DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 10, 20, 26, 28-30, 32, 33, 35, 36, 43, 48, and 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2004/0057855 to Gerlach et al. (“Gerlach”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0375563 to Gregory et al. (“Gregory”) and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0162115 to Surine et al. (“Surine”), as evidenced by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0232520 to Sloan et al. (“Sloan”) and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0247712 to Muhsin et al. (“Muhsin”). It is noted that Gregory has priority to provisional application 62/401,728 filed 09/29/2016, which supports the limitations relied upon in Gregory.
Regarding claim 1, Gerlach teaches an injection pump comprising a pump body (10, Fig. 1) provided with an installation structure (22) which is operable to install a syringe (15), a drive device (26), which is operable to move a piston rod of the syringe to inject a liquid, a control unit ([0013], processor), which is operable to control the drive device, a plurality of physical keys (32) electrically connected with the control unit, wherein the plurality of physical keys are operable for a user to input an instruction, and comprise a power key (bottom right button in Fig. 1), and a pump door (30) movably coupled to the pump body and configured to shield and un-shield the syringe (Figs. 1-2), wherein the syringe is installed on the pump body and the pump door comprises a door body (30), and a screen assembly (33), wherein the door body has a frame (door 30 forms a frame around screen 33, the frame has been interpreted as three sides of the frame just as the disclosed frame is only three sides of the frame) and a support beam (the fourth side of the frame has been interpreted as the support beam inasmuch as the disclosed support beam merely forms the fourth side of the frame), wherein the screen assembly is in communication connection with the control unit and has a display area which is capable of displaying information (the display inherently displays information), wherein a side of the door body (30), which faces the user, is a front surface of the pump door (front of 30 facing user), the screen assembly (30) is arranged on the front surface of the pump door (Fig. 1), and the display area of the screen assembly extends from a left side of a center line of the front surface of the pump door (screen 33 extends from the left end of the door in Fig. 1), and wherein a width of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than a height of the display area of the screen assembly (Fig. 1, the width/length is much longer than the height, Fig. 1), but does not teach the stepped structure, the emergency stop key, the touch-control, the length of the display area, the height of the display area.
Gregory teaches an edge of a screen assembly forming a stepped structure (Fig. 4A, stepped structure of edges of 405). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a stepped structure onto the edges of the screen assembly of Gerlach as taught by Gregory to yield the predictable result of providing a means of attachment of a screen onto an associated housing. Gerlach already teaches a screen assembly attached to a housing, Gregory merely shows additional details of how a screen may be attached. Once combined, the edge of screen assembly would be sealed and installed on the frame and support structure of the door body.
Surine teaches an emergency stop key, wherein the control unit is configured to send a control signal to the drive device to move or stop the drive device of the injection pump in response to receiving an input via the emergency stop key ([0058], button for stopping infusion), at least part of the display having a touch-control function ([0057]) and the display area (104) of the screen assembly extends from a left side of a center line of the front surface to a right side of the center line of the front surface (Fig. 2) in an infusion device, and wherein the height of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than or equal to 60% of a height of a front surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding the emergency stop key, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an emergency stop key among the physical keys of Gerlach as taught by Surine to yield the predictable result of providing means to override or stop operation in case of a pump or user error in order to minimize hard to a patient.
Regarding touch-control and the dimensions of the display area, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the interface-type of Gerlach, with the interface-type of Surine, as the two types of interface configurations are art-recognized alternatives to obtain the predictable result of providing a user interface that allows a user to input information in order to control and operate a programmable infusion pump. A touch-control screen would be larger since it replaces functions controlled by physical keys, as evidenced by Sloan which explains that the size of a touchscreen will grow larger to accommodate the extra area required for touch-screen buttons. Once combined, the display area would extend from a left side across a centerline of the front door and would have a height greater than or equal to 60% of a height of the front door of the device of Gerlach and Surine.
Additionally regarding the dimensions of the display area, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the display area taught by Gerlach to have a width crossing the center and a height greater than or equal to 60% of the front surface, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the device of Gerlach would not operate differently with the claimed larger width and height claimed, as these dimensions would be suitable for allowing the user to view the screen easier, as evidenced by Muhsin ([0070]) that teaches how larger displays that take up a majority of the real estate of a front surface are beneficial as they allow for easier reading.
Regarding claim 2, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the injection pump according to claim 1 as shown above, Surine further teaching the width of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than or equal to 70% of a width of the front surface (Fig. 2) of the pump door (once combined).
Regarding claim 4, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the injection pump according to claim 1 as shown above, Surine further teaching a surface area of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than or equal to 2/3 of a surface area of the front surface (Fig. 2) of the pump door (once combined).
Regarding claim 5, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the injection pump according to claim 1 as shown above, Gerlach further teaching an injection end of the syringe is provided with an extension pipe (27, Fig. 2), and a connection position between the syringe and the extension pipe is visually shown through a transparent window (34, Fig. 1) of the pump door.
Regarding claim 6, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the injection pump according to claim 1 as shown above, Gerlach further teaching a width of the transparent window (34) is greater than or equal to 30% of a width of the front surface of the pump door (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the injection pump according to claim 1 as shown above, Surine further teaching an entire display area of the screen assembly is a touch-control display screen with both information display and touch-control function (Figs. 15-19).
Regarding claim 9, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the injection pump according to claim 1 as shown above, Gerlach further teaching the pump door further comprising a transparent window (34), the transparent window (34) is positioned at an upper portion of the front surface of the pump door (Fig. 1), and the screen assembly (33) is positioned below the transparent window, and the plurality of physical keys is positioned on a side of the screen assembly (as shown in both Gerlach and Surine).
Regarding claim 10, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the injection pump according to claim 9 as shown above, Gerlach further teaching the transparent window (34, Fig. 1) is positioned above the screen assembly (33), and a left portion of the screen assembly extends upward to one side of the transparent window and is arranged in parallel with the transparent window (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the injection pump according to claim 9 as shown above, Surine further teaching the screen assembly comprises an outer panel (102), a touch-control screen (1006/1008, Fig. 16 as an example) and a display screen (1002, Fig. 16 as an example), the outer panel has a transparent area (104) and an opaque area (portion surrounding 104) which is arranged around the transparent area, wherein the touch-control screen and the display screen are stacked on each other at a back surface of the transparent area (the touch-control screen and the display screen are stacked as areas of display and touch change/overlap according to the screen configurations), the display area of the display is exposed from the transparent area (Fig. 16), and the opaque area has an upper area, a lower area, a first side area and a second side area, a respective width of the upper area (Fig. 1), but does not teach the 2-4 mm respective width of the upper, lower, and second side areas.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the upper area, lower area, and second side area of Gerlach and Surine to have a 2-4 mm respective width around the transparent area of the outer panel, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the device of Gerlach and Surine would not operate differently with the claimed 2-4 mm width, as this distance would be still be suitable for providing sufficient viewing and touchable areas to make adjustments to the device via the touch-control screen.
Regarding claim 26, Gerlach teaches an injection pump comprising a pump body (10) provided with an installation structure (22) which is operable to install a syringe, a drive device (26), which is operable to move a piston rod of the syringe to inject a liquid, a control unit ([0013], processor), which is operable to control the drive device, a plurality of physical keys (32), electrically connected with the control unit, wherein the plurality of physical keys are operable for a user to input an instruction and comprise a power key (bottom right button, Fig. 1), a pump door (30) movably coupled to the pump body and configured to shield and un-shield an infusion pipe which is installed on the pump body (Figs. 1-2), wherein the pump door comprises a door body (30), and a screen assembly (33), wherein the door body has a frame (door 30 forms a frame around screen 33, the frame has been interpreted as three sides of the frame just as the disclosed frame is only three sides of the frame) and a support beam (the fourth side of the frame has been interpreted as the support beam inasmuch as the disclosed support beam merely forms the fourth side of the frame), wherein the screen assembly is in communication connection with the control unit and has a display area which is capable of displaying information (the display inherently displays information), wherein the syringe is installed on the pump body (Fig. 1), wherein a side of the door body, which faces the user, is a front surface of the pump door (front of 30), the screen assembly is arranged on the front surface of the pump door (Fig. 1), but does not teach the stepped structure, the emergency stop key, touch-control, the width of the display area, and the height of the display area.
Gregory teaches an edge of a screen assembly forming a stepped structure (Fig. 4A, stepped structure of edges of 405). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a stepped structure onto the edges of the screen assembly of Gerlach as taught by Gregory to yield the predictable result of providing a means of attachment of a screen onto an associated housing. Gerlach already teaches a screen assembly attached to a housing, Gregory merely shows additional details of how a screen may be attached. Once combined, the edge of screen assembly would be sealed and installed on the frame and support structure of the door body.
Surine teaches an emergency stop key, wherein the control unit is configured to send a control signal to the drive device to move or stop the drive device of the injection pump in response to receiving an input via the emergency stop key ([0058], button for stopping infusion), at least part of the display having a touch-control function ([0057]) and a width of a display area (104) of the screen assembly being great than or equal to 70% of a width of the front surface (Fig. 2), and a height of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than or equal to 60% of a height of a front surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding the emergency stop key, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an emergency stop key among the physical keys of Gerlach as taught by Surine to yield the predictable result of providing means to override or stop operation in case of a pump or user error in order to minimize hard to a patient.
Regarding touch-control and the dimensions of the display area, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the interface-type of Gerlach, with the interface-type of Surine, as the two types of interface configurations are art-recognized alternatives to obtain the predictable result of providing a user interface that allows a user to input information in order to control and operate a programmable infusion pump. A touch-control screen would be larger since it replaces functions controlled by physical keys, as evidenced by Sloan which explains that the size of a touchscreen will grow larger to accommodate the extra area required for touch-screen buttons. Once combined, the width of the display area would greater than or equal to 70% of a width of the front door and would have a height greater than or equal to 60% of a height of the front door of the device of Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine.
Additionally regarding the dimensions of the display area, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the display area taught by Gerlach to have a width greater than or equal to 70% of the front surface and a height greater than or equal to 60% of the front surface, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the device of Gerlach would not operate differently with the claimed larger width and height claimed, as these dimensions would be suitable for allowing the user to view the screen easier, as evidenced by Muhsin ([0070]) that teaches how larger displays that take up a majority of the real estate of a front surface are beneficial as they allow for easier reading.
Regarding claim 28, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the injection pump according to claim 26 as shown above, Surine further teaching a surface area of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than or equal to 2/3 of a surface area of the front surface (Fig. 2) of the pump door (once combined).
Regarding claim 29, Gerlach teaches an infusion pump comprising a pump body (10) provided with a liquid stopping structure (24) which is operable to stop a liquid ([0010], piston brake) which flows through an infusion pipe (27), a drive device (26), which is operable to drive the liquid to flow into the infusion pipe, a control unit ([0013], processor), which is operable to control the drive device, a plurality of physical keys 32) electrically connected with the control unit, wherein the plurality of physical keys are operable for a user to input an instruction and comprise a power key (bottom right button, Fig. 1), a pump door (30) movably coupled to the pump body and configured to shield and un-shield the infusion pipe (Figs. 1-2), wherein the infusion pipe is installed on the pump body (Fig. 1), and the pump door comprises a door body (30) and a screen assembly (33), wherein the door body has a frame (door 30 forms a frame around screen 33, the frame has been interpreted as three sides of the frame just as the disclosed frame is only three sides of the frame) and a support beam (the fourth side of the frame has been interpreted as the support beam inasmuch as the disclosed support beam merely forms the fourth side of the frame), wherein the screen assembly is in communication connection with the control unit and has a display area (33) which is capable of displaying information (display 33 inherently display information), wherein a side of the door body (30), which faces the user, is a front surface of the pump door (front surface of 30 facing user), the screen assembly is arranged on the front surface of the pump door (Fig. 1), and the display area of the screen assembly extends from a left side of a center line of the front surface of the pump door (screen 33 extends from the left end of the door (Fig. 1), wherein a width of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than a height of the display area of the screen assembly (Fig. 1), but does not teach the stepped structure, the emergency stop key, the touch-control function, the length of the display area, and the height of the display area.
Gregory teaches an edge of a screen assembly forming a stepped structure (Fig. 4A, stepped structure of edges of 405). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a stepped structure onto the edges of the screen assembly of Gerlach as taught by Gregory to yield the predictable result of providing a means of attachment of a screen onto an associated housing. Gerlach already teaches a screen assembly attached to a housing, Gregory merely shows additional details of how a screen may be attached. Once combined, the edge of screen assembly would be sealed and installed on the frame and support structure of the door body.
Surine teaches an emergency stop key, wherein the control unit is configured to send a control signal to the drive device to move or stop the drive device of the injection pump in response to receiving an input via the emergency stop key ([0058], button for stopping infusion), at least part of the display having a touch-control function ([0057]) and the display area (104) of the screen assembly extends from a left side of a center line of the front surface to a right side of the center line of the front surface (Fig. 2) in an infusion device, and wherein the height of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than or equal to 60% of a height of a front surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding the emergency stop key, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an emergency stop key among the physical keys of Gerlach as taught by Surine to yield the predictable result of providing means to override or stop operation in case of a pump or user error in order to minimize hard to a patient.
Regarding touch-control and the dimensions of the display area, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the interface-type of Gerlach, with the interface-type of Surine, as the two types of interface configurations are art-recognized alternatives to obtain the predictable result of providing a user interface that allows a user to input information in order to control and operate a programmable infusion pump. A touch-control screen would be larger since it replaces functions controlled by physical keys, as evidenced by Sloan which explains that the size of a touchscreen will grow larger to accommodate the extra area required for touch-screen buttons. Once combined, the display area would extend from a left side across a centerline of the front door and would have a height greater than or equal to 60% of a height of the front door of the device of Gerlach and Surine.
Additionally regarding the dimensions of the display area, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the display area taught by Gerlach to have a width crossing the center and a height greater than or equal to 60% of the front surface, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the device of Gerlach would not operate differently with the claimed larger width and height claimed, as these dimensions would be suitable for allowing the user to view the screen easier, as evidenced by Muhsin ([0070]) that teaches how larger displays that take up a majority of the real estate of a front surface are beneficial as they allow for easier reading.
Regarding claim 30, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the infusion pump according to claim 29 as shown above, Surine further teaching the width of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than or equal to 70% of a width of the front surface (Figs. 2) of the pump door (once combined).
Regarding claim 32, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the infusion pump according to claim 29, Surine further teaching a surface area of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than or equal to 2/3 of a surface area of the front surface (Figs. 2) of the pump door (once combined).
Regarding claim 33, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the infusion pump according to claim 29 as shown above, Surine further teaching an entire display area of the screen assembly is a touch-control display screen with both information display and touch-control function (Figs. 15-19).
Regarding claim 35, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the infusion pump according to claim 29 as shown above, Gerlach further teaching the screen assembly (33) is positioned at a lower portion of the front surface of the pump door (Fig. 1), and the plurality of physical keys is positioned on a side of the screen assembly (as shown in both Gerlach and Surine).
Regarding claim 36, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the infusion pump according to claim 29 as shown above, Gerlach further teaching the screen assembly (33) is positioned at a lower portion of the front surface of the pump door (Fig. 1), and a left portion of the screen assembly extends upward to an upper portion of the front surface of the pump door for enlarging a surface area of the screen assembly (as indicated in Fig. 4, the screen extends above half the height of the door, thereby extending to an upper portion of the pump door).
Regarding claim 43, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the injection pump according to claim 29 as shown above, Surine further teaching the screen assembly comprises an outer panel (102), a touch-control screen (1006/1008, Fig. 16 as an example) and a display screen (1002, Fig. 16 as a example), the outer panel has a transparent area (104) and an opaque area (portion surrounding 104) which is arranged around the transparent area, wherein the touch-control screen and the display screen are stacked on each other at a back surface of the transparent area (the touch-control screen and the display screen are stacked as areas of display and touch change/overlap according to the screen configurations), the display area of the display is exposed from the transparent area (Fig. 16), and the opaque area has an upper area, a lower area, a first side area and a second side area, a respective width of the upper area (Fig. 1), but does not teach the 2-4 mm respective width of the upper, lower, and second side areas.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the upper area, lower area, and second side area of Gerlach and Surine to have a 2-4 mm respective width around the transparent area of the outer panel, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the device of Gerlach and Surine would not operate differently with the claimed 2-4 mm width, as this distance would be still be suitable for providing sufficient viewing and touchable areas to make adjustments to the device via the touch-control screen.
Regarding claim 48, Gerlach teaches an infusion pump comprising a pump body (10) provided with a liquid stopping structure (24) which is operable to stop a liquid ([0010], piston brake) which flows through an infusion pipe (27), a drive device (26), which is operable to drive the liquid to flow into the infusion pipe, a control unit ([0013], processor), which is operable to control the drive device, a plurality of physical keys (32) electrically connected with the control unit, wherein the plurality of physical keys is operable for a user to input an instruction, and the physical key comprises a power key (bottom right button, Fig. 1), and a pump door (30) movably coupled to the pump body and configured to shield and un-shield a syringe (Figs. 1-2), wherein the syringe is installed on the pump body (Fig. 1), and the pump door comprises a door body (30) and a screen assembly (33), wherein the door body has a frame (door 30 forms a frame around screen 33, the frame has been interpreted as three sides of the frame just as the disclosed frame is only three sides of the frame) and a support beam (the fourth side of the frame has been interpreted as the support beam inasmuch as the disclosed support beam merely forms the fourth side of the frame), wherein the screen assembly is in communication connection with the control unit and has a display area (33) which is capable of displaying information (display 33 inherently displays information), wherein a side of the door body, which faces the user, is a front surface of the pump door (front side of 30), and the screen assembly is arranged on the front surface of the pump door (Fig. 1), but does not teach the stepped structure, the emergency stop key, touch-control, the width of the display area, and the height of the display area.
Gregory teaches an edge of a screen assembly forming a stepped structure (Fig. 4A, stepped structure of edges of 405). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a stepped structure onto the edges of the screen assembly of Gerlach as taught by Gregory to yield the predictable result of providing a means of attachment of a screen onto an associated housing. Gerlach already teaches a screen assembly attached to a housing, Gregory merely shows additional details of how a screen may be attached. Once combined, the edge of screen assembly would be sealed and installed on the frame and support structure of the door body.
Surine teaches an emergency stop key, wherein the control unit is configured to send a control signal to the drive device to move or stop the drive device of the injection pump in response to receiving an input via the emergency stop key ([0058], button for stopping infusion), at least part of the display having a touch-control function ([0057]) and a width of a display area (104) of the screen assembly being great than or equal to 70% of a width of the front surface (Fig. 2), and a height of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than or equal to 60% of a height of a front surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding the emergency stop key, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an emergency stop key among the physical keys of Gerlach as taught by Surine to yield the predictable result of providing means to override or stop operation in case of a pump or user error in order to minimize hard to a patient.
Regarding touch-control and the dimensions of the display area, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the interface-type of Gerlach, with the interface-type of Surine, as the two types of interface configurations are art-recognized alternatives to obtain the predictable result of providing a user interface that allows a user to input information in order to control and operate a programmable infusion pump. A touch-control screen would be larger since it replaces functions controlled by physical keys, as evidenced by Sloan which explains that the size of a touchscreen will grow larger to accommodate the extra area required for touch-screen buttons. Once combined, the width of the display area would greater than or equal to 70% of a width of the front door and would have a height greater than or equal to 60% of a height of the front door of the device of Gerlach and Surine.
Additionally regarding the dimensions of the display area, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the display area taught by Gerlach to have a width greater than or equal to 70% of the front surface and a height greater than or equal to 60% of the front surface, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A). In the instant case, the device of Gerlach would not operate differently with the claimed larger width and height claimed, as these dimensions would be suitable for allowing the user to view the screen easier, as evidenced by Muhsin ([0070]) that teaches how larger displays that take up a majority of the real estate of a front surface are beneficial as they allow for easier reading.
Regarding claim 50, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the infusion pump according to claim 48 as shown above, Surine further teaching a surface area of the display area of the screen assembly is greater than or equal to 2/3 of a surface area of the front surface (Fig. 2) of the pump door (once combined).
Regarding claim 51, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the injection pump according to claim 1 as shown above, Surine further teaching the screen assembly includes an outer panel (102), a touch-control screen (1006/1008, Fig. 16 as an example) and a display screen (1002, Fig. 16 as an example), the outer panel of the screen assembly has a transparent area (104) and an opaque area (portion surrounding 104) which is arranged around the transparent area, the display area of the display is exposed from the transparent area (Fig. 16), and the opaque area has an upper area, a lower area, a first side area and a second side area, wherein the first side area and the second side area are positioned between the upper area and the lower area (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 52, Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine teach the infusion pump of claim 26 as shown above, Surine further teaching the screen assembly includes an outer panel (102), a touch-control screen (1006/1008, Fig. 16 as an example) and a display screen (1002, Fig. 16 as an example), the outer panel of the screen assembly has a transparent area (104) and an opaque area (portion surrounding 104) which is arranged around the transparent area, the display area of the display is exposed from the transparent area (Fig. 16), and the opaque area has an upper area, a lower area, a first side area and a second side area, wherein the first side area and the second side area are positioned between the upper area and the lower area (Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments amendments with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to the art rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gerlach, Gregory, and Surine as evidenced by Sloan and Muhsin as shown above.
Conclusion
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /THEODORE J STIGELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783