DETAILED ACTION
Amendments to claims 12, 14, 18-19, 21, and 23 and the cancellation of claims 15 and 17, in the response filed March 25, 2026, have been entered.
Claims 12-14, 18-19, and 21-24 are currently pending in the above identified application.
Claim Interpretation
The term “average interfiber space distance” and “space structure” in claim 12 and “space proportion” in claim 18 are interpreted as described in the originally filed disclosure para 0117 and 0118, respectively.
The term “substantially all” in claims 12 and 23 refers to completed removal of the sheath component and captures any inadvertent residual or impurity amounts of sheath component left behind as argued in the remarks filed March 25, 2026, p. 4.
The term “coexist uniformly” in claim 19 means “means that for a crimped fiber X selected arbitrarily in a multifilament, at least one crimped fiber Y that is formed of a polymer different from that of the crimped fiber X exists among all crimped fibers located adjacent to the crimped fiber X” (see para 0095 of the published application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14, 18-19, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitations “[a] multifilament comprising: one or more core components of a core-sheath composite fiber, wherein the core-sheath composite fiber comprise a core component…wherein the core-sheath composite fiber has a cross section containing one or more core components…wherein the multifilament is made by removing substantially all of the sheath component by dissolution, wherein two or more core components are separated by the sheath component, and mutually adjacent core components are of polymers having different melting points.” The claim includes one or more core components of a singular core-sheath composite fiber then later recites two or more core components with mutually adjacent core component being of polymers having different melting points. This appears to constituent a broad range together with a narrow range. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation one or more, and the claim also recites two or more which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Additionally, claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein an average interfiber space distance is 10 to 30 micron, and having a space structure in which the interfiber spaces with distance of less than 5 micron account for 10% to 50%.” It is unclear what is reference by the 10% to 50%. Is the claimed referring to that amount of space between fibers within the multifilament that is less than 5 micron is between 10 to 50% of the space? Is the percentage numeric, area, volumetric? Applicant points to para 0117-0118 as providing support. However, the disclosure states “proportion of the spaces with interfiber space distances of less than 5 μm was also calculated.” There is no indications as to what the proportion is based upon, i.e. what the percentage is based upon. This section also uses the selection of 10 or more fibers, however, 10 or more fibers have not been positively recited. As the basis of the percentage is unclear, the scope of claim 12 is indefinite.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the core component of a multilobar shape has a groove existing at the apex of each convex portion and extending toward a center of gravity of the core component, and a ratio of GN/GM between distance GM from the center of gravity of the core component to a bottom M of the groove and a distance GN from the center of gravity of the core component to an apex N of the convex portion is 1.1 to 1.5.” Claim 12, upon which claim 13 depends, recites the limitation “wherein the core-sheath composite fiber has a cross section containing one or more core components, each possessing a multilobar shape with three or more convex portions.” It is unclear if claim 13 refers to the core-sheath composite fiber one or more core components, one of these core components, or a different core component. If referring to the one or more core components of the core-sheath composite fiber, claim 13 would be directed towards an intermediate that is further processed to form the claimed multifilaments. For the purpose of compact prosecution and prior art application, Examiner will interpret claim 13 as encompassing referring at least one of the one or more core components of the core-sheath composite fiber.
Claim 23 recite the limitation “high order processing”. “High order” is a relative term. It is unclear what the intended scope of “high order processing.”
Claim 24 recites the limitation “wherein the high order processing is either weaving or knitting.” However, the claim is directed towards a multifilament. It is unclear if the claimed multifilament has to be in a woven or knitted form, i.e. a woven or knitted fabric, or merely intends weaving or knitting being part of the formation process but only the multifilament, for example, the multifilament could be removed and separated for another material and is not required to be in woven or knitted form. As a multifilament is claimed and not a fabric, Examiner will interpret claim 24 as encompassing the multifilament being subjected to the claimed weaving or knitting process but not required to be in that form.
The remaining claims are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 /103
Claims 12, 14, 18, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO 2013/133056 to Funakoshi.
NOTE: The English machine translation is being used for prior art mapping.
Regarding claims 12, 14, 18, and 22-24, Funakoshi teaches a multifilament formed from a composite fiber comprising a sea component (sheath component) and multiple islands (one or more core components), including islands having a multilobal cross section such as Y-shape, cross or star shown as separated by the sheath, or sea (Funakoshi, abstract, Fig. 4a-4c, 14a-14d, p. 14-17), reading on a multilobar shape with three or more convex portions. Funakoshi teaches the island being 2 to 10,000 (Id., p. 15), reading on two or more core components. Funakoshi teaches the composite fiber having a cross section in which two or more different polymers are perpendicular to the fiber axis (Id., p. 15), reading on the island (mutually adjacent core component, claim 15) being formed of different polymer (polymers having different melting points). As the polymers are different, they would necessarily have a different melting point. Examiner would like to note that any difference in the temperature is within the scope of the claim. Funakoshi teaches the multifilament consisting of ultrafine fiber formed by precipitation of the island component by removing the sea by elution (Id., p. 16), reading on the multifilament being made by removing substantially all of the sea (sheath component) by dissolution and the sea (sheath) component comprising a polymer that dissolves faster in solvents than the island (core components). Funakoshi teaches the use of sea-island type fiber being used to form smaller fibers used in woven fabric (Id., p. 2), reading on a fiber product containing the multifilament (claim 22) and high order processing that is weaving (claims 23-24).
Funakoshi teaches the multifilament consisting of ultrafine fiber formed by precipitation of the island component by removing the sea by elution (Funakoshi, p. 16). While the prior art combination is silent with regards to the average interfiber space distance and space structure, specifically the average interfiber space distance being 5 to 20 micron and having a space structure in which the interfiber space with distance of less than 5 micron account for 10% to 50%, the claimed properties are deemed to flow naturally from the teachings of the prior art since the prior art combination teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. The prior art combination teaches a multifilament yarn formed from composite fiber having multilobar core components surrounded by a sheath component that is dissolved. Products of identical structure and composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise.
The limitations “one or more core components of a core-sheath composite fiber, wherein the core-sheath composite fiber comprises the core component and a sheath component, wherein the sheath component comprises a polymer that dissolves faster in solvent than the core component, and wherein the core-sheath composite fiber has a cross section containing one or more core component, each possessing a multilobar shape with three or more convex portions and wherein the sheath component surrounds the core component completely, with a maximum thickness Smax and a minimum thickness Smin of the sheath component having a Smax/Smin ratio of 5.0 or more, the cross section being a circle or an ellipse; wherein the multifilament is made by removing substantially all of the sheath component by dissolution, wherein the two or more core components are separated by the sheath component, and mutually adjacent core components are of polymer having different melting points” are interpret as a product by process limitations. Absent a showing to the contrary, it is Examiner's position that the article of the applied prior art is identical to or only slightly different than the claimed article. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The burden has been shifted to Applicant to show unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The applied prior art either anticipated or strongly suggested the claimed subject matter. The necessarily resultant structure appears to be a multifilament comprising one or more core components, at least one core component having a generally multilobar shape. It is noted that if Applicant intends to rely on Examples in the specification or in a submitted declaration to show unobviousness, Applicant should clearly state how the Examples of the present invention are commensurate in scope with the claims and how the Comparative Examples are commensurate in scope with the applied prior art. The necessarily resultant structure for the product-by-process limitation appears to be a multifilament comprising one or more core components. While the core component within the composite fiber has been defined as being multilobar shape, the dissolution process that removes the sheath component could potentially remove portions of the core component.
Regarding claim 23, the limitations “[a] multifilament made by the process of: forming the multifilament by high order processing from a core-sheath composite fiber, wherein the core-sheath composite fiber comprises two or more core-components, each possessing a multilobar shape with three or more convex portions; and a sheath component, wherein the sheath component surrounds the core component completely, with a maximum thickness Smax and a minimum thickness Smin of the sheath component having a Smax/Smin ratio of 5.0 or more, the cross section of the sheath component being a circle or an ellipse; wherein the core-component and sheath component comprises different polymers such that the sheath component dissolves faster in solvent than the core component; and removing the sheath component by dissolution to yield a multifilament comprising the core component, substantially free of the sheath component” appear to be limitations with regards to the intermediate core-sheath composite fiber and therefore a product-by-process limitation. Absent a showing to the contrary, it is Examiner's position that the article of the applied prior art is identical to or only slightly different than the claimed article. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The burden has been shifted to Applicant to show unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The necessarily resultant structure appears to be a multifilament comprising one or more core components, at least one core component having a generally multilobar shape for claim 23. The applied prior art either anticipated or strongly suggested the claimed subject matter. It is noted that if Applicant intends to rely on Examples in the specification or in a submitted declaration to show unobviousness, Applicant should clearly state how the Examples of the present invention are commensurate in scope with the claims and how the Comparative Examples are commensurate in scope with the applied prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2013/133056 to Funakoshi, as applied to claims 12, 14, 18, and 22-24 above, in view of US Pub. No. 2017/0335498 to Hansen.
Regarding claims 19, Funakoshi teaches composite fiber include side-by-side and sea-island fiber and the side-by-side makes it possible to express crimpability (Funakoshi, p. 2, 7-8). Funakoshi teaches the composite fiber comprising two or more kinds of polymers (Id., p. 14), reading on the use of two types of polymers forming the island (core components).
Funakoshi does not explicitly teach the multifilament comprising two or more types of crimped fibers formed of polymers having different melting points, wherein the crimped fibers coexist uniformly.
However, Hansen teaches the formation of crimped fiber having a multilobal arrangement with a first and second component in side-by-side arrangement having different melting properties that results in soft and bulky textile characteristics (Hansen, abstract, para 0019, 0024, 0043, 0092-0093).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the yarn of Funakoshi, wherein the filaments are crimped filaments as taught by Hansen containing two different melting points, motivated by the desire of using conventionally known multilobal arrangement predictably suitable for use in fiber and by the desire to impart soft and bulky characteristics to the yarn and fabrics formed from the yarns. Absent evidence to the contrary, the crimped fibers would coexist uniformly as being formed from filaments having the same cross section, sheath removed, and formed into yarns.
Claims 12, 14, 18-19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2013/133056 to Funakoshi, optionally in view of US Pub. No. 2017/0335498 to Hansen, as applied to claims 12, 14, 18-19, and 22-24 above, further in view of USPN 3,367,100 to Hughley and USPN 3,388,547 to Koga.
Regarding claims 12, 14, 18-19, and 22-24, in the event that the average interfiber space distance and space structure is not inherent to Funakoshi, Hughley teaches a multifilament yarn that is bulky and therefore has greater covering power and warmth due to enhanced lateral spacing of the filaments (Hughley, abstract, col. 9 line 54- col. 10 lines 10). Hughley teaches the yarns having an X-shaped, Y-shaped, or multilobal shaped cross section (Id., col. 9 lines 44-53). Koga teaches that heat-insulating properties of a yarn owe much to the amount of air trapped in the interfiber space (Koga, col. 2 lines 14-23). Therefore, Hughley and Koga establish the interfiber spacing is a result effective variable with regards to the covering power and heat-insulating properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the interfiber spacing in order to predictably influence the covering power and heat insulating properties as taught Hughley and Koga, such as arriving at the claimed values, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claims 12-13, 18, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,876,650 to Burlone in view of USPN 3,367,100 to Hughley.
Regarding claims 12-13, 18, and 22-24, Burlone teaches a fiber (core-sheath composite fiber) produced having at least two component that have different solubility characteristics with a cross section having three lobes (core component having multilobar shape) and a grove at the apex of each lobe (claim 13) with a easily dissolved sheath (Burlone, abstract, Fig. 1E, 2E col. 1 lines 33-62), reading on the core-sheath composite fiber comprising a core component and sheath component, the core-sheath composite fiber having a cross section containing one core component possessing a multilobar shape with three convex portion and a groove existing at the apex of each convex portion (claim 13). Burlone teaches the inner core remains as the final fiber (Id., col. 3 lines 33- col. 4 line 4), reading on the filament being made by removing substantially all of the sheath component by dissolution. Burlone teaches the fiber cross sections can enhance tactile and comfort properties, alter luster, enhance covering power, enhance absorptivity and wicking power, and alter bend modulus (Id., col. 3 lines 33-42). Burlone teaches formation of composite filaments and the use in yarn as well as processed into final goods, such as woven or knitted fabric (claims 22, 24), that can then be treated with solvent to remove the soluble component (Id., col. 3 lines 14-42). Burlone teaches the fiber can be processed using conventional techniques including texturing (Burlone, col. 3 lines 28-32).
Burlone does not explicitly teach the yarn being a multifilament yarn.
Hughley teaches a multifilament yarn that is bulky and therefore has greater covering power and warmth due to enhanced lateral spacing of the filaments (Hughley, abstract, col. 9 line 54- col. 10 lines 10). Hughley teaches the yarns having an X-shaped, Y-shaped, or multilobal shaped cross section (Id., col. 9 lines 44-53). Hughley teaches the bulky yarn impart numerous and desirable effect in woven and knitted fabrics made therefrom (Id., col. 10 lines 4-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the yarn of Burlone, wherein the yarn is a multifilament yarn containing multiple multilobar filaments as taught by Hughley, motivated by the desire of forming conventionally known yarns containing multilobar shaped cross sections predictable suitable for use in woven and knitted fabric and by the desire to impart bulk and warmth.
The limitations “one or more core components of a core-sheath composite fiber, wherein the core-sheath composite fiber comprises the core component and a sheath component, wherein the sheath component comprises a polymer that dissolves faster in solvent than the core component, and wherein the core-sheath composite fiber has a cross section containing one or more core component, each possessing a multilobar shape with three or more convex portions and wherein the sheath component surrounds the core component completely, with a maximum thickness Smax and a minimum thickness Smin of the sheath component having a Smax/Smin ratio of 5.0 or more, the cross section being a circle or an ellipse; wherein the multifilament is made by removing substantially all of the sheath component by dissolution, wherein the two or more core components are separated by the sheath component, and mutually adjacent core components are of polymer having different melting points” (claim 12), “wherein the core component of a multilobar shape has a groove existing at the apex of each convex portion and extending toward a center of gravity of the core component, and a ratio of GN/GM between distance GM from the center of gravity of the core component to a bottom M of the groove and a distance GN from the center of gravity of the core component to an apex N of the convex portion is 1.1 to 1.5” (claim 13), and “[a] multifilament made by the process of: forming the multifilament by high order processing from a core-sheath composite fiber, wherein the core-sheath composite fiber comprises two or more core-components, each possessing a multilobar shape with three or more convex portions; and a sheath component, wherein the sheath component surrounds the core component completely, with a maximum thickness Smax and a minimum thickness Smin of the sheath component having a Smax/Smin ratio of 5.0 or more, the cross section of the sheath component being a circle or an ellipse; wherein the core-component and sheath component comprises different polymers such that the sheath component dissolves faster in solvent than the core component; and removing the sheath component by dissolution to yield a multifilament comprising the core component, substantially free of the sheath component” are interpret as a product by process limitation. Absent a showing to the contrary, it is Examiner's position that the article of the applied prior art is identical to or only slightly different than the claimed article. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The burden has been shifted to Applicant to show unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The applied prior art either anticipated or strongly suggested the claimed subject matter. The necessarily resultant structure appears to be a multifilament comprising one or more core components, at least one core component having a generally multilobar shape (claim 12, 23), multilobar core component shape with convex portion on the apex (claim 13). It is noted that if Applicant intends to rely on Examples in the specification or in a submitted declaration to show unobviousness, Applicant should clearly state how the Examples of the present invention are commensurate in scope with the claims and how the Comparative Examples are commensurate in scope with the applied prior art. The necessarily resultant structure for the product-by-process limitation appears to be a multifilament comprising one or more core components. While the core component within the composite fiber has been defined as being multilobar shape, the dissolution process that removes the sheath component could potentially remove portions of the core component.
Regarding claim 12 and 18, the prior art combination teaches the multifilament being formed by removing the easily dissolve component and include after formation of good (Burlone, col. 3 lines 14-42). While the prior art combination is silent with regards to the average interfiber space distance and space structure, specifically the average interfiber space distance being 5 to 20 micron and having a space structure in which the interfiber space with distance of less than 5 micron account for 10% to 50%, the claimed properties are deemed to flow naturally from the teachings of the prior art since the prior art combination teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. The prior art combination teaches a multifilament yarn formed from composite fiber having multilobar core components surrounded by a sheath component that is dissolved. Products of identical structure and composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise.
Claims 12-13, 18, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,876,650 to Burlone and USPN 3,367,100 to Hughley, as applied to claims 12-13, 18, and 22-24 above, further in view of USPN 3,388,547 to Koga.
Regarding claims 12-13, 18, and 22-24, in the event that the average interfiber space distance and space structure is not inherent to Funakoshi, the prior art combination teaches a multifilament yarn that is bulky and therefore has greater covering power and warmth due to enhanced lateral spacing of the filaments (Hughley, abstract, col. 9 line 54- col. 10 lines 10). Hughley teaches the yarns having an X-shaped, Y-shaped, or multilobal shaped cross section (Id., col. 9 lines 44-53). Koga teaches that heat-insulating properties of a yarn owe much to the amount of air trapped in the interfiber space (Koga, col. 2 lines 14-23). Therefore, Hughley and Koga establish the interfiber spacing is a result effective variable with regards to the covering power and heat-insulating properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the interfiber spacing in order to predictably influence the covering power and heat insulating properties as taught Hughley and Koga, such as arriving at the claimed values, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,876,650 to Burlone, USPN 3,367,100 to Hughley, and, optionally, USPN 3,388,547 to Koga, as applied to claims 12-13, 18, and 22-24 above, further in view of US Pub. No. 2002/0106509 to Figuly.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art combination teaches a fiber produced having at least two component that have different solubility characteristics with a cross section having three lobes and a grove at the apex of each lobe (Burlone, abstract, Fig. 1E, col. 1 lines 33-62). The prior art combination teaches the fiber cross sections can enhance tactile and comfort properties, alter luster, enhance covering power, enhance absorptivity and wicking power, and alter bend modulus (Id., col. 3 lines 33-42).
The prior art combination does not appear to explicitly teach the groove at the apex of each convex portions and extending toward a center of gravity of the core component, and a ratio of GN/GM between distance GM from the center of gravity G of the core component to a bottom M of the groove and a distance GN from the center of gravity G of the core component to an apex N of the convex portion is 1.1 to 1.5.
However, Figuly teaches a composite fiber containing a groove having an outer radius of the core to an inner radius of the core greater than about 1.2 to about 2.0 and a lower ratio, delamination can occur (Figuly, abstract, Figure 1, para 0011, 0037), reading on a ratio GN/GM ratio of 1.2 to 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the fiber of the prior art combination, wherein the fiber inner core component contains the groove at the apex of each lobe having the ratio as taught by Figuly, motivated by the desire of forming conventionally known composite fibers having a multilobal inner core component and groove dimensions predictably suitable in composite fibers and by the desire to enhance the tactile and comfort properties, alter the luster, enhance covering power, and alter bend modulus while ensuring adhesion of the components during process. While the reference does not specifically teach the claimed range of 1.1 to 1.5, the disclosed range of the prior art combination overlaps with the instant claimed range. It should be noted that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to Applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust, vary, and optimize the ratio, such as within the claimed range, motivated by the desire to successfully practice the invention of the prior art based on the totality of the teachings of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with regards to the limitation of interfiber spaces of less than 5 micrometers accounting for 10% to 50% of the total space within the multifilament that the claim language specifies that within the space structure, interfiber spaces with distance of less than 5 micron accounts for 10% to 50% of the interfiber space. However, the percentage is not defined nor clear. Is it numeric? Area? Volumetric? Applicant points to para 0117-0118 as providing support. However, the disclosure states “proportion of the spaces with interfiber space distances of less than 5 μm was also calculated.” There is no indications as to what the proportion is based upon, i.e. what the percentage is based upon. This section also uses the selection of 10 or more fibers, however, 10 or more fibers have not been positively recited. As the basis of the percentage is unclear, the scope of claim 12 is indefinite.
Applicant argues, with regards to claims 23-24, that the final multifilament contains two or more core components that were part of the core-sheath bicomponent fiber and that the claimed weaving or knitting process being applied to the multifilaments and therefore clear. Examiner respectfully disagrees. While weaving and knitting are within the definition of “high order processing,” the scope of “high order processing” is not clear. Additionally, once woven or knitted, the material appears to be a fabric or collection of multifilaments, not a singular multifilament as claimed.
Applicant argues, with regards to the application of Funakoshi, that the conventional material, including those of Funakoshi, employing methods of dissolving the sea component to form interfiber voids only result in interfiber voids biased toward either less than 5 micron or 10 micron of greater, pointing to Comparative Examples 1 and 2. Comp Ex 1 uses a round cross section and Comp Ex 2 uses a trilobal with equal thickness sheath. Neither embodiment is reflective of the prior art which teaches island and sea structure. Therefore, Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the features are necessarily missing from the prior art. Additionally, Hughley and Koga establish that the lateral spacing of filament within a multifilament yarn is associated with covering power and warmth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the interfiber spacing in order to predictably influence the covering power and heat insulating properties as taught Hughley and Koga, such as arriving at the claimed values, absent evidence to the contrary.
Applicant argues that amended claim 12 now expressly requires two or more core component separated by the sheath component and mutually adjacent core components of polymers having different melting points, however, these are features with regards to initial fiber that is used to form the multifilament and therefore considered a product-by-process limitation. Additionally, it is not clear that the two or more core components are contained in the finally formed multifilament due to the original reference to one or more core components formed a core-sheath composite fiber. Therefore, Examiner maintains the rejections detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A GILLETT/Examiner, Art Unit 1789