DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wook [KR 10-1706514 B1] in view of Bonin et al. [US 2011/0309902 A1].
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Wook discloses transformer support structure [figures 1-12] for mounting a transformer assembly [100] comprising:
- a bottom element [30] having a support surface with a horizontal orientation including two longitudinal side edges which delimit the support surface, wherein the longitudinal side edges run parallel to each other in a y-direction [figure 9];
- a cross bar [40] being supported on the support surface, the cross bar running crosswise to the longitudinal side edges; and
- at least two reinforcement units [gusset 151, figures 5 and 9-10] for reinforcing the cross bar, the at least two reinforcement units extend extending over an outer front surface of the cross bar in a vertical direction, wherein the two reinforcement units have the same shape and having a lower edge of each of the reinforcement units terminates at a lower horizontal surface of the cross bar [figure 9].
Wook disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific arrangement of the reinforcement units relative to the longitudinal side edge.
Bonin et al. discloses a transformer support structure for a transformer assembly [figure 2] comprising:
- a bottom element [23] having a support surface with horizontal orientation including side edges;
- a cross bar [22] being supported on the support surface, the cross bar running crosswise to the side edges; and
- at least one reinforcement unit [see figure 2] for reinforcing the cross bar, wherein the reinforcement unit positioned above the side edges and are aligned with the longitudinal side edges; and wherein, preferably, in a view perpendicular to the support surface, the longitudinal side edges touch or cross the reinforcement units [see figure 2].
Bonin et al. further discloses that an outer side edge of the reinforcement unit is vertically aligned with and positioned direction above a respective one of a longitudinal side edges of the bottom element [23, see figure 2]
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the reinforcement unit design and/or arrangement of Bonin et al. in Wook, for the purpose of improving reinforcement.
Regarding claim 2, Wook discloses a length of the cross bar along an x-direction is greater than a length of the support surface between the two longitudinal side edges along the x-direction [see figures 9].
Regarding claim 3, Wook discloses two bottom elements [30] with the bottom elements are spaced apart from each other along the x-direction, and wherein the cross baris supported on each of the respective support surfaces of the two bottom elements [see figure 9].
Regarding claim 4, Wook discloses cross bars [40] with the outer front surfaces of each cross bar facing in opposite directions to each other [see figure 9].
Regarding claim 5, Wook discloses 4, wherein the transformer assembly is arranged in-between the two cross bars [see figure 9].
Regarding claim 6, Wook discloses at least one reinforcement unit extends over a major part of the outer front surface along the vertical direction [figure 9].
Regarding claims 7-8, Wook discloses at least one reinforcement unit forms a protrusion extending from the outer front surface along the y-direction [see figure 9], wherein a thickness in the y-direction of at least one reinforcement unit decreases upwards along a z-direction [see figure 9].
Regarding claim 10, Wook discloses the cross bar has a C-shaped cross section along a y-z plane forming a middle vertical portion of the C-shaped cross section of the outer front surface, an upper horizontal surface of the C-shaped cross section and a lower horizontal surface of the C-shaped cross section, wherein the upper and the lower horizontal surfaces faces each other or wherein the cross bar has a L-shaped cross section along the y-z plane forming a middle vertical portion of the L-shaped cross section of the outer front surface and a lower horizontal surface of the L-shaped cross section [see figure 9].
Regarding claim 11, Wook discloses the reinforcement units are in contact with the outer front surface and with at least one of the lower horizontal surface and the upper horizontal surface [figure 9].
Regarding claim 12, Wook discloses wherein the bottom element comprises two lateral outer sides being opposite to each other which run along a z- direction and are perpendicular to the support surface [see figure 9]
Regarding claim 13, Wook discloses the bottom element comprises a curved section [bevel edge] at each longitudinal side edge, wherein the curved section tapers downwards connecting the support surface with the respective lateral outer sides [see figure 9].
Regarding claim 14, Wook discloses the bottom element has an Omega shaped cross section along an x-z plane.
Regarding claim 15, Wook discloses a transformer having a transformer support, wherein the transformer comprising a transformer core yoke [10].
Regarding claim 16, Wook discloses a transformer support structure for mounting a transformer assembly [100], comprising:
- a bottom element [30] having a horizontal support surface supported by two lateral sides, wherein the lateral sides run parallel to each other in a y-direction, and respective side legs connected to the lateral sides, the side legs being spaced apart from each other along an x- direction, wherein the horizontal support surface and the side legs are parallel to an x-y plane;
- a cross bar [40] supported on the horizontal support surface, the cross bar running crosswise to the lateral sides in an x-direction and comprising a vertical sidewall parallel to an x-z plane and having a lower leg that is parallel to the x-y plane, the lower leg contacting the horizontal support surface of the bottom element; and
- two reinforcement units [151] for reinforcing the cross bar, the two reinforcement units extending from the lower leg over the vertical sidewall of the cross bar in a z-direction, wherein the two reinforcement units are respectively positioned above the horizontal support surface of the bottom element, wherein a lower edge of each of the reinforcement units terminates at the lower leg of the cross bar [figure 9].
Wook disclose the instant claimed invention except for the arrangement of the reinforcement unit relative to the longitudinal side edge.
Bonin et al. discloses a transformer support structure for a transformer assembly [figure 2] comprising:
- a bottom element [23] having a support surface with horizontal orientation including side edges;
- a cross bar [22] being supported on the support surface, the cross bar running crosswise to the side edges; and
- at least one reinforcement unit [see figure 2] for reinforcing the cross bar, wherein the reinforcement unit positioned above the side edges and are aligned with the longitudinal side edges; and wherein, preferably, in a view perpendicular to the support surface, the longitudinal side edges touch or cross the reinforcement units [see figure 2].
Bonin et al. further discloses that an outer side edge of the reinforcement unit is vertically aligned with and positioned direction above a respective one of a longitudinal side edges of the bottom element [23, see figure 2]
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the reinforcement unit design and/or arrangement of Bonin et al. in Wook, for the purpose of improving reinforcement.
Regarding claim 17, Wook discloses a length of the cross bar along the x-direction is greater than a length of the horizontal support surface between the two longitudinal side edges along the x-direction [see figure 9].
Regarding claim 18, Wook discloses two bottom elements are with the bottom elements are spaced apart from each other along the x- direction, and wherein the cross bar is supported on the respective horizontal support surfaces of the bottom elements [see figure 9].
Regarding claim 19, Wook discloses two cross bars, wherein outer front surfaces of each cross-bar face in opposite directions to each other, and wherein the transformer assembly is arranged in-between the two cross bars.
Regarding claim 20, Wook discloses a transformer support structure, comprising:
- first and second bottom elements [30] extending in a y-direction and having respective horizontal support surfaces parallel to an x-y plane;
- first and second transformer columns [10] supported on respective ones of the horizontal surfaces of the bottom elements and extending in a z-direction; and
- a pair of cross bars [40] extending in an x-direction, wherein the pair of cross bars have lower legs contacting the horizontal support surfaces of the first and second bottom elements and vertical sidewalls parallel to an x-z plane, wherein inner surfaces of the vertical sidewalls contact the first and second transformer columns, wherein, in each bottom element, the horizontal support surface is supported by two lateral sides, wherein the lateral sides run parallel to each other in the y-direction, and respective side legs connected to the lateral sides, the side legs being spaced apart from each other along the x- direction; wherein the cross bars run crosswise to the lateral sides of the bottom elements in the x- direction and have lower legs that are parallel to the x-y plane, the lower legs contacting the horizontal support surfaces of the bottom elements; and wherein the cross bars each comprise two reinforcement units [151], the two reinforcement units extending from the lower leg over the vertical sidewall of the cross bar in a z-direction, wherein the two reinforcement units are respectively positioned above the horizontal support surface of the bottom element, wherein a lower edge of each of the reinforcement units terminates at the lower leg of the respective cross bar [figure 9].
Wook disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of reinforcement unit relative to the bottom element.
Bonin et al. discloses a transformer support structure for a transformer assembly [figure 2] comprising:
- a bottom element [23] having a support surface with horizontal orientation including side edges;
- a cross bar [22] being supported on the support surface, the cross bar running crosswise to the side edges; and
- a plurality of reinforcement units [see figure 2] for reinforcing the cross bar, wherein the reinforcement unit positioned above the side edges and are aligned with the longitudinal side edges; and wherein, preferably, in a view perpendicular to the support surface, the longitudinal side edges touch or cross the reinforcement units [see figure 2].
Bonin et al. further discloses that an outer side edge of the reinforcement unit is vertically aligned with and positioned direction above a respective one of a longitudinal side edges of the bottom element [23, see figure 2]
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the reinforcement unit design and/or arrangement of Bonin et al. in Wook, for the purpose of improving reinforcement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837