DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received on 6/24/2026. Claims 169-170, 172-179, and 181-197 are pending. Claims 169, 172-173, 175, 177, 179, 181, and 192-193 have been amended. Claims 1-168, 171, and 180 have been cancelled. All pending claims are currently under examination.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment. Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow. This Office Action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Maintained/Updated in Response to Amendment
Claims 169-170, 172-179, and 181-197 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
MPEP 2163.II.A.3.(a).i) states, “Whether the specification shows that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention is not a single, simple determination, but rather is a factual determination reached by considering a number of factors. Factors to be considered in determining whether there is sufficient evidence of possession include the level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention”.
For claims drawn to a genus, MPEP § 2163 states the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Regarding claim 169, claim 169 is drawn to a composition comprising a CasX variant protein with 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 126. Furthermore, the recited sequence is recited with the functionality of being a CasX protein, and therefore the claim requires functional limitations associated with the associated structure recited (the genus of proteins which are 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 126 which also function as CasX proteins). This claim language is problematic because it recites the genus of proteins which are 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 126 which are functionally CasX proteins. However, as discussed further below, the Applicant did not show possession commensurate in scope with what is being claimed, as it is known in the art that such large variations in uncharacterized Cas enzymes is known to cause unpredictable changes with regards to the protein’s functionality.
Regarding the specification, the Applicant has offered numerous examples of CasX constructs which were created. With regards to the present claim language which recites guide NAs which target SOD1, the Applicant offers Examples 10-19 which cover in vitro and theoretical in vivo testing of CasX proteins which target SOD1 using guide RNAs. The Applicant appears to have primarily focused on Cas variant “119,” which is represented by SEQ ID NO: 208). An alignment of SEQ ID NO: 126 and 208 is shown below, where ID NO: 208 is on top and SEQ ID NO: 126 is on the bottom:
As shown above, SEQ ID NO: 208 and 126 are approximately 93% identical. It appears that the Applicant has focused testing primarily on SEQ ID NO: 208, which reads on the instant claim language of CasX variant that is at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 126. However, it does not appear that the Applicant has reduced to practice and tested the CasX variant of SEQ ID NO: 126 itself. Furthermore, the Applicant has offered CasX variants with different domain substitutions; however, the Applicant has not recited or elucidated any key structural-functional relationships between the recited genus of protein sequences and their ability to function as CasX proteins. For instance, the Applicant has not performed structural or mutagenesis studies to identify enzymatic domains which may be critical for functionality regarding the recited genus. For instance, the recited genus allows for proteins which have 10% of their amino acids deleted from the final protein structure; however, the Applicant has not identified such regions that are associated with the functionality of the CasX proteins.
Regarding the state of the art, it was known in the art at the time of filing that CasX proteins were novel Cas enzymes which had not been fully characterized. For instance, Yang (Yang H . Cell Res. 2019 May;29(5):345-346) – which was published the same year as the instantly filed invention and therefore is an accurate representation of the knowledge of the state of the art – teaches that CasX proteins were a novel class of enzyme discovered at the time of filing (Title, Abstract). Yang teaches that :
“CasX was identified by metagenomic analysis of bacteria from groundwater and characterized as an RNA-guided DNA nuclease. It recognizes a 5′-TTCN PAM and is capable of plasmid interference in E. coli when presenting sgRNA (covalently linked crRNA-tracrRNA). It shares no similarity to other reported Cas endonucleases except for a RuvC domain located at the C-terminus. The above features of CasX correlate with those of type V Cas12; however, the size of CasX (~980 aa) is smaller than those of reported Cas12 (~1200 aa),” (Intro, second paragraph).
Thus, Yang teaches that at the time of filing CasX was a novel enzyme which was not known to share similarity with other Cas enzymes (above). Yang further teaches that CasX is significantly smaller than other known Cas enzymes (above). Thus, at the time of filing, the structural domains were still in the stages of being elucidated as CasX was known to have a novel structure. Yang concludes by saying that further structural analysis with higher resolution is required to guide CasX engineering for future applications (final sentence). Thus, it was known in the art at the time of filing that CasX was a novel protein. Furthermore, the Applicant did not characterize CasX variants which are modified up to 10% from SEQ ID NO: 126, where such a genus includes mutations, deletions, substitutions, and other changes, where furthermore the recited genus is recited with functional language (i.e., such variants must be capable of acting as a CasX enzyme).
Additionally, claim 169 recites that the protein is a chimeric CasX comprising domains from two or more CasX proteins. This claim language is further problematic owing to the 112(a) issues regarding claim 169 but also because, as Yang teaches, the genus of CasX proteins itself was novel and uncharacterized at the time of filing, where furthermore the structure and domains were novel and only overlapping in the RuvC domain with other known Cas proteins (page 345, left column, third paragraph). Thus, the genus of “CasX” domains was not shown to be in possession by the Applicant because the family of CasX proteins, as well as their novel domains, were not characterized either in the art or the application.
Claims 170, 172-179, and 183-197 depend from claim 169 and do not resolve this 112(a) issue. Claims 170, 172-179 and 183-197 are therefore also rejected.
Furthermore, claim 175 contains an additional 112(a) written description issue in that it recites a gNA with a scaffold sequence that is at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2238. Regarding this claim, the authors have not offered additional gNA scaffold structures tested with CasX variants with 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 126 to show that such variants of both the CasX and scaffold are permitted. Recited together, the Applicant is reciting an enormous genus of CasX variant with 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 126 and a gNA scaffold with 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2238, such that it is unknown which combinations of such scaffolds and CasX variants yield the functional requirements of the claims (i.e., that the molecules function as gNA scaffolds and CasX enzymes, where furthermore they function to “target” a SOD1 gene. For instance, Yang teaches that:
“The domain composition of CasX-sgRNA-DNA ternary complexes showed some similarity to that of Cas12; however, each structural element adopts distinct folds. They also made efforts at structure determination of apo CasX and CasX-sgRNA and obtained CasX-sgRNA maps at low resolution (7.5 Å). In combination with mass spectrometry data, they found that sgRNA assembly and DNA loading trigger domain rearrangements,” (page 345, right column, second paragraph).
Thus, Yang teaches that structural elements of the novel CasX-gRNA complex are unique, comprising unique folds, and that such structures must be elucidated empirically in order to determine functional structures. The Applicant has not characterized gNA scaffolds with up to 10% variation which can function as gNA with the similarly uncharacterized genus of CasX protein.
In addition, claims 177 and 179 contain another 112(a) issue in that they recite that the variants comprise an “improved characteristic” relative to specific CasX proteins. The Applicant has not identified a structure-function relationship between CasX proteins with up to 10% modification which are also associated with the “improved characteristics” listed in claims 177 and 179 because they have not tested SEQ ID NO: 126 itself or its variants to show such improved characteristics. Also, as discussed above, the family of CasX protein itself is novel and unpredictable; claims 177 and 179 claiming that there is an improved characteristic relative to reference CasX proteins. However, the characteristics, and whether or not they have been improved upon, of the reference CasX proteins have not been shown to be in possession by the Applicant, as this class of protein is itself novel and not fully characterized. Thus, the Applicant can not show possession of “improved characteristics” relative to a wholly uncharacterized class of enzyme.
Additionally, the Applicant has not demonstrated possession of a method to treat a SOD1-related disease, as they have only offered a prophetic example of the compositions be tested in an animal model in the final Example (Example 19). Thus, given the unpredictability of the components of the method, which includes the highly unpredictable genus of CasX variants, the Applicant has not shown possession of any treatment method to treat a SOD1-associated disease, where furthermore they were not in possession of recited claim limitations such as a “therapeutically effective” amount (claims 193-194) or any improvement in a clinically relevant end-point (claim 196) because 1) the Applicant has not tested any such method and 2) the components which are unpredictable and uncharacterized (i.e., the genus of CasX variant with 90% identity to SEQ ID NO:126) have furthermore not been characterized in vivo to treat any subject. The uncertainty of the genus is thus compounded when recited to be capable of treating a disease.
Regarding claim 181, claim 181 recites a gNA with scaffold region that is 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2238, where this limitation is also recited in claim 175. Thus, claim 181 suffers the same 112(a) issues addressed in the rejection of claim 175. In brief, SEQ ID NO:2238 is recited with functional limitations which require that the gNA is capable of for instance acting as a scaffold, where such functional limitations broadly include acting as a scaffold for CasX proteins and their variants as discussed in the specification and within the claims. Claim 182 depends from claim 181 and does not resolve this issue and is therefore also rejected.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive. Regarding claim 169, the Applicant argues that the variant which they have actually tested, 119, is 93% identical to SEQ ID NO: 126. The Applicant argues that additional CasX variants with various domain modifications were demonstrated and are representative of the genus as a whole, and further that extensive characterization across all structural domains demonstrates relationship between structure, sequence, and function. These arguments are not persuasive because while the Applicant has stated that Examples 10-19 demonstrate such extensive testing of domains and characterizations of CasX variants, it is not clear from the argument specifically where the Applicant has demonstrated such extensive characterization, or where such extensive mutational analysis or testing can be found within the specification. As stated in the 112(a) rejection and reiterated by the Applicant in their arguments filed 6/24/2026, it appears that variant 119, which is not SEQ ID NO: 126, is the only variant tested within the specification. Furthermore, as was discussed in the 112(a) rejection, the CasX family of proteins was novel and uncharacterized at the time of filing, where individual domains and residues critical for functionality were not known at the time of filing or recited in the specification with sufficient guidance to show possession of the claimed subject matter. Thus, the Applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus of CasX variant protein because 1) the protein itself was never tested and 2) critical domains and/or specific individual residues critical for functionality of SEQ ID NO: 126 were never taught or reduced to practice within the specification. Furter, the fact that CasX is a completely novel Cas protein which does not share domains or size with other known Cas proteins places a higher burden on the Applicant to demonstrate experimentally and show possession of extensive characterization of the key residues and domains which are associated with the functionality of the enzyme.
Furthermore, the Applicant has not demonstrated mutations, deletions, or other modifications up, where upwards of 10% of the residues of SEQ ID NO: 126 are changed which have the improved characteristics presently recited in claim 177, as no such testing was performed with SEQ ID NO: 126 showing any improved outcomes or characteristics of the protein.
Similarly, with respect to SEQ ID NO: 2238, the Applicant has not demonstrated modified scaffold regions which retain the ability to function as scaffolds, either with the mutated CasX genus of SEQ ID NO: 126 or with the sequence itself, unmodified. The Applicant was therefore not in possession of the genus of SEQ ID NO: 2238 presently recited in the clams, where the 10% of the scaffold region can be changed, mutated, or deleted.
Finally, the Applicant does not make an argument with respect to the lack of possession of the method claims; thus, the rejection is maintained. The Applicant has not performed any in vivo testing, where furthermore uncertainty and unpredictability exists with respect to the functionality of the recited CasX variant genus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 – New Rejection Necessitated by Amendment
Claim 192 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to naturally occurring products and phenomenon of nature without significantly more.
Regarding claim 192, claim 192 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101. Specifically, claim 192 recites “a population of cells”. While the claim immediately considered on merits recites a composition, claim 193 has presently been amended to include the cell population of claim 192, where claim 193 recites a method of treatment in a subject, where a subject is defined in the specification as a human (paragraph 90 of specification). Accordingly, when the claimed cells are delivered to a human subject, cells of the subject will comprise the composition claimed. Therefore, the claims would encompass cells in a human organism and the human organism itself.
Amending the claim to an isolated population of cells or a population of cells in vitro will be remedial to obviate this rejection.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments filed 6/24/2026 with respect to the original 101 rejection, in combination with the present amendments, are persuasive. However, the Applicant has amended the method claim of 193, to clarify that the cells used in the method are the cells of claim 192 (note that claim 193 had originally suffered a 112(b) issue where it was recited to depend from itself). This amendment to clarify claim 193, which is a method claim involving subjects which can be human, necessitates the new 101 rejection because the cells recited in claim 192 are now recited in a method claim to be used within a human (subject, see paragraph 90 of specification). As instantly claimed, claim 192 reads on cells present in a human. Thus claiming the cells encompasses claiming the human. This rejection can be obviated by including language in claim 192 to indicate that the population of cells is isolated or in vitro.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Maintained/Updated in Response to Amendment
Claims 169-170, 172-174, 176-179, and 183-197 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doudna (WO 2018/064371 A1, published 5/4/2018; see the entire reference) in view of Ahlfors (WO 2017/216771 A2; see the entire reference), Kiskinis (Kiskinis E. . Cell Stem Cell. 2014 Jun 5;14(6):781-95), and Deng (Deng HX . Science. 1993 Aug 20;261(5124):1047-51, see entire reference).
Regarding claim 169, Doudna teach a composition comprising a CasX polypeptide, and a CasX guide RNA (e.g., paragraph 68). Doudna teach the Planctomycetes CasX polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 2, and variants thereof (e.g., paragraphs 72, 74, and 198). SEQ ID NO: 2 of Doudna has a 93% identity, with 96% positives to instant SEQ ID NO: 126 (see alignment on page 1 of Doudna provided). Doudna teach that the guide RNA contains a “guide sequence” or “targeting sequence” that can be modified so that the CasX guide RNA can target a CasX protein to any desired sequence of any desired target nucleic acid, with the exception that the PAM sequence can be taken into account (e.g., paragraphs 147 and 150). Regarding the claim limitation that the CasX is a chimeric protein comprising protein domains from at least two or more proteins, as presently recited the CasX sequence of SEQ ID NO: 126 is a 96% positive identity compared with SEQ ID NO: 2 taught by Doudna and has a 93% identity with the required 90% identity of the claim. At such a high sequence identity (90%, as recited), the claim is broadly drawn to the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 126 itself, where a protein which reads on 90% identity would inherently comprise the same domains. Doudna’s CasX of SEQ ID NO: 2 reads on the claim and inherently comprises the structural limitations of the recited domains by comprising 96% percent positive sequence identity to the recited threshold of 90% of SEQ ID NO: 126.
Doudna does not teach the composition where the guide RNA targets a sequence complementary to a superoxide dismutase 1 (SOD1) gene target nucleic acid sequence comprising one or more mutations.
Ahlfors teach a kit for genomic modification in a cell, where the kit comprises a repair template, a gRNA, and/or a Cas9 protein, or nucleic acids encoding them (e.g., paragraphs 70 and 157). Ahlfors teach the components for targeted genomic modification within a target genome region (TGR) in a mammalian cell of a patient, where the TGR comprises a disease-causing heterozygous mutation, and where the heterozygous mutation is a mutated SOD1 allele, and the system is capable of correcting the mutation, and where the modification is a higher specificity of genomic modification (e.g., paragraphs 13, 45, 61-62 and 66; Fig. 7). Ahlfors teach the target genomic DNA (gDNA) region may include an H46R mutation in the SOD1 gene (e.g., paragraphs 45, 79 and 234; Fig. 7). Ahlfors teach the gRNA comprises the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 4 or 5, where SEQ ID NO: 4 is specific to the H46R mutation in the SOD1 gene (e.g., paragraphs 45 and 61; Table 2; Fig. 7E). Ahlfors teach the system comprises a Cas9 protein and a guide RNA (gRNA), where a gRNA is mutation-specific (e.g., paragraphs 18, 61-62 and 79; Fig. 7E). Ahlfors teach that the same methodology disclosed in Fig. 7 can be applied to treat similar gene mutations in other genes or in other locations in the genome (e.g., paragraphs 79 and 161). Ahlfors teach that the system is disclosed with regard to the type II Cas9 enzyme; however, any suitable Cas enzyme may be used (e.g., paragraph 162).
Kiskinis teach combined reprogramming and stem cell differentiation approaches with genome engineering and RNA sequencing (RNA-seq) technologies to identify the transcriptional and functional changes induced by the SOD1 A4V mutation in human motoneurons (MNs) (e.g., page 783, left column, 2nd full paragraph). Kiskinis teach the use of a zinc finger nuclease (ZFN)-mediated gene targeting strategy to correct the A4V mutation in a patient-derived iPSC cell line and provide an isogenic control (e.g., pages 783-785, Gene Targeting and Correction of the SOD1A4V Mutation; page 793, Gene Targeting; Fig. 2A). Kiskinis teach that the A4V mutation is in Exon 1 of the SOD1 gene, and the double-strand break induced by the ZFN is upstream of exon 1 (e.g., Fig. 2A). Kiskinis teach that the modification of patient cells allows for hypotheses to be tested in human motoneurons with the patients’ unique genetic constellation (e.g., page 783, left column, 1st full paragraph).
Regarding Applicant’s elected species of an AV4 mutation, Deng teach the sequence of SOD1 protein with an AV4 mutation (e.g., Fig. 3). The A4V mutation of SOD1 protein is relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 100 without the N-terminal methionine. Deng teaches that such an AV4 mutation is known to be associated with familial amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Figure 3 and caption); the AV4 is therefore a known pathogenic mutation per Deng (e.g., Figure 3 and caption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Doudna to include a guide sequence targeting the gene sequence encoding the SOD1 gene comprising one or more mutations such as the A4V mutation (Applicant’s elected species of mutation), because Doudna teach CasX guide RNA can target a CasX protein to any desired sequence of any desired target nucleic acid, and Ahlfors teach the design of a mutation-specific guide RNA to a mutation in a SOD1 gene to allow for correction of the mutated SOD1 gene. Further, Kiskinis teach the SOD1 A4V mutation as a target to be corrected, and Deng teach that the AV4 mutation is relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 100 without the N-terminal methionine. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success in designing the guide RNA of Doudna to bind to the mutated A4V sequence of the SOD1 gene, because Ahlfors teach that the guide nucleic acid can be adapted for a variety of mutations and a variety of Cas enzymes.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of modifying the composition of Doudna to specifically target a mutation in a SOD1 gene encoding a protein with an AV4 mutation in order to use patient-derived cells to study the disease with the patient’s unique genetic constellation as taught by Kiskinis , using a highly specific mutation-specific targeting of Ahlfors. Furthermore, such motivation exists to correct a known defective gene target site at a disease-specific mutation so as to ameliorate the effects of the disease as taught by such methods of Ahlfors.
Regarding claim 170, Kiskinis teaches that the AV4 mutation is in Exon 1 of the SOD1 gene (e.g., Figure 2A).
Regarding claims 172-173, as discussed above, Kiskinis and Deng teach the known AV4 pathogenic mutation and its association with ALS (see above).
Regarding claim 174, Doudna teaches the composition comprising a second guide RNA, where the second guide RNA has a targeting sequence complementary to a different sequence within the same target nucleic acid (e.g., paragraphs 198 and 231).
Regarding claim 176, Doudna teaches that the CasX protein can comprise an N-terminal NLS (e.g., paragraph 100, claim 31).
Regarding claim 177, Doudna teaches that the CasX variant is capable of forming an RNP complex with a guide RNA (paragraph 144). Regarding claim 177, claim 177 is reciting inherent characteristics of the CasX protein. Doudna teaches a CasX protein which reads on claim 169, and therefore inherently teaches the limitations recited in claim 177, as Doudna teaches the same structural elements recited in claim 169 absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 178, Doudna teaches the composition further comprising a donor template nucleic acid (e.g., paragraph 198). Furthermore, Deng teaches that the AV4 mutation is in Exon 1 of the SOD1 gene (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 179, Doudna teaches a CasX protein which reads on claim 169, and therefore inherently teaches the limitations recited in claim 177, as Doudna teaches the same structural elements recited in claim 169 absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 183, Doudna teaches that CasX variants can be encoded in an nucleic acid (e.g., claim 48).
Regarding claim 184, Doudna teaches that vectors such as AAV vectors can be used to deliver CasX variants (e.g., paragraph 72).
Regarding claim 185, Ahlfors teaches a method of treating ALS by introducing the components of their methods (CRISPR/Cas9 and gRNA) into a patient to repair mutations (paragraph 45). Such a repair strategy can reasonably be interpreted to occur within a cell of a patient, where furthermore the gene correction would result in at least 10% reduction/knockdown of the expression of a non-functional SOD1 gene, as Ahlfors teaches targeted gene repair for pathogenic mutations (e.g., paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 186, Ahlfors teaches that the cell can be a human cell (e.g., paragraph 44).
Regarding claim 187, Ahlfors teaches that the cell may be an embryonic stem cell (e.g., paragraph 44).
Regarding claim 188, Ahlfors teaches that the cells can be oligodendrocytes (e.g., claim 171).
Regarding claim 189, Doudna teaches that methods using their CasX systems and gRNA can be used in vitro in the context of treating a disease (paragraph 345). Furthermore, Ahlfors teaches that their Cas editing systems are introduced in vitro (e.g., paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 190, Ahlfors teaches that their methods of disease treatment and prevention can occur within a patient (paragraph 45), and further that such treatment methods can occur within a human cell (paragraph 44). Ahlfors further teaches that their methods of therapeutic treatments can occur in vivo (paragraph 66).
Regarding claim 191, Doudna teaches administering their CasX/gRNA compositions to subject in need of treatment of a disease by gene targeting (e.g., paragraph 323). Doudna teaches that CasX/gRNA can be introduced via an implantable device (i.e., a therapeutically effective dose, paragraph 286) and can be administered to treat a disease, where the route of implantation/administration is intraparenchymal (e.g., paragraph 289).
Regarding claim 192, Doudna teaches that their systems and methods can be used to “knock out” target cells (paragraph 345), where furthermore Ahlfors, Kiskinis, and Deng give ample motivation to target the pathogenic AV4 mutation. Thus, the combination of Doudna, Ahlfors, Kiskinis, and Deng, where Doudna teaches that such genes targets can be targeted for knock out (paragraph 345) reasonably includes a population of cells which do not express non-functional SOD1 protein. For instance, Doudna teaches that a single “host cell” can also include progeny cells (paragraph 53). Host cells targeted by the methods of Doudna, where SOD1 comprising an AV4 for knock out is targeted per the motivation provided by Ahlfors, Kisinis, and Deng, therefore include modified progeny cells (“a population of cells,” paragraph 53) which do not express non-functional SOD1 proteins, where such modified cells would be achieved by introducing CasX and the vector of claim 184.
Regarding claim 193, Ahlfors teaches treating ALS in a patient by targeting by targeting a genomic region within a cell of the patient (e.g., claim 205). Note that claim 193 is being interpreted to depend from claim 192 for the purposes of this rejection. Thus, Ahlfors teaches modifying ALS-disease state cells comprising SOD1 mutations using their genomic targeting strategies and administering such cells into a patient to treat ALS (claim 205 of Ahlfors).
Regarding claim 194, as discussed above, the combination of Doudna, Ahlfors, Kiskinis, and Deng renders obvious the use of Doudna’s CasX variants with the teachings of Ahlfors, Kiskinis, and Deng to target SOD1 mutations (see rejection of above claims). Furthermore, Doudna teaches that their compositions can be administered for therapeutic effect for disease (e.g., paragraph 345).
Regarding claim 195, Doudna teaches that the subject can be human (e.g., paragraph 367).
Regarding claim 196, as Ahlfors teaches that such targeted gene editing compositions and methods are used specifically for the treatment of ALS, it is reasonable to interpret the teachings of Ahlfors, who teaches the treatment of ALS, to include an improvement of a clinically relevant outcome such as time of death (e.g., Ahlfors, claim 205).
Regarding claim 197, Doudna teaches that the components of the composition can be in a kit with suitable container (e.g., claim 125 of Doudna).
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the presently recited CasX protein is a chimeric CasX protein comprising domains from at least two CasX proteins, and that Doudna does not teach that their SEQ ID NO: 2 comprises chimeric domains from different CasX proteins. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 169 has been amended to recite that the CasX has 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 126, where previously it was recited with 70% identity. At 70% sequence identity, variable domains from chimeric sources are accommodated. However, Doudna’s SEQ ID NO: 2 comprises 93% match and 96% positive match of conservative substitutions, and therefore is nearly identical to the recited SEQ ID NO: 126, where Doudna’s 96% identical protein inherently comprises the same domains as SEQ ID NO: 126 because of the similarity in sequence and by extension structure. Thus, because claim 169 has been narrowed sufficiently in the variability of the composition of the sequence (from 70% to 90%), a protein with 90% sequence identity would reasonably comprise the same domains. Thus, Doudna’s CasX protein which has 96% sequence identity inherently comprises the same structural and functional domains as SEQ ID NO: 126.
Furthermore, as the Applicant points out in their remarks, Doudna’s SEQ ID NO: 2 comprises an N-terminal domain from CasX2 derived from Planctyomycetes and a C-terminal domain from CasX1 derived from Deltaproteobacteria (see, second paragraph of Applicant’s remarks filed 6/24/2026). Thus, aside from the position that Doudna’s SEQ ID NO: 2 inherently reads on the 90% threshold and the domains of such a protein, the Applicant acknowledges that Doudna teaches that the CasX can be chimeric variant comprising domains from different CasX proteins.
The Applicant argues that the sequence alignment of SEQ ID NO: 2 is only 86% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 126, and cites an office action from a separate application which is not part of the prosecution record of the present application. This argument is not persuasive because the alignment of Doudna’s SEQ ID NO: 2 to instant SEQ ID NO: 126 is 93% identical, and furthermore 96% positive (see alignment on page 1 of Doudna). Contrary to the Applicant’s assertions, Doudna’s SEQ ID NO: 2 meets the 90% threshold presently recited, where reference to a separate office action filed in a separate application does not address the merits of the present rejections, where furthermore does not appear to accurately represent the sequence homology shared by Doudna’s SEQ ID NO: 2 and instant SEQ ID NO: 126 (i.e., 93% identity, 96% positives).
The Applicant argues that the CasX variants they reduced to practice share 96% percent identity with the claimed SEQ ID NO: 126. The Applicant therefore acknowledges that a protein which is 96% positive with another protein can be expected to function the same, as the structure and function share significant homology (see paragraph 2 on page 18 of remarks filed 6/24/2026). Thus, using the same reasoning, Doudna’s protein which shares 96% positive identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 126 shares structural and functional homology.
The Applicant argues that the motivation used to combine Ahlfors with Doudna is that Ahlfors teaches that any suitable Cas can be used, and that this motivation is not sufficient. This argument is not persuasive because the statement that any Cas enzyme can be used speaks to the predictability of the combination. As discussed in the rationale to combine the teachigs provided:
“One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of modifying the composition of Doudna to specifically target a mutation in a SOD1 gene encoding a protein with an AV4 mutation in order to use patient-derived cells to study the disease with the patient’s unique genetic constellation as taught by Kiskinis , using a highly specific mutation-specific targeting of Ahlfors. Furthermore, such motivation exists to correct a known defective gene target site at a disease-specific mutation so as to ameliorate the effects of the disease as taught by such methods of Ahlfors.”
Thus, motivation to target known a defective allele is supplied in the art. Furthermore, the Applicant argues that there is unpredictability when designing a new target using a different Cas enzyme. This argument is not persuasive because Doudna had already used their CasX enzymes to target specific sites and had already identified the PAM recognition site (e.g., see paragraph 142 of Doudna). Thus, designing a guide RNA and using the guide RNA and Cas protein to target a specific site is a known, routine experimental step which works with predictable success, as further evidenced by the fact that Ahlfors directly states that “any” Cas protein can be used which implies the interchangeably of the systems. The predictability is underscored by Doudna’s already having identified the PAM site and reduced their methods to practice. Thus, with regards to the specific CasX variant taught by Doudna, there is a high degree of predictability of success.
The Applicant argues that the secondary references do not cure the deficiencies of Doudna and Ahlfors. This argument is not persuasive because, as discussed above, Doudna and the combination of references is sufficient to render obvious the recited claim limitations and therefore is not deficient.
The Applicant argues that they have achieved unexpected results, as the 119 variant achieves improved editing compared with a wildtype. This argument is not persuasive because it is directed to subject matter which is not claimed. The Applicant’s are not claiming the 119 variant, but are instead reciting SEQ ID NO: 126 which broadly reads on the present subject matter because it is 96% positive in identity when compared with SEQ ID NO: 126, and therefore reads on the 90% threshold and domain restrictions presently placed on the claim. Furhtermore, given that Doudna has already solved the PAM sequence for CasX proteins, sufficient guidance is taught with respect to how a gRNA would be designed to target another allele by Doudna, where the AV4 mutation was already taught by Alfohrs (see 103 rejection, above).
Double Patenting - Maintained /Updated
Claims 169-170, 172-179, and 184 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,613,742 (‘742). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claims 169-184, claims 1-25 of ‘742 recite the same compositions, where ‘742 recites SEQ ID NO: 126 at a 90% identity and also a gNA with 70% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 2238 (e.g., claim 25). Each element of the recited claim elements of claims 169-184 are recited within the claim elements of claims 1-25 of ‘742; the claims are therefore not patentably distinct from each other, where the only distinction appears to be that SEQ ID NO:126 is recited at 90% identity compared with the instantly recited 70% identity. As such, claims 1-25 of ‘742 reasonably anticipate instant claims 169-184.
Claims 185-197 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,613,742 (‘742) in view of Ahlfors (WO 2017/216771 A2; see the entire reference), Kiskinis (Kiskinis E. . Cell Stem Cell. 2014 Jun 5;14(6):781-95), and Deng (Deng HX . Science. 1993 Aug 20;261(5124):1047-51, see entire reference).
Regarding the instant claims, as discussed above, claims 1-25 of ‘742 recite the same compositions of the instantly recited claims, including the same CasX enzyme and gNA scaffold (e.g., claim 25). Furthermore, claim 18 of ‘742 recites that the gNA targets SOD1. Thus, the claims are directed to the same CasX and gNA of ‘742.
‘742, while reciting that the gNA targets SOD1, does not recite the methods of instant claims involving modifying target cells and treating SOD1-associated diseases (claims 185-197).
Ahlfors teach a kit for genomic modification in a cell, where the kit comprises a repair template, a gRNA, and/or a Cas9 protein, or nucleic acids encoding them (e.g., paragraphs 70 and 157). Ahlfors teach the components for targeted genomic modification within a target genome region (TGR) in a mammalian cell of a patient, where the TGR comprises a disease-causing heterozygous mutation, and where the heterozygous mutation is a mutated SOD1 allele, and the system is capable of correcting the mutation, and where the modification is a higher specificity of genomic modification (e.g., paragraphs 13, 45, 61-62 and 66; Fig. 7). Ahlfors teach the target genomic DNA (gDNA) region may include an H46R mutation in the SOD1 gene (e.g., paragraphs 45, 79 and 234; Fig. 7). Ahlfors teach the gRNA comprises the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 4 or 5, where SEQ ID NO: 4 is specific to the H46R mutation in the SOD1 gene (e.g., paragraphs 45 and 61; Table 2; Fig. 7E). Ahlfors teach the system comprises a Cas9 protein and a guide RNA (gRNA), where a gRNA is mutation-specific (e.g., paragraphs 18, 61-62 and 79; Fig. 7E). Ahlfors teach that the same methodology disclosed in Fig. 7 can be applied to treat similar gene mutations in other genes or in other locations in the genome (e.g., paragraphs 79 and 161). Ahlfors teach that the system is disclosed with regard to the type II Cas9 enzyme; however, any suitable Cas enzyme may be used (e.g., paragraph 162).
Kiskinis teach combined reprogramming and stem cell differentiation approaches with genome engineering and RNA sequencing (RNA-seq) technologies to identify the transcriptional and functional changes induced by the SOD1 A4V mutation in human motoneurons (MNs) (e.g., page 783, left column, 2nd full paragraph). Kiskinis teach the use of a zinc finger nuclease (ZFN)-mediated gene targeting strategy to correct the A4V mutation in a patient-derived iPSC cell line and provide an isogenic control (e.g., pages 783-785, Gene Targeting and Correction of the SOD1A4V Mutation; page 793, Gene Targeting; Fig. 2A). Kiskinis teach that the A4V mutation is in Exon 1 of the SOD1 gene, and the double-strand break induced by the ZFN is upstream of exon 1 (e.g., Fig. 2A). Kiskinis teach that the modification of patient cells allows for hypotheses to be tested in human motoneurons with the patients’ unique genetic constellation (e.g., page 783, left column, 1st full paragraph).
Regarding Applicant’s elected species of an AV4 mutation, Deng teach the sequence of SOD1 protein with an AV4 mutation (e.g., Fig. 3). The A4V mutation of SOD1 protein is relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 100 without the N-terminal methionine. Deng teaches that such an AV4 mutation is known to be associated with familial amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Figure 3 and caption); the AV4 is therefore a known pathogenic mutation per Deng (e.g., Figure 3 and caption).
Therefore, given that ‘742 recites that the gNA targets SOD1, and furthermore that known targets exist for targeting SOD1 mutations for gene corrective therapy, the Ahlfors, Kisinis, and Deng supply ample motivation to use the compositions of ‘742 to target SOD1 in cells and to treat SOD1-associated diseases.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of ‘742 to include a guide sequence targeting the gene sequence encoding the SOD1 gene comprising one or more mutations such as the A4V mutation (Applicant’s elected species of mutation), because Ahlfors teach the design of a mutation-specific guide RNA to a mutation in a SOD1 gene to allow for correction of the mutated SOD1 gene. Further, Kiskinis teach the SOD1 A4V mutation as a target to be corrected, and Deng teach that the AV4 mutation is relative to instant SEQ ID NO: 100 without the N-terminal methionine. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success in designing the guide RNA of ‘742 to bind to the mutated A4V sequence of the SOD1 gene, because Ahlfors teach that the guide nucleic acid can be adapted for a variety of mutations and a variety of Cas enzymes.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of modifying the composition of ‘742 to specifically target a mutation in a SOD1 gene encoding a protein with an AV4 mutation in order to use patient-derived cells to study the disease with the patient’s unique genetic constellation as taught by Kiskinis , using a highly specific mutation-specific targeting of Ahlfors. Furthermore, such motivation exists to correct a known defective gene target site at a disease-specific mutation so as to ameliorate the effects of the disease as taught by such methods of Ahlfors.
Claims 169-170, 172-179, 183-197 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,560,555 (‘555) in view of Doudna (WO 2018/064371 A1,) and Eggan (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0301028 A1), Ahlfors (WO 2017/216771 A2; see the entire reference), Kiskinis (Kiskinis E. . Cell Stem Cell. 2014 Jun 5;14(6):781-95), and Deng (Deng HX . Science. 1993 Aug 20;261(5124):1047-51, see entire reference).
Regarding claim 169, claim 25 of ‘555 recites a protein consisting of a sequence at least 70% identical to SEQ ID NO: 3548. SEQ ID NOs 3548 (‘555) is aligned with 126 (instant) below:
As seen above, SEQ ID NOs 3548 and instant 126 are identical.
Claim 245 of ‘555 does not require a guide nucleic acid. The claims of ‘555 do not specify that the guide nucleic acid comprises a targeting sequence complementary to a superoxide dismutase 1 (SOD1) gene target nucleic acid sequence comprising one or more mutations, and the elements of the dependent claims.
The teachings of Doudna regarding the 103 rejection are herein incorporated. Briefly, Doudna teach a composition comprising a CasX polypeptide, and a CasX guide RNA (e.g., paragraph [0068]). Doudna teach that the guide RNA contains a “guide sequence” or “targeting sequence” that can be modified so that the CasX guide RNA can target a CasX protein to any desired sequence of any desired target nucleic acid, with the exception that the PAM sequence can be taken into account (e.g., paragraphs [00147] and [00150]). Doudna teach the composition where the guide RNA is a single-molecule guide RNA (e.g., paragraph [00148]). Doudna teach the composition comprising a second guide RNA, where the second guide RNA has a targeting sequence complementary to a different sequence within the same target nucleic acid (e.g., paragraphs [00198] and [00231]). Doudna teach the composition where the CasX protein comprises one to ten nuclear localization signal (NLS) sequences (e.g., paragraphs [00133]-[00134]). Doudna teach the composition further comprising a donor template nucleic acid (e.g., paragraph [00198]).
Furthermore, Eggan teach that it is within the skill of the art to design a guide nucleic acid to a sequence complementary to a SOD1 gene target nucleic acid comprising one or more mutations, such as an A4V mutation (e.g., paragraphs [0095]-[0100]). Eggan teach that the provision of a CRISPR nuclease and single molecule guide RNA allows for the production of patient cells that contain a mutation and a cell line that is isogenic with the test cell line in which the mutation has been corrected (e.g., paragraph [0096]).
In addition, the teachings of Kisinis, Deng, and Ahlfors are herein incorporated from the 103 rejection. Briefly, Kisinis, Deng, and Ahlfors teach additional motivation to target SOD1 mutations using methods for treatment such as using CRISPR Cas enzymes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the guide nucleic acid of the ‘555 patent to target the mutation in the SOD1 gene encoding the AV4 mutation in order to provide a composition capable of correcting the mutation in patient cell lines and to use such a method in combination with the instantly recited CasX also taught by ‘555 in a method to treat SOD1-associated diseases as already taught and known by Eggan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 169-170, 172-179, and 181-197 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 39, 71, 103, 120 and 160 of copending Application No. 17/542,219 (hereinafter the ‘219 application) in view of Doudna (WO 2018/064371 A1), Eggan (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0301028 A1), Ahlfors (WO 2017/216771 A2; see the entire reference), Kiskinis (Kiskinis E. . Cell Stem Cell. 2014 Jun 5;14(6):781-95), and Deng (Deng HX . Science. 1993 Aug 20;261(5124):1047-51, see entire reference).
Claim 71 of the ‘219 application is drawn to a CasX variant comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 336. SEQ ID N O: 336 of the ‘219 application is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 126. Claim 120 of the ‘219 application is drawn to a gene editing pair comprising a variant CasX protein and a guide nucleic acid comprising a variant of a reference guide nucleic acid scaffold capable of binding the reference CasX protein or the CasX variant, and wherein the guide nucleic acid comprises a targeting sequence complementary to a target DNA sequence. The claims of the ‘219 application do not specify that the guide nucleic acid comprises a targeting sequence complementary to a superoxide dismutase 1 (SOD1) gene target nucleic acid sequence comprising one or more mutations, and the elements of the dependent claims. However, Doudna teach a composition comprising a CasX polypeptide, and a CasX guide RNA (e.g., paragraph [0068]). Doudna teach that the guide RNA contains a “guide sequence” or “targeting sequence” that can be modified so that the CasX guide RNA can target a CasX protein to any desired sequence of any desired target nucleic acid, with the exception that the PAM sequence can be taken into account (e.g., paragraphs [00147] and [00150]). Doudna teach the composition where the guide RNA is a single-molecule guide RNA (e.g., paragraph [00148]). Doudna teach the composition comprising a second guide RNA, where the second guide RNA has a targeting sequence complementary to a different sequence within the same target nucleic acid (e.g., paragraphs [00198] and [00231]). Doudna teach the composition where the CasX protein comprises one to ten nuclear localization signal (NLS) sequences (e.g., paragraphs [00133]-[00134]). Doudna teach the composition further comprising a donor template nucleic acid (e.g., paragraph [00198]).
Furthermore, Eggan teach that it is within the skill of the art to design a guide nucleic acid to a sequence complementary to a SOD1 gene target nucleic acid comprising one or more mutations, such as an A4V mutation (e.g., paragraphs [0095]-[0100]). Eggan teach that the provision of a CRISPR nuclease and single molecule guide RNA allows for the production of patient cells that contain a mutation and a cell line that is isogenic with the test cell line in which the mutation has been corrected (e.g., paragraph [0096]).
In addition, the teachings of Kisinis, Deng, and Ahlfors are herein incorporated from the 103 rejection. Briefly, Kisinis, Deng, and Ahlfors teach additional motivation to target SOD1 mutations using methods for treatment such as using CRISPR Cas enzymes (pertaining to instant claims 193-196).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the guide nucleic acid of the ‘219 application to target the mutation in the SOD1 gene encoding the AV4 mutation in order to provide a composition capable of correcting the mutation in patient cell lines. Thus, instant claims 169-174, 176-180, 183-197 are not patentably distinct from the claims of the ‘219 application.
Claim 103 of the ‘219 application is drawn to a guide nucleic (gNA) acid variant, wherein the scaffold of the gNA variant sequence comprises a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOS: 2101-2280, or having at least about 80%, at least about 90%, at least about 95%, at least about 96%, at least about 97%, at least about 98%, at least about 99% identity thereto. SEQ ID NO: 2238 of the ‘219 application is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2238.
It would have been obvious to make a composition comprising the CasX variant protein and suitable guide nucleic acid of claim 103. Accordingly, instant claims 175 and 181-182 are not patentably distinct for this reason, and for the reasons set forth with regard to instant claims above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that they will file a terminal disclaimer upon notice of allowable subject matter. The Applicant has not filed a terminal disclaimer and therefore has not overcome the rejection. No other argument has been provided concerning the double patenting rejection, and the rejection is therefore maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.C.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/RAM R SHUKLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1635