DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on March 2nd, 2026:
Claims 16, 18-19, 21-27, and 29-35 are pending in the current application. Claims 16 and 32 have been amended. Claims 1-15, 17, 20, and 28 have been cancelled.
Support for the amendment can be found in at least paragraphs [0047]-[0048] of Applicant’s own PG Publication.
All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Remarks on March 2nd, 2026 with respect to Claims 16, 18-19, 21-27, and 29-35 are based on the claims as amended and have been acknowledged. However, Applicant’s knowledge that the prior art teaches away from the instantly claimed limitations of at least independent Claim 16 are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that Loo teaches away from over-molding around at least one of the base section, the central body section, or the top section is not persuasive.
Applicant points to paragraph [0040] of Loo, wherein it is stated “[t]he tray 20 and the cover 22 are each formed by molding an electrically insulating resin containing no reinforcing members such as glass fibers or metal insert members.” This is hardly an argument against over-molding. In fact, a person having ordinary skill in the art could argue that this would further support the rationale behind over-molding the battery holder of Loo as Loo already describes 1. a molding process for creating the resin tray and corresponding ridge-like projections and 2. Loo describes a desire for wanting to maintain a lightweight of the tray by avoiding metal insert members (such as pegs, screws, etc). It is entirely possible and feasible to over-mold two materials together without the use of any metal insert members, such as Applicant is suggesting.
Therefore, this argument is not persuasive and the rejection of record is maintained. Any modification to the rejection is as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Prior Art
Previously cited Loo US PG Publication 2012/0301765 (“Loo”)
Bender US PG Publication 2012/0208057 (“Bender”)
Seo US PG Publication 2019/0267682 (“Seo”)
Silk US PG Publication 2013/0196205 (“Silk”)
Previously cited Takasaki US PG Publication 2009/0236162 (“Takasaki”)
Previously cited Fees US PG Publication 2014/0093766 (“Fees”)
Previously cited Higashino US PG Publication 2011/0027632 (“Higashino”)
Previously cited Yan DE102014211977 (“Yan”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loo US PG Publication 2012/0301765 in view of Bender US PG Publication 2012/0208057, Seo US PG Publication 2019/0267682, and Silk US PG Publication 2013/0196205.
Regarding Claim 16, Loo discloses a case 10 (corresponding to the instantly claimed battery housing) for a vehicle 1 (automobile) ([0011]-[0012], [0037], [0060]) comprising:
a battery tray 20 (battery holder) formed of a sheet molding compound (SMC) resin ([0040]) and having a bottom 34 (base) for placement of at least one battery module 36 (Fig. 3, [0042], [0060]);
said battery holder 20 including at least one projection 32 (rib) extending upwardly from said base 34 to define at least one groove extending along an exterior surface of said battery holder 20 (i.e. groove-like recesses 56 formed on outside lower surfaces of the ridge-like projections of the resin tray 20) (Figs. 4-5, [0062]-[0064]), and
an outer frame 24 including at least one cut-and-raised portion (reinforcing members) 42/62 (beam) with brackets 44 extending in mating relationship through said at least one groove 56 (Figs. 4, 6, 10, [0060], [0064], [0074]-[0075]);
said at least one beam 42/62/44 including a base section (i.e. the bottom of the L-shape), a central body section (i.e. the junction or corner between the bottom and the top of the L-shape) having a central cross-sectional width being less than said base cross-sectional width, and a top section (i.e. the top of the L-shape where the bracket is fastened) (Figs. 6-7, 10 [0062]-[0067], [0074]-[0075]).
Annotated Figure 6 of Loo
While Loo discloses that the battery holder is formed of a sheet molding compound resin and that it is desirable for the battery holder to be lightweight ([0008], [0040]), Loo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sheet molding compound is comprised of glass fiber reinforced plastic or carbon fiber reinforced plastic1.
However, Bender discloses an electric energy storage of a motor vehicle comprising a housing with a supporting frame (Abstract, entire disclosure dependent upon). Bender teaches the use of a carbon reinforced plastic for the supporting frame due to the high strength and light weight characteristics of the carbon reinforced plastic ([0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery housing of Loo such that the sheet molding compound (SMC) of the battery holder comprises carbon fiber reinforced plastic (which meets the instantly claimed limitation of glass fiber reinforced plastic or carbon fiber reinforced plastic) due to the high strength and light weight characteristics of carbon fiber reinforced plastic, as taught by Bender.
While Loo does disclose that the beams and their corresponding grooves are formed by pressing a plate into a desired shape ([0046]), Loo in view of Bender fails to explicitly disclose wherein the top section has a top cross-sectional width being greater than said central cross-sectional width2.
Further, Seo discloses a battery pack including a plurality of battery modules and a tray including an interior space where the plurality of battery modules are positioned (Abstract, entire disclosure dependent upon). Seo teaches the use of I-type beams for mounting into correspondingly shaped recessed portions in order to enhance the mechanical stiffness of the tray, thereby improving the safety of the battery pack (Fig. 8, [0011]-[0012], [0053]- [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery housing of Loo in view of Bender such that the top section has a top cross-sectional width being greater than said central cross-sectional width, defining an I shape, in order to enhance the mechanical stiffness of the tray, thereby improving the safety of the battery pack, as taught by Seo.
Annotated Figure 8 of Seo
Loo in view of Bender and Seo fails to explicitly disclose wherein said battery holder is over-molded around at least one of said base section, said central body section or said top section3.
However, Silk discloses a battery assembly comprising a plurality of battery cells coupled to a support including a plurality of trays further disposed in a base frame (Abstract, [0156], entire disclosure dependent upon). Silk teaches studs which are completely overmolded by the battery support (corresponding to the instantly claimed battery holder) made of a sheet molded composite (SMC) to couple the stud and the battery support ([0168], [0172], [0201]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery housing of Loo in view of Bender and Seo such that said battery holder is over-molded around at least one of said base section, said central body section or said top section in order to couple the at least one beam and the battery holder, as taught by Silk.
1 The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
2 The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
3 The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 417, 82 USPQ2d 1396 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Claim 16 is considered a product-by-process. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Regarding Claim 18, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 16, and Loo discloses wherein said battery holder 20 is tub-shaped (Fig. 6) and includes a sidewall (i.e. the wall below contact surface 37 at the peripheral edge of resin tray 20) extending around and upwardly from said base 34 (Fig. 6, [0043]), and said outer frame 24 is disposed in surrounding relationship with said sidewall (Fig. 6, [0049]).
Regarding Claim 21, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 16, and Loo discloses wherein the battery housing 10 further comprising said at least one rib 32 including a plurality of ribs 32 extending upwardly from said base 34 in spaced relationship with one another to define a plurality of pockets each disposed between adjacent ones of said plurality of ribs 32 (Fig. 6, [0062]-[0065]);
said at least one groove 56 including a plurality of grooves 56 extending along said exterior surface of said battery holder 20, with each of one said plurality of grooves 56 defined by adjacent ones of said plurality of ribs 32 (Figs. 4-6, [0062]-[0065]);
said at least one beam 42/62/44 including a plurality of beams 42/62/44 each extending in over-molded relationship through a respective one of said plurality of grooves 56 (Fig. 5, [0040]);
at least one battery module 36 disposed in each one of said plurality of pockets (Fig. 6, [0062]-[0065]); and
a bracket 44 (spacer member) interconnected to each one of said plurality of ribs 32 and said respectively mated one of said plurality of beams 42/62/44 for securing at least one battery module 36 in said respective one of said plurality of pockets (Figs. 5-6, [0046]-[0047], [0051]-[0052], [0060]).
While Loo does not explicitly disclose that the spacer member absorbs side-to-side movement of said at least one battery module during use of the battery housing, the skilled artisan would recognize that the spacer member of Loo meets all of the positively recited claimed structure limitations of the spacer member. And, therefore, the spacer member of Loo would be capable of performing all of the functions as the claimed spacer member. Including, but not limited to, absorbing side-to-side movement of said at least one battery module during use of the battery housing4.
4 The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The Courts have held that it is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use, for an old product, does not make a claim to that old product patentable. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2114).
Regarding Claim 22, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 21, and Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk discloses wherein the spacer member 44 is comprised of a material (i.e. metal) being different than said SMC material (i.e. carbon fiber reinforced plastic) of said battery holder (Loo Abstract, [0012], [0046] and Bender [0022]).
Claim 19 and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loo US PG Publication 2012/0301765 in view of Bender US PG Publication 2012/0208057, Seo US PG Publication 2019/0267682, and Silk US PG Publication 2013/0196205, as applied to Claim 18, further in view of Takasaki US PG Publication 2009/0236162.
Regarding Claim 19, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 18.
Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk fails to disclose a protection plate.
However, Takasaki teaches wherein the battery housing 50 further comprises a protection plate (i.e. under cover 400) extending below said battery housing 50 and interconnected to said outer frame 80 in order to sufficiently cover the battery case and provide a surface between the battery case and the battery unit ([0080]-[0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery housing of Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk to further comprise a protection plate extending below said battery housing and interconnected to said outer frame in order to sufficiently cover the battery case and provide a surface between the battery case and the battery unit, as taught by Takasaki.
Regarding Claim 23, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Takasaki teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 19, and Loo discloses wherein the battery housing 10 further comprising said outer frame 24 presenting a top surface (i.e. peripheral edge portion 48) (Fig. 6, [0048]); and
said battery holder 20 including a battery holder rim (i.e. contact surface 37 at the peripheral edge of the resin tray 20) extending outwardly from said sidewall in resting and overlaying relationship along said top surface of said outer frame 24 (Fig. 6, [0039], [0043], [0049], [0060]).
Regarding Claim 24, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Takasaki teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 23, and Loo discloses wherein the battery housing 10 further comprises a cover 22 formed of a sheet molding compound (SMC) (i.e. resin) and covering said battery holder 20 ([0040], [0048]).
Regarding Claim 25, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Takasaki teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 24, and Loo discloses wherein the battery housing 10 further comprises said cover 22 including a cover rim (i.e. peripheral edge portion 52) disposed in overlaying relationship with said battery holder rim 37 (Fig. 6, [0043], [0049]);
said top surface 48 of said outer frame 24 defining at least one frame aperture (i.e. through holes 50) (Fig. 6, [0048]);
said cover rim 52 defining at least one cover aperture (i.e. through holes 54) (Fig. 6, [0049]);
said at least one frame aperture 50 and said at least one cover aperture 54 disposed in aligned relationship with one another (Fig. 6, [0048]-[0049]); and
a tolerance compensation assembly (i.e. fastening members 26) disposed in and extending through said apertures for interconnecting said cover 22 and said battery holder 20 and said outer frame 24 with one another (Fig. 6, [0048]-[0049]).
While Loo does not explicitly disclose that the battery holder rim defines at least one battery holder rim aperture, Loo does teach that the use of apertures within rims allows the pieces to come into close contact with one another thereby waterproofing the battery housing ([0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the housing of Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Takasaki such that the battery holder rim defines at least one battery holder rim aperture in order to allow the battery holder to come into close contact with the cover and frame thereby waterproofing the battery housing, as taught by Loo.
Regarding Claim 26, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Takasaki teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 25.
Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Takasaki fails to disclose wherein said tolerance compensation assembly includes a bushing extending through said aligned battery holder rim aperture and cover aperture.
However, Takasaki teaches the use of embedded nuts at different positions on the cover and tray members such that a bolt can be fastened into the nut via screwing through various holes in order to fix the desired members in place ([0013]-[0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the housing of Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Takasaki such that said tolerance assembly includes a bushing, such as a nut, extending through said aligned battery rim aperture and cover aperture; said tolerance compensation assembly including a first bushing connected to a second bushing via a bolt disposed in said at least one cover aperture; and said tolerance assembly including a connector such as a bolt extending through said bushing and disposed in threaded engagement with said bushing, such that the battery holder and cover can be held in place, as taught by Takasaki.
Regarding Claim 27, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Takasaki teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 25, and Loo discloses wherein the battery housing 10 further comprises a seal extending between said battery holder rim 37 and said cover rim 52 (Fig. 6, [0043], [0060]).
Claims 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loo US PG Publication 2012/0301765 in view of Bender US PG Publication 2012/0208057, Seo US PG Publication 2019/0267682, and Silk US PG Publication 2013/0196205, as applied to Claim 21, further in view of Yan DE102014211977 (machine translation provided in a previous Office Action) and Fees US PG Publication 2014/0093766.
Regarding Claim 29, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 21.
Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk fails to disclose a coolant plate disposed in each of said plurality of pockets in sandwiched relationship between said base of said battery housing and said at least one battery module.
However, Yan discloses a battery module 10 comprising at least one battery cell 14 in a housing 12 (Fig. 1, [0038]).
Yan teaches a thermal management system comprising a cooling module 16 in contact with the bottom surfaces of the battery cells 14 (Fig. 1, [0038]) in order to operate the battery cells 14 in an optimal temperature window ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery housing of Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk such that the battery housing further comprises a coolant plate disposed in each of said plurality of pockets in sandwiched relationship between said base of said battery housing and said at least one battery module in order to operate the at least one battery module in an optimal temperature window, as taught by Yan.
Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Yan fails to disclose wherein said base of said battery housing defining at least one fluid aperture disposed adjacent said coolant plate.
However, Fees discloses a battery 10 for a vehicle wherein the battery comprises a plurality of battery cells 12 arranged in a housing ([0029]-[0030]).
Fees teaches the use of holes for coolant channels disposed adjacent to the bottom plate of the housing, wherein the channel runs downwardly through the battery housing; a thermal management system including profile parts 22, 24 extending along the peripheral edge of the housing frame and having at least one cylindrical coolant port 28, 30 passing through the hole for the cylindrical coolant channel, wherein the coolant port and coolant channel are sealed by the cylindrical sealing ring 74, and disposed in fluid communication with said plate for managing a temperature of the batteries; such that coolant can enter and exit the parts from a cooler in order to effectively remove heat during operation ([0019], [0030]-[0031], [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery housing of Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Yan such that said base of said battery housing defines at least one fluid aperture, such as a hole for a coolant channel, disposed adjacent said coolant plate; and a thermal management system includes at least one conduit, such as a profile part, extending along said outer frame; and having at least one coolant port passing through said at least one fluid aperture and disposed in fluid communication with said coolant plate for managing a temperature of said at least one battery module; and wherein said at least one conduit includes an input/output (enter/exit) for connection to a coolant system of the automobile, such as a cooler; and a cylindrical projection, such as a coolant channel, extending downwardly from said coolant plate and inserted into said at least one port, in order to effectively remove heat during operation, as taught by Fees.
Regarding Claim 30, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, Yan, and Fees teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 29, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 29) Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, Yan, and Fees discloses wherein said at least one conduit includes an input/output for connection to a coolant system of the automobile (Fees [0030]-[0031]).
Regarding Claim 31, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, Yan, and Fees teaches the instantly claimed battery housing according to Claim 29, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 29) Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, Yan, and Fees discloses wherein said coolant plate includes a cylindrical projection extending downwardly from said coolant plate and inserted into said at least one port (Fees [0030]-[0031], [0045]).
Claims 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loo US PG Publication 2012/0301765 in view of Bender US PG Publication 2012/0208057, Seo US PG Publication 2019/0267682, Silk US PG Publication 2013/0196205, and Fees US PG Publication 2014/0093766.
Regarding Claim 32, Loo discloses a method of manufacturing a battery housing (i.e. resin tray 20) ([0011]-[0012], [0037], [0060]) comprising:
molding a battery housing 20 from a sheet molding compound (i.e. resin) ([0040]) to present a base (i.e. bottom 34) and at least one rib (i.e. projections 32) extending upwardly from said base 34 to define at least one groove extending along an exterior surface of the formed battery housing 10 (i.e. groove-like recesses 56 formed in outside lower surfaces of the ridge-like projections of the resin tray 20) (Figs. 4-5, [0043], [0060]. [0062]-[0064]);
forming a frame 24 to define an outer frame (i.e. peripheral wall 46 and peripheral edge portion 48) and at least one beam (i.e. cut-and-raised portion (reinforcing members) 42/62 with brackets 44) extending between opposing sides of the outer frame 48 (Fig. 6, [0060], [0062]-[0064]), the at least one beam 42/62/44 including a base section (i.e. the bottom of the L-shape) having a base cross-sectional width, a central body section having a central cross-sectional width being less than said base cross-sectional width, and a top section having a top cross-sectional width (i.e. the top of the L-shape where the bracket is fastened); and
wherein said step of molding the battery housing 20 includes over-molding at least a portion of at least a part of the top section (which meets the claim limitation of the base section, the body section, or the top section) of the at least one beam 42/62/44 (Figs. 6-7, 10 [0062]-[0067], [0074]-[0075]) within the at least one groove 56 of the battery housing 20 (Figs. 5-6, [0067]).
While Loo discloses that the battery holder is formed of a sheet molding compound resin and that it is desirable for the battery holder to be lightweight ([0008], [0040]), Loo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sheet molding compound is comprised of glass fiber reinforced plastic or carbon fiber reinforced plastic1.
However, Bender discloses an electric energy storage of a motor vehicle comprising a housing with a supporting frame (Abstract, entire disclosure dependent upon). Bender teaches the use of a carbon reinforced plastic for the supporting frame due to the high strength and light weight characteristics of the carbon reinforced plastic ([0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery housing of Loo such that the sheet molding compound (SMC) of the battery holder comprises carbon fiber reinforced plastic (which meets the instantly claimed limitation of glass fiber reinforced plastic or carbon fiber reinforced plastic) due to the high strength and light weight characteristics of carbon fiber reinforced plastic, as taught by Bender.
While Loo does disclose that the beams and their corresponding grooves are formed by pressing a plate into a desired shape ([0046]), Loo in view of Bender fails to explicitly disclose wherein the top section has a top cross-sectional width being greater than said central cross-sectional width2.
Further, Seo discloses a battery pack including a plurality of battery modules and a tray including an interior space where the plurality of battery modules are positioned (Abstract, entire disclosure dependent upon). Seo teaches the use of I-type beams for mounting into correspondingly shaped recessed portions in order to enhance the mechanical stiffness of the tray, thereby improving the safety of the battery pack (Fig. 8, [0011]-[0012], [0053]- [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery housing of Loo in view of Bender such that the top section has a top cross-sectional width being greater than said central cross-sectional width, defining an I shape, in order to enhance the mechanical stiffness of the tray, thereby improving the safety of the battery pack, as taught by Seo.
Loo in view of Bender and Seo fails to explicitly disclose wherein said step of molding the battery housing includes over-molding the at least one groove around at least one of the base section, the central body section or the top section of the at least one beam3.
However, Silk discloses a battery assembly comprising a plurality of battery cells coupled to a support including a plurality of trays further disposed in a base frame (Abstract, [0156], entire disclosure dependent upon). Silk teaches studs (corresponding to the instantly claimed beam) which are completely overmolded by the battery support (corresponding to the instantly claimed battery holder) made of a sheet molded composite (SMC) to couple the stud and the battery support ([0168], [0172], [0201]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery housing of Loo in view of Bender and Seo such that said step of molding the at least one groove around at least one of the base section, the central body section or the top section of the at least one beam to couple the stud and the battery support, as taught by Silk.
While Loo discloses the frame is formed by a metal plate ([0016]), Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk fails to explicitly disclose the frame is formed from a steel or aluminum material1.
However, Fees discloses a battery 10 for a vehicle wherein the battery comprises a plurality of battery cells 12 arranged in a housing ([0029]-[0030]).
Fees teaches the use of aluminum based metallic products within battery housings based on the lightweight properties of the material ([0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Loo in view of Bender, Seo, and Silk such that the frame is formed of aluminum material (which meets the claim limitation of steel or aluminum) based on the lightweight properties of aluminum, as taught by Fees.
1 The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
2 The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
3 The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 417, 82 USPQ2d 1396 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Regarding Claim 33, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Fees teaches the instantly claimed method according to Claim 32, and Loo discloses molding a cover 22 from a sheet molding compound (i.e. resin) (SMC) ; and
placing the cover 22 over the battery housing 20 ([0039]-[0040]).
Regarding Claim 34, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Fees teaches the instantly claimed method according to Claim 33, and Loo discloses collectively interconnecting the cover 22, the battery housing 20, and the frame 24 with a tolerance compensation assembly (i.e. fastening members 26) ([0039]).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loo US PG Publication 2012/0301765 in view of Bender US PG Publication 2012/0208057, Seo US PG Publication 2019/0267682, Silk US PG Publication 2013/0196205, and Fees US PG Publication 2014/0093766, as applied to Claim 32, and further in view of Higashino US PG Publication 2011/0027632.
Regarding Claim 35, Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Fees teaches the instantly claimed method according to Claim 32, and Loo discloses placing at least one battery module 36 within the battery housing 20 Fig. 3, [0042], [0060]); and
connecting a spacer member (i.e. bracket 44) to the at least one rib 32 and the at least one beam 42/62/44 to secure the at least one battery module 36 within the battery housing (Figs. 5-6, [0046]-[0047], [0051]-[0052], [0060]).
Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Fees fails to explicitly disclose that the spacer member absorbs side-to-side movement of the at least one battery module during use of the battery housing.
However, Higashino discloses a battery pack for a vehicle (Abstract). Higashino teaches that it is beneficial to absorb the movement of the battery modules to protect the battery modules against the vibration caused by the vehicle ([0105]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Loo in view of Bender, Seo, Silk, and Fees such that the spacer member absorbs the side-to-side movement of the at least one battery module during use of the battery housing in order to protect the battery modules from the vibrations caused by the vehicle, as taught by Higashino.
Conclusion
/O.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729