DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims is as follows:
(a) Claims 1, 6, and 8-13 remain pending.
Response to Amendments
The Examiner accepts the amendments received on 06/01/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the instant claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yunoue et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2015/0231974 (hereinafter, Yunoue), in view of Ishida et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2010/0096921 (hereinafter, Ishida).
Regarding Claim 1, Yunoue describes a power supply device for an electric excavator (electric excavator with a power supply device, Yunoue, Figures 1 and 4), the power supply device comprising:
-a power supply unit configured to supply power of a battery to an electric motor unit (power supply unit configured to supply power of a battery to an electric motor, Yunoue, Paragraph 0039 and Figure 4);
-a first charging port connected to the power supply unit and configured to supply first external power to the battery (first charging port, which allows external power to the battery, Yunoue, Paragraph 0048 and Figures 4 and 5);
-an on-board charger (OBC) connected to the power supply unit and configured to convert alternating current into direct current when alternating current power is inputted (inverter present, which converts AC to DC, Yunoue, Paragraph 0048 and Figures 4 and 5);
-a second charging port connected to the OBC and configured to supply second external power to the OBC (see connectors, wherein the connectors supply power to either the battery or to the electric motor unit, Yunoue, Paragraphs 0058-0065 and Figures 4-10); and
-a battery management system (BMS) configured to check whether the excavator is turned on and disconnect a connection from the first charging port to the power supply unit in a state in which the excavator is turned on (controller capable of determining if the excavator is turned on (i.e., key is in the ON or OFF position) and determine is charging should or should not occur (i.e., disconnected) based on charging switch ON/OFF as well, Yunoue, Paragraphs 0053-0055, 0058 and 0038), wherein the first charging port is a high-speed charging port, and the second charging port is a low-speed charging port (first charging port a high voltage line (e.g., 200-VAC), thus a high-speed charging port (i.e., p = iv), Yunoue, Paragraph 0059); …and
-wherein the second charging port is disposed at a rear side of a cabin of the excavator to minimize a situation in which the cable hinders the turning operation of the excavator, and is disposed at a position higher than the first charging port (charging port can be disposed at the rear side of a cabin and the second port can be higher than the first charging port based on the box orientation (i.e., 90 degree turn can achieve desired orientation), Youne, Figures 1 and 6-8).
Youne does not specifically disclose the device to include that the external power source and the second charging port are connectable by means of a cable and, wherein, during charging of the battery via the second charging port, the electric excavator is configured to work in a state in which the cable is connected during a charging process, wherein the work includes a turning operation.
Ishida discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation(s). Ishida describes an external DC power supply supplies power through the power supply device to charge the internal battery and may also directly supply power for operating the electric motor of the hydraulic excavator. Thus, Ishida at least suggests operating the excavator while it remains electrically connected to the external power supply, such as by a power cable, and the ordinary operation of a hydraulic excavator would include a turning or swinging operation.
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the device of Youne to include that the external power source and the second charging port are connectable by means of a cable and, wherein, during charging of the battery via the second charging port, the electric excavator is configured to work in a state in which the cable is connected during a charging process, wherein the work includes a turning operation, as disclosed, taught, or at least suggested by Ishida.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success because having the charging of the batteries and operating of mechanical interfaces at the same time, allows for an end user to still use some mechanical functions of the vehicle while also charging the battery system (Ishida, Paragraph 0003 and Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Yunoue, as modified, describes the power supply device of claim 1, wherein the first charging port is disposed at a lateral side of a cabin of the excavator (charging port location, Yunoue, Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Yunoue, as modified, describes the power supply device of claim 1, wherein the electric motor unit comprises a first inverter and a first motor, and the first motor is connected to a hydraulic pump (electric motor, inverter, hydraulic pump, Yunoue, Paragraphs 0049-0053 and 0093).
Regarding Claim 9, Yunoue, as modified, describes the power supply device of claim 8, wherein the electric motor unit further comprises a second inverter and a second motor, and the second motor is connected to a turning speed reducer (system can include a plurality of motors and speed reducers for safety, Yunoue, Paragraphs 0093 and 0053).
Regarding Claim 11, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 1 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 12, Yunoue, as modified, describes the power supply device of claim 1.
Yunoue does not specifically disclose the device to include that the power supply unit is configured to supply charging power of the OBC or supply the charging power of the OBC and power of the battery to the electric motor unit on the basis of an amount of required power of the electric motor unit and an amount of charging power of the OBC, and wherein in a state in which the second charging port is connected to an external power source, the power supply unit compares the amount of required power of the electric motor unit with the amount of charging power of the OBC, wherein the power supply unit simultaneously supplies both of the charging power of the OBC and the power of the battery to the electric motor unit when the amount of required power is larger than the amount of charging power of the OBC, and wherein the power supply unit simultaneously supplies the charging power of the OBC to both of the electric motor unit and the battery and stores, in the battery, the charging power of the OBC remaining after the supply of the charging power when the amount of required power is equal to or smaller than the amount of charging power of the OBC.
Ishida discloses the claimed feature of operating in a state in which the second charging port is connected to an external power source. Specifically, Ishida explains that “the AC power supply grid 140, an external DC power supply 150 (i.e., an external battery) may also be used,” thereby teaching operations under a condition where the vehicle’s external charging connection is active (¶[0031]). Ishida further teaches that the power supply control device monitors and compares the available external voltage and the internal battery voltage to determine how to manage power flow. In particular, Ishida describes that “the control device 120 controls the switches 7, 8, and 9 to open and close, on the basis of the DC voltage…from the external DC power supply 150, and the DC voltage of the internal battery 110” (¶[0036]). This control action involves comparing the amount of required motor power with the available external charging power to determine the optimal supply combination, consistent with the claimed “power supply unit compar[ing] the amount of required power of the electric motor unit with the amount of charging power of the OBC,” as claimed by the Applicant.
Moreover, Ishida teaches that when the required motor power exceeds the charging power of the external supply, both the external DC power source and the internal battery are used together to drive the motor. Ishida states that by controlling the switching configuration (closing switches 7 and 8 while opening switch 9), it is possible “to utilize either the electric power from the external DC power supply 150 or the electric power from the internal battery 110 as the electric power for driving the electric motor 200” (¶[0031]–[0033]). As the system dynamically manages both sources through the bidirectional buck-boost converter 20, it enables simultaneous supply of both charging power and battery power to the motor, as required when the motor’s power demand exceeds the external charging capacity. Additionally, Ishida teaches that when the required motor power is equal to or smaller than the charging power of the OBC, the external power can be used to both operate the motor and charge the internal battery. Ishida describes that “it becomes possible to charge up the internal battery 110 using the electric power of the external DC power supply 150…by causing the bidirectional buck-boost converter 20 to perform voltage converting operation” (¶[0032]), while also supplying a predetermined DC voltage to the inverter and motor (¶[0038]). Thus, Ishida discloses that any remaining charging power after supplying the motor is stored in the battery.
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the device of Yunoue to include that the power supply unit is configured to supply charging power of the OBC or supply the charging power of the OBC and power of the battery to the electric motor unit on the basis of an amount of required power of the electric motor unit and an amount of charging power of the OBC, and wherein in a state in which the second charging port is connected to an external power source, the power supply unit compares the amount of required power of the electric motor unit with the amount of charging power of the OBC, wherein the power supply unit simultaneously supplies both of the charging power of the OBC and the power of the battery to the electric motor unit when the amount of required power is larger than the amount of charging power of the OBC, and wherein the power supply unit simultaneously supplies the charging power of the OBC to both of the electric motor unit and the battery and stores, in the battery, the charging power of the OBC remaining after the supply of the charging power when the amount of required power is equal to or smaller than the amount of charging power of the OBC, as disclosed, taught, or at least suggested by Ishida.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success because having the charging of the batteries and operating of mechanical interfaces at the same time, allows for an end user to still use some mechanical functions of the vehicle while also charging the battery system (Ishida, Paragraph 0003 and Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 13, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 12 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yunoue et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2015/0231974 (hereinafter, Yunoue), in view of Ishida et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2010/0096921 (hereinafter, Ishida), in further view of Takeuchi et al. JP2007224585 (hereinafter, Takeuchi).
Regarding Claim 10, Yunoue,as modified, describes the power supply device of claim 8.
As seen above, Yunoue describes a system that includes controllers for regulating the power between multiple systems (e.g., battery, motors, etc.).
However, Yunoue does not specifically disclose the device to include a fan motor; and a converter connected between the fan motor and the power supply unit, wherein the power supply unit compares a sum of the amount of required power of the fan motor and the amount of required power of the electric motor unit with the amount of charging power of the OBC, wherein the power supply unit supplies the charging power of the OBC and the power of the battery unit to the electric motor unit and the fan motor when the sum of both the amount of required power of the fan motor and the amount of required power of the electric motor unit is larger than the amount of charging power of the OBC, and wherein the power supply unit supplies the charging power of the OBC to the electric motor unit and the fan motor and stores, in the battery unit, the charging power of the OBC remaining after the supply of the charging power when the sum of the amount of required power of the fan motor and the amount of required power of the electric motor unit is equal to or smaller than the amount of charging power of the OBC.
Takeuchi discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation(s). Takeuchi describes a system that includes a fan motor, wherein the controller of the system can regulate the power between the fan motor, other motors, and the battery unit (Takeuchi, Paragraphs 0006-0017).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the device of Yunoue to include a fan motor; and a converter connected between the fan motor and the power supply unit, wherein the power supply unit compares a sum of the amount of required power of the fan motor and the amount of required power of the electric motor unit with the amount of charging power of the OBC, wherein the power supply unit supplies the charging power of the OBC and the power of the battery unit to the electric motor unit and the fan motor when the sum of both the amount of required power of the fan motor and the amount of required power of the electric motor unit is larger than the amount of charging power of the OBC, and wherein the power supply unit supplies the charging power of the OBC to the electric motor unit and the fan motor and stores, in the battery unit, the charging power of the OBC remaining after the supply of the charging power when the sum of the amount of required power of the fan motor and the amount of required power of the electric motor unit is equal to or smaller than the amount of charging power of the OBC, as disclosed, taught, or at least suggested by Takeuchi.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success because regulating the power between all devices, ensures proper operation of the system (Takeuchi, Paragraphs 0006-0017).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J CROMER/Examiner, Art Unit 3667