DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (KR 2020/0088704) (Lee).
In reference to claims 1-2, 6-9, and 23, Lee teaches a compound 28 as shown below that reads on the instant claims.
For Claim 1: Reads on formula 1 wherein R21 to R28 are each deuterium, R11 to R14 are each deuterium, L1 is a fully deuterated phenylene, L2 and L3 are each a deuterated phenylene, Ar1 is fully deuterated naphthyl and Ar2 is fully deuterated phenanthrene.
For Claim 2: Reads on wherein naphthyl and phenanthryl each comprise a benzene.
For Claim 6: Reads on L1 to L3 as fully deuterated.
For Claim 7: Reads on 100% deuteration.
For Claim 8: Reads on 100% deuteration.
For Claim 9: Reads on 10% or more.
For Claim 23: Reads on a material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (KR 2020/0088704) (Lee).
In reference to claims 27 and 29, Lee teaches the compound 28 as shown above for claim 1 and further teaches it is used in an organic electroluminescent as a material in an auxiliary hole transporting layer with additional hole transport layer materials wherein the device further includes an anode, cathode and emitting layer.
While Lee does not exemplify the claimed device, it teaches such a use and it would have been obvious to have used them in the taught application.
In reference to claim 25, Lee teaches the device as described for claim 29 that comprises a compound of Lee and is open to the inclusion of additional compounds of Lee (e.g. compound 9) that reads on the claimed mixture of materials.
While Lee does not exemplify the claimed mixture, it teaches such a use and it would have been obvious to have used them in the taught application.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Claim 34 to 37 are drawn to compounds of formula 1 with specific substituents Ar1 or Ar2 or specific structures. A search of the prior art did not identify these materials.
The closest prior art identified corresponds to Lee (KR 2020/0088704). Lee teaches similar compounds such as compound 28 shown below. However, Lee requires the phenanthrene substituent whereas the instant claims 34 to 37 do not allow for a phenanthrene as required by Lee. Neither Lee nor the prior art as a whole provide motivation to the ordinarily skilled artisan to modify the compounds of Lee to arrive at those instantly claimed.
Claims 34 to 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786