DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 (as well as claims 2-10, 12-14, 16-19, 21, and 119 depending therefrom) and 120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 120 each recite the limitation “the object to be cleaned comprises the pipeline communicated with the recycling tank”. The disclosure contains repeated references to a cleaning object, including a note that the cleaning object may include “The cleaning object may be any one of the following multiple implementation modes: a ground, a glass window, a glass wall, a wall, an automobile, a pipeline, etc. The target object is in different forms in case of different structures and cleaning scenes of the movable device. No limits are made herein. Optionally, the target object is a ground and a cleaning brush. In some other implementation modes, the target object is a ground.” (Specification p.168, 11-17) However, there is no disclosure that the object to be cleaned is the specific pipeline or duct associated with the recycling tank. Furthermore, the object to be cleaned is disclosed such that dirty liquid passes from the object to be cleaned, through a suction nozzle on the floor brush, and then into the recycling tank (Specification p.9, 16-18). For dirty liquid to pass from the pipeline through the suction nozzle, it would necessarily have to flow in a direction opposite the disclosed flow direction, which is not disclosed with respect to a cleaning object (or object to be cleaned). Furthermore, the specification clearly establishes that a signal prompting a user to initiate a self-cleaning cycle is communicated via a different mechanism than an indication that a cleaning target such as a floor needs additional cleaning. (cleanliness indicator for dirty liquid circulation path is not shown in the figures, see Specification p.34, 25 - p.35, 16). This indicates that the portions of the disclosure referring to a generic pipeline as a target for cleaning and the portions of the disclosure about cleaning the dirty liquid circulation path refer to distinct elements of the invention.
Because claims 1 and 120 contain new limitations lacking adequate support in the disclosure, claims 1 and 120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claims 2-10, 12-14,16-19, 21, and 119 depend from claim 1 and are likewise rejected.
Claim 121 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 121 contains several limitations that appear to be redundant. Specifically, it is unclear what is meant by “the processing system is configured to determine cleanliness of the object to be cleaned according to the physical property value; cleanliness of the target object achieved by the cleaning assembly;”. This could be interpreted as “the processing system is configured to determine a cleanliness of the object to be cleaned according to the physical property value and a cleanliness of the target object achieved by the cleaning assembly” or as “the processing system is configured to determine cleanliness of the object to be cleaned according to the physical property value”. Due to this ambiguity, the scope of the invention described by claim 121 is unclear. Additionally, claim 121 recites the limitation “the self-cleaning function”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12, 16, 19, and 119-121 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Hahm et al. (KR 20060077392, "Hahm").
Regarding claims 1, 120, and 121, Miller discloses a cleaning machine (10), comprising a handle assembly (12), a main body (18, frame), a cleaning assembly (14, base), a processing system, and a display (72, status user interface; see Miller fig. 6) arranged on the main body (18); wherein the display (72) is electrically connected with the processing system (76, controller), and is configured to display working state information (see Miller [0040]-[0045]) of at least one component provided with the cleaning machine (10);
the cleaning machine (10) further comprises: a water outlet pipeline (fluid delivery pathway, see Miller [0038], [0054]), a water pump (42) and a solution tank (20, supply tank assembly) which are sequentially connected with a spray nozzle (38, fluid distributor) of the cleaning assembly (14); a suction passage (fluid recovery pathway, see Miller [0038], [0058]) and recycling tank (22, recovery tank assembly) sequentially connected with the cleaning assembly (14), and dirty liquid on a target object is sucked by a main motor (suction source, 46) and delivered into the recycling tank (22) through a suction nozzle (44) of the cleaning assembly (14) and the suction passage (fluid recovery pathway, see Miller [0038], [0058]); the target object comprising a cleaning brush (40) and an object to be cleaned, and the object to be cleaned comprises a ground (water is sprayed onto brushroll 40 and a surface to be cleaned, see Miller fig. 3 and [0054])
a water pump (42) works to pump out clean liquid in the solution tank (20), and to spray the clean liquid on an object to be cleaned (a floor) through a water outlet pipeline (fluid delivery pathway, see Miller [0038], [0054]) and a spray nozzle (38);
the cleaning assembly (14) further comprises: a suction passage (fluid recovery pathway, see Miller [0038], [0058]) and recycling tank (22, recovery tank assembly) connected sequentially; the dirty liquid on the object to be cleaned is sucked by a main motor (46, see Miller [0064]) of the cleaning machine (10), and delivered into the recycling tank (22) through a suction nozzle (44) of the cleaning assembly (14) and the suction passage;
the display (72) comprises at least two display regions (74A-G; see Miller fig. 6 and [0080]), different display regions are used for displaying working state information of different components, and the least two display regions comprise a first display region and a second display region;
the cleaning machine further comprises: the processing system (76) is configured to control the first display region (74C to display a color-brightness-shape combination (the limitations “color-brightness-shape” combination is construed in light of the specification of the instant application to include combination of same colors but different shapes; see specification at 24:9-13; 74C is an LED array configured as a bar graph that has a different shape (different number of bar is construed as a different shape) depending on the amount of clean water; see Miller [0082]; see also Miller [0078] which discloses that any variety of known status indicators can be used); the processing system (76) is further configured to start a self-cleaning function of the cleaning machine (10), and control the second display region (74G) to be turned on; the second display (74G, see Miller [0087]) region is on when a self-cleaning function of the cleaning machine (10) is used; and the self-cleaning function refers to the cleaning machine (10) cleaning the circulation path of the dirty liquid on its own (see Miller [0071]; [0087], [0089]-[0091], and [0097]); the circulation path of the dirty liquid comprising a pipeline communicated with the recycling tank (fluid recovery pathway communicates with tank 22, see Miller [0058] and fig. 2), and the object to be cleaned comprises the pipeline communicated with the recycling tank (liquid pulled through the pipeline will inherently remove dirt built up in the pipeline);
wherein the first display region (74E) is distributed along an edge of the display (74E is distributed on an inner edge of 72); the second display region (74G) is on when a self-cleaning function of the cleaning machine (10) is used (Miller [0087]).
Miller does not explicitly teach that an area surrounded by the first display region comprises the second display region.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to provide the second display region in an area surrounded by the first display region first display region, as it has been held that a particular configuration for components, absent some indication in the disclosure that the relative positions of those components would modify the operation of a device, is an obvious matter of design choice. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). As there is no indication that modifying the specific configuration would result in a change in operation, it would have been a matter of obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill to modify the machine of Miller to provide the second display region in an area surrounded by the first display region first display region.
Miller as modified does not explicitly disclose a cleanliness detector, partially or completely arranged on a circulation path of the dirty liquid and configured to detect cleanliness of the target object achieved by the cleaning assembly, that the first display region is configured to represent a cleanliness of the target object, or that the object to be cleaned comprises the pipeline.
However, Hahm teaches the cleaning machine (1) including a controller (20) connected to a user display (5) and a cleanliness detector (turbidity sensor 13) arranged on a circulation path of dirty liquid (13 is arranged between suction nozzle 12 and dirty water tank 7, see Hahm fig. 1 and Hahm Translation pg. 3 para. 14) and configured to detect cleanliness of the target object achieved by the cleaning assembly and inform a user by outputting a signal using the display that represents a cleanliness of the target object (Hahm Translation pg. 2 para. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Miller to further comprise a cleanliness detector partially or completely arranged on a circulation path of the dirty liquid and configured to detect cleanliness of the target object achieved by the cleaning assembly and a first display region configured to represent a cleanliness of the target object as taught by Hahm, as doing so would make it simpler for a user to determine if an area is clean or if additional cleaning is required. (Hahm Translation pg. 5 paras. 10-11).
2. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 1, wherein the display (Miller, 72) comprises at least one display region (Miller, 74A-G), configured to display working state information of different components. See Miller fig. 6 and [0080].
3. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2, wherein the working state information of the at least one component comprises at least one of: (1) liquid level information of a liquid storage apparatus (see Miller, 74C); (2) cleanliness information of a cleaning object achieved by the cleaning assembly; (3) electric power information of a power supply unit (see Miller, 74A); (4) self-cleaning information of the cleaning machine (see Miller, 74G; (5) power information of a main motor; (6) blocking information of the cleaning assembly; and (7) working state information of a communication assembly (see Miller, 74B). See Miller fig. 6 and [0080].
4. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2, wherein the at least one display region (Miller, 74A-G) comprises: a first display region (74C) formed by multiple first display tubes (Miller, multiple LEDs of a bar graph) configured to display cleanliness information (a user would know the cleanliness based upon the display region 74C how much of the clean water had been used to clean an object when comparing the amount of water that was available prior to cleaning the object; and therefore, the indicator would represent to the user a cleanliness of the object being cleaned under a control of the processing system (76, controller, see Miller fig. 7).
5. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 4, wherein the multiple first display tubes (Miller, multiple LEDs of a bar graph) are different in color, and configured to display different color-brightness-shape combinations under the control of the processing system, and wherein the different color- brightness-shape combinations represent different cleanliness of the target object achieved by the cleaning assembly; or, the multiple first display tubes (Miller, multiple LEDs of a bar graph) are the same in color, and configured to display different shapes and/or brightness under the control of the processing system, and wherein the different shapes and/or brightness represent different cleanliness of the target object achieved by the cleaning assembly. See 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 above.
6. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 4, wherein the multiple first display tubes (Miller, multiple LEDs of a bar graph) are arranged in an array (LED array, see Miller [0082]) form or distributed along an edge of the display.
7. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 4, wherein the suction passage and recycling tank are arranged on the main body, and wherein dirty liquid on the target object is sucked by a suction nozzle on the cleaning assembly and delivered into the recycling tank through the suction passage; the cleanliness detector is configured to detect a physical property value of the dirty liquid for the processing system; and the processing system is configured to determine cleanliness of the target object achieved by the cleaning assembly according to the physical property value and control the multiple first display tubes to display the color-brightness-shape combination adapted to the cleanliness of the target object. See 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of Claim 1 above.
8. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2, wherein the at least one display region (74A-G) further comprises a second display region formed by a first indicator lamp, and the first indicator lamp (Miller, 74G) is on when the self-cleaning function of the cleaning machine is used. See Miller fig. 6 and [0080] and U.S.C. 103 rejection of Claim 1 above.
9. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 8, wherein the processing system (Miller, 76) is further configured to execute the following operations: when time that the cleaning machine executes a cleaning task on the target object reaches preset time, starting the self-cleaning function of the cleaning machine, and controlling the first indicator lamp (Miller, 74G) to be turned on; or, when it is detected that a self-cleaning function control switch is turned on, starting the self-cleaning function of the cleaning machine, and controlling the first indicator lamp (Miller, 74G) to be turned on. See Miller fig. 6 and [0080], [0087], and U.S.C. 103 rejection of Claim 1 above.
10. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2, wherein the at least one display region (Miller, 74A-G) further comprises a third display region (Miller, 74D) configured to display liquid level (amount of dirty water, see Miller [0084]) information of a liquid storage apparatus of the cleaning machine; and wherein the third display region comprises a first subregion formed by at least one second indicator lamp (Miller, LED Array, see Miller [0084]) configured to display different liquid level states of the liquid storage apparatus under the control of the processing system (Miller, 76). See Miller fig. 6.
12. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 10, wherein the at least one second indicator lamp (Miller, LED bar graph arrays, see Miller [0083]-[0084]) comprises a first-type indicator lamp (Miller, 74C, bar graph array, see [0083]) and a second-type indicator lamp (Miller, 74D, bar graph array, see [0084]); the first-type indicator lamp (Miller, 74C) is configured to be turned on or flicker when clean liquid in a solution tank of the cleaning machine is lower than a set first liquid level threshold so as to give a user a prompt that the solution tank is in a liquid-deficient state; the second-type indicator lamp (Miller, 74D) is configured to be turned on or flicker when dirty liquid in a recycling tank (Miller, 64) of the cleaning machine is higher than a set second liquid level threshold so as to give the user a prompt that the recycling tank is in a full-liquid-level state; the first liquid level threshold is lower than the second liquid level threshold (see Miller, i.e. less bars on 74D are lit up than on 74C); and the first-type indicator lamp (Miller, 74C) and the second-type indicator lamp (Miller, 74D) are distributed in the same row or column. See Miller fig. 6.
To the extent that Applicant may argue that Miller as modified does not explicitly disclose whether the first liquid level threshold is lower, higher, or equal to the second liquid level threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art faced with the routine design option of choosing from a finite number of options of making the first liquid threshold lower, higher, or equal to the second liquid level would have had a reasonable expectation of success in selecting the first liquid level threshold is lower than the second liquid level threshold because the first liquid level threshold is a liquid deficient state threshold, whereas, the second liquid level threshold is a full liquid state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified to further comprise of the first liquid level threshold is lower than the second liquid level threshold, as a matter of obvious design choice from a finite number of design options. It is further noted that the specification does not include any recitation of criticality of the first liquid level threshold being lower than the second liquid level threshold. See Specification, Page 59.
16. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2, wherein the at least one display region (Miller, 74A-G) further comprises a fifth display region, (Miller, 74A) configured to display electric power of a power supply unit (Miller, Battery, 51) of the cleaning machine under the control of the processing system (Miller, 76). See Miller fig. 6 and [0081].
19. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 1, wherein the display (Miller, 72) is arranged above a liquid storage apparatus (recovery tank, 64; see figs. 1 and 2); or, a plane where the display is located is perpendicular to an axis of the main body. See Miller, figs. 1 and 2.
119. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine (10) according to claim 1, wherein the cleaning machine further comprises:
a water pump (42), the water pump (42) working to pump out clean liquid in the solution tank (20), and to spray the clean liquid on the target object (floor) through a water outlet pipeline (fluid delivery pathway, see Miller [0038], [0054]) and a spray nozzle (38); and the cleaning assembly (14) further comprises: a floor brush (40) and a motor (46, motor fan assembly; or 53, dedicated brush motor); the motor drives the floor brush (40, see Miller [0061] and [0064]) to clean the target object (the floor) to produce dirty liquid; an area surrounded by the first display region (74E) comprises: a second display region (74G), being on when a self-cleaning function (see Miller [0087]) of the cleaning machine (10) is used; a third display region (comprising of 74C and 74D), representing liquid level information of a solution tank (20) and the recycling tank (22); and a fifth display region (74A), displaying electric power information of a power supply unit (51) of the cleaning machine (10).
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Hahm, as applied to claim 10 above; in further view of Pan (US PGPub 2021/0339677) and Beers (US 5083036).
13. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 10, wherein the third display region (Miller, 74D) is configured to digitally display a liquid level value of the liquid storage apparatus (Miller, 64) under the control of the processing system (Miller, 76). Miller further contemplates that any variety of known status indicators can be used. See Miller, [0078].
Miller as modified is not construed to disclose wherein the third display region further comprises a second subregion formed by at least one first Nixie tube.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, was aware of Nixie tubes being utilized for the purpose of displaying numerical values. See e.g. Pan, [0091], [0095], and fig. 10. Beers further evidences that that LED’s and Nixie tubes are obvious alternative design choices for display measured levels. See Beers 1:38-40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified, wherein the third display region comprises of at least one first Nixie tube, as a matter of design choice, as evidenced by Pan and Beers, for the purpose of selecting a well-known means of displaying the digital values of a measured level of the number of gallons in the tank. It is further noted that the specification does not include any recitation of criticality of the use of Nixie tubes for the display means.
17. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 16, wherein the fifth display region (Miller, 74A) comprises a third subregion configured to display a percentage (see Miller, [0081]) of the electric power of the power supply unit (Miller, 51) under the control of the processing system (Miller, 76). See Miller fig. 6 and [0081].
Miller is not construed to comprise multiple second Nixie tubes.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, was aware of Nixie tubes being utilized for the purpose of displaying numerical values. See e.g. Pan, [0091], [0095], and fig. 10. Beers further evidences that that LEDs and Nixie tubes are obvious alternative design choices for display measured levels. See Beers 1:38-40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified, wherein the fifth display region comprises of multiple second Nixie tube, as a matter of design choice, as evidenced by Pan and Beers, for the purpose of selecting a well-known means of displaying the digital values of a measured level of the percentage of charge remaining in the battery. It is further noted that the specification does not include any recitation of criticality of the use of Nixie tubes for the display means.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Hahm as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Tsuchida et al. (US 5023973, "Tsuchida").
14. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2.
Miller as modified is not construed to disclose wherein the at least one display region further comprises a fourth display region formed by multiple second display tubes, configured to display power of a main motor under the control of the processing system, and wherein the number of on-state display tubes in the multiple second display tubes is positively related to the power of the main motor; and wherein the multiple second display tubes are distributed in rows, in columns, annularly, or in a matrix.
However, Tsuchida teaches a vacuum cleaner comprising of a fourth display (25, power control indicator; see Tsuchida fig. 1) region formed by multiple second display tubes (LL, L, M, H1, and H2 corresponding to 5 red light emitting diodes D4 to D8, respectively; see Tsuchida fig. 1 and 4:6-10), configured to display power of a main motor under the control of the processing system, and wherein the number of on-state display tubes in the multiple second display tubes is positively related to the power of the main motor; and wherein the multiple second display tubes are distributed in rows, in columns, annularly, or in a matrix. See Tsuchida fig. 1 and 4:6-10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified, wherein the at least one display region further comprises a fourth display region formed by multiple second display tubes, configured to display power of a main motor under the control of the processing system, and wherein the number of on-state display tubes in the multiple second display tubes is positively related to the power of the main motor; and wherein the multiple second display tubes are distributed in rows, in columns, annularly, or in a matrix, as taught by Tsuchida, for the purpose of informing of user of the amount of power being applied to the motor.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Miller over Hahm as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Zhao (US PGPub 2015/0158392).
18. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 16.
Miller as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the fifth display region further comprises a fourth subregion formed by multiple third indicator lamps of different colors, configured to display a color adapted to the electric power of the power supply unit under the control of the processing system.
However, Zhao teaches an electronic device that utilized a plurality of indicator lights and colors to display a percentage of power supply capacity that has been used or discharged. See Zhao [0077].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified, wherein the fifth display region further comprises a fourth subregion formed by multiple third indicator lamps of different colors, configured to display a color adapted to the electric power of the power supply unit under the control of the processing system, as taught by Zhao (Zhao [0077]), for the purpose of notifying a user of the power level of the power supply.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Hahm as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US PGPub 2019/0285904, "Kim").
21. Miller teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 19; wherein the display (Miller, 72) is arranged at the top or front of the main body (Miller, 18). See Miller, figs. 1 and 6.
Miller as modified does not disclose wherein the display is retractably arranged at the top or front of the main body.
However, Kim teaches a display (435; see Kim fig. 4) for use in home appliances such as a vacuum cleaner (see Kim [0066]) that is retractably arranged, see Kim fig. 4 and [0066], [0125] and [0127].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified, wherein the display is retractably arranged at the top or front of the main body, for the purpose of allowing a user to adjust the position and or the inclination angle of the display to correspond to the position of the user. See Kim [0125].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 12-14, 16-19, 21, and 119-121 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/J.R.Z./ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723