DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendments, filed 12/30/2025, have been entered. Claims 1, 14, 18, 20, and 22-23 have been amended. Claims 1-2,6-8, 11, 14-16, 18-20, and 22-23 are now pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 14 recites “a connector” after a first connector and second connector have already been introduced. While it is clear from the specification that this connector is a different type of structure entirely, the claim language confuses “a connector” with the previously recited connectors. Claim 14 should distinguish “a connector” appropriately from the first and second connectors, such as “a third connector”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR-101029837-B1) (refer to enclosed translations for citations) in view of Ogawa (US-20180097214-A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Lee teaches a battery module (Fig. 1, 400; [0066]) comprising:
a battery cell stack (Fig. 2, stack of unit modules 512; [0065]) in which a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 13, 100; [0091]; [0093]-[0094]; [0097]; [0066]) are stacked (Fig. 2, stacked unit modules 512; [0091]-[0094]; [0097]; [0066]),
a module frame (Fig. 1, 420; [0066]) that houses the battery cell stack (Fig. 2, stack of unit modules 512 housed inside 420);
and first end plate (outer plate of leftmost 4242 (not depicted); see [0088] and Fig. 11) and second end plate (Fig. 11, outermost plate of 4242; [0088]) that covers front (Fig. 2; left end of module stack; covered by the outer plate of leftmost 4242; see [0088], Fig. 11,) and rear surfaces (Fig. 11, right end of module stack covered by outer plate of rightmost 4242; [0088]) of the battery cell stack, respectively (Fig. 2, stack of unit modules 512), and are coupled to the module frame (see Fig. 1 and 2, lower case 424 of module frame 420; [0088];[0066]; wherein, additionally, all the components of module 400 are indirectly coupled to each other);
wherein a vent (Fig. 1, 450; [0078]) is formed on an upper surface of the module frame ([0078], “formed on one side of the upper end of the case 420”),
wherein the battery cells (Fig. 13, 100; [0091]; [0093]-[0094]; [0097]; [0066]) comprise: a cell main body (Fig. 13; 130; [0091]); an electrode lead (Fig. 13; 110, 120; [0091]) formed so as to protrude from both ends (Fig. 13, left and right ends of 100) of the cell main body (130);
and a terrace part formed (Fig. 13, exterior member 140; [0091]; [0093]-[0094]; [0097]; [0066]) so as to extend from the cell main body in a direction in which the electrode lead protrudes (Fig. 13 wherein at least a portion of 140 extends along the same left/right protruding direction of 110 and 120, respectively),
and wherein the vent (450) is formed adjacent to a portion where the terrace part is located (Fig. 2, wherein 450 is adjacent to the outer peripheral portion of 512 and thus adjacent to 140; [0091]; [0093]-[0094]; [0097]; [0066]),
and wherein the vent extends upwardly from the upper surface of the module frame (see Fig. 2, 450; [0078]) and comprises: an inflow port formed (Fig. 2, lower opening of 450; [0078]) adjacent to the first end plate (outer plate of leftmost 4242; see [0088], see Figs. 2 and 11) and on the upper surface of the module frame (Fig. 1, upper surface of 420; [0078]) and faces the battery cell stack (Fig. 2, wherein the lower opening of 450 in the same plane as the upper surface of 420 and faces the stack of cells 512; [0078]);
and a discharge port (Fig. 2; upper opening of 450) that discharges the gas flown in through the inflow port [0078], wherein the discharge port is parallel to the inflow port (Fig. 2, 450),
However, Lee fails to teach wherein a connector, the connector being a conduit with a first end connected to the inflow port and a second end connected to the discharge port to guide the gas flown into the inflow port in a direction in which the discharge port is located, wherein the connector extends from the inflow port in a direction toward the second end plate along the upper surface of the module frame.
Ogawa, analogous to a vent structure for battery (Fig. 6, 11), teaches a connector (Ogawa, Fig. 6, 14; [0038]; which connects an inflow port, penetrated by the large upward arrow in Fig. 6, to an outflow port, penetrated by the small arow on the right),
the connector being a conduit (Ogawa, Fig. 6, 14; [0038]; which connects the inflow/outflow ports described above, and is thus a conduit for gas) with a first end connected to the inflow port (Fig. 6, bottom end of 14 where the large arrow penetrates) and a second end connected to the discharge port (Fig. 6, top right end where small arrow penetrates) to guide the gas flown into the inflow port in a direction in which the discharge port is located (Fig. 6, wherein a gas flow path may be defined between to large center arrow and the small arrow on right),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to substitute the vent of Ogawa with the vent of Lee in order to have improved pressure relief functionality in case of emergency [0050]. Further, Lee teaches that modifications may be made to the device [0101].
Lee in view of Ogawa teaches wherein the connector 14 extends from the inflow port (Fig. 6, inflow port, penetrated by the large upward arrow) in a direction toward the second end plate (Fig. 11, outermost plate of 4242; [0088]) along the upper surface of the module frame (Fig. 6, wherein 14 is entirely horizontal and thus extends in a direction parallel to the top surface of module frame).
Regarding claim 2,
Lee in view of Ogawa teaches the battery module according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the vent (Ogawa, 11, located at 450 of Lee; see rejection of claim 1 above) is formed in a top wall of the module frame (Fig. 1, upper surface of 420) and directly above (Fig. 2, wherein 450 is directly above the outer peripheral edge of 512) wherein where the terrace part is located (Fig. 13, exterior member 140; [0091]; [0093]-[0094]; [0097]; [0066]; wherein the terrace part is located at the outer peripheral edge of 512, see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6,
Lee in view of Ogawa teaches the battery module according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the vent (Ogawa, 11) is formed so as to be vented upward (Ogawa, 11, small arrow of discharge vent pointing upwards) relative to the battery cell stack (wherein the substitution results in the direction of venting being upwards relative to the stack of unit modules 512 of Lee).
Regarding claim 7,
Lee in view of Ogawa teaches the battery module according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the vent further comprises a connector (Ogawa, Fig. 6, 14; [0038]; which connects the inflow port, large arrow, to the outflow port, small arrow on right) for connecting the inflow port (Ogawa, Fig. 6, large upward arrow), wherein the connector is perpendicular to the inflow port and the discharge port (Fig. 6, wherein 14 extends perpendicular to the upward facing arrows; [0053]).
Regarding claim 8,
Lee in view of Ogawa teaches the battery module according to claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above), wherein the connector is formed with an impurity blocker (Ogawa, Fig. 6, wherein 14 formed with vent filter 23; [0047], see [0006] which describes that the filter may block dust, contamination, etc.) that blocks impurities entering through the discharge port [0006].
Regarding claim 11,
Lee in view of Ogawa teaches the battery module according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the vent (Ogawa, 11; see rejection of claim 1 above) is formed such that a plurality of square-shaped venting spaces (Ogawa, Fig. 1, plurality of 26; [0064]; wherein 26 is a rectangular cut-out portion and thus a square shape) are disposed on the upper surface of the module frame (Lee, upper surface of 420, wherein the substitution results in square-shaped venting portions 26 disposed on the upper surface of module frame 420).
Claims 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR-101029837-B1) (refer to enclosed translations for citations) in view of Ogawa (US20180097214A1) and Nakai (US-20180309101-A1).
Regarding claim 14,
Lee teaches a first battery module (Fig. 1, 400) comprising:
a first module frame (Fig. 1, 420; [0066]) that houses a first battery cell stack (Fig. 2, stack of unit modules 512; [0066]);
and pair of first end plate (outer plate of leftmost 4242 (not depicted) and right outermost plate of 4242; see [0088] and Fig. 11) that cover the front (Fig. 2; left end of module stack; covered by the outer plate of leftmost 4242; see [0088], Fig. 11,) and rear surfaces (Fig. 11, right end of module stack covered by outer plate of rightmost 4242; [0088]) of the battery cell stack, respectively (Fig. 2, stack of unit modules 512), and are coupled to the module frame (see Fig. 1 and 2, lower case 424 of module frame 420; [0088];[0066]; wherein, additionally, all the components of module 400 are indirectly coupled to each other);
and a first terrace part assembly formed (Fig. 13, 140; [0091]; [0093]; [0094]; [0097]; [0066]) to be extended from a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 13, cells 100, [0091]; [0093]; [0094]; [0097]; [0066]) of the first battery cell stack (Fig. 2, stack of unit modules 512; [0065]; [0093])
and a first terminal bus bar (Fig. 4, 514, 516; [0076], wherein both 514 and 516 comprise the terminal busbar for the battery module of Lee, see [0076] and Fig. 4) and a first connector (annotated Fig. 11, “connector”) located on a first end plate of the pair of first end plates (annotated Fig. 11, leftmost plate of left 4242; [0088]);
wherein a vent (Fig. 1, 450; [0078]) is formed on an upper surface of the module frame ([0078], “formed on one side of the upper end of the case 420”),
a portion where the first vent (450) is formed is formed at a position corresponding to a portion where the first terrace part assembly is located (Fig. 2, wherein 450 is adjacent to the outer peripheral portion of 512 and thus adjacent to 140);
and wherein the first vent extends upwardly from the upper surface of the first module frame (see Fig. 2, 450; [0078]) and comprises: an inflow port formed (Fig. 2, lower opening of 450; [0078]) adjacent to the first end plate (outer plate of leftmost 4242; see [0088], see Figs. 2 and 11) on the upper surface of the module frame (upper surface of 420) and faces the battery cell stack (Fig. 2, wherein the lower opening of 450 in the same plane as the upper surface of 420 faces the stack of cells 512);
and a discharge port (Fig. 2; upper opening of 450) that discharges the gas flown in through the inflow port [0078], wherein the discharge port is parallel to the inflow port (Fig. 2, 450),
However, Lee fails to teach a battery pack comprising a second module adjacent to the first battery module, wherein a second end plate included in the second battery module comprises a second terminal bus bar and a second connector, wherein the first battery module and the second battery module are disposed such that the first terminal bus bar and the second terminal bus bar face each other, and the first connector and the second connector face each other, and wherein the discharge port is located closer than the inflow port to an end plate that is farther from the vent among the two end plates disposed at both ends of the battery module.
Ogawa, analogous to a vent structure for battery (Fig. 6, 11), teaches a connector (Ogawa, Fig. 6, 14; [0038]; which connects an inflow port, penetrated by the large upward arrow in Fig. 6, to an outflow port, penetrated by the small arow on the right),
the connector being a conduit (Ogawa, Fig. 6, 14; [0038]; which connects the inflow/outflow ports described above, and is thus a conduit for gas) with a first end connected to the inflow port (Fig. 6, bottom end of 14 where the large arrow penetrates) and a second end connected to the discharge port (Fig. 6, top right end where small arrow penetrates) to guide the gas flown into the inflow port in a direction in which the discharge port is located (Fig. 6, wherein a gas flow path may be defined between to large center arrow and the small arrow on right),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to substitute the vent of Ogawa with the vent of Lee in order to have improved pressure relief functionality in case of emergency [0050]. Further, Lee teaches that modifications may be made to the device [0101].
Lee in view of Ogawa teaches wherein the connector 14 extends from the inflow port (Fig. 6, inflow port, penetrated by the large upward arrow) in a direction toward the second end plate (Fig. 11, outermost plate of 4242; [0088]) along the upper surface of the module frame (Fig. 6, wherein 14 is entirely horizontal and thus extends in a direction parallel to the top surface of module frame) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to substitute the vent of Ogawa with the vent of Lee in order to have improved pressure relief functionality in case of emergency [0050]. Further, Lee teaches that modifications may be made to the device [0101]. Ogawa also fails to teach a second module.
Nakai teaches a battery pack (Fig. 1A, 10; [0043]) comprising a second module (Fig. 1B, 100B; [0043]) adjacent to a first battery module (Fig. 1B, 100A). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to substitute the module of modified Lee with each of the modules arranged in a battery pack with a plurality of adjacently placed modules, as taught by Nakai (Fig. 1B, modules 100; [0043]), wherein the terminal side portions of the battery (see rejection of claim 1 above, Fig. 2, left side of Lee) are adjacent such that the plurality of modules may be electrically connected, as taught by Nakai [0003-0004], in order to enable the module of modified Lee to reach cruising speed in an automobile [0003-0004].
Accordingly, Lee in view of Ogawa and Nakai teaches wherein a second end plate included in the second battery module comprises a second terminal bus bar and a second connector (see teachings of Lee in the rejection above and combination with Nakai above, wherein the modules of modified Lee are duplicated in a pack, with the second terminal busbar and second connector facing the first thereof), wherein the first battery module and the second battery module are disposed such that the first terminal bus bar and the second terminal bus bar face each other (see teachings of Lee in the rejection above and combination with Nakai above, wherein the modules of modified Lee are duplicated in a pack; wherein the right end of 100A faces the left end of 100B in Nakai, such that the terminal bus bars also face each other), and the first connector and the second connector face each other (see teachings of Lee in the rejection above and combination with Nakai above, wherein the modules of modified Lee are duplicated in a pack; wherein the right end of 100A faces the left end of 100B in Nakai, such that the first and second connectors (see above) also face each other). The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 15,
Lee in view of Ogawa and Nakai teaches the battery pack according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above), wherein the first terminal bus bar and the second terminal bus bar (see rejection of claim 14 above) each have an opening formed at one side facing each other (annotated Fig. 6, “opening”; see combination with Nakai in rejection of claim 14 above, wherein the front sides, and thus the openings, are arranged facing each other) and the first connector (annotated Fig. 11, “connector”) and the second connector (annotated Fig. 11, “connector”; see combination with Nakai in the rejection of claim 14 above) each have an opening (annotated Fig. 11, “opening”) formed at one side facing each other (see rejection of claim 14 above).
Regarding claim 16,
Lee in view of Ogawa and Nakai teaches the battery pack according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above), wherein the first vent is formed so as to discharge gas in a direction opposite to a direction (see rejection of claim 14 above, wherein the first vent discharges gas towards an opposite end plate) in which the second battery module is located (see rejection of claim 14 above; wherein the combination places the vents next to each other discharging gas towards their respective opposite end plates; see Fig. 11; 4242 and combination with Nakai).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR-101029837-B1) (refer to enclosed translations for citations) in view of Juds (US-10804514-B2).
Regarding claim 18,
Lee teaches a battery module (Fig. 1, 400; [0065]) comprising:
a battery cell stack (Fig. 2, stack of unit modules 512; [0065]) in which a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 13, 100; [0091]; [0093]-[0094]; [0097]; [0066]) are stacked (Fig. 2, stacked unit modules 512; [0091]-[0094]; [0097]; [0066]),
a module frame (Fig. 1, 420; [0066]) that houses the battery cell stack (stack of cells 512; [0065]; [0093]; [0094]; [0097]);
a first end plate and second end plate (outer plate of leftmost 4242 (not depicted) and right outermost plate of 4242; see [0088] and Fig. 11) that cover the front (Fig. 2; left end of module stack; covered by the outer plate of leftmost 4242; see [0088], Fig. 11,) and rear surfaces (Fig. 11, right end of module stack covered by outer plate of rightmost 4242; [0088]) of the battery cell stack, respectively (Fig. 2, stack of unit modules 512), and are coupled to the module frame (see Fig. 1 and 2, lower case 424 of module frame 420; [0088];[0066]; wherein, additionally, all the components of module 400 are indirectly coupled to each other);
wherein a vent (Fig. 1, 450; [0078]) is formed on an upper surface of the module frame ([0078], “formed on one side of the upper end of the case 420”),
wherein the battery cells (Fig. 13, 100; [0091]; [0093]; [0094]; [0097]) comprise: a cell main body (Fig. 13; 130; [0091]); an electrode lead (Fig. 13; 110, 120; [0091]) formed so as to protrude from both ends (Fig. 13, left and right ends of 100) of the cell main body (130);
and a terrace part formed (Fig. 13, exterior member 140; [0091]) so as to extend from the cell main body in a direction in which the electrode lead protrudes (Fig. 13 wherein at least a portion of 140 extends along the same left/right protruding direction of 110 and 120, respectively),
and wherein the vent (450) is formed at the first end plate (outer plate of leftmost 4242 (not depicted); see Figs. 2 and 11) and adjacent to a portion where the terrace part is located (Fig. 2, wherein 450 is adjacent to the outer peripheral portion of 512 and thus adjacent to 140),
Lee fails to teach wherein the vent is formed so as to be vented in a direction opposite to the first plate, and wherein the vent is formed so as to discharge all gas toward the second end plate.
Juds teaches wherein the vent (Fig. 12, 50; [79]) is formed so as to be vented in a direction (Fig. 12, direction 190) in a direction opposite a first end plate (annotated Fig. 12, opposite direction of “first end plate”), and wherein the vent is formed so as to discharge all gas discharged through the vent (Fig. 12, wherein all the gas discharged through 150 is along 190) toward the end second plate (annotated Fig. 12, second end plate). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to substitute the vent 450 of Lee with that of Juds beause it is a suitable alternative in the art, and because Juds teaches the elbow adapter to have an overall thin profile that does not take up too much space (see [78], [80] and claim 17) and to mitigate damage [33].
Regarding claim 19,
Modified Lee teaches the battery module according to claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18 above), wherein the vent (Juds, Fig. 12, 50) comprises: an inflow port (Juds, Fig. 13, 70; [79]) that is formed on the upper surface of the module frame (wherein the substitution results in the vent 50 of Juds formed on the upper surface of 420 of Lee) and faces the battery cell stack (Lee, Fig. 2, wherein 450 and thus the vent of Juds 50 faces cell stack of unit modules 512); and a discharge port (Fig. 13, 72; [79]) that discharges the gas ([33], [56]) flown in through the inflow port 192, and wherein the discharge port is perpendicular (see Fig. 13, 194; [78]) to the inflow port 192.
Regarding claim 20,
Modified Lee teaches the battery module according to claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19 above), wherein the vent (Ogawa, 11) further comprises a connector (channel portions 192 and 194; [80]) formed between the inflow port 70 and the discharge port 72 (annotated Fig. 1, center 26; [0067]) to guide the gas flown into the inflow port in a direction 190 in which the discharge port 72 is located, and wherein the connector is inclined (Fig. 6, 14; see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Incline, wherein inclined may refer to “steepness” and wherein the surface of 14 has varying steepness due to the elbow shape; see [79]) upwardly (see 13, wherein the steepness, defined above, points upwards and to the right) relative to the upper surface of the module frame (Lee, upper surface 420, wherein the substitution results in the steepness of Juds’s connector pointing upwardly relative to 420).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR-101029837-B1) (refer to enclosed translations for citations) in view of Juds (US-10804514-B2), and Shaffer (US-20240222682-A1) (refer to enclosed translations for citations).
Regarding claim 22,
Modified Lee teaches the battery module according to claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18 above), wherein the vent (see rejection of claim 18 above) comprises a hole (see discharge port in rejection of claim 1 above, wherein a discharge port is formed by a hole) penetrated from the upper surface of the module frame (Fig. 1, upper surface of 420) but fails to teach wherein the hole is obliquely penetrated. Shaffer teaches wherein vent hole (Fig. 8, hole of channel 88) is obliquely penetrated (Fig. 3, oblique line of 88; [0025], “obliquely”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the vent of Lee such that hole is obliquely penetrated, as taught by Shaffer, as Schaffer teaches it is known in the art an obliquely penetrated vent hole [0025], and further because Lee teaches that modifications may be made to the device (Lee, [0101]),
Regarding claim 23,
Modified Lee teaches the battery module according to claim 22 (see rejection of claim 22 above), wherein the hole (see rejection of claim 22 above) is inclined toward the second end plate (Juds, see rejection of claim of claim 18 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome all previous 112(b) rejections.
Applicant's arguments, see “Remarks” filed 12/30/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues Lee in view of Ogawa does not result in a connector extending from the inflow port in a direction towards the second end plate. However, this is not persuasive, as seen in Fig. 6 of Ogawa (see also Fig. 1), the connector 14 is a pedestal portion that extends radially at least in all horizontal directions (see Fig. 6, 14 and Fig. 1 for radial geometry). Therefore, when the vent of Lee is substituted with the vent of Ogawa, at least a portion of the connector 14 must extend toward the second end plate (Fig. 11, right 4242) of Lee, which is disposed in a horizontal direction that aligns with at least a portion of Ogawa’s connector 14.
Regarding claim 18, applicant’s arguments are now regarded as moot in light of the updated rejection in view of Juds.
Applicant argues all other claims should be allowed based off allowable independent claims. However, this is not persuasive, as all claims are now rejected in view of Lee.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: (US-20200343494-A1), relevant to teaching another embodiment of a degassing port (Fig. 3, 320; [0068]) with a predetermined gas flow direction across the surface of wall 220, and (US-20070169920-A1) wherein a vents 10 and 20 release heat in a biased direction (see Fig. 1, upwards, and Fig. 2, sideways).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723