DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation in claim 7 of “the target object” is inconsistent with the language of claim 122, from which claim 7 ultimately depends. Consider ––the object to be cleaned––. Apxpropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 122, 2-10, 12-14, 16-19, 21, and 119 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 122 recites the limitation “A cleaning machine, comprising a handle assembly...the cleaning machine further comprises: a water outlet pipeline...the cleaning machine further comprises: a cleanliness detector...”. It is unclear whether the preamble ends at “a cleaning machine” or if it extends to “a cleaning machine, comprising a handle assembly...the cleaning machine further comprises”.
Claim 122 recites the limitation “the dirty liquid on an object to be cleaned”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 122 recites the limitation “the display comprises at least two display regions, different regions are used to display the working state information of different components, at least two display regions comprise a first display region and a second display region”. It is unclear whether the limitation of “different regions” refers to the same regions as the “at least two display regions”. Similarly, it is unclear whether the limitation “at least two display regions comprise a first display region and a second display region” refers to the same “at least two display regions” introduced in the first clause (i.e., “the at least two display regions comprise a first display region and a second display region” or additional regions, each of which independently includes a first display region and a second display region, making for a total of four new display regions in addition to the at least two display regions previously introduced. Because of these ambiguities, there is insufficient antecedent basis for subsequent references to “the first display region” and “the second display region” in the claim.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16, and 119, depend from claim 122 and contain references to “the at least one display region” or “a second display region”. For reasons resulting from the ambiguity of claim 122, there is likewise insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
For purposes of examination, claim 122 will be interpreted as:
122. A cleaning machine, comprising:
a handle assembly;
a main body;
a cleaning assembly;
a water outlet pipeline and a solution tank which are sequentially connected with a spray nozzle of the cleaning assembly;
a suction passage and a recycling tank connected sequentially with the cleaning assembly, the dirty liquid on an object to be cleaned is sucked by a main motor of the cleaning machine, and delivered into the recycling tank through a suction nozzle of the cleaning assembly and the suction passage;
a cleanliness detector, partially or completely arranged on a circulation path of the dirty liquid and configured to detect cleanliness of circulation path of the dirty liquid;
a processing system; and
a display electrically connected with the processing system and arranged on the main body, the display being configured to display working state information of at least one component provided with the cleaning machine, and the display comprising
at least two display regions including a first display region and a second display region, and wherein different regions of the at least two regions are used to display the working state information of different components,
wherein the processing system is configured to control the first display region to represent cleanliness of the circulation path of the dirty liquid by a display mode of a color-brightness-shape combination;
wherein the cleanliness of the circulation path of the dirty liquid is determined by the processing system according to a physical property value of the dirty liquid detected by the cleanliness detector;
the processing system is further configured to control the second display region to be turned on, when the cleaning machine uses a self-cleaning function; and
the self-cleaning function refers to the cleaning machine cleaning the circulation path of the dirty liquid.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the multiple first display tubes are arranged in an array form or distributed along an edge of the display; the first display region is distributed along an edge of the display and formed in a round shape, the second display region is provided in a round area of the first display region”. Because the first clause of this limitation is recited in the alternative form, it is unclear whether the second clause of “the first display region is distributed along an edge of the display and formed in a round shape, the second display region is provided in a round area of the first display region” applies to both arrangements for the first display tubes or if it only applies to the one where the tubes are distributed along an edge of the display.
Claims 2-10, 12-14, 16-19, 21, and 119 depend from at least one indefinite claim and are likewise rejected. For purposes of examination, the claims will be interpreted as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 122, 2-10, 12, 16, 19, and 119 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US PGPub 2021/0244253) in view of Hahm et al. (KR 20060077392, "Hahm").
122. Miller teaches a cleaning machine (10, Miller fig. 1), comprising
a handle assembly (16, Miller fig. 1);
a main body (18, Miller fig. 1);
a cleaning assembly (14, Miller fig. 1);
a water outlet pipeline (fluid supply pathway, Miller [0051]-[0054]) and a solution tank (34) which are sequentially connected with a spray nozzle (38) of the cleaning assembly;
a suction passage (50) and a recycling tank (64) connected sequentially with the cleaning assembly, the dirty liquid on an object to be cleaned is sucked by a main motor (46) of the cleaning machine, and delivered into the recycling tank (64) through a suction nozzle (44) of the cleaning assembly and the suction passage (Miller fig. 2 and [0058]-[0060]);
a processing system (controller 76, Miller [0042]-[0044]); and
a display (Human-machine interface (HMI) 70 including status user interface (SUI) 72, Miller [0041] and fig. 1) arranged on the main body (SUI 72 is on body 18, Miller [0045] and fig. 1);
wherein the display is electrically connected with the processing system (SUI 72 is connected to controller 76, Miller [0042]), and is configured to display working state information of at least one component provided with the cleaning machine (displaying status information related to machine and individual components such as battery level, clean and dirty water levels, filter status, etc. see Miller [0077]);
wherein the display comprises at least two display regions (SUI 72 includes discrete status indicators 74a-74G, see Miller fig. 6 and [0077]-[0087]), different regions are used to display the working state information of different components (status indicators 74a-74G are used to display state information of different components, see Miller fig. 6 and [0077]-[0087]), at least two display regions comprise a first display region and a second display region (multiple display regions for different status indicators 74, see Miller fig. 6);
wherein the processing system is further configured to control the second display region to be turned on, when the cleaning machine uses a self-cleaning function (displaying a self-cleaning status indicator 74G when in self-cleaning mode, Miller [0087]);
wherein the self-cleaning function refers to the cleaning machine cleaning the circulation path of the dirty liquid (self-cleaning mode may involve cleaning internal components of the fluid recover pathway, Miller [0071]).
Miller further teaches that the cleaning machine may include a variety of machine status sensors (see Miller fig. 8 and [0088]-[0097]), and that statuses may be indicated by the user interface (Miller [0101]-[0102]), but does not teach that the status sensors include a cleanliness detector, partially or completely arranged on a circulation path of the dirty liquid and configured to detect cleanliness of circulation path of the dirty liquid; wherein the processing system is configured to control the first display region to represent cleanliness of the circulation path of the dirty liquid by a display mode of a color-brightness-shape combination; and wherein the cleanliness of the circulation path of the dirty liquid is determined by the processing system according to a physical property value of the dirty liquid detected by the cleanliness detector.
However, Hahm teaches the cleaning machine (1) including a controller (20) connected to a user display (5) and a cleanliness detector (turbidity sensor 13) arranged on a circulation path of dirty liquid (13 is arranged between suction nozzle 12 and dirty water tank 7, see Hahm fig. 1 and Hahm Translation pg. 5 para. 1) and configured to detect a cleanliness of circulation path of the dirty liquid based on a physical property value of the dirty liquid (optical sensor on pathway is capable of detecting cleanliness in circulation path based on a turbidity of the liquid, see Hahm Translation pg. 5 para. 1); and inform a user by outputting a signal using the display that represents a cleanliness of the target object (Hahm Translation pg. 2 para. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the machine of Miller according to the teachings from Hahm regarding a cleanliness detector such that the status sensors included a cleanliness detector, partially or completely arranged on a circulation path of the dirty liquid and configured to detect cleanliness of circulation path of the dirty liquid; the processing system is configured to control the first display region to represent cleanliness of the circulation path of the dirty liquid by a display mode of a color-brightness-shape combination; and the cleanliness of the circulation path of the dirty liquid is determined by the processing system according to a physical property value of the dirty liquid detected by the cleanliness detector, as doing so would make it simpler for a user to determine if an area is clean or if additional cleaning is required. (Hahm Translation pg. 5 paras. 10-11).
2. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 122, wherein the display (72) comprises at least one display region (74A-G), configured to display working state information of different components. See Miller fig. 6 and [0080]-[0087].
3. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2, wherein the working state information of the at least one component comprises at least one of: (1) liquid level information of a liquid storage apparatus (74C); (2) cleanliness information of a cleaning object achieved by the cleaning assembly (as a result of the integration of the teachings from Hahm, see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 122 above); (3) electric power information of a power supply unit (74A); (4) self-cleaning information of the cleaning machine (74G); (5) power information of a main motor; (6) blocking information of the cleaning assembly (74E); and (7) working state information of a communication assembly (74B). See Miller fig. 6 and [0080]-[0087].
4. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2, wherein the at least one display region (74A-G) comprises: a first display region formed by multiple first display tubes (multiple LEDs forming a bar graph, see Miller [0083]-[0084]) configured to display cleanliness information (Miller as modified would include a display region configured to display a cleanliness as taught by Hahm, see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 122 above).
5. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 4, wherein the multiple first display tubes are different in color, and configured to display different color-brightness-shape combinations under the control of the processing system, and wherein the different color-brightness-shape combinations represent different cleanliness of the target object achieved by the cleaning assembly; or, the multiple first display tubes are the same in color, and configured to display different shapes and/or brightness under the control of the processing system, and wherein the different shapes and/or brightness represent different cleanliness of the target object achieved by the cleaning assembly (the bar graphs of Miller as modified would change in shape, which would result in different color-brightness-shape combinations even if the color and brightness were held constant, see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 122 above).
6. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 4, wherein the multiple first display tubes are arranged in an array form (LED array, see Miller [0082], [0083]) or distributed along an edge of the display.
Miller as modified does not explicitly teach that the first display region is distributed along an edge of the display and formed in a round shape, the second display region is provided in a round area of the first display region.
However, it has been held both that the particular shape of a design element is a matter of obvious design choice absent some sort of persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed element was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and that where the sole difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the particular placement of an element, the particular placement of that element is—absent some indication that changing the position of the element would have modified the operation of the device—an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
The present application describes several embodiments of the display regions (Specification 22:20-29:11) but not only does it not contain any indication that the particular shapes of the display regions are significant or that moving the individual elements would have modified the operation of the device, it indicates that the recited shapes are only exemplary (Specification 29:7-11). As in Dailey, there is no evidence that any particular significance is assigned to the claimed shapes, and as in Japikse, there is no indication the rearranging the display regions would change the operation of the device any more than changing the location of a power switch would modify the operation of a device.
Consequently, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the machine of Miller as modified such that the first display region is distributed along an edge of the display and formed in a round shape, the second display region is provided in a round area of the first display region, as doing so represents an obvious matter of design choice.
7. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 4, wherein the suction passage and recycling tank are arranged on the main body (main body 18 includes dirty water tank 64 and a part of suction passage 50, see Miller fig. 2), and wherein dirty liquid on the target object is sucked by a suction nozzle (44) on the cleaning assembly (14) and delivered into the recycling tank through the suction passage (Miller fig. and [0058]);
the cleanliness detector is configured to detect a physical property value of the dirty liquid for the processing system (an optical property, e.g. water turbidity, see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 122 above); and
the processing system is configured to determine cleanliness of the target object achieved by the cleaning assembly according to the physical property value and control the multiple first display tubes to display the color-brightness-shape combination adapted to the cleanliness of the target object (Hahm teaches determining cleanliness of a target area based on the measured property and displays that to a user, the combination with Miller would result in the claimed invention, see 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 122 above).
8. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2, wherein the at least one display region further comprises a second display region formed by a first indicator lamp (74A-G), and the first indicator lamp (74G) is on when the self-cleaning function of the cleaning machine is used (see Miller fig. 6 and [0080] and U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 122 above).
9. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 8, wherein the processing system (76) is further configured to execute the following operations:
when time that the cleaning machine executes a cleaning task on the target object reaches preset time, starting the self-cleaning function of the cleaning machine, and controlling the first indicator lamp (74G, Miller [0087]) to be turned on;
or, when it is detected that a self-cleaning function control switch is turned on, starting the self-cleaning function of the cleaning machine, and controlling the first indicator lamp to be turned on (initiating self-cleaning with input control 88 and lighting self-cleaning indicator 74G, [0087]).
10. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2, wherein the at least one display region further comprises a third display region (74C) configured to display liquid level information of a liquid storage apparatus of the cleaning machine (74C displays amount of water in the clean liquid chamber, Miller [0083]);
and wherein the third display region comprises a first subregion formed by at least one second indicator lamp, configured to display different liquid level states of the liquid storage apparatus under the control of the processing system (74C is formed of an LED array, Miller [0083]).
12. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 10, wherein the at least one second indicator lamp (LED bar graph arrays, see Miller [0083]-[0084]) comprises a first-type indicator lamp (74C, bar graph array, see [0083]) and a second-type indicator lamp (74D, bar graph array, see [0084]); the first-type indicator lamp (74C) is configured to be turned on or flicker when clean liquid in a solution tank of the cleaning machine is lower than a set first liquid level threshold so as to give a user a prompt that the solution tank is in a liquid-deficient state; the second-type indicator lamp (74D) is configured to be turned on or flicker when dirty liquid in a recycling tank (64) of the cleaning machine is higher than a set second liquid level threshold so as to give the user a prompt that the recycling tank is in a full-liquid-level state; the first liquid level threshold is lower than the second liquid level threshold (see Miller fig. 6, i.e. fewer bars on 74D are lit up than on 74C); and the first-type indicator lamp (74C) and the second-type indicator lamp (74D) are distributed in the same row or column. See Miller fig. 6.
To the extent that Applicant may argue that Miller as modified does not explicitly disclose whether the first liquid level threshold is lower, higher, or equal to the second liquid level threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art faced with the routine design option of choosing from a finite number of options of making the first liquid threshold lower, higher, or equal to the second liquid level would have had a reasonable expectation of success in selecting the first liquid level threshold is lower than the second liquid level threshold because the first liquid level threshold is a liquid deficient state threshold, whereas, the second liquid level threshold is a full liquid state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified to further comprise of the first liquid level threshold is lower than the second liquid level threshold, as a matter of obvious design choice from a finite number of design options. It is further noted that the specification does not include any recitation of criticality of the first liquid level threshold being lower than the second liquid level threshold. See Specification, Page 59.
16. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2, wherein the at least one display region (74A-G) further comprises a fifth display region, (74A) configured to display electric power of a power supply unit (battery 51, Miller [0081]) of the cleaning machine under the control of the processing system (76). See Miller figs. 6-7, [0081], and [0088].
19. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 122, wherein the display (72) is arranged above a liquid storage apparatus (recovery tank, 64, Miller figs. 1 and 2); or, a plane where the display is located is perpendicular to an axis of the main body. See Miller, figs. 1 and 2.
119. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine (10) according to claim 122, wherein the cleaning machine further comprises:
a water pump (42), the water pump (42) working to pump out clean liquid in the solution tank (20), and to spray the clean liquid on the target object (floor) through a water outlet pipeline (fluid delivery pathway, see Miller [0038], [0054]) and a spray nozzle (38); and the cleaning assembly (14) further comprises: a floor brush (40) and a motor (46, motor fan assembly; or 53, dedicated brush motor); the motor drives the floor brush (40, see Miller [0061] and [0064]) to clean the target object (the floor) to produce dirty liquid; an area surrounded by the first display region (74E) comprises: a second display region (74G), being on when a self-cleaning function (see Miller [0087]) of the cleaning machine (10) is used; a third display region (comprising of 74C and 74D), representing liquid level information of a solution tank (20) and the recycling tank (22); and a fifth display region (74A), displaying electric power information of a power supply unit (51) of the cleaning machine (10).
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Hahm, as applied to claim 10 above; in further view of Pan (US PGPub 2021/0339677) and Beers (US 5083036).
13. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 10, wherein the third display region (74D) is configured to digitally display a liquid level value of the liquid storage apparatus (Miller, 64) under the control of the processing system (76). Miller further contemplates that any variety of known status indicators can be used. See Miller, [0078].
Miller as modified is not construed to disclose wherein the third display region further comprises a second subregion formed by at least one first Nixie tube.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, was aware of Nixie tubes being utilized for the purpose of displaying numerical values. See e.g. Pan, [0091], [0095], and fig. 10. Beers further evidences that that LED’s and Nixie tubes are obvious alternative design choices for display measured levels. See Beers 1:38-40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified, wherein the third display region comprises of at least one first Nixie tube, as a matter of design choice, as evidenced by Pan and Beers, for the purpose of selecting a well-known means of displaying the digital values of a measured level of the number of gallons in the tank. It is further noted that the specification does not include any recitation of criticality of the use of Nixie tubes for the display means.
17. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 16, wherein the fifth display region (74A) comprises a third subregion configured to display a percentage (see Miller [0081]) of the electric power of the power supply unit (51) under the control of the processing system (Miller, 76). See Miller fig. 6 and [0081].
Miller is not construed to comprise multiple second Nixie tubes.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, was aware of Nixie tubes being utilized for the purpose of displaying numerical values. See e.g. Pan, [0091], [0095], and fig. 10. Beers further evidences that that LEDs and Nixie tubes are obvious alternative design choices for display measured levels. See Beers 1:38-40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified, wherein the fifth display region comprises of multiple second Nixie tube, as a matter of design choice, as evidenced by Pan and Beers, for the purpose of selecting a well-known means of displaying the digital values of a measured level of the percentage of charge remaining in the battery. It is further noted that the specification does not include any recitation of criticality of the use of Nixie tubes for the display means.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Hahm as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Tsuchida et al. (US 5023973, "Tsuchida").
14. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 2.
Miller as modified is not construed to disclose wherein the at least one display region further comprises a fourth display region formed by multiple second display tubes, configured to display power of a main motor under the control of the processing system, and wherein the number of on-state display tubes in the multiple second display tubes is positively related to the power of the main motor; and wherein the multiple second display tubes are distributed in rows, in columns, annularly, or in a matrix.
However, Tsuchida teaches a vacuum cleaner comprising of a fourth display (25, power control indicator; see Tsuchida fig. 1) region formed by multiple second display tubes (LL, L, M, H1, and H2 corresponding to 5 red light emitting diodes D4 to D8, respectively; see Tsuchida fig. 1 and 4:6-10), configured to display power of a main motor under the control of the processing system, and wherein the number of on-state display tubes in the multiple second display tubes is positively related to the power of the main motor; and wherein the multiple second display tubes are distributed in rows, in columns, annularly, or in a matrix. See Tsuchida fig. 1 and 4:6-10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified, wherein the at least one display region further comprises a fourth display region formed by multiple second display tubes, configured to display power of a main motor under the control of the processing system, and wherein the number of on-state display tubes in the multiple second display tubes is positively related to the power of the main motor; and wherein the multiple second display tubes are distributed in rows, in columns, annularly, or in a matrix, as taught by Tsuchida, for the purpose of informing of user of the amount of power being applied to the motor.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Miller over Hahm as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Zhao (US PGPub 2015/0158392).
18. Miller as modified teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 16.
Miller as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the fifth display region further comprises a fourth subregion formed by multiple third indicator lamps of different colors, configured to display a color adapted to the electric power of the power supply unit under the control of the processing system.
However, Zhao teaches an electronic device that utilizes a plurality of indicator lights and colors to display a percentage of power supply capacity that has been used or discharged. See Zhao [0077].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified, wherein the fifth display region further comprises a fourth subregion formed by multiple third indicator lamps of different colors, configured to display a color adapted to the electric power of the power supply unit under the control of the processing system, as taught by Zhao (Zhao [0077]), for the purpose of notifying a user of the power level of the power supply.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller in view of Hahm as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US PGPub 2019/0285904, "Kim").
21. Miller teaches the cleaning machine according to claim 19; wherein the display (Miller, 72) is arranged at the top or front of the main body (Miller, 18). See Miller, figs. 1 and 6.
Miller as modified does not disclose wherein the display is retractably arranged at the top or front of the main body.
However, Kim teaches a display (435; see Kim fig. 4) for use in home appliances such as a vacuum cleaner (see Kim [0066]) that is retractably arranged, see Kim fig. 4 and [0066], [0125] and [0127].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miller as modified, wherein the display is retractably arranged at the top or front of the main body, for the purpose of allowing a user to adjust the position and or the inclination angle of the display to correspond to the position of the user. See Kim [0125].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 122, 2-10, 12-14, 16-19, 21, and 119 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Krebs et al. (US PGPub 2018/0344112), which teaches a self-cleaning system for cleaning machines and the inclusion of sensors for detecting when fluid pathways are in need of cleaning (Krebs [0103]-[0106]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.R.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723