DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
No amendment was filed in the response dated 11/14/2025. Claims 1, 3-15, and 17-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martini et al. (WO 2018/146057)(corresponding US 2019/0389126 is cited for convenience)(previously cited) in view of Czyzewski (EP 2180485)(previously cited).
With respect to Claim 1, Martini teaches a method of forming an electrical device, in particular, a condenser core of an electrical power bushing, electric motor, or switch, the method comprising steps of providing a central pipe of electrically insulating or electrically conducting material (i.e. an electrically conductive central core), depositing, on at least a portion of the central core, one or more layers of insulating material (first solid starting material) to form a first insulator layer, depositing, on at least a portion of the first insulator layer, one or more layers of an electrically conductive material (i.e. a second solid starting material comprising an electrically conductive material) to form a first conductor layer, then repeating, as desired, the deposition steps to form alternating layers including forming on the first conductor layer, one or more layers of the first solid starting material to form a second insulator layer, wherein the first conductor layer is electrically insulated by the second insulating (para. 20-22, 25-28; Figs. 1-3).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select an order and number of steps of depositing first and second solid materials, from the disclosed steps and structures of Martini, in order to form an electrical device. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.). MPEP § 2144.04.
Martini teaches a method forming an electrical device comprising a condenser core of an electrical power bushing, the device comprising a conductive central core and a first conductor layer separated by at least a first insulator layer, as detailed above, but is silent as to a step of “subsequently depositing a portion of the second solid starting material on the central core to form a direct electrical connection between the central core and the first conductor layer” as required by claim 1.
Czyzewski teaches a high-voltage electrical power bushing, the bushing comprising a conductive central core, insulating material/layer surrounding the central core and provided with at least one conductive layer (first conductor layer) separated from the central core by the insulating material/layer, and additional insulating material/layer formed on the conductive layer(s), wherein an external electrical connection formed of conductive material is provided that connects an external flange, the closest conductive layer to the central core (first conductor layer), and the conductive central core. (abstract; para. 28). Thus, the reference teaches forming the same type of electrical device as Martini, comprising the same structure of a conductive central core, a first insulating layer formed on the core, a first conductor layer formed on at least a portion of the insulating layer, and second insulating layer formed on the first conductor layer, and further teaches forming an external electrical connection that forms a direct electrical connection between the central core and the first conductor layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Martini, to form an external electrical connection that forms a direct electrical connection between the central core and the first conductor layer, as taught by Czyzewski, in order to form a high voltage electrical power bushing. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the combination by depositing a portion of the second solid starting material using the technique of Martini, in order to precisely and efficiently form the electrical connection. Finally, as the connection is formed externally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the step of depositing the conductive second starting material forming a connection between the central core and a first conductor layer subsequent to forming the first insulator layer, first conductor layer, and second insulator layer, as the material is to be deposited on at least a portion of one or more external surfaces of such structures and thus, would need to be formed after those structures.
With respect to Claim 5, Martini teaches wherein the first solid starting material, forming the first and second insulator layers, comprises a polymer. (see para. 9-10).
With respect to Claim 6, Martini teaches repeating the above detailed steps (corresponding to claim steps (b) and (c)) to form a plurality of conductor layers and a plurality of insulator layers. (see rejection of claim 1 above).
With respect to Claim 7, Martini teaches forming a plurality of conductor layers alternating with a plurality of insulator layers and are formed, layer by layer, surrounding a core (see rejection of claim 1; para. 25; Fig. 2), and thus, are at a different radial position relative to at least the electrically conductive conductor layers.
With respect to Claim 8, the claim does not provide any relevant structure defining the terms “axial starting position” and “axial ending position,” and therefore, may be interpreted along any axis. Martini teaches wherein each of the plurality of conductor layers alternate with a plurality of insulator layers and are formed, layer by layer, surrounding a core (see rejection of claim 1; para. 25; Fig. 2) and thus, may be considered to have a structure wherein at least one of an axial starting position and an axial ending position of at least one conductor layer of the plurality of conductor layers is different than a corresponding axial starting position or axial ending position of another conductor layer or the plurality of conductor layers.”
With respect to Claim 10, Martini teaches wherein the step of depositing the first solid starting material to form the first insulator layer and the second insulator layer are performed using a first additive manufacturing technique such as FDM (para. 25-26) and wherein the step of depositing the second solid starting material is performed using additive manufacturing, plasma deposition, physical or chemical deposition, or printing. (para. 26). Thus, Martini teaches wherein the second solid starting material may be deposited using a variety of different techniques different than that of depositing the first solid starting material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a suitable additive manufacturing technique for a conductive material (e.g. metal) such as powder bed fusion, binder jet, or direct metal laser sintering.
With respect to Claim 11, Martini teaches forming first and second insulator layers to meet a desired application (see, e.g., para. 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine (i.e. perform a step of determining) the necessary insulating capacity/threshold of the first insulator layer and deposit sufficient layer(s)/amount of first solid starting material to achieve such an insulating capacity/threshold.
With respect to Claim 12, Martini and Czyzewski teach a method of forming an electrical device, wherein the electrical device comprises a condenser core of an electrical power bushing, meeting the instant claim. (see, e.g., Martini, para. 1; rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim(s) 3-4, 10, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martini et al. (WO 2018/146057)(corresponding US 2019/0389126 is cited for convenience) in view of Czyzewski (EP 2180485), as applied to claim 1 above (with respect to claims 3 and 10) and claim 10 above (with respect to claim 22) further in view of Hall et al. (US 2020/0235410)(previously cited).
With respect to Claims 3-4, Martini teaches wherein the step of depositing the second solid starting material is performed using additive manufacturing, plasma deposition, physical or chemical deposition, or printing. (para. 26). The reference is silent as to wherein said deposition includes distributing a powder to form a powder bed, as required by claim 3.
Hall teaches a method of making an electrical device, the method comprising performing steps of depositing a first solid starting material, depositing a second solid starting material on top of the first, wherein the first and second materials are different and may comprise conductive or insulating materials, and further depositing additional layers of the first, second, or additional different material layers. (para. 121-128). In particular, Hall teaches wherein each layer/material may be deposited using different nozzles (i.e. print heads) and/or may comprise different additive manufacturing techniques, for example, extrusion additive manufacturing and powder bed fusion. (para. 105, 112, 121-128, 199; Figs. 4-6). For example, Hall teaches powder bed fusion techniques such as selective laser sintering (SLS), selective laser melting (SLM), and electron beam melting (EBM/EBAM), wherein the technique comprises depositing a layer of powder (e.g. metal powder) across a build area (thus forming a powder bed) and selectively sintering or melting portions of the powder layer with an energy source (e.g. laser or electron beam). (para. 105, 128, 329).
Thus, Martini and Hall are both drawn to methods of additively manufacturing an electrical device comprising two or more different materials. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the broad disclosure of Martini, drawn to additive manufacturing of insulating and conductive materials to encompass those known in the art, as taught by Hall, including SLS, EBS, and EBM. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art practicing the method of Martini to select a known additive manufacturing method suitable of forming an electrically conductive layer, such as SLS, EBS, or EBM, and thus to comprise distributing a powder layer (forming a powder bed) of the second solid starting material on at least a portion of the first insulator layer and selectively fusing the second solid starting material with a high-energy source in the form of an energy beam, to form a first conductor layer with desired dimensions, with a predictable result of success.
With respect to Claims 10 and 22, Martini teaches wherein the step of depositing the first solid starting material to form the first insulator layer and the second insulator layer are performed using a first additive manufacturing technique such as FDM (para. 25-26) and wherein the step of depositing the second solid starting material is performed using additive manufacturing, plasma deposition, physical or chemical deposition, or printing. (para. 26). Thus, Martini teaches wherein the second solid starting material may be deposited using a variety of different techniques different than that of depositing the first solid starting material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a suitable additive manufacturing technique for a conductive material (e.g. metal) such as powder bed fusion, binder jet, or direct metal laser sintering.
In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select, for example, a FDM additive manufacturing for depositing the first solid starting material and a powder bed fusion additive manufacturing technique (e.g. SLS/SLM) for depositing the second solid starting material to obtain the unique benefits of each distinct technique for applying differing materials, for instance, an insulating polymer and a conductive metal, respectively.
Claim(s) 13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martini et al. (WO 2018/146057)(corresponding US 2019/0389126 is cited for convenience) in view of Hall et al. (US 2020/0235410)(previously cited) and Harple (US 2019/0059155).
With respect to Claim 13, Martini teaches a method of forming an electrical device (e.g. condenser core of an electrical power bushing, electric motor, or switch), the method comprising steps of providing a central pipe of electrically insulating or conducting material (i.e. a central core), depositing/applying, on at least a portion of the central core, one or more layers of insulating material (first solid starting material) and fusing the layers to form a first insulator layer, depositing/applying, on at least a portion of the first insulator layer, one or more layers of an electrically conductive material (i.e. a second solid starting material comprising an electrically conductive material) and fusing the layers to form a first conductor layer, then repeating, as desired, the deposition steps to form alternating layers including forming on the first conductor layer, one or more layers of the first solid starting material to form a second insulator layer, wherein the first conductor layer is electrically insulated by the second insulating (para. 20-22, 25-28; Figs. 1-3).
Thus, Martini teaches a method comprising each of the recited steps, but differs, in that while it discloses additive manufacturing process for applying and forming (and thus fusing) the layers of the first and second solid starting materials, it is silent as to applying each respective material using first and second system heads (interpreted as print head, nozzle, or other device for supplying the respective materials).
As discussed above, Hall teaches a method comprising performing steps of depositing a first solid starting material, depositing a second solid starting material on top of the first, wherein the first and second materials are different and may comprise conductive or insulating materials, and further depositing additional layers of the first, second, or additional different material layers. (para. 121-128). In particular, Hall teaches wherein each layer/material may be deposited using different nozzles (i.e. print heads) and/or may comprise the same or different additive manufacturing techniques such as extrusion additive manufacturing and powder bed fusion. (para. 105, 112, 121-128, 199; Figs. 4-6). For example, Hall teaches powder bed fusion techniques such as selective laser sintering (SLS), selective laser melting (SLM), and electron beam melting (EBM/EBAM), wherein the technique comprises depositing a layer of powder (e.g. metal powder) across a build area (thus forming a powder bed) and selectively sintering or melting portions of the powder layer with an energy source (e.g. laser or electron beam). (para. 105, 128, 329).
Thus, Martini and Hall are both drawn to methods of additively manufacturing an electrical device comprising two or more different materials. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the broad disclosure of Martini, drawn to additive manufacturing of insulating and conductive materials to encompass those known in the art, as taught by Hall. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art practicing the method of Martini to select a known additive manufacturing method suitable for additively manufacturing layers of a first solid starting material and a second solid starting material, each material applied by separate system heads and subsequently fused (by, for example, sintering with an energy beam), as taught by Hall, in order to form a first insulator layer, an outer insulator layer, and at least a first conductor layer with desired dimensions and without unwanted material interaction or fouling in the system head, with a predictable result of success.
Finally, Martini is silent as to a step of “determining that an insulating capacity of the applied one or more layers of the first solid starting material does not satisfy a predetermined threshold” and “continuing the applying…” as required by the amended claim 13.
Harple teaches a method of additively manufacturing an article comprising depositing portions of conductive material and dielectric material (i.e. an insulator), wherein the process of depositing a layer of dielectric structure comprises a determination as to whether additional layers of build material are required to be applied to build the dielectric structure and continuing to deposit additional layer(s) of dielectric material until a determination is made that no more layers are required. (para. 22, 61). Thus, Harple is deemed to teach a method of additive manufacturing capable of forming a plurality of conductive layer and a plurality of insulator layers, wherein the method comprises steps of determining that an insulating capacity of the applied one or more layers of the insulating material (i.e. first solid starting material) does not satisfy a predetermined threshold, and continuing the applying the one or more layers of the first solid starting material at least until the insulating capacity satisfies the predetermined threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Martini in view of Hall, when applying the one or more layers of a first solid starting material comprising an insulator, to perform steps of determining that an insulating capacity of the applied one or more layers of the insulating first solid starting material does not satisfy a predetermined threshold and continuing the applying the one or more layers of the first solid starting material at least until the insulating capacity satisfies the predetermined threshold, as taught by Harple, in order to improve the accuracy, reliability, and quality of the method by ensuring that the insulating material and capacity meets predetermined thresholds and thus, the electrical device meets its desired structure and properties.
With respect to Claim 18, Hall discloses a method of additively manufacturing an electrical device comprising a plurality of layers of a plurality of different materials (see rejection of claim 13 above), and in particular, teaches forming layers/coatings of a material selected for its permeability, including one constituting an “impermeable layer” defined as impermeable to gas and liquid fluids. (para. 87-88, 210, 279, 280, 283-285, 288-289). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Martini in view of Hall and Harple, to form a coating on the outer surface of the electrical device in order to limit its gas and liquid permeability, in order to prevent unwanted gas or liquid contaminants from entering the electrical device and thus preventing, for example, corrosion of the insulator and/or conductor layers.
With respect to Claims 19-20, Martini in view of Hall teach wherein the second solid material may be applied by depositing a powder from a second system head (thus, constituting “printing”) and sintering with a laser (a high-energy source, meeting claim 20) or alternatively, may be applied by extruding from a second system head. (see rejection of claim 13 above).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martini et al. (WO 2018/146057)(corresponding US 2019/0389126 is cited for convenience) in view of Hall et al. (US 2020/0235410)(previously cited) and Harple (US 2019/0059155), as applied to claim 13 above (with respect to claim 14), further in view of Czyzewski (EP 2180485)(previously cited).
With respect to Claim 14, Martini, Hall, and Harple are silent as to a step of depositing a portion of the second solid starting material on the central core to form a direct electrical connection between the central core and the first conductor layer.
Czyzewski teaches a high-voltage electrical power bushing, the bushing comprising a conductive central core, an insulating layer surrounding the central core and provided with at least one conductive layer (first conductor layer) between the central core and insulating material/layer, and additional insulating material/layer formed on the conductive layer(s), wherein an external electrical connection formed of conductive material is provided that connects an external flange, the closest conductive layer to the central core (first conductor layer), and the conductive central core. (abstract; para. 28). Thus, teaches forming the same type of electrical device as Martini, comprising the same structure of a conductive central core, a first insulating layer formed on the core, a first conductor layer formed on at least a portion of the insulating layer, and second insulating layer formed on the first conductor layer, and further teaches forming an external electrical connection that forms a direct electrical connection between the central core and the first conductor layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Martini in view of Hall and Harple, to form an external electrical connection that forms a direct electrical connection between the central core and the first conductor layer, as taught by Czyzewski, in order to form a high voltage electrical power bushing. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the combination by depositing a portion of the second solid starting material using the technique of Martini in view of Hall, in order to precisely and efficiently form the electrical connection. Finally, as the connection is formed externally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the step of depositing the conductive second starting material forming a connection between the central core and a first conductor layer subsequent to forming the first insulator layer, first conductor layer, and second insulator layer, as the material is to be deposited on at least a portion of one or more external surfaces of such structures and thus, would need to be formed after those structures.
With respect to Claim 15, Martini in view of Hall and Harple teach wherein the second solid material may be applied by depositing a powder and sintering with a laser. (see rejection of claim 13 above). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the electrical connector, as taught by Martini in view of Hall, Harple, and Czyzewski, by distributing one or more layers of the second solid starting material between the central core and at least one of the plurality of electrical conductor layers, the second solid starting material being a powder comprising an electrically conductive material and sintering the distributed one or more layers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9, 17, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Closest prior art Martini teaches a required consolidation step, densifying the deposited layers and therefore, teaches away from forming a lattice structure comprising vacuum and/or insulator gas filled hollow regions as required by claims 9, 17, and 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/2025 with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 18-20, and 22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that prior art Czyzewski does not teach or suggest depositing a portion of conductive material on a central core during an additive manufacturing process and argues that the electrical connection taught by the reference is instead a separate component attached to an already-formed structure. Applicant also argues that the purpose of Czyzewski’s connections is different from that of prior art Martini. These arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
Czyzewski teaches a high-voltage electrical power bushing, the bushing comprising a conductive central core, insulating material/layer surrounding the central core and provided with at least one conductive layer (first conductor layer) separated from the central core by the insulating material/layer, and additional insulating material/layer formed on the conductive layer(s), and is therefore deemed to teach the same or a substantially similar same type of electrical structure and/or address the same problem as that of Martini, who teaches a structure of a conductive central core, a first insulating layer formed on the core, a first conductor layer formed on at least a portion of the insulating layer, and second insulating layer formed on the first conductor layer. Czyzewski further teaches wherein an external electrical connection formed of a conductive material is provided that connects an external flange, the closest conductive layer to the central core (first conductor layer), and the conductive central core. (abstract; para. 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Martini, to form an external electrical connection that forms a direct electrical connection between the central core and the first conductor layer, as taught by Czyzewski, in order to form a high voltage electrical power bushing. In other words, the manner in which this external connection is formed does not form the basis for the modification. Rather, Czyzewki provides the teaching and motivation to form a direct electrical connection to a central core to an already formed structure comprising a conductive layer separated from the core by an insulating layer by using an external connection. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize there exist many processes of forming an external electrical connection with a conductive material and this technique is not limited to a specific process/implementation disclosed by Czyzewski.
Accordingly, it would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the combination by depositing a portion of the second solid starting material using the technique of Martini, in order to precisely and efficiently form the electrical connection. Finally, as the connection is formed externally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the step of depositing the conductive second starting material forming a connection between the central core and a first conductor layer subsequent to forming the first insulator layer, first conductor layer, and second insulator layer, as the material is to be deposited on at least a portion of one or more external surfaces of such structures and thus, would need to be formed after those structures.
With respect to claims 13-15, Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the claimed sequence(s) and that secondary references Hall and Harple are drawn to different technical fields and therefore, concludes that one of ordinary skill in the art would not arrive at the instantly claimed method. These arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Martini and Hall are both drawn to methods of additively manufacturing an electrical device comprising two or more different materials and therefore, are deemed to be drawn to addressing substantially the same technical problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the broad disclosure of Martini, drawn to additive manufacturing of insulating and conductive materials to encompass those known in the art, as taught by Hall. Therefore, as detailed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art practicing the method of Martini to select a known additive manufacturing method suitable for additively manufacturing layers of a first solid starting material and a second solid starting material, each material applied by separate system heads and subsequently fused (by, for example, sintering with an energy beam), as taught by Hall, in order to form a first insulator layer, an outer insulator layer, and at least a first conductor layer with desired dimensions and without unwanted material interaction or fouling in the system head, with a predictable result of success.
Harple teaches a method of additively manufacturing an article comprising depositing portions of conductive material and dielectric material (i.e. an insulator), wherein the process of depositing a layer of dielectric structure comprises a determination as to whether additional layers of build material are required to be applied to build the dielectric structure and continuing to deposit additional layer(s) of dielectric material until a determination is made that no more layers are required. (para. 22, 61).
Thus, both Martini and Harple are drawn to the problem of depositing portions of conductive and insulating material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Martini in view of Hall, when applying the one or more layers of a first solid starting material comprising an insulator, to perform steps of determining that an insulating capacity of the applied one or more layers of the insulating first solid starting material does not satisfy a predetermined threshold and continuing the applying the one or more layers of the first solid starting material at least until the insulating capacity satisfies the predetermined threshold, as taught by Harple, in order to improve the accuracy, reliability, and quality of the method by ensuring that the insulating material and capacity meets predetermined thresholds and thus, the electrical device meets its desired structure and properties.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 9, 17, and 21 are found persuasive. Martini teaches a required consolidation step, densifying the deposited layers and therefore, teaches away from forming a lattice structure comprising vacuum and/or insulator gas filled hollow regions as required by claims 9 and 21.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN A HEVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735