DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/08/2022 and 9/01/2024 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN 209297020 N). An English machine translation has been provided for the foreign patent publication.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an optical imaging lens assembly (Fig 1, [0008], imaging assembly), sequentially comprising from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig 1, [0008]): a first lens (L1) with a positive refractive power ([0102]), an object-side surface thereof is a convex surface (Fig 1), and an image-side surface thereof is a concave surface (Fig 1); a second lens (L2) with a negative refractive power ([0102]); a third lens (L3) with a refractive power ([0102]); a fourth lens (L4) with a positive refractive power ([0102]); and a fifth lens (L5) with a negative refractive power ([0102]); wherein VP is an on-axis distance from an intersection point of a straight line where a marginal ray of the optical imaging lens assembly is located and the optical axis to the object-side surface of the first lens, and VP satisfies 0mm < VP < 1.5mm (Table 1, VP is 0.99mm and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses wherein an effective focal length f4 of the fourth lens and an effective focal length f1 of the first lens satisfy 1.0<f4/f1<1.4 (Table 1, calculated to be f4/f1 is 1.09 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses wherein an effective focal length f2 of the second lens, an effective focal length f5 of the fifth lens and a total effective focal length f of the optical imaging lens assembly satisfy 1.4<(f5-f2)/f<1.8 (Table 1, calculated to be (f5-f2)/f is 1.78 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging surface of the optical imaging lens assembly on the optical axis, ImgH is a half of a diagonal length of an effective pixel region on the imaging surface, and TTL and ImgH satisfy TTL/ImgH<1.3 (Table 1, calculated to be TTL/ImgH is 1.23 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses wherein FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical imaging lens assembly, and FOV satisfies 82°<FOV<87° (Table 1, calculated to be 85° and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses wherein EPD is an Entrance Pupil Diameter of the optical imaging lens assembly, ImgH is a half of a diagonal length of an effective pixel region on an imaging surface of the optical imaging lens assembly, and EPD and ImgH satisfy 0.4<EPD/ImgH<0.6 (Table 1, calculated to be EPD/ImgH is 0.52 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses wherein a curvature radius R1 of the object-side surface of the first lens, a curvature radius R2 of the image-side surface of the first lens, a curvature radius R3 of an object-side surface of the second lens and a curvature radius R4 of an image-side surface of the second lens satisfy 1.9<(R3+R4)/(R1 +R2)<2.6 (Table 1, calculated to be (R3+R4)/(R1 +R2) is 2.18 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses wherein a total effective focal length f of the optical imaging lens assembly, a curvature radius R8 of an image-side surface of the fourth lens and a curvature radius R10 of an image-side surface of the fifth lens satisfy 0.7<(R10-R8)/f<1.2 (Table 1, calculated to be (R10-R8)/f is 0.81 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses wherein a spacing distance T34 of the third lens and the fourth lens on the optical axis, a center thickness CT4 of the fourth lens on the optical axis, a spacing distance T45 of the fourth lens and the fifth lens on the optical axis and a center thickness CT5 of the fifth lens on the optical axis satisfy 1.0<(T34+CT4)/(T45+CT5)<1.3 (Table 1, calculated to be (T34+CT4)/(T45+CT5) is 1.18 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses wherein a combined focal length f12 of the first lens and the second lens, a center thickness CT1 of the first lens on the optical axis and a center thickness CT2 of the second lens on the optical axis satisfy 6.0<f12(CT1+CT2)<6.5 (Table 6, calculated to be f12(CT1+CT2) is 6.07 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses wherein a window diameter DW of the optical imaging lens assembly satisfies 1.5mm < DW < 2.0mm (Table 6, calculated to be DW is 1.95mm and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses an optical imaging lens assembly (Fig 5, [0008], imaging assembly), sequentially comprising from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig 5, [0157]): a first lens (L1) with a positive refractive power ([0157]), an object-side surface thereof is a convex surface (Fig 5), and an image-side surface thereof is a concave surface (Fig 5); a second lens (L2) with a negative refractive power ([0157]); a third lens (L3) with a refractive power ([0157]); a fourth lens (L4) with a positive refractive power ([0157]); and a fifth lens (L5) with a negative refractive power ([0157]); wherein a window diameter DW of the optical imaging lens assembly satisfies 1.5mm<DW<2.0mm (Table 6, calculated to be DW is 1.95mm and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses wherein an effective focal length f4 of the fourth lens and an effective focal length f1 of the first lens satisfy 1.0<f4/f1<1.4 (Table 1, calculated to be f4/f1 is 1.09 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses wherein an effective focal length f2 of the second lens, an effective focal length f5 of the fifth lens and a total effective focal length f of the optical imaging lens assembly satisfy 1.4<(f5-f2)/f<1.8 (Table 1, calculated to be (f5-f2)/f is 1.78 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging surface of the optical imaging lens assembly on the optical axis, ImgH is a half of a diagonal length of an effective pixel region on the imaging surface, and TTL and ImgH satisfy TTL/ImgH<1.3 (Table 1, calculated to be TTL/ImgH is 1.23 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses wherein FOV is a maximum field of view of the optical imaging lens assembly, and FOV satisfies 82°<FOV<87° (Table 1, calculated to be 85° and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses wherein EPD is an Entrance Pupil Diameter of the optical imaging lens assembly, ImgH is a half of a diagonal length of an effective pixel region on an imaging surface of the optical imaging lens assembly, and EPD and ImgH satisfy 0.4<EPD/ImgH<0.6 (Table 1, calculated to be EPD/ImgH is 0.52 and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses wherein a curvature radius R1 of the object-side surface of the first lens, a curvature radius R2 of the image-side surface of the first lens, a curvature radius R3 of an object-side surface of the second lens and a curvature radius R4 of an image-side surface of the second lens satisfy 1.9<(R3+R4)/(R1 +R2)<2.6 (Table 1, calculated to be (R3+R4)/(R1 +R2) is 2.18 and within the claimed range).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 10, the prior art of Liu taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical imaging lens assembly comprising: “wherein ImgH is a half of a diagonal length of an effective pixel region on an imaging surface of the optical imaging lens assembly, and an effective semi-diameter DT11 of the object-side surface of the first lens and ImgH satisfy 2.3<10 x DT11/ImgH<2.8”.
Specifically, with respect to dependent claim 13, the prior art of Liu taken either singly or in combination with any other prior art fails to suggest such an optical imaging lens assembly comprising: “wherein SAG51 is an on-axis distance from an intersection point of an object-side surface of the fifth lens and the optical axis to an effective radius vertex of the object-side surface of the fifth lens, SAG52 is an on-axis distance from an intersection point of an image-side surface of the fifth lens and the optical axis to an effective radius vertex of the image-side surface of the fifth lens, and SAG51 and SAG52 satisfy 0.7< SAG52/SAG51 <0.9”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen (20210116683) and Zhang (20200409117) are examples of a five lens optical assembly providing a lens system with high image quality.
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/Examiner, Art Unit 2872