DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1,4,7,9 and 10 are amended.
No new claim is added.
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s amendment is entered. Applicant’s remarks are also entered into the record. A new search was made necessitated by the applicant’s amendments and remarks. A new rejection is made herein. Applicant’s arguments are now moot in view of the new rejection of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US 20070016328 A1 of Ziegler et al. (herein after “Ziegler”) in view of US20190191952A1 to Johnson et al.(herein after “Johnson”).
Regarding claim 1, Ziegler teaches A cleaning robot (see Ziegler an autonomous cleaning robot), comprising: a chassis (see Ziegler);
a fluid applicator (see Ziegler liquid applicator.); , carried on the chassis and configured to distribute a cleaning fluid on at least part of a cleaning width ((see Ziegler para[0020] a liquid applicator, attached to the chassis and configured to apply a cleaning fluid onto the cleaning surface)
a fluid storage apparatus (See Ziegler cleaning fluid storage container) , detachably connected to the chassis, wherein the fluid storage apparatus is in communication with the fluid applicator and configured to apply the cleaning fluid distributed by the fluid applicator to a ground (see Ziegler para[0022] container attached to the chassis and configured to store a supply of the cleaning fluid therein and to deliver the cleaning fluid to the liquid applicator.);
an in-position sensor (see Ziegler tank sensor) in para[0371]), disposed in a recess of the chassis in which the fluid storage apparatus is mounted, and configured to detect whether the fluid storage apparatus is in position (see Ziegler paras [0371]-[0372]) and to report an in-position state signal of the fluid storage apparatus to a control system (see Ziegler para[0372] the tank present sensor indicates the tank is removed during the run, the robot may stop);
However, Ziegler does not expressly mention or otherwise teaches configured to plan a cleaning path according to the in-position state signal of the fluid storage apparatus, the control system is further configured to load data of a non-mopping region according to the in-position state signal, label an edge of the non-mopping region as an obstacle point on a cleaning map. nevertheless, Johnson same field of endeavor teaches the control system (see Johnson control system 20), carried on the chassis (see Johnson chassis 12 ) and configured to plan a cleaning path according to the in-position state signal of the fluid storage apparatus (See Johnson para[0024] A navigation/mapping system 30 can be provided in the robot 10 for guiding the movement of the robot 10 over the surface to be cleaned, generating and storing maps of the surface to be cleaned, and recording status or other environmental variable information, figure 1 and 2), and control the fluid applicator to distribute the cleaning fluid according to the cleaning path (See Johnson paras[0021]-[0075], figures 1-15),
wherein the control system is further configured to load data of a non-mopping region according to the in-position state signal, label an edge of the non-mopping region as an obstacle point on a cleaning map (see Johnson para[0025] while cleaning the floor surface, using input from various sensors to change direction or adjust its course as needed to avoid obstacles; para[0038] The obstacle sensors 101 can be mounted to the housing 12 (FIG. 3) of the robot 10, such as in the front of the housing 12 to determine the distance to obstacles in front of the robot 10. Input from the obstacle sensors 101 can be used to slow down or adjust the course of the robot 10 when objects are detected.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ziegler’s an autonomous floor cleaning robot with Johnson’s navigation system to plan the path based on the signal in order to allow to control a flow of the cleaning fluid to the at least one fluid distributor and to control the flow of the fluid (see Para[0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Ziegler and Johnson remain applied as claim 1. Ziegler teaches the cleaning robot according to claim 1, where the fluid applicator comprises a pump which is configured to distribute the cleaning fluid on the at least part of the cleaning width. (see Ziegle para[0042] In some embodiments, the surface cleaning apparatus also includes a liquid storage container, carried on the chassis, for storing a supply of the cleaning fluid therein; a diaphragm pump assembly configured with a first a first pump portion for drawing cleaning fluid from the container and for delivering the cleaning fluid to the at least one nozzle)
Regarding claim 6, Ziegler and Johnson remain applied as claim 1. Ziegler teaches further comprising: a wheel type drive, supporting the chassis and being operable to operate the cleaning robot on a cleaning surface of the cleaning robot; and one or more cleaning elements, carried on the chassis to clean an entirety of the cleaning width (see Ziegler para[0016] he robot is supported on the cleaning surface by wheels in rolling contact with the cleaning surface and the robot includes controls and drive elements configured to control the robot to generally traverse the cleaning surface in a forward direction defined by a fore-aft axis. The robot is further defined by a transverse axis perpendicular to the fore-aft axis.).
Regarding claim 7, Ziegler teaches A method of control a cleaning robot(see Ziegler an autonomous cleaning robot),, comprising: detecting whether a fluid storage apparatus is in position and reporting an in-position state signal of the fluid storage apparatus to a control system(see Ziegler tank sensor) in para[0371]); controlling a fluid applicator to distribute a cleaning fluid according to the cleaning path (see Ziegle para[0025] a motive drive subsystem attached to chassis for transporting the chassis over the cleaning surface; a power module attached to the chassis for delivering electrical power to each of a plurality of power consuming subsystems attached to the chassis; and, a master control module attached to the chassis for controlling the motive drive module, the first collecting apparatus, and the liquid applicator, to autonomously transport the robot over the cleaning surface and to autonomously clean the cleaning surface.).
However, Ziegler does not expressly mention or otherwise teaches planning a cleaning path according to the in-position state signal of the fluid storage apparatus. Nevertheless, Johnson same field of endeavor teaches planning a cleaning path according to the in-position state signal of the fluid storage apparatus (See Johnson para[0024] A navigation/mapping system 30 can be provided in the robot 10 for guiding the movement of the robot 10 over the surface to be cleaned, generating and storing maps of the surface to be cleaned, and recording status or other environmental variable information, figure 1 and 2),para[0043]);
loading data of a non-mopping region according to the in-position state signal, labeling an edge of the non-mopping region as an obstacle point on a cleaning map, and planning the cleaning path based on the obstacle point on the cleaning map to bypass the non-mopping region.(see Johnson para[0025] while cleaning the floor surface, using input from various sensors to change direction or adjust its course as needed to avoid obstacles; para[0038] The obstacle sensors 101 can be mounted to the housing 12 (FIG. 3) of the robot 10, such as in the front of the housing 12 to determine the distance to obstacles in front of the robot 10. Input from the obstacle sensors 101 can be used to slow down or adjust the course of the robot 10 when objects are detected.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ziegler’s an autonomous floor cleaning robot with Johnson’s navigation system to plan the path based on the signal in order to allow to control a flow of the cleaning fluid to the at least one fluid distributor and to control the flow of the fluid (see Para[0003]).
Claims 3-5, 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US 20070016328 A1 of Ziegler et al. (herein after “Ziegler”) in view of US20190191952A1 to Johnson et al. (herein after “Johnson”) and CN208176529U of Gao et al. (herein after “Gao).
Regarding claim 3, Ziegler and Johnson remain applied as claim 1. However, Ziegler does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the in-position sensor detects in real time whether the fluid storage apparatus is in position in a case that a detection signal indicates that the fluid storage apparatus is in position. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Gao teaches wherein the in-position sensor detects in real time whether the fluid storage apparatus is in position (see Gao para[0005] This mainly involves the detection technology for distinguishing the dust box and the water tank, which is used to distinguish and determine whether the dust box or the water tank is placed inside the cleaning robot, ), in a case that a detection signal indicates that the fluid storage apparatus is in position (see Gao para[0009] a barrier portion M for blocking the detection signal is provided on the side or bottom of the water tank), detecting again after a time interval, and in a case that the detection signal indicates that the fluid storage apparatus is not in position, reporting an out-of-position state signal to the control system and stopping detecting see Gao para[0040] when the water tank is in place, the micro switch 60 transmits the corresponding signal to the control unit and the control unit determine that the water tank is in place and the smart cleaning robot can start sweeping mode, otherwise stop.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ziegler’s an autonomous floor cleaning robot with Gao’s water tank in place signal to solves the problem of damage to the cleaning robot caused by the user's incorrect placement of the dust box and water tank (see Gao para[0008]).
Regarding claim 4, Ziegler, Johnson and Gao remain applied as claim 3. Ziegler teaches a navigation apparatus (see Ziegler para[0136] The robot 100 is configured to detect the virtual wall pattern and is programmed to treat the virtual wall pattern, see para[0139])
receiving information about an operation region of the cleaning robot, the operation region comprising a mopping region (see Ziegler second cleaning zone B, cleaning fluid into the surface) and a non-mopping region (see Ziegler first cleaning zone A, cleaning loose particles).
However, Ziegler does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the non-mopping region is activated in a case that the fluid storage apparatus is in position and is disabled in a case that the fluid storage apparatus is not in position. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Gao teaches wherein the non-mopping region is activated in a case that the fluid storage apparatus is in position and is disabled in a case that the fluid storage apparatus is not in position (see Gao para[0037] it is determined that the dust box 3 and the water tank 2 are not placed inside the cleaning robot 1, and the cleaning robot 1 cannot start working normally, and prompts the user to put in the dust box 3 or the water tank 2, thereby preventing the cleaning robot 1 from working abnormally).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ziegler’s an autonomous floor cleaning robot with Gao’s water tank in place signal to solves the problem of damage to the cleaning robot caused by the user's incorrect placement of the dust box and water tank (see Gao para[0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Ziegler, Johnson and Gao remain applied as claim 3. However, Ziegler does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a position alarm, wherein the navigation apparatus detects whether there is an intersection between an edge of a front half portion of the cleaning robot and the non-mopping region, and if there is an intersection, the position alarm is trigged to enable the cleaning robot to retreat outside of the non-mopping region. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Johnson teaches a position alarm, wherein the navigation apparatus detects whether there is an intersection between an edge of a front half portion of the cleaning robot and the non-mopping region, and if there is an intersection, the position alarm is trigged to enable the cleaning robot to retreat outside of the non-mopping region (see Johnson para[0039] Bump sensors 102 can also be provided in the localization system 100 for determining front or side impacts to the robot 10. The bump sensors 102 may be integrated with the housing 12, such as with a bumper 14 (FIG. 3). Output signals from the bump sensors 102 provide inputs to the controller for selecting an obstacle avoidance algorithm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ziegler’s an autonomous floor cleaning robot with Johnson’s navigation system to plan the path based on the signal in order to allow to control a flow of the cleaning fluid to the at least one fluid distributor and to control the flow of the fluid (see Para[0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Ziegler and Johnson remain applied as claim 7. However, Ziegler does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein detecting whether the fluid storage apparatus is in position comprises: detecting whether the fluid storage apparatus is in position, in a case that a detection signal. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Gao teaches wherein detecting whether the fluid storage apparatus is in position comprises: detecting whether the fluid storage apparatus is in position, in a case that a detection signal(see Gao para[0009] a barrier portion M for blocking the detection signal is provided on the side or bottom of the water tank), indicates that the fluid storage apparatus is in position (see Gao para[0005] This mainly involves the detection technology for distinguishing the dust box and the water tank, which is used to distinguish and determine whether the dust box or the water tank is placed inside the cleaning robot, ), detecting after a time interval, and in a case that the detection signal indicates that the fluid storage apparatus is not in position, reporting an out-of-position state signal to the control system and stopping detecting (see Gao para[0040] when the water tank is in place, the micro switch 60 transmits the corresponding signal to the control unit and the control unit determine that the water tank is in place and the smart cleaning robot can start sweeping mode, otherwise stop).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ziegler’s an autonomous floor cleaning robot with Gao’s water tank in place signal to solves the problem of damage to the cleaning robot caused by the user's incorrect placement of the dust box and water tank (see Gao para[0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Ziegler, Johnson and Gao remain applied as claim 8. However, Ziegler does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein after detecting whether the fluid storage apparatus is in position and reporting the in-position state signal of the fluid storage apparatus to the control system, the method further comprises: receiving information about an operation region of the cleaning robot, the operation region a mopping region and a non-mopping region wherein the non-mopping region is activated in a case that the fluid storage apparatus is in position and is disabled in a case that the fluid storage apparatus is not in position. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Gao teaches wherein after detecting whether the fluid storage apparatus is in position and reporting the in-position state signal of the fluid storage apparatus to the control system(see Gao para[0009] a barrier portion M for blocking the detection signal is provided on the side or bottom of the water tank, see Gao para[0005] This mainly involves the detection technology for distinguishing the dust box and the water tank, which is used to distinguish and determine whether the dust box or the water tank is placed inside the cleaning robot), the method further comprises: receiving information about an operation region of the cleaning robot, the operation region a mopping region (see Ziegler second cleaning zone B, cleaning fluid into the surface) and a non-mopping region (see Ziegler first cleaning zone A, cleaning loose particles), wherein the non-mopping region is activated in a case that the fluid storage apparatus is in position and is disabled in a case that the fluid storage apparatus is not in position(see Gao para[0037] it is determined that the dust box 3 and the water tank 2 are not placed inside the cleaning robot 1, and the cleaning robot 1 cannot start working normally, and prompts the user to put in the dust box 3 or the water tank 2, thereby preventing the cleaning robot 1 from working abnormally).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ziegler’s an autonomous floor cleaning robot with Gao’s water tank in place signal to solves the problem of damage to the cleaning robot caused by the user's incorrect placement of the dust box and water tank (see Gao para[0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Ziegler, Johnson and Gao remain applied as claim 9. Ziegler discloses wherein data of the non-mopping region is described by a quadrangle consisting coordinates of four vertex. (see Ziegler figure 46 and para[0330] the robot will shift the overlapping oval, circle, square, or rectangle such that the blank area is eventually covered. As can be seen in FIG. 46)
Figure 46 from Ziegler
Regarding claim 11, Ziegler, Johnson and Gao remain applied as claim 9. However, Ziegler does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach detecting whether there is an intersection between an edge of a front half portion of the cleaning robot and the non-mopping region, and if there is an intersection, enabling the cleaning robot to retreat outside of the non-mopping region. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, , Johnson teaches a position alarm, wherein the navigation apparatus detects whether there is an intersection between an edge of a front half portion of the cleaning robot and the non-mopping region, and if there is an intersection, the position alarm is trigged to enable the cleaning robot to retreat outside of the non-mopping region (see Johnson para[0039] Bump sensors 102 can also be provided in the localization system 100 for determining front or side impacts to the robot 10. The bump sensors 102 may be integrated with the housing 12, such as with a bumper 14 (FIG. 3). Output signals from the bump sensors 102 provide inputs to the controller for selecting an obstacle avoidance algorithm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ziegler’s an autonomous floor cleaning robot with Johnson’s navigation system to plan the path based on the signal in order to allow to control a flow of the cleaning fluid to the at least one fluid distributor and to control the flow of the fluid (see Para[0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Ziegler, Johnson and Gao remain applied as claim 10. Ziegler discloses wherein in a case that the non-mopping region is activated, the quadrangle (see Ziegler para[0330] and figure 46)of the non-mopping region is labeled as an obstacle (see Ziegler para[0145] By locating the cleaning zone B proximate the right circumferential edge, the robot 100 may maneuver its right circumferential edge close to a wall or other obstacle for cleaning the cleaning surface adjacent to the wall or obstacle. Accordingly, the robot movement patterns include algorithms for transporting the right side of the robot 100 adjacent to each wall or obstacle encountered by the robot during a cleaning cycle).
Regarding claim 13, Ziegler, Johnson and Gao remain applied as claim 10. Ziegler discloses wherein the non-mopping region is planned by the navigation apparatus autonomously in a traveling process or set by a user (see Ziegler para[0130] In particular, the robot 100 of the present invention moves over cleaning paths in accordance with preprogrammed procedures implemented in hardware, software, firmware, or combinations thereof to implement a variety of modes, such as three basic operational modes, i.e., movement patterns, that can be categorized as: (1) a “spot-coverage” mode; (2) a “wall/obstacle following” mode;para[0013] A more significant reason is because devices as proposed by Betker et al. are not physically configured to escape or navigate among confined areas or obstacles, nor are they capable of being programmed to escape or navigate among confined areas or obstacles).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666