Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8 – 14, 16, 19, 20, 56 – 58, and 60 - 62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ziaylek (US 8220764).
1. Ziaylek discloses a carrier for carrying at least one compressed gas bottle of a breathing apparatus (c. 1: 18 – 35), the carrier comprising: a carrier plate configured for removably receiving the at least one compressed gas bottle (see c. 5: 44 – 46 and 52 – 56, plate 11 is considered to additionally include its arms 48; examiner notes that applicant’s carrier plate receives the gas bottle via filling element 1 and a gas port connection element, labeled generally 7 in Fig. 5 of the instant specification; carrier plate 11 of Lewis receives the gas bottle in the same sense), and orienting a gas port of the compressed gas bottle towards a lower side of the carrier plate (see Fig. 1); and at least one filling element positioned in a space between the carrier plate and the at least one compressed gas bottle (see Fig. 1, 15, c. 5: 46 – 52) such that an upper side of the at least one filling element terminates at an upper edge of the carrier plate, thereby guarding against penetration of the space between the carrier plate and the compressed gas bottle by an external object (see Fig. 2, whereby the unlabeled upper side of 15 extending toward the gas bottle guards against penetration of the space), wherein a width of the filling element is less than a width of the carrier plate (see Fig. 1, maximum width of filling element 15 versus maximum width of carrier plate 11 at its arms 48; in an alternative interpretation, examiner considers the width of 15 as an up-down width shorter than the up-down width of 11, since the claims do not require a further longitudinal dimension of the carrier), wherein the at least one filling element comprises: a first positive connection surface for engaging the at least one compressed gas bottle (16 c. 5: 48 – 52), and a second positive connection element connected to the first positive connection surface and the carrier plate (the bracketed filling element 15/16 is screwed to plate 11, as illustrated by screw holes between the two components in Fig. 1, see also general teachings in c. 8: 32 – 40 and Fig. 4; the screw is connected to the first positive connection surface 16 just as applicant’s second positive connection element is connected to its spaced apart first positive connection surface, see Fig. 3b in the instant specification).
2. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein at least one filling element has a length extending in a longitudinal direction along at least a quarter of a length of the carrier plate (see Fig. 2, where the length of the carrier plate is measured from its topmost surface to its topmost arm; examiner notes that applicant has not required a maximum length).
4. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the first positive connection surface is at least partially concave (see Fig. 1, c. 5: 48 – 52).
8. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the at least one filling element further comprises at least one functional unit (locking mechanism 54, see c. 6: 22 – 30).
9. Ziayleck discloses the breathing apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one functional unit is received within a cavity of the at least one filling element (see Fig. 4).
10. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 8, wherein the at least one functional unit is at least one of: a gas sensor, an indicating device configured for indicating an operating condition, a lighting device, an acoustic warning element, a battery device, a radio device, and any combination thereof (the locking mechanism may serve as an indicating device).
11. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 10, wherein the indicating device is at least one of a battery indicator and a level indicator for the at least one compressed gas bottle (the locking mechanism may indicate an open or closed level for receiving the at least one compressed gas bottle).
12. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 10, wherein the lighting device is configured for signaling a state of the breathing apparatus or as an emergency lighting (Ziayleck discloses an indicating device and claim 12 further specifies the type of lighting device in claim 10 rather than requiring the lighting device per se).
13. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the at least one filling element further comprises at least one receiving element configured for receiving a breathing hose (a breathing hose may be wrapped around tab 30, or fitted into the unlabeled holes atop element 15).
14. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 13, wherein the at least one receiving element is a depression (unlabeled holes atop element 15 are a depression).
16. Ziayleck discloses a breathing apparatus comprising: at least one compressed gas bottle; a carrier plate configured to directly contact and removably receive the at least one compressed gas bottle, and orient a gas port of the compressed gas bottle towards a lower side of the carrier plate; and at least one filling element positioned in a space between the carrier plate and the at least one compressed gas bottle such that an upper side of the at least one filling element terminates at an upper edge of the carrier plate, wherein the at least one filling element comprises: a first positive connection surface for engaging the at least one compressed gas bottle, and a second positive connection element connected to the first positive connection surface and the carrier plate; wherein the at least one filling element guards against penetration of the space between the carrier plate and the compressed gas bottle by an external object (see claim 1 above; examiner notes that the carrier plate 11 is fully capable of directly contacting the compressed gas bottle, such as when the bottle is inserted at an angle into the carrier plate).
19. Ziayleck discloses the breathing apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one filling element further comprises at least one functional unit received within a cavity of the at least one filling element, and wherein the at least one functional unit is at least one of: a gas sensor, an indicating device configured for indicating an operating condition, a lighting device, an acoustic warning element, a battery device, a radio device, and any combination thereof (locking mechanism 54, which may serve as an indicating device, see also c. 6: 22 – 30, Fig. 4).
20. Ziayleck discloses the breathing apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one filling element further comprises at least one receiving element configured for receiving a breathing hose (a breathing hose may be wrapped around tab 30, or fitted into the unlabeled holes atop element 15).
56. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the upper side of the at least one filling element is substantially parallel to an upper side of the carrier plate (see Fig. 2).
57. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the at least one filling element guards against penetration of the space between the carrier plate and the compressed gas bottle by an external object when the carrier is in use (see Fig. 2, whereby the unlabeled upper side of 15 extending toward the gas bottle guards against penetration of the space).
58. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the filling element has a length extending in a longitudinal direction up to a port of the at least one compressed gas bottle at the lower end of the carrier plate (the filling element extends toward the port of the compressed gas bottle).
60. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the carrier plate has sufficient structural rigidity to bear a weight of the at least one compressed gas bottle (c. 1: 18 – 35).
61. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the filling element extends along no more than one half of the longitudinal extension of the carrier plate (see Fig. 2).
62. Ziayleck discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the carrier plate comprises a base configured to be worn against a user's back and lateral edges extending from the base toward the at least one compressed gas bottle (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 8 – 14, 16 – 17, 19 – 20, 56 – 60, and 62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US 6050261) in view of Mesman (US 20180117372).
1. Lewis discloses a carrier for carrying at least one compressed gas bottle of a breathing apparatus (Fig. 1, c. 1: 39 – 44), the carrier comprising: a carrier plate (plate 11, which is carried on the back of the user, and is furthermore necessary to carry housed components within the device, see c. 2: 8 – 14, 19 – 22), configured for removably receiving the at least one compressed gas bottle (the carrier plate removably receives the compressed gas bottle to the back of the user, see c. 1: 39 – 44; examiner notes that applicant’s carrier plate receives the gas bottle indirectly via filling element 1 and a gas port connection element, labeled generally 7 in Fig. 5; in the same sense, carrier plate 11 of Lewis receives the gas bottle indirectly as well), and orienting a gas port of the compressed gas bottle towards a lower side of the carrier plate (see Figs. 1 – 3; the gas port and buddy breathing connection are oriented at a lower side to enable easy grasping, see c. 3: 11 – 13); and at least one filling element positioned in a space between the carrier plate and the at least one compressed gas bottle (10, c. 2: 5 – 7, see Fig. 1) such that an upper side of the at least one filling element terminates
at an upper edge of the carrier plate (see attachment 1 below, upper side “USF” terminates at upper edge “UFE” at left and right sides indicated by arrows; same termination enables the plate to be fixed to the filling element to close its interior, see c. 3: 40 – 41, and the plate has the same general periphery as the filling element as illustrated in Figs. 1 and 2, c. 4: 9 - 10; examiner furthermore notes that the upper side at side wall 16 appears to follow a matched arc to the upper edge along the central portion as well) thereby guarding against penetration of the space between the carrier plate and the compressed gas bottle by an external object (plate 11 and element 10 are fixed to close the space, see c. 3: 38 – 49; as illustrated in Fig. 1, an item such as a cable could not pass through element 10 into the space, for example when approaching it from either the top or the side), wherein the at least one filling element comprises: a first connection surface for engaging the at least one compressed gas bottle (c. 2: 32 – 37), and
a second positive connection element connected to the first positive connection surface and the carrier plate (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, unlabeled fastening elements for fixing the filling element to the carrier plate, as described c. 1: 45, c. 3: 39), wherein a width of the filling element is less than a width of the carrier plate (see attachment 1 below, the width of the filling element taken along a bottom cross section at W1 is less than a width of the carrier plate taken at a middle cross-section at W2).
However, Lewis does not disclose a first positive connection surface for engaging the at least one compressed gas bottle. Nonetheless, Mesman discloses a carrier plate (14) with a filling element (30, see Fig. 1) having a first positive connection surface (40) for engaging the at least one compressed gas bottle (see end of [0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the connection surface of Lewis with a positive connection surface as taught in Mesman, for the benefit of better retaining the air tank on the air pack, e.g. to prevent movement in the width direction.
Attachment 1: Arrows indicate where the filling element terminates at the carrier plate
2. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein at least one filling element has a length extending in a longitudinal direction along at least a quarter of a length of the carrier plate (see Fig. 1).
3. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the at least one filling element has a wedge shape with a larger depth on an upper side than a lower side (see Figs. 1 and 2, the filling element is raised with a larger depth on an upper side in a central region, than in a non-raised region on the lower side, giving the filling element a wedge shape).
4. The modified Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the first positive connection surface is at least partially concave (see Mesman, Fig. 1, [0021]).
8. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the at least one filling element further comprises at least one functional unit (c. 2: 25 – 31).
9. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 8, wherein the at least one functional unit is received within a cavity of the at least one filling element (c. 2: 25 – 31, Fig. 1).
10. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 8, wherein the at least one functional unit is at least one of: a gas sensor, an indicating device configured for indicating an operating condition, a lighting device, an acoustic warning element, a battery device, a radio device, and any combination thereof (c. 2: 38 – 49).
11. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 10, wherein the indicating device is at least one of a battery indicator and a level indicator for the at least one compressed gas bottle (see Lewis, c. 2: 38 – 49; while applicant has further indicated the indicating device, the claim may still read on other features described in Lewis such as the acoustic warning element or battery device).
12. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 10, wherein the lighting device is configured for signaling a state of the breathing apparatus or as an emergency lighting (see Lewis, c. 2: 38 – 49; while applicant has further indicated the lighting device, the claim may still read on other features described in Lewis such as the acoustic warning element or battery device).
13. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the at least one filling element further comprises at least one receiving element configured for receiving a breathing hose (c. 3: 12 – 24).
14. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 13, wherein the at least one receiving element is a depression (see depression in side of filling element 10, holding handle 29, as illustrated in Fig. 12).
16. The modified Lewis discloses a breathing apparatus comprising: at least one compressed gas bottle; a carrier plate configured to directly contact and removably receive the at least one compressed gas bottle (see claim 1 above, the carrier plate of Lewis removably receives the compressed gas bottle to the back of the user, see c. 1: 39 – 44; examiner notes that applicant’s carrier plate removably receives the gas bottle indirectly via filling element 1 and a gas port connection element, labeled generally 7 in Fig. 5; in the same sense, carrier plate 11 of Lewis receives the gas bottle indirectly as well; in addition to this removable reception, the carrier plate is fully capable of directly contacting the compressed gas bottle when the carrier plate is not worn; under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the compressed gas bottle is fully capable of contacting the carrier plate at the back of the carrier plate when the carrier plate is not worn), and orient a gas port of the compressed gas bottle towards a lower side of the carrier plate; and at least one filling element positioned in a space between the carrier plate and the at least one compressed gas bottle such that an upper side of the at least one filling element terminates at an upper edge of the carrier plate, wherein the at least one filling element comprises: a first positive connection surface for engaging the at least one compressed gas bottle, and a second positive connection element connected to the first positive connection surface and the carrier plate; wherein the at least one filling element guards against penetration of the space between the carrier plate and the compressed gas bottle by an external object (see claim 1 above).
17. Lewis discloses the breathing apparatus of claim 16, wherein at least one filling element has a length extending in a longitudinal direction along at least a quarter of a length of the carrier plate, and wherein the at least one filling element has a wedge shape with a larger depth on an upper side than a lower side (see claims 2 and 3 above).
19. Lewis discloses the breathing apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one filling element further comprises at least one functional unit received within a cavity of the at least one filling element, and wherein the at least one functional unit is at least one of: a gas sensor, an indicating device configured for indicating an operating condition, a lighting device, an acoustic warning element, a battery device, a radio device, and any combination thereof (see claim 10 above).
20. Lewis discloses the breathing apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one filling element further comprises at least one receiving element configured for receiving a breathing hose (see claims 13 and 14 above).
56. The modified Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the upper side of the at least one filling element is substantially parallel to an upper side of the carrier plate (examiner considers the upper side substantially parallel at the indicated arrows, as well as at the central region; the central region of the upper side appears to be slightly angled, which still lies within the bounds of “substantially parallel”; Mesman additionally discloses parallel upper sides between the plate and filling element, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lewis with such features for the benefit of ease of manufacture).
57. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the at least one filling element guards against penetration of the space between the carrier plate and the compressed gas bottle by an external object when the carrier is in use (plate 11 and element 10 are fixed to close the space, see c. 3: 38 – 49; as illustrated in Fig. 1, an item such as a cable could not pass through element 10 into the space, for example when approaching it from either the top or the side during use; see additional arguments below).
58. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the filling element has a length extending in a longitudinal direction up to a port of the at least one compressed gas bottle at the lower end of the carrier plate (element 10 extends up to the port of the gas bottle as illustrated in Fig. 10; examiner notes that the claim as currently written may read on overlap between the gas port and the filling element, as long as the filling element extends fully longitudinally up to the port; furthermore, the gas port may be configured to extend beyond the lower side of the filling element, as illustrated in Mesman, Fig. 2).
59. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the carrier plate is configured to be worn in contact with a user (c. 1: 39 – 44).
60. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the carrier plate has sufficient structural rigidity to bear a weight of the at least one compressed gas bottle (c. 3: 37 – 49, c. 1: 23 – 24).
62. Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, wherein the carrier plate comprises a base configured to be worn against a user's back and lateral edges extending from the base toward the at least one compressed gas bottle (see Fig. 1, illustrating the base or back of the plate with lateral edges extending upwards, e.g. where plate 12 connects; examiner notes that the plate must necessarily comprise dimensional edges in order to form a plate).
Claim(s) 5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US 6050261) in view of Mesman (US 20180117372) in view of Deeds (US 4054132).
5. The modified Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first positive connection surface has a sealing lip configured for conforming to an outer surface of the at least one compressed gas bottle. Deeds discloses an arced surface comprising a sealing lip configured for conforming to an outer surface of the at least one compressed gas bottle (see Fig. 2, 33, C. 2: 55 - 58). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the positive connection element of Lewis in view of Mesman with the sealing lip of Deeds for the benefit of preventing tank slippage.
18. The modified Lewis discloses the breathing apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first positive connection surface is at least partially concave (see Mesman, [0021]) and has a sealing lip configured for conforming to an outer surface of the at least one compressed gas bottle (see Deeds, c. 2: 55 – 58).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US 6050261) in view of Mesman (US 20180117372) in view of Cottone (US 6550741).
6. The modified Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1. In the analogous art of connection elements for holding heavy, cylindrical shaped objects, Cottone discloses a filling element comprising a first positive connection element wherein the first positive connection element has a surface for engaging at least one compressed gas bottle, wherein the first connection element surface is made from an elastomer material that conforms to the at least one compressed gas bottle (c. 4: 23 - 27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the first positive connection element surface of Lewis in view of Mesman with the elastomer material of Cottone for the benefit of preventing slippage of the heavy, cylindrical gas bottle. Note also similar discussion for reducing slippage in Deeds, claim 5 above. Note also that the elastomer material may be provided on top of a rigid under layer.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US 6050261) in view of Mesman (US 20180117372) in view of Lee (US 20050103959).
7. The modified Lewis discloses the carrier of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the second positive connection element is latched into a groove of the carrier plate. Lee discloses a filling element wheren the second positive connection is latched into a groove of the carrier plate (see Figs. 1 – 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the attachment of Lewis with the groove/latch of Lee for the benefit of a balanced, secure connection (see claim 2 of Lee).
Claim(s) 5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziaylek (US 8220764) in view of Deeds (US 4054132).
5. Ziaylek discloses the carrier of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first positive connection surface has a sealing lip configured for conforming to an outer surface of the at least one compressed gas bottle. Deeds discloses an arced surface comprising a sealing lip configured for conforming to an outer surface of the at least one compressed gas bottle (see Fig. 2, 33, C. 2: 55 - 58). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the positive connection element of Ziaylek with the sealing lip of Deeds for the benefit of preventing tank slippage.
18. The modified Ziaylek discloses the breathing apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first positive connection surface is at least partially concave (see Ziaylek, Fig. 1) and has a sealing lip configured for conforming to an outer surface of the at least one compressed gas bottle (see Deeds, c. 2: 55 – 58).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziaylek in view of Cottone (US 6550741).
6. Ziaylek discloses the carrier of claim 1. In the analogous art of connection elements for holding heavy, cylindrical shaped objects, Cottone discloses a filling element comprising a first positive connection element wherein the first positive connection element has a surface for engaging at least one compressed gas bottle, wherein the first connection element surface is made from an elastomer material that conforms to the at least one compressed gas bottle (c. 4: 23 - 27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the first positive connection element surface of Ziaylek with the elastomer material of Cottone for the benefit of preventing slippage of the heavy, cylindrical gas bottle. Note also similar discussion for reducing slippage in Deeds, claim 5 above. Note also that the elastomer material may be provided on top of a rigid under layer.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziaylek in view of Lee (US 20050103959).
7. Ziaylek discloses the carrier of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the second positive connection element is latched into a groove of the carrier plate. Lee discloses a filling element wherein the second positive connection is latched into a groove of the carrier plate (see Figs. 1 – 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the attachment of Lewis with the groove/latch of Lee for the benefit of a balanced, secure connection (see claim 2 of Lee).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to applicant’s arguments to claims 1 – 14 and 56 – 62, examiner notes that the interpretation of differing widths disclosed by Lewis has not been addressed in applicant’s arguments. See rejection and attachment 1 above. With regard to applicant’s arguments to claims 16 – 20, examiner notes that the interpretation of “directly contact” disclosed by Lewis has not been addressed in applicant’s arguments. See rejection to claim 16 above, which has been rejected under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 55 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The claims in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest all the features of claim 55.
Mesman, the closest prior art of reference, discloses a carrier for carrying at least one compressed gas bottle of a breathing apparatus, the carrier comprising: a carrier plate configured for removably receiving the at least one compressed gas bottle and orienting a gas port of the compressed gas bottle towards a lower side of the carrier plate (14); and at least one filling element positioned in a space between the carrier plate and the at least one compressed gas bottle (30), wherein the at least one filling element comprises: a first positive connection surface for engaging the at least one compressed gas bottle (see [0021]); a second positive connection element connected to the first positive connection surface and the carrier plate (fastening to the plate); and a neck guard extending from the at least one filling element and configured for cooperating with a helmet (handle 50 is interpreted as the neck guard, since it may be pulled into the helmet). However, Mesman does not disclose that the filling element comprises an upper side in flush contact with an upper edge of the carrier plate, because the upper side of the filling element lies below the upper edge, as illustrated in Fig. 1. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to move the upper side flush to the upper edge, as such design may create undesirable deployment or snagging/interference with the handle, see [0027, 0029].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799