DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 9, 2026, are acknowledged. Claim 1 and Claim 22 are amended. No new matter has been added.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-13, 15 and 17-23 are pending and currently considered in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 11-13, 15, 17-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota774 (previously cited, US 20150368774 A1) in view of Muhamad (previously cited, US 20200063240 A1), Harris (previously cited, US 20130142637 A1) and Hardy (previously cited, US 20180073106 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ota774 discloses a nickel-based superalloy (Abstract), which at least comprises elements of:
Element
Claim 1 (wt%)
Ota774
Citation
C
0.03-0.13
0-0.1
[0051]
Cr
12.5-16.0
10-25
[0051]
Mo
1.0-2.0
0-10
[0051]
W
2.0-4.0
0-8
[0051]
Al
4.0-5.5
1-6
[0051]
B
0.0025-0.015
0-0.03
[0051]
Zr
0.0025-0.015
0-0.08
[0051]
Ta
3.0-7.0
3-9*
[0051]; [0059]
Fe
3.0-7.0
0-10
[0051]
Hf
1.4-2.2
0-2
[0051]
Ga
>0 to 0.003
silent (0%)
Optionally:
Co
0-5.0
0-30
[0051]
Nb
0
0*
[0051]; [0059]
Re
0-1.0
0-5
[0051]
Si
0
silent (0%)
Mn
0
silent (0%)
P
>0-0.005
silent (0%)
S
>0-0.001
silent (0%)
Ti
0-0.20
0*
[0051]; [0059]
Cu
>0-0.01
silent (0%)
V
>0 to 0.1
silent (0%)
Ag
0-0.0005
silent (0%)
Pb
0-0.0002
silent (0%)
Se
0-0.001
silent (0%)
O
0
silent (0%)
Bi
0-0.001
silent (0%)
N
0-0.005
silent (0%)
Mg
0-0.007
silent (0%)
Y
0-0.02
silent (0%)
Ce
0-0.02
silent (0%)
*Ti, Ta and Nb in total is 3-9%
Ota774 discloses wherein the total amount of Ta, Ti and Nb is 3-9wt%, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Ti and Nb are not required and may be 0wt% when Ta is present in an amount of 3-9%, which reads on the claimed ranges of 0% Nb, 0-0.2% Ti and 3-7% Ta (see para. [0059]).
Regarding the elements Si, Mn, Ag, Pb, Se, O, Bi, N, Mg, Y and Ce, Ota774 is silent towards these elements, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that they are absent and therefore 0%, which is inclusive of the claimed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Ota774 is silent towards V, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate this element to not be included (0%). Ota774 therefore fails to disclose the claimed range of greater than 0% and maximum 0.1% V.
Muhamad teaches 0-1.2% V, wherein V is preferably included in an amount of 0.1-0.7wt% in order to provide solid solution strengthening of the matrix and to generate carbides for increasing grain boundary strength, while balancing for the formation of unstable intermetallics which deteriorate high-temperature strength, and wherein V may exist with a lower limit of 0% when present as an impurity (para. [0070]-[0072]). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore appreciate that Muhamad teaches an allowable impurity range of 0% to less than 0.1% V, and an intentional inclusion range of 0.1-0.7% V (one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Muhamad teaches the full range of 0-0.70%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have intentionally included 0.1-0.7% V, or alternatively comprised an allowable impurity range of 0% to less than 0.1% V, as taught by Muhamad, for the invention disclosed by Ota774. One would be motivated to include at least 0.1% V in order to provide solid solution strengthening of the matrix and to generate carbides for increasing grain boundary strength, while balancing for the formation of unstable intermetallics which deteriorate high-temperature strength (see teaching above). Alternatively, one would be motivated to comprise 0% to less than 0.1% V as allowable impurity because Muhamad teaches this range is acceptable without effecting the invention (see teaching above).
The range 0.1-0.7% V, or alternatively the range of 0% to less than 0.1% V, reads on the claimed range of greater than 0% and maximum 0.1%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Ota774 is silent towards S, P, Cu and Ga, and fails to disclose amounts of greater than 0% and up to 0.005% P, greater than 0% and up to 0.001% S, greater than 0% and up to 0.01% Cu, and greater than 0% and up to 0.003% Ga.
Harris teaches wherein allowable amounts of trace and incidental impurity elements for a nickel-based superalloy include up to 3ppm S, 30 ppm P, 0.01% Cu, 0.1% V, 2ppm Ag, 0.2ppm Bi, 200ppm Mg, 10 ppm Ga, 1ppm Pb, and 0.5ppm Se (para. [0009]-[0010]).
Hardy similarly teaches wherein amounts of incidental elements include up to 5ppm S, 0.1%V, 0.01% Cu, 0.005% P, 0.005wt% Mg, 1ppm Ag, 0.1ppm Bi, 25ppm Ga, 2ppm Pb, 1ppm Se, and wherein such an alloy is suitable for an additive manufacturing process (para. [0015]-[0021], including Tables).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have allowed up to 5ppm S (0.0003% S), or further up to 5ppm S (0.0005%), up to 30ppm P (0.003% P), or further up to 50ppm P (0.005%), up to 0.01% Cu, up to 0.1% V (see also teaching above by Muhamad), up to 10ppm Ga (0.0001% Ga), or further up to 25ppm Ga (0.0025%), and also up to 2ppm Ag, 0.2ppm Bi, 200ppm Mg, 1ppm Pb, and 0.5ppm Se, or up to 0.005wt% Mg, 1ppm Ag, 0.1ppm Bi, 2ppm Pb, and 1ppm Se, as incidental/trace impurity elements, as taught by Harris and Hardy, for the invention of Ota774. One would be motivated to allow up to the maximum impurity levels taught by Harris and Hardy as a means to decrease cost, because such incidental and trace ranges are well known in the art of nickel-based alloy compositions, and in order to comprise a nickel-based alloy suitable for additive manufacturing (see teaching above).
Additionally, Applicant has not provided criticality or a showing of unexpected results for the claimed Cu, S, P, V and Ga ranges, and in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 3 and Claim 13, Ota774 discloses wherein Co is 0-30%, which overlaps and reads on (Claim 2) 0.5-3.0% Co, (Claim 3) 0.5-1.0wt% Co, and (Claim 13) 0-3.0wt% Co (para. [0057]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 17 and Claim 23, Ota774 discloses wherein the total amount of Ta, Ti and Nb is 3-9wt%, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Ti and Nb are not required and may be 0wt% when Ta is present in an amount of 3-9% (see para. [0059]). Therefore, Ota774 discloses 3-9wt% Ta, which reads on (Claim 5) 5.1-7% Ta, (Claim 17) 6-7wt% Ta and (Claim 23) 7wt% Ta.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 18 and Claim 19, Ota774 discloses wherein 0-10t% Fe which reads on and overlaps the claimed range (Claim 7) 5.1-7wt% Fe, (Claim 19) 4-5wt% Fe, and (Claim 19) 6-7wt% Fe (para. [0051]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 8, Ota774 discloses a method for producing a component using an alloy as claimed in Claim 1 (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 11, Ota774 discloses a product comprising an alloy as claimed in Claim 1 (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 12, Ota774 discloses a Ni-based superalloy consisting of the elements (in wt%) of Claim 1 (Ota774 does not disclose including any additional elements than those listed above in Claim 1, which reads on the claimed ‘consisting’ language).
Regarding Claim 15, Ota774 discloses up to 5wt% Re, which reads on the claimed range 0.1-0.5wt%.
Regarding Claim 21 and Claim 22, Harris and Hardy teach the claimed ranges:
Claim 21
wt%
Harris, para. [0009]-[0010]
Hardy, Table in para. [0017]
Bi
> 0 to 0.001%
0-0.2ppm (0-0.00002%)
0-0.1ppm (0-0.00001%)
Mg
> 0 to 0.007%
0-200ppm (0-0.02%)
0-0.005%
Claim 22
Ag
> 0 to 0.0005%
0-2ppm (0-0.0002%)
0-1ppm (0-0.0001%)
Pb
> 0 to 0.0002%
0-1ppm (0-0.0001%)
0-2ppm (0-0.0002%)
Se
> 0 to 0.001%
0-0.5ppm (0-0.00005%)
0-1ppm (0-0.0001%)
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Further, regarding Claim 22, while Ota discloses only up to 2% Hf and only up to 0.1% C, and fails to disclose the claimed values of 2.2% Hf and 0.12% C, the values of Hf and C in Ota are very close to the claimed values, and it is the examiner's position that the amounts in question are so close that it is prima facie obvious that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 773. (see MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota774 (US 20150368774 A1) in view of Muhamad (previously cited, US 20200063240 A1), Harris (previously cited, US 20130142637 A1) and Hardy (previously cited, US 20180073106 A1), as applied to Claim 8 above, in further view of Nagatomi (previously cited, US 20190055627 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Ota774 is silent towards an additive manufacturing process used to form the component and does not disclose using a powder bed process, selective melting (SLM), and/or selective sintering (SLS) by laser beam or electron beam.
Nagatomi teaches wherein a Ni-based alloy, comprising sufficiently low amounts of S and N, may be readily processed, unlike casted and forged pieces, and allows for rapid melting-rapid solidification processes such as powder manufacturing (direct metal laser sintering, powder bed fusion, selective melting) and the processing of near-net shape manufacturing without the issue of internal microcracks during precipitation of intermetallic compounds (para. [0002]-[0003]; para. [0006]-[0007]).
Hardy similarly teaches wherein Ni-based superalloys are suitable for an additive manufacturing process including selective laser melting and direct metal laser sintering using a powder (para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a rapid melting-rapid solidification process such as additive manufacturing, including powder bed fusion or direct metal laser sintering, as taught by Nagatomi and Hardy, for the composition disclosed by Ota774, in order to readily produce near-net shape components without the issue of internal microcracks forming during intermetallic precipitation (see teaching above).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota774 (US 20150368774 A1) in view of Muhamad (previously cited, US 20200063240 A1), Harris (previously cited, US 20130142637 A1) and Hardy (previously cited, US 20180073106 A1), as applied to Claim 8 above, in further view of Nagatomi (previously cited, US 20190055627 A1) and Fried (previously cited, US 20200230774 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Ota774 is silent towards an additive manufacturing process used to form the component and does not disclose using a powder bed process, selective melting (SLM), and/or selective sintering (SLS) by laser beam or electron beam.
Nagatomi teaches wherein a Ni-based alloy, comprising sufficiently low amounts of S and N, may be readily processed, unlike casted and forged pieces, and allows for rapid melting-rapid solidification processes such as powder manufacturing (direct metal laser sintering, powder bed fusion, selective melting) and the processing of near-net shape manufacturing without the issue of internal microcracks during precipitation of intermetallic compounds (para. [0002]-[0003]; para. [0006]-[0007]).
Hardy similarly teaches wherein Ni-based superalloys are suitable for an additive manufacturing process including electron beam additive manufacturing, electron beam melting, selective laser melting and direct metal laser sintering using a powder (para. [0021]).
Fried teaches wherein powder based additive manufacturing processes for Ni-based superalloys include those such as selective laser beam melting/sintering, selective electron beam melting/sinter or (powder) deposition welding, and are capable of producing components such as turbomachine components (para. [0008]-[0010]). Thus, Fried recognizes that selective melting and selective sintering with an electron or laser beam (as disclosed by Nagatomi and Hardy) is an art equivalent to powder deposition welding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a rapid melting-rapid solidification process such as additive manufacturing, including powder deposition welding, as taught by Nagatomi and Hardy, for the composition disclosed by Ota774, in order to readily produce near-net shape components without the issue of internal microcracks forming during intermetallic precipitation (see teaching above by Nagatomi), and because Fried recognize that powder deposition welding is an art equivalent to the additive manufacturing processes taught by Nagatomi and Hardy (see teaching above; see MPEP 2144.06.II).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota774 (US 20150368774 A1) in view of Muhamad (previously cited, US 20200063240 A1), Harris (previously cited, US 20130142637 A1) and Hardy (previously cited, US 20180073106 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Hamaguchi (previously cited and cited by Applicant in IDS filed July 29, 2022, US 20150159241 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Ota774 is silent towards the elements Y and Ce, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that they are absent in the invention of Ota774 and that Ota774 fails to disclose greater than 0 and up to 0.02wt% Ce and greater than 0 and up to 0.02wt% Y.
Hamaguchi teaches including 0-0.5% Ce and 0-0.5% Y, in a total amount of 0.8wt% or less, in order to increase hot workability by fixing S in sulfides (para. [0124]-[0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included up to 0.5wt% Ce and up to 0.5wt% Y, which reads on the claimed amounts of greater than 0 and up to 0.02wt% Ce and greater than 0 and up to 0.02wt% Y, as taught by Hamaguchi, for the invention disclosed by Ota774, in order to increase hot workability (see teaching above).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed February 5, 2026, with respect to Claim 1, and dependent claims thereof, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Ota774 in view of Muhamad, Harris and Hardy have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of Applicant’s amendments further limiting the composition. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Ota774 in view of Muhamad, Harris and Hardy, as detailed above.
Applicant’s arguments are deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Igarashi (previously cited, JP 3265599 B, further teachings): Igarashi discloses a nickel-based superalloy (para. [0001]), which overlaps the claimed invention except for the element Hf, which is limited to 1wt% while the claimed invention requires at least 1.4wt%.
Element
Claim 1 (wt%)
Igarashi (wt%)
Citation (para.)
C
0.03-0.13
0-0.10
[0010]
Cr
12.5-16.0
5.0-18.0
[0010]
Mo
1.0-2.0
0.5-5.0
[0011]
W
2.0-4.0
1.0-10.0
[0011]
Al
4.0-5.5
4.5-12.0
[0010]
B
0.0025-0.015
0.0001-0.03
[0010]
Zr
0.0025-0.015
0.01-0.3
[0010]
Ta
3.0-7.0
1.0-10.0
[0012]
Fe
3.0-7.0
0-5
[0010]
Hf
1.4-2.2
0.05-1
[0010]
Co
0-5.0
Silent (0%)
Nb
0-1.0
0.5-5, 0% (optional)
[0012]
Re
0-1.0
Silent (0%)
Si
0-0.02
0-1.0
[0010]
Mn
0-0.05
0-0.2
[0010]
P
0-0.005
Silent (0%)
S
0-0.001
Silent (0%)
Ti
0-0.20
0.05-1.0
[0010]
Cu
0-0.01
Silent (0%)
V
0-0.1
0.3-3, 0% (optional)
[0012]
Ag
0-0.0005
Silent (0%)
Pb
0-0.0002
Silent (0%)
Se
0-0.001
Silent (0%)
O
0-0.02
Silent (0%)
Ga
0.003
Silent (0%)
Bi
0-0.001
Silent (0%)
N
0-0.005
Silent (0%)
Mg
0-0.007
0.001-0.02
[0010]
Y
0-0.02
0.01-0.25, 0% (optional)
[0014]
Ce
0-0.02
0.01-0.25, 0% (optional)
[0014]
Igarashi further teaches including 0.05-1.0% Ti in order to balance grain boundary strengthening with rupture strength, and wherein Ti is optionally included (may be 0%) when B, Zr or Hf are already introduced (para. [0024]).
Igarashi additionally teaches including at least one of 0.5-5% Nb and 1-10% Ta (Nb may be 0% when Ta is included) in order to balance rupture strength with toughness (para. [0012]; para. [0028]). Igarashi teaches limiting Nb+(1/2)Ta to 5% when both elements are added. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that when 0.5wt% Nb is included, Ta would be limited to 9% or less in order to meet the required limitations of Igarashi.
Hasselqvist (previously cited and cited above, cited by Applicant in IDS filed March 4, 2022, US 20100296962 A1): teaches limiting Ti to 0.45% or less and Nb to 0.28% or less in order to achieve strength from gamma prime particles while avoiding lowered oxidation resistance (para. [0011]), and teaches including V up to 1wt% in order to strengthen gamma prime particles while balancing for oxidation resistance (para. [0011]).
Ota644 (previously cited and cited above and by Applicant in IDS filed July 29, 2022, US 20210340644 A1): teaches a Ni-based superalloy comprising 0-0.2% C, 5-25% Cr, 0-10% Mo, 0-8% W, 1-8% Al, 0-0.1% B, 0-0.1% Zr, 1-10% of Ta+Nb+Ti, 0-10% Fe, 0-2% Hf, 0-30% Co, 0-5% Re, and 0.003-0.05% O (para. [0097]; O is no longer an element allowed by the currently recited claims).
Ota644 further teaches wherein up to 5wt% Re contributes to solid solution strengthening of the y phase and increases corrosion resistance, while balancing for the formation of harmful phases and the cost, as Re is an expensive element (para. [0106]).
Nagatomi (further teachings, previously cited and cited above, US 20190055627 A1): teaches a nickel-based superalloy produced by selective laser melting (Abstract), which comprises 0-0.2% C, 10-25% Cr, 1-6% Mo, 0-10% W, 0.1-8% Al, 0.001-0.01% B, 0.01-0.1% Zr, 0-6% Ta, 0.01-10% Fe, 0-2% Hf, 0.1-10% Co, 0-6 Nb, 0.1-8 Ti, 0-10% Cu, 0.05-1 Si, 0-0.002 S, 0-0.02 O, and 0-0.10 N (Abstract; para. [0033]-[0038]; para. [0041]; Si is no longer an element allowed by the currently recited claims).
Yokokawa (previously cited, US 20090317288 A1): teaches wherein vanadium is solid solubilized in the γ’ phase in order to improve γ’ phase strength, but is limited to 0.5wt% or less in order to balance creep strength (para. [0051]).
Detor (previously cited, US 20180002794 A1): teaches a nickel-based superalloy comprising:
Element
Claim 1 (wt%)
Detor
Citation
C
0.03-0.13
0-0.2
[0029]
Cr
12.5-16.0
10-20
[0030]
Mo
1.0-2.0
0-4
[0029]
W
2.0-4.0
0-4
[0029]
Al
4.0-5.5
0.1-6
[0025]
B
0.0025-0.015
0-0.1
[0029]
Zr
0.0025-0.015
0-0.1
[0029]
Ta
3.0-7.0
0.1-6
[0025]
Fe
3.0-7.0
0-40
[0029]
Hf
1.4-2.2
0-2
[0029]
Ga
>0 to 0.003
silent (0%)
Optionally:
Co
0-5.0
0-45
[0029]
Nb
0-1.0
0.5-9
[0025]
Re
0-1.0
silent (0%)
Si
0
silent (0%)
Mn
0
silent (0%)
P
0-0.005
silent (0%)
S
0-0.001
silent (0%)
Ti
0-0.20
0.1-6 or 0
[0025]
Cu
0-0.01
silent (0%)
V
>0 to 0.1
silent (0%)
Ag
0-0.0005
silent (0%)
Pb
0-0.0002
silent (0%)
Se
0-0.001
silent (0%)
O
0
silent (0%)
Bi
0-0.001
silent (0%)
N
0-0.005
silent (0%)
Mg
0-0.007
silent (0%)
Y
0-0.02
silent (0%)
Ce
0-0.02
silent (0%)
Current claim features prohibit the inclusion of Nb.
Hamaguchi (previously cited and cited by Applicant in IDS filed July 29, 2022, US 20150159241 A1): teaches including up to 8wt% in order to form carbonitrides which increase high temperature strength and to increase creep rupture strength through solid solution hardening, while balancing for workability and mechanical properties (para. [0151]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CATHERINE P. SMITH
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1735
/CATHERINE P SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735