Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24, 30, 32-42, 44, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 24 is amended to recite “”wherein the additive of the formula (I) is not melted”. This is not supported by the original disclosure. The Examiner considered page 15 and the Examples, cited by the Applicant as providing support for the amendment, but no support could be found. It is noted that on page 8 of the filed Specification, the melting temperature of the additive is stated as “at least 150C…at least 170C, at least 180C, at least 190C, or at least 200C”. As such, a melt temperature of 375C (Examples 1 and 2) and 410C (Example 3) will melt the additive at those temperatures.
Claims 24, 30, 32-42, 44, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites “the processing temperature Tp…”. This lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Claim 24 recites “wherein the additive of formula (I) is not melted” is indefinite as it is unclear what the melt temperature of the additive is and/or how it would not melt under the melt mixing conditions. If the melting temperature of the additive is “at least 150C…at least 170C, at least 180C, at least 190C, or at least 200C” (with no described upper range), it is unclear what additive iteration and formula would have a melting temperature of above 375C or 410C (see Applicant’s examples) so as not to melt in the process. It appears that the additive will absolutely melt in the melt mixing process. It is interpreted that given the same additive formula, polymer composition, and processing temperatures, the additive will melt if the temperature is at least 150C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24, 30, 32-39, 41, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roller et al. (WO2018/065526) and further in view of Ebewele (2000, Polymer Science and Technology Book, 1st Edition, CRC Press, 22 pages).
Claims 24: Roller et al. teach a method of making a membrane comprising preparing a polymer composition comprising the at least one additive of formula I (pages 22-23) into a membrane and immersing in water (Claim 11). Roller et al. teach that the material is extruded (page 30, lines 27-35). Roller et al. teach that the method comprises incorporating at least 28% of the at least one additive of formula I (Claim 1). The additive “has a melting temperature Tma (°C) of at least 150°C, for example of at least 170°C, at least 180°C, at least 190°C, or at least 200 °C, as for example measured by differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) according to ASTM D3418.” This is the same melt temperature of the claimed additive as described in the instant disclosure. The process temperature is from 180C to 450C (page 30, lines 4-24). This is the same range as disclosed. As such, the additive will behave (i.e. melt or not melt) as claimed based. It is also noted that the structure of the additive in Roller et al. is the same as claimed. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). As such, Roller et al.’s additive will behave the same as claimed.
They do not teach filler material.
Ebewele teaches that “very few polymers are used technologically in their chemically pure form; it is generally necessary to modify their behavior by the incorporation of additives. Additives are usually required to impart stability against the degradative effects of various kinds of aging processes and enhance product quality and performance.” (I. Introduction).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to incorporate a filler in order to improve the polymer filter membrane material and enhance the quality, stability, and performance as discussed by Ebewele.
Claim 30: Roller et al. teach that the Ar in formula is one of the compounds listed in Claim 30 (Page 23).
Claim 32: Roller et al. teach that the additive is a sodium or potassium benzoate (Page 24).
Claim 33: Roller et al. teach that the composition comprises additive of 30-75 wt.% (Page 25).
Claims 34 and 35: the prior art remains as applied to Claim 24 above. Ebewele teaches that the reinforcing filler includes fibers such as glass and carbon fibers (III. Fillers and Reinforcements (Composites)).
Claim 36: Roller et al. teach that the water temperature is between room temperature and 95C (Page 32).
Claims 37, 38, and 39 are drawn to the specifics of the reinforcing filler. Ebewele teaches the use of reinforcing filler including fibers such as glass and carbon fibers (see above). Ebewele teaches that various types of fibers in various lengths (short or continuous, page 5/22) and forms are available for use as reinforcement fiber (page 4/22). They teach that the form has “a significant influence of the properties” (page 5/22).
They do not teach the specific length, diameter, and aspect ratio of the fibers.
The claim is drawn to the process of making a membrane. And while the reinforcing filler material is part of the membrane and is added to the polymer matrix during the process, the specific dimensions of the filler are not critical to the method of making the membrane. Ebewele clearly teaches that a wide variety of fiber reinforcement materials are added to polymers for different reasons. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to try using any carbon or glass fiber having any type of length, width, and aspect ratio in Roller et al.’s membrane process in order to create the optimal membrane for their purpose. Claim 41: Roller et al. teach that the average pore size is from 0.01 to 5.0 micron (Page 36, Table 3, Average Pore size).
Claim 42: Roller et al. teach that the porosity is from 3% to 90% (Page 36, Table 3, Porosity).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roller et al. (WO2018/065526) and further in view of Ebewele (2000, Polymer Science and Technology Book, 1st Edition, CRC Press, 22 pages) in view of Heitkamp et al. (USP 5980738).
Claim 40: the prior art as applied to Claim 24 does not teach that the weight percentage range is from 3 to 20 wt%.
Heitkamp et al. teach a polymeric porous material made of PPS comprising a fiber reinforcement at the amount of 0-60 wt%, preferably 3 to about 30 wt% (col. 6, lines 37-51). The fiber reinforcement provides enhanced strength (col. 2, lines 45-53). The amount of fiber reinforcement is a result effective variable which is controlled in order to impart particular characteristics on the final polymeric product (col. 7, lines 34-60). The amount of reinforcement fiber included in the polymeric material will also affect the strength of the final product.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claims 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roller et al. (WO2018/065526) and Ebewele (2000, Polymer Science and Technology Book, 1st Edition, CRC Press, 22 pages) in view of Zweben (Composites: Overview, 2005, Elsevier, pages 192-208).
Claim 44: Ebewele does not teach the diameter of the reinforcing glass fiber.
Ebewele teaches that E-glass fibers are the most common type of glass fibers used for reinforcing. Zweben teaches that E-glass filament diameters typically ranges from 3-20um (Page 195, Glass Fibers).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious that Ebewele’s glass fiber description included fibers in the range of 3-20um as identified by Zweben as the most common E-glass fiber diameter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 46 is allowable. As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art Roller et al.’s additive melts and the claim now recites that the additive does not melt.
First, this amendment is rejected as new matter. There is no recitation in the disclosure that the additive does not melt. And, in fact, the minimum melt temperature of the additive disclosed is less than any disclosed processing temperature, including that described in the examples. While the range is open ended and can include an infinite number of melt temperatures, it is not possible for a compound to have literally any melt temperature desired. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have interpreted the disclosure to understand that the melt temperature of the additive to be around 150C to about 200C. There is no indication of any specific embodiment of additive that would have a melt temperature sufficiently high to withstand the processing temperature of 375C and 410C.
The prior art discloses the same range of melt temperatures for their additive as Applicant. They also disclose similar processing temperature ranges (page 30, lines 10-15) with the same distinction that the processing temperature is 15C greater than the melt temperature. The additive is also the same as claimed. As such, it is understood that the additives will behave the same. But also it is understood that in Applicant’s own disclosure the additive does melt. However, assuming there is some supported embodiment that the additive would necessarily not melt, it is shown that the prior art discloses the same additive chemical structure as claimed and, therefore, will behave the same under the same conditions. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
ALLISON FITZSIMMONS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/ALLISON G FITZSIMMONS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773