DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4 have been amended; support for the amendment can be found in Fig. 4 and 27.
Claims 5-20 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-4 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Wang is now relied on to teach the limitations specifically challenged in the arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the other" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner suggests amending “another end portion” in line 7 to ---an other end portion---. Claims 2-3 are rejected because of dependence on claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the outflow path has a larger flow path area than the flow path area of the branch paths”. It is unclear from this recitation if one or both of the previously recited “pair of outflow paths” is being referred to. Therefore, the claim is rendered indefinite. For examination, this limitation has been interpreted as referring to one of the outflow paths. Claim 3 is rejected based on its dependence on claim 2.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein each of the plurality of individual placement portions obtained by dividing the placement portion has an individual coolant flow path”. This recitation is indefinite because seemingly applicant is claiming a method step in an apparatus claim thus confusing the metes, bounds and scope of the claim as claim 4 is directed to an apparatus. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted this recitation as “wherein each of the plurality of individual placement portions has an individual coolant flow path”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the other" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu (US 20190131674 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Lu discloses an electric vehicle ([0116]) battery case (Fig. 1; 10, 30) comprising:
a tray (Fig. 2; 100) including a placement portion (Fig. 2; 121) on which a battery (Fig. 1; 20) is placed and having a groove (“slot”; [0065]) formed in a bottom portion (“lower plate”; [0065]) of the placement portion (121);
a closing plate (“upper plate”; [0065]) joined to the tray (100) to close ([0065]) the groove ([0065]) and define a coolant flow path (“flow channel 130”; [0065]); and
a top cover (Fig. 1; 30) configured to seal the placement portion (121) of the tray (100);
wherein the placement portion (121) is divided into a plurality of individual placement portions (Fig. 2; see plurality of 121) by a projecting portion (Fig. 2; 122) having a bottom surface (Fig. 2; top and side surfaces of 122) partially projecting upward (Fig. 2) and extending in a vehicle width direction (annotated Fig. 2; W), and
wherein each of the plurality of individual placement portions (plurality of 121) obtained by dividing (see 112(b) rejection above) the placement portion (121) has an individual coolant flow path (“a flow channel 130” [0074]; see Fig. 3) separate from an individual coolant flow path (130; see Fig. 2 and 3 and the plurality of 121; [0074]) of each of the other (121; [0073-0074]) of the plurality of individual placement portions (121), and
wherein each of the individual coolant flow paths (each 130 of the plurality of 121 in Fig. 2; [0074]) is provided with an inlet and an outlet ([0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iqbal (US 20180233789 A1) in view of Wang (CN-109786895-A, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 1, Iqbal discloses an electric vehicle battery case (“traction battery assembly”; [0021] including “cover” [0024]) comprising:
a tray (Fig. 3; element 110) including a placement portion (annotated Fig. 3; PP) on which a battery (Fig. 3; elements 104 and 106) is placed and having a groove (Fig. 3; element 140) formed in a bottom portion of the placement portion (PP);
a closing plate (Fig. 3; element 108) joined to the tray (110) to close the groove (140) and define a coolant flow path ([0025]; Fig. 3; 140 closed by 108); and a top cover (“cover”; [0024]) configured to seal ([0024]; see explanation below) the placement portion (PP) of the tray (110).
Regarding the limitation “configured to seal”, the examiner notes that “to seal” is defined as “[t]o cover, secure, or fill up” (seal. (n.d.) American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition. (2011). Retrieved December 2 2025 from https://www.thefreedictionary.com/seal) and the cover “covers” 140 via attachment to 132 per [0024]. Thus, the cover is configured to seal the placement portion as claimed.
wherein the coolant flow path (Fig. 3; 130 closed by 108) includes an inlet (Fig. 6; element 142), an outlet (Fig. 6; element 144), an inflow path (Fig. 6; element 160) extending from the inlet (142) from one end portion (annotated Fig. 6; 1EP) to another end portion (annotated Fig. 6; 2EP) in a front-rear direction (annotated Fig. 6; FR) of the tray (110), an outflow path (annotated Fig. 6; element OP) extending to the outlet (144) from the one end portion (1EP) to the other end portion (2EP) in the front-rear direction (FR) of the tray (110), and a branch path (annotated Fig. 6; element BP) branching from the inflow path (160) and joining at the outflow path (OP).
Iqbal fails to disclose wherein the coolant flow path includes a pair of outlets, an inflow path extending at a center in a width direction of the tray, a pair of outflow paths each extending to one of the pair of outlets from the one end portion to the other end portion in the front-rear direction of the tray at opposing outer portions in the width direction of the tray, and a plurality of branch paths each branching from the inflow path and joining at one of the outflow paths.
Wang relates to the field of heat dissipation technologies ([006]) and discloses that in the field of thermal management of electric vehicle batteries there is a need for heat dissipation uniformity ([009]). To address this need, Wang discloses
a tray (Fig. 6; 1-4) comprising a coolant flow path (Fig. 6; arrows);
wherein the coolant flow path (Fig. 6; arrows) includes an inlet (annotated Fig. 6; I), a pair of outlets (annotated Fig. 6; O), an inflow path (annotated Fig. 6; IP) extending from the inlet (I) from one end portion (annotated Fig. 6; 1EP) to another end portion (annotated Fig. 6; 2EP) in a front-rear direction (annotated Fig. 6; X) of the tray (1-4) at a center (Fig. 6) in a width direction (annotated Fig. 6; Y) of the tray (1-4), a pair of outflow paths (annotated Fig. 6; OP) each extending to one of the pair of outlets (O) from the one end portion (1EP) to the other end portion (2EP) in the front-rear direction (X) of the tray (104) at opposing outer portions (Fig. 6; 3) in the width direction (Y) of the tray (1-4), and a plurality of branch paths (Fig. 6; 2) each branching from the inflow path (IP) and joining at one of the outflow paths (OP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iqbal by substituting the coolant flow path taught by Wang in place of Iqbal’s coolant flow path because doing so would reasonably be expected to provide heat dissipation uniformity to Iqbal’s device as taught by Wang ([0030]).
Regarding claim 2, Iqbal in view of Wang discloses wherein the inflow path (IP) has a larger flow path area (Fig. 6; flow path area of 1) than a flow path area (Fig. 6; flow path area of 2) of the branch paths (2), and
wherein the outflow path (O) has a larger flow path area (Fig. 6; flow path area of 3) than the flow path area (Fig. 6; flow path area of 2) of the branch paths (2).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iqbal (US 20180233789 A1) in view of Wang (CN-109786895-A, machine translation used for rejection below) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Park (US 20060225867 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Iqbal in view of Wang discloses wherein the flow path area (Fig. 6; flow path area of 1) of the inflow path (IP) decreases from the inlet (I) toward the outlets (O).
Iqbal in view of Wang fails to disclose wherein the flow path area of the outflow paths increases from the inlet toward the outlets.
Park discloses a coolant flow path (Fig. 2; flow path from 111 to 112) that includes an inlet (Fig. 2; element 111), an outlet (Fig. 2; element 112), an inflow path (Fig. 2; element 120) extending from the inlet (111), an outflow path (Fig. 2; element 130) extending to the outlet (112), and a plurality of branch paths (Fig. 2; element 113) each branching from the inflow path (120) and joining at the outflow path (130),
wherein the flow path area (Fig. 2; area of 120) of the inflow path (120) decreases from the inlet (111) toward the outlet (112), and wherein the flow path area (Fig. 2; area of 130) of the outflow path (130) increases from the inlet (111) toward the outlet (112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Iqbal in view of Wang by forming the outlet flow paths such that the flow path area of the outflow paths increases from the inlet toward the outlets as taught by Park, in order to permit a uniform amount of coolant to flow within the channels and permit the temperature of a surface of the tray contacting the battery cells to be constant (Park [0015]; [0003]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723