DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application, filed 03/08/2022, is a national stage entry 371 of PCT/GB2020/052187, filed 09/10/2020. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in United Kingdom (GB1913068.1) on 09/10/2019. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR § 1.55.
Amendments and Claim Status
The following amendment was filed on 11/17/2025:
Claims 13, 18, and 27 are amended;
Claims 25 and 26 are cancelled;
Claim 28 is added;
Claims 1-12 remain withdrawn according to 37 CFR § 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention and species;
Claims 1-24, 27, and 28 are pending and are under prosecution.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/08/2026 with respect to the claim objections and claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 103 have been fully considered.
With respect to the rejection of claims 13-23 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (Antimicrob Agents Chemother. Vol. 41, No. 8, pages 1765–1769, published August 1, 1997, cited on applicant IDS), hereinafter Chien, in view of Moon and Oh (Journal of Pharmaceutical Investigation, Volume 46, pages 615-631, published November 19, 2016), the claim amendments and arguments made by Applicant have been fully considered. The arguments made by applicant are herein addressed as follows.
Applicant argues that Chien only studied the pharmacokinetics and safety of levofloxacin during concomitant AZT therapy, and never suggests AZT has antibacterial activity.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because the instant claims are directed to a composition, blister pack, or parenteral product. They are not directed to a method requiring any particular antibacterial utility or mechanism. Chien already discloses the identical two active ingredients as instantly claimed. It is well-established in the pharmaceutical art that combining two known active agents that are already co-administered into a single dose formulation constitutes a routine formulation choice and represents an obvious design alternative under MPEP § 2144.04. That is, there is no requirement that the prior art disclose a particular utility or mechanism of action of AZT. The disclosure of the two components within the prior art is sufficient to render the instant claims obvious.
Applicant argues the asserted advantages of a blister pack/parenteral product (control dosing, improved adherence, accommodating patients who can’t take oral doses) are already achieved by the concurrent administration taught by Chien. Thus, applicant concludes that the skilled person reading Chien would achieve no upon combining the two agents into a single composition, blister pack, or parenteral product.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because the fact that Chien achieves controlled co-dosing to separately administered fixed doses supports the motivation to consolidate those same fixed doses into a single product. The single product represents a more convenient and error-resistant means of achieving the identical result Chien already discloses.
Applicant argues that a combined product improves adherence is unsubstantiated, since Chien does not indicate that patients had difficulty adhering to the concurrent regimen, and that patients on lifelong AZT are already accustomed to regular medication regiments.
Applicant’s argument is unconvincing because the rationale is not dependent on Chien documenting a pre-existing compliance problem. Rather, the argument reflects a generally recognized benefit of fixed dose combination products (i.e., reduce pill burden and dosing complexity). Furthermore, Applicant’s assumption that established AZT users are inherently good at managing any regimen—including a temporarily added medication with different dosage timing or food requirements—is entirely unsupported. Being accustomed to one steady daily regimen does not establish that adding a second, differently scheduled drug during an acute infection poses no adherence risk that a combined product would not mitigate.
Applicant argues that a combined product would actually worsen adherence relative to Chien, because the patient stabilized on AZT would need to interrupt that regimen, initiate the combination product for the infection duration, and then resume the original AZT regimen. Applicant argues that minimizing regimen changes is best practice in chronic disease management.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because the scenario put forth by Applicant is not required by any limitation of the instant claims. That is, no claim in the instant claims that requires patients to already be stabilized on an AZT-only therapy. Furthermore, a patient newly initiating both drugs simultaneously, for example, presents no such transition. Additionally, Applicant’s own logic suggests that consolidating any changes to a single new product (rather than introducing a second independently scheduled product alongside the unchanged AZT regimen) would actually minimize, not maximize the number of moving parts the patient must track during any changes.
Applicant argues that no practical burden-reduction advantage exists because a patient who develops a bacterial infection must, in any event, visit a pharmacy to obtain the fluoroquinolone antibiotic. Therefore, Applicant argues that a pre-combined product offers no reduction in visits or prescriptions.
Applicant’s argument is unconvincing because Applicant again presents a specific scenario that is not required by the limitations of the instant claims, and which is not universally true. For example, inpatient administration, and health systems that stock the combined products as a single line item do not require an independent standalone fluoroquinolone to be obtained. The simple fact remains: a patient managing one medication with one dosing schedule rather than two separate products with potentially different timing, storage, or administration requirements experiences a reduction in day-to-day burden regardless of how their prescription was filled.
Applicant argues that prescribing a combined product off-cycle for the patient’s existing AZT repeat prescription could cause excess AZT exposure, which is an inefficiency that Chien’s separate administration approach avoids.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because the scenario, yet again, does not apply to the instantly claimed product, which recites no limitations about prescription timing or cycles. Furthermore, the same “excess exposure” risk exists, and is arguably greater under separate administration. The patient managing two independent refill schedules for two distinct products is more likely to end up with overlapping, or excess supply of one component. The patient on a single combined product would not be.
Finally, Applicant argues that the office has not established that features of Moon, Brewster, Weimer, or Connor could not have been used to modify Chien by known methods to achieve predictable results without undue experimentation.
Applicant’s argument is found unpersuasive because the references are cited only for the narrow proposition that blister packs and parenteral forms are conventional dosage configurations. This is common general knowledge, and not a technical hurdle requiring an “undue experimentation” analysis, which is properly an enablement concept under 35 U.S.C. § 112— and not a requirement for 35 U.S.C. § 103 in selecting a known dosage form. Applicant hasn’t identified any technical incompatibility, chemical instability, or formulation obstacle specific to combining the disclosures that would render the instant claims unpredictable.
Applicant’s arguments are found unconvincing and have not identified any rationale that would render the instant claims non-obvious over the prior art. As such, the rejection is hereby maintained.
With respect to the rejection of claims 24, and 28 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (Antimicrob Agents Chemother. Vol. 41, No. 8, pages 1765–1769, published August 1, 1997, cited on applicant IDS), hereinafter Chien, as applied to claims 13-23 above, in view of Brewster et al (International Journal of Pharmaceutics, Volume 125, Issue 1, pg. 17-30), hereinafter Brewster, and further in view of Wimer (Clinical Therapeutics, Volume 20, Issue 6, pg. 1049-1070, published December 1998), no arguments have been presented by Applicant.
Applicant has not identified any rationale that would render the instant claims non-obvious over the prior art. Accordingly, the rejection is hereby maintained.
With respect to the rejection of claim 27 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (Antimicrob Agents Chemother. Vol. 41, No. 8, pages 1765–1769, published August 1, 1997, cited on applicant IDS), hereinafter Chien, in view of Moon and Oh (see earlier citation), as applied to claims 13-23 above, and further in view of Connor et al. (Bulletin of the World Health Organization, Volume 82, Issue 12, published December 2004), hereinafter Connor, no arguments have been presented by Applicant regarding the specific rejection.
Applicant has not identified any rationale that would render the instant claims non-obvious over the prior art. Accordingly, the rejection is hereby maintained.
With respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejections of claim 13-27 as being unpatentable over claims 18, 20-28, 30 and 31 of copending Application No. 17/768,669 (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0197767 A1) in view of Kim et al. (Ann Lab Med 2017;37:231-239, published May 1, 2017), hereinafter Kim, claims 1-7, 15, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,951,119 in view of Kim, claims 1-5, and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,888,575 in view of Kim, and claims 3-5 of U.S. Patent No. 9,757,427 in view of Kim, the claim amendments and arguments made by Applicant are insufficient to overcome the rejections. The arguments made by Applicant are herein addressed as follows.
Regarding application number 17/768, 669, applicant argues the still pending application has a later effective priority date in the present application, making it a later file reference. Applicant maintains that a later-filed, later-issued, later-expiring reference claim cannot serve as a proper ODP reference against a first-filed, first-issued, first-expiring application.
Applicant’s argument is found unpersuasive because the instant claims are not in condition for allowance, and Applicant’s priority timing argument is not applicable. According to MPEP § 804 (I)(B)(1)(b)(i),
If a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is the only rejection remaining in an application having the earlier patent term filing date, the examiner should withdraw the rejection in the application having the earlier patent term filing date and permit that application to issue as a patent, thereby converting the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection in the other application into a nonstatutory double patenting rejection upon issuance of the patent.
As such, the double patenting rejection remains applicable, and is hereby maintained.
Regarding unexpected synergy, applicant argues that the antibacterial synergy demonstrated in the instant application would not have been obvious to a skilled medicinal chemist, because whether a particular antimicrobial combination will exhibit synergy is inherently unpredictable and is determined empirically. Applicant further argues that AZT and fluoroquinolones act at different, unrelated steps of bacterial DNA processes. Applicant argues more specifically that only additive and not synergistic effects would have been expected.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because the instant claims only require that some objective synergistic amount be present, not a predictable magnitude. General unpredictability of synergy does not defeat a reasonable expectation that some synergy would occur. The reference patents already show AZT synergizing with several other antibiotic classes, despite similar mechanistic non-overlap. That pattern supports an expectation of synergy here as well. Furthermore, synergy does not require two drugs to share a pathway.
Regarding US 10,888, 575, Applicant argues meropenem combined with AZT shows only an 8-fold MIC reduction against BAA 2472 in Example 1. On this point, Applicant argues that the claimed fluoroquinolones show much larger reductions against the same s strain (256, 32, and 128-fold) applicant argues that this demonstrates unexpected and enhanced synergy.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because claim 13 only requires some effective synergistic amount, not any particular degree of synergy. A bigger fold reduction shows more of the same synergistic effect. It does not show the synergy itself was unexpected. Furthermore, the comparison is also unreliable, because fold reduction depends heavily on each strain’s starting MIC. Applicant hasn’t shown the two studies use the same testing conditions.
Regarding US 9,757,427, applicant argues colistin combined with AZT shows only a 4-fold MIC reduction against E. coli in example 1. Applicant argue that the claimed combination shows much larger reductions against BAA2469 (512, 32, and 16-fold). Applicant also argues that the E. coli strain tested in the patent is not described as resistant. Applicant argues BAA2469 is independently documented multidrug resistant strain, including resistance to quinolones. As such, applicant argues that showing synergy against strain resistant to the fluoroquinolone is a further unexpected effect.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because the fold reduction comparison again only shows a difference in degree. The comparison is also uncontrolled for the same baseline-MIC reasons discussed above. As to the argument regarding the resistant strain, comparing two different strains with different resistance profiles does not isolate the effect of the claimed combination. In contrast, it is confounded by the strains being different themselves. Potentiating a drug against strain partially resistant to it is a known, expected outcome of combination therapy.. A combination that boosts drug accumulation can still restore effectiveness, it is not considered unpredictable.
Regarding example 4 of the instant application, Applicant argues that example 4 shows AZT combined with the complexities and is synergistic against Enterobacteriaceae exhibiting carbapenem resistance, ESBL production, and/or intermediate resistance to levofloxacin itself. Applicant argues that showing synergy against the strain with intermediate resistance to the very fluoroquinolone in combination is surprising and would not have been expected from the cited applications and patents.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because the instant claims do not require any particular resistance profile in the target organism. As such, this result is not required to satisfy the limitations of the claim. Furthermore, potentiating a drug against a strain with intermediate resistance to the same drug is a recognized, expected outcome of combination therapy.
Regarding the nonstatutory double patenting rejections, applicant argues that the terminal disclaimer is unnecessary, because granting the present claims would not create an unjustified timewise extension, since practicing the present claims would not necessarily preclude practicing the earlier patent claims.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because ODP isn’t limited to preventing literal overlapping practice. It also blocks the second, later expiring patent or an obvious variant of subject matter already claimed, regardless of whether the two could be practiced independently. Because the instant claims are an obvious variant of the referenced application and patents, terminal disclaimer is required regardless of any practical overlap.
Applicant has not identified any rationale that would render the instant claims patentable over the co-pending and patented claims. Accordingly, the rejections are hereby maintained.
Specification
The amendment to the specification filed 07/08/2026 is hereby entered.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
The text of those sections of title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office action.
Claims 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (Antimicrob Agents Chemother. Vol. 41, No. 8, pages 1765–1769, published August 1 1997, cited on applicant IDS), hereinafter Chien, in view of Moon and Oh (Journal of Pharmaceutical Investigation, Volume 46, pages 615-631, published November 19, 2016).
The instant claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising zidovudine and a fluoroquinolone, elected in the instant case to be levofloxacin, provided in a single combined formulation, wherein the components are present in the composition in amounts effective to elicit synergistic activity. The claims are further draw to a product which is either a blister pack comprising dosage forms containing zidovudine and fluoroquinolone, elected to be levofloxacin, in separate or single formulations, or a formulation comprising zidovudine and fluoroquinolone, elected to be levofloxacin, in separate compositions or a combined composition.
Chien teaches the concomitant administration of levofloxacin and zidovudine for use in the treatment of a microbial infection (HIV) (title). Chien discloses an oral tablet form, and pharmaceutical regimens and products wherein zidovudine and levofloxacin are administered together (Abstract, page 1766 study design) which meets the limitations of the instant claims, including those directed to compositions, tablets and unit dosage forms containing separate or unitary formulations for oral administration. Levofloxacin is administered as a tablet, which necessarily includes pharmaceutically acceptable excipients typical of oral dosage forms (page 1766).
Regarding claims 13-23, the teachings of Chien render obvious the instant claims by teaching the simultaneous administration of zidovudine and levofloxacin to patients in the form of oral tablets with dosage forms containing pharmaceutically acceptable carriers or excipients. Within the disclosure, both drugs are administered together as a part of a pharmaceutical regimen, inherently meeting the limitations of a pharmaceutical composition or product containing both agents.
Regarding claim 13, Chien fails to teach a single combined formulation comprising zidovudine and levofloxacin provided in amounts effective to provide synergistic activity against microbial infection.
The deficiencies of Chien are remedied by Moon and Oh, who teach that the combination of multidrug components into a single formulation will increase patient compliance and yield better treatment outcomes (Abstract, Table 2). Combination effects known to be elicited from unitary formations are taught to affect the same pharmacodynamic end-point with different mechanisms and contributing to additive or synergistic effects on reduction of disease severity and risk (page 618, Table 2).
Wherein the prior art teaches the concurrent administration of two therapeutic agents to the same patient population, the conversion of such a therapy into a unitary formulation would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of convenience and standard of practice following the teachings of Moon and Oh, yielding a simpler dosing by reducing pill burden, and thereby improving patient compliance (Abstract, pages 615-619). Furthermore, beyond the teachings of Moon and Oh, the act of combining two therapeutically active agents whose combination is already disclosed within the prior art, inherently lends itself to additive or synergistic biological activity, particularly where both agents are administered to the same patient population and target overlapping or related clinical conditions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the administration of zidovudine and fluoroquinolone will result in at least an additive therapeutic effect although not inherently taught in the reference, and would have been motivated to further explore their combination in appropriate ratios to elicit enhanced clinical benefit in a unitary, synergistic formulation.
Further regarding claim 13, the dosage regimens disclosed in the prior art overlap with the concentration ranges at which synergistic effects are alleged in the instant specification (see pages 29-31, example 2 of the instant specification). More specifically, the prior art study administers zidovudine at 100 mg doses up to a maximum of 500mg/day with levofloxacin at approximately 350 mg (page 1766 of Chien), overlapping with the dosages broadly claimed within the instant application (see example 2, instant specification). As such, the overlapping amounts of zidovudine and levofloxacin taught within the prior art would be expected to provide a synergistic combination.
For clarity of the record, wherein dosages detailed in the instant specification are given in terms of plasma concentration in mg/L and the dosages in the prior art are taught as a mass given in mg: a dose administered in mg corresponds to a systemic concentration in mg/L upon the distribution of the dose into the body’s total volume of distribution, yielding a plasma concentration. For example, a 300-500 mg oral dose of a small molecule drug with the typical volume of distribution on the order of tens to hundreds of liters of blood plasma would reasonably be expected to produce a plasma concentration in the low mg/L range. This overlap in concentration is further evidenced by Tables 2 and 4 and Figure 4 of Chien, which detail plasma concentrations in mg/mL, wherein 1mg/mL = 1 mg/L. More directly, the Cmax values of levofloxacin within the prior art correspond to 3.82-7.06 mg/mL, which overlap with the concentrations of levofloxacin detailed in example 2 of the instant specification, spanning the 4-8 mg/L concentrations tested within the dilution series shown on page 31 of the instant specification. Furthermore, Applicant claims broad concentration ranges which allegedly result in synergy, deemed obvious as a routine optimization of the ratio already taught within the prior art by Chien. The courts have found that,
“where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 II.
Therefore, the instantly claimed synergistic activity resulting from the broadly claimed concentrations of zidovudine and levofloxacin merely represents a routine optimization of the ratio of zidovudine and fluoroquinolone already disclosed in the cited prior art by Chien. The prior art already teaches the combination of zidovudine and fluoroquinolone, and it is considered obvious by way of routine experimentation to find the optimal concentration of each component in order to elicit the most therapeutic effect.
Regarding claim 18, Chien does not specifically teach the active ingredients in a combination product. However, the courts have determined that the combinations of elements known to be suitable for an intended purpose is deemed obvious.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol.) See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious); Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (Claimed agricultural bagging machine, which differed from a prior art machine only in that the brake means were hydraulically operated rather than mechanically operated, was held to be obvious over the prior art machine in view of references which disclosed hydraulic brakes for performing the same function, albeit in a different environment.)
According to Chien, zidovudine is known in the art as antiretroviral agent for treating HIV infection, and levofloxacin is known for treating bacterial infections, including those encountered in immunocompromised patients. Therefore, according to MPEP § 2144.07, the combination of zidovudine and levofloxacin in a product would be an obvious solution for providing both therapies to HIV-infected individuals at risk for bacterial infection, as demonstrated by the prior art, which teaches the coadministration of both drugs in the same patient population (Abstract). A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, following the teachings of Chien, would have been motivated to combine zidovudine and levofloxacin in a pack in order to facilitate patient compliance, ensure proper co-administration, and provide convenient access to both agents as part of the treatment regimen for HIV-infected patients who may require concurrent antibacterial therapy. As such, claim 18 is rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
In the interest of brevity, the teachings are individually applied to each claim, and the claims herein stand rejected.
Claim 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (Antimicrob Agents Chemother. Vol. 41, No. 8, pages 1765–1769, published August 1, 1997, cited on applicant IDS), hereinafter Chien, as applied to claims 13-23 above, in view of Brewster et al (International Journal of Pharmaceutics, Volume 125, Issue 1, pg. 17-30), hereinafter Brewster, and further in view of Wimer (Clinical Therapeutics, Volume 20, Issue 6, pg. 1049-1070, published December 1998).
The claims are further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising zidovudine and levofloxacin, in dosage forms suitable for parenteral administration (claim 24). Claim 28 is drawn to a product comprising zidovudine and levofloxacin in either separate or single combined formulations to be administered parenterally.
Chien is as set forth above.
Chien fails to teach a pharmaceutical composition suitable for parenteral administration.
However, Chien acknowledges “gastrointestinal problem(s) which could affect absorption of the study medication” as a basis for exclusion from the study (page 1766). Thus, Chien expressly recognizes that gastrointestinal (GI) complications could limit absorption of the study drugs, providing motivation to seek alternative routes of administration such as parenteral, which bypass the GI system, avoiding GI dysfunction altogether.
The deficiencies of Chien are remedied by Brewster, who describes development of parenteral dosage forms of zidovudine, and the resulting improved brain levels and bioavailability of the drug (Abstract).
The deficiencies of Chien are further remedied by Wimer, who teaches the clinical utility of intravenous (parenteral) levofloxacin for patients unable to use oral formulations (Abstract, page 1050).
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized, based on Chien’s explicit statement regarding the impact of GI dysfunction on drug absorption, the need for alternative non-oral administration routes in certain patient populations. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the oral coadministration regimen of zidovudine and levofloxacin to provide for a pharmaceutical composition and methods suitable for parenteral administration since both Brewster and Wimer teach that zidovudine and levofloxacin, respectively, are available and effective in intravenous formulations. The motivation to make this modification arises directly from Chien’s recognition that patient populations are not universally able to absorb oral formulations. Providing an alternative route of administration would increase the population of patients to which the therapeutic compositions could be administered to.
Thus, claims the claims are rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (Antimicrob Agents Chemother. Vol. 41, No. 8, pages 1765–1769, published August 1, 1997, cited on applicant IDS), hereinafter Chien, in view of Moon and Oh (see earlier citation), as applied to claims 13-23 above, and further in view of Connor et al. (Bulletin of the World Health Organization, Volume 82, Issue 12, published December 2004), hereinafter Connor.
The claims are further drawn to a product comprising zidovudine and levofloxacin, in the form of a blister pack (claims 18 and 27).
Chien and Moon and Oh are as set forth above.
Neither Chien nor Moon and Oh teach a product in the form of a blister pack.
The deficiencies of Chien and Moon and Oh are remedied by Connor, who teaches that the packaging medication regimens improves adherence (Title, Abstract), well understood in the art as a way to improve patient compliance as taught by Moon and Oh. More specifically, Connor teaches wherein blister packs exhibit significant advantages in storage, handling and preservation of medication. Connor further discloses that blister packs are preferred by staff and users (page 937), improving adherence to medication regimen (Abstract).
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized, that implementing a blister pack or unit dose packaging for levofloxacin and zidovudine would ensure accurate, coordinated, and compliant coadministration of the two agents. Chien discloses a tightly control dosing regimen in which levofloxacin is administered concomitantly with zidovudine. Given the demonstrated safety within the disclosure by Chien, lack of drug-drug interaction, and predictable pharmacokinetic behavior under repeated dosing, the person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the packaging the drugs together in a blister pack would promote dose accuracy, temporal alignment of administration, reduced patient error, and improved adherence as taught by Connor, particularly in HIV-infected patients managing complex multi-day medication regimens. Such packaging would therefore represent an obvious and practical design choice motivated by a need for better patient compliance rather than an inventive leap.
Thus, the claims are rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-24, 27, and 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18, 20-28, 30 and 31 of copending Application No. 17/768,669 (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0197767 A1) in view of Kim et al. (Ann Lab Med 2017;37:231-239, published May 1, 2017), hereinafter Kim, and further in view of Moon and Oh (see earlier citation). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of zidovudine with an antibiotic in both the instant application as well as the co-pending application is not patentably distinct. In the instant application, zidovudine is combined with a fluoroquinolone antibiotic. In the copending application, zidovudine is combined with a tetracycline antibiotic. According to Kim, fluoroquinolones and tetracyclines are considered substitutable equivalents, used for the same purpose, i.e., treating bacterial infections (Tables 1 and 2). According to MPEP § 2144.06 (II), art-recognized equivalents substituted for the same purpose are rendered obvious. The courts have stated:
In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art, and cannot be based on applicant’s disclosure or the mere fact that the components at issue are functional or mechanical equivalents. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958) (The mere fact that components are claimed as members of a Markush group cannot be relied upon to establish the equivalency of these components. However, an applicant’s expressed recognition of an art-recognized or obvious equivalent may be used to refute an argument that such equivalency does not exist.); Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980) (The mere fact that phthalocyanine and selenium function as equivalent photoconductors in the claimed environment was not sufficient to establish that one would have been obvious over the other. However, there was evidence that both phthalocyanine and selenium were known photoconductors in the art of electrophotography. "This, in our view, presents strong evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in an electrophotographic environment as a photoconductor." 209 USPQ at 759.). An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Therefore, it is considered prima facie obvious to substitute fluoroquinolone for the tetracycline in the copending application and arrive at the instant invention. Kim presents these agents as interchangeable alternatives for use in treating bacterial infections. For the purposes of obviousness-type double patenting, antibiotics that are known alternatives for treating bacterial infections, and are combined with the same primary agent are considered suitable equivalents, absent a claim recited limitation establishing a materially different limitation. In the absence of any criticality or limitation to a particular antibiotic or evidence of unexpected results the combinations now claimed, it would have been obvious to try substituting any one of the known fluoroquinolone antibiotics taught by can to arrive at the instantly claimed compositions/products. Furthermore, wherein the copending application teaches the concurrent administration of two therapeutic agents to the same patient population, the conversion of such a therapy into a unitary formulation would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of convenience and standard of practice, yielding a simpler dosing by reducing pill burden, and thereby improving patient compliance, as taught by Moon and Oh (Abstract). Finally, wherein the instant claims are drawn to concentrations which exhibit synergistic activity against microbial, it is considered prima facie obvious by way of routine experimentation to find the optimal concentration of each component in order to elicit the most therapeutic effect, according to MPEP § 2144.05 II.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13-24, 27, and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 15, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,951,119 in view of Kim (see earlier citation), and further in view of Moon and Oh (see earlier citation). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of zidovudine with an antibiotic in both the instant application as well as the patent is not patentably distinct. In the instant application, zidovudine is combined with a fluoroquinolone antibiotic. In the patented case, zidovudine is combined with mecillinam (penicillin antibiotic), cephalexin (cephalosporin antibiotic) and faropenem (carbapenem antibiotic). According to Kim, fluoroquinolones, penicillin, cephalosporins, and carbapenem antibiotics are considered substitutable equivalents, used for the same purpose, i.e., treating bacterial infections (Tables 1 and 2). According to MPEP § 2144.06 (II), art-recognized equivalents substituted for the same purpose are rendered obvious. Kim presents these agents as interchangeable alternatives for use in treating bacterial infections. For the purposes of obviousness-type double patenting, antibiotics that are known alternatives for treating bacterial infections, and are combined with the same primary agent are considered suitable equivalents, absent a claim recited limitation establishing a materially different limitation. In the absence of any criticality or limitation to a particular antibiotic or evidence of unexpected results the combinations now claimed, it would have been obvious to try substituting any one of the known fluoroquinolone antibiotics taught by can to arrive at the instantly claimed compositions/products. Therefore, it is considered prima facie obvious to substitute fluoroquinolone for the penicillin, cephalosporins, and carbapenem in the patented case to arrive at the instant claims. Furthermore, wherein the patented case teaches the concurrent administration of two therapeutic agents to the same patient population, the conversion of such a therapy into a unitary formulation would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of convenience and standard of practice, yielding a simpler dosing by reducing pill burden, and thereby improving patient compliance, as taught by Moon and Oh (Abstract). Finally, wherein the instant claims are drawn to concentrations which exhibit synergistic activity against microbial infection, it is considered prima facie obvious by way of routine experimentation to find the optimal concentration of each component in order to elicit the most therapeutic effect, according to MPEP § 2144.05 II.
Claims 13-24, 27, and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,888,575 in view of Kim (see earlier citation), and further in view of Moon and Oh (see earlier citation). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of zidovudine with an antibiotic in both the instant application as well as the patent is not patentably distinct. In the instant application, zidovudine is combined with a fluoroquinolone antibiotic. In the patent, zidovudine is combined with polymyxin and carbapenem. According to Kim, fluoroquinolones, carbapenem and polymyxin antibiotics are considered substitutable equivalents, used for the same purpose, i.e., treating bacterial infections (Tables 1 and 2, and page 237). Kim presents these agents as interchangeable alternatives for use in treating bacterial infections. For the purposes of obviousness-type double patenting, antibiotics that are known alternatives for treating bacterial infections, and are combined with the same primary agent are considered suitable equivalents, absent a claim recited limitation establishing a materially different limitation. In the absence of any criticality or limitation to a particular antibiotic or evidence of unexpected results the combinations now claimed, it would have been obvious to try substituting any one of the known fluoroquinolone antibiotics taught by can to arrive at the instantly claimed compositions/products. According to MPEP § 2144.06 (II), art-recognized equivalents substituted for the same purpose are rendered obvious. Therefore, it is considered prima facie obvious to substitute fluoroquinolone for carbapenem and polymyxin in the patented case to arrive at the instant invention. Furthermore, wherein the patented case teaches the concurrent administration of two therapeutic agents to the same patient population, the conversion of such a therapy into a unitary formulation would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of convenience and standard of practice, yielding a simpler dosing by reducing pill burden, and thereby improving patient compliance, as taught by Moon and Oh (Abstract). Finally, wherein the instant claims are drawn to concentrations which exhibit synergistic activity against microbial, it is considered prima facie obvious by way of routine experimentation to find the optimal concentration of each component in order to elicit the most therapeutic effect, according to MPEP § 2144.05 II.
Claims 13-24, 27, and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-5 of U.S. Patent No. 9,757,427 in view of Kim (see earlier citation) and further in view of Moon and Oh (see earlier citation). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of zidovudine with an antibiotic in both the instant application as well as the co-pending application is not patentably distinct. In the instant application, zidovudine is combined with a fluoroquinolone antibiotic. In the patent, zidovudine is combined with polymyxin. According to Kim, fluoroquinolones and polymyxin antibiotics are considered substitutable equivalents, used for the same purpose, i.e., treating bacterial infections (Tables 1 and 2, and page 237). Kim presents these agents as interchangeable alternatives for use in treating bacterial infections. For the purposes of obviousness-type double patenting, antibiotics that are known alternatives for treating bacterial infections, and are combined with the same primary agent are considered suitable equivalents, absent a claim recited limitation establishing a materially different limitation. In the absence of any criticality or limitation to a particular antibiotic or evidence of unexpected results the combinations now claimed, it would have been obvious to try substituting any one of the known fluoroquinolone antibiotics taught by can to arrive at the instantly claimed compositions/products. According to MPEP § 2144.06 (II), art-recognized equivalents substituted for the same purpose are rendered obvious. Therefore, it is considered prima facie obvious to substitute fluoroquinolone for polymyxin in the patented case to arrive at the instant invention. Furthermore, wherein the patented case teaches the concurrent administration of two therapeutic agents to the same patient population, the conversion of such a therapy into a unitary formulation would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of convenience and standard of practice, yielding a simpler dosing by reducing pill burden, and thereby improving patient compliance, as taught by Moon and Oh (Abstract). Finally, wherein the instant claims are drawn to concentrations which exhibit synergistic activity against microbial, it is considered prima facie obvious by way of routine experimentation to find the optimal concentration of each component in order to elicit the most therapeutic effect, according to MPEP § 2144.05 II.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR § 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/SOPHIA P HIRAKIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/VALERIE RODRIGUEZ-GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621