is connected to two guide rods (Fig. 9, yoke 7 comprises rods from thrust faces 21) via a connecting part (Fig. 9, yoke 7), and wherein the guide rods (Fig. 9, yoke 7 comprises rods from thrust faces 21) extend within two helical springs (Fig. 12, rods from yoke 7 extend through springs 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Weston such that the piston rod is connected to two guide rods via a connecting part, and wherein the guide rods extend within the two helical springs as taught by Young in order to apply the spring load onto the plunger rod (Young: para. 0085).
Regarding claim 16, Weston in view of Young discloses the device above.
Weston does not expressly disclose the tensioning device includes at least three helical springs running parallel to one another.
Young teaches a tensioning device (Young: Fig. 6, comprising springs 4 and sensor springs 14) that includes at least three helical springs (Fig. 6, there are a total of four springs between springs 4 and 14) running parallel to one another (Fig. 6, all springs run parallel with one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Weston such that the tensioning device includes at least three helical springs running parallel to one another as taught by Young in order to allow for an activation mechanism for the drive springs (Young: para. 0028).
Regarding claim 17, Weston in view of Young discloses the device above.
Weston does not expressly disclose the at least three helical springs are arranged symmetrically with respect to the motor in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the helical springs.
Young teaches at least three helical springs (Fig. 6, springs 4 and sensor springs 14 are helical) are arranged symmetrically with respect to the center of a device (Fig. 6, springs 4 and sensor springs 14 are arranged symmetrically with respect to the center axis of the device) in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the helical springs (Fig. 6, springs 4 and sensor springs 14 are arranged symmetrically with respect to the center axis of the device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Weston such that the at least three helical springs are arranged symmetrically with respect to the motor in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the helical springs as taught by Young in order to allow for an activation mechanism for the drive springs (Young: para. 0028). Examiner interprets that if the helical springs of Young were combined with the device of Weston, it would be obvious that they would be arranged symmetrically with respect to the motor. Additionally, It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to arrange the helical springs into whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the piston 7 and the connecting rod 6 of Weston do not move in unison throughout an entire stroke of the piston as recited by claim 9. Specifically, the piston 7 remains initially stationary during while the connecting rod 6 retracts.
As previously argued, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “moves in unison” requires only that the piston moves in the same direction and timing as the piston rod. In this instance, once the connecting rod 6 of Weston moves the piston 7 forward on a stroke, they move in unison, traveling together in the same direction and timing (Weston: col 5, ln 46-50). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “throughout the entire stroke of the piston” does not require the retraction stroke. In this case, the piston 7 moves once the connecting rod 6 acts upon it, thus, they move together in unison throughout the entire forward stroke (col 5, ln 46-50).
Applicant argues that adding the second helical spring of Young to the invention of Weston would introduce undesirable rotational force on the connecting rod 6 to a degree that it would no longer function for its intended purpose and, thus, there would be no reason to combine.
Examiner, as cited above, interprets that the two springs of Young would be added in parallel equidistant from the center axis of the piston. Thus, there would be no rotational force introduced.
Applicant also argues that adding the second helical spring of Young to the invention of Weston would require the principle operation of Weston to be fundamentally changed and, thus, reengineered.
Applicant does not provide a substantial argument as to why introducing a second spring would fundamentally change the operation of Weston. As shown in Young, the additional spring is merely used to modify Weston to not rely upon a singular large spring. There is no indication nor reason why adding an additional spring would require substantial reengineering.
Applicant argues that Weston does not expressly disclose a transfer region and, instead, discloses a transfer point.
As cited above, the transfer region D of Weston, as annotated, does not refer to a point, but rather, a region between the 90 degree corner and the plateau Z. The annotated figure 6 shows the transfer region D pointing to the area prior to the 90 degree corner. As previously argued, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “transfer region” need only require a region which exists between the second plateau and the transition flank.
Therefore, for all the reasons stated above, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/LEI GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783