DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments filed 2/12/2026 to claims 1, 4, 6, 7, and 10 have been entered. Claim 9 is canceled. Claims 1-8 and 10 remain pending, of which claims 1-5 and 10 are being considered on their merits. Claims 6-8 remain withdrawn from consideration. References not included with this Office action can be found in a prior action.
The instant amendments to claim 1 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections of record over Anantharamaiah as the primary reference, which are withdrawn.
Any other rejections of record not particularly addressed below are withdrawn in light of the claim amendments and/or applicant’s comments.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: these claims recite an incorrect status identifier and so are non-compliant under 37 C.F.R. § 1.121. These claims are withdrawn from consideration, and should also recite the “Withdrawn” identifier in addition to any other identifier reflective of claim amendments. Appropriate correction is required with the next reply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valtueňa et al. (US 2011/0293557).
This rejection addresses both the broader embodiment of an HDL and the narrower embodiment of an HDL mimetic made/reconstituted from murine ApoA1 for claim 1.
Valtueňa teaches administering HDL containing Apo linker P144 fused to murine Apolipoprotein A1 or HDL containing Apo linker P144 fused to murine Apolipoprotein A1 formulated with HDL to subjects (¶0038; i.e. peptide p144 being a TGF β1 inhibitor, see ¶0134, being fused to the murine apolipoprotein A1, i.e., mApoA1, signal peptide, see ¶0167 and ¶0170-0171; claims 28, 43, and 45), reading in-part on claim 1. Valtueňa envisions treating graft versus host disease (¶0113 and ¶0117), reading in-part on claim 1. Valtueňa teaches it is preferred for the therapist to titer the dosage and modify the route of administration as required to obtain the optimal therapeutic effect and that a typical effective dosage is about 0.01 mg/kg to up to 250 mg/kg or more, daily, every 2 days, every 3 days, every 4 days, every 5 days, every 6 days or weekly (¶0138), reading in-part on the effective dosage of claim 1 and on claim 10. Valtueňa teaches intravenous administration (¶0104), reading on claim 3. Valtueňa teaches one or two or more doses administered (¶0109), reading on the repeated dose of claim 4.
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to combine the HDL and/or HDL mimetic and the effective dosage taught by Valtueňa into a single embodiment to treat graft versus host disease as envisioned by Valtueňa. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Valtueňa expressly considers the combination, which would then be advantageous to treat graft versus host disease in subjects in need of treatment thereof.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valtueňa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Anantharamaiah et al. (US 8,557,767) and Badimon et al. (J Clin Invest (1990), 85(4), 1234-1241).
The teachings of Valtueňa are relied upon as set forth above.
Regarding claim 2, Valtueňa does not teach HDL obtained from the blood of a healthy donor.
Badimon teaches administering HDL from healthy (i.e. normal) mammalian subjects reduces atherosclerotic lesions (Abstract; lipoprotein isolation at p1234, subheading “Preparation and isolation of lipoproteins”), reading in-part on claim 2.
Anantharamaiah teaches Apolipoprotein E mimicking peptides (i.e. HDL mimetic) to treat GVHD and atherosclerosis (Col. 58, lines 54-66), reading in-part on claim 2.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to substitute the HDL source of Valtueňa with the HDL from healthy (i.e. normal) mammalian subjects in view of Badimon and Anantharamaiah. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because Badimon teaches detailed methods of isolating HDL from normal/healthy subjects The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Badimon teaches administering HDL from healthy (i.e. normal) mammalian subjects reduces atherosclerotic lesions and because Anantharamaiah envisions treating both GVHD and Anantharamaiah, thus bridging the teachings of Badimon to the teachings of Valtueňa. The substitution would be particularly advantageous to treat the GVHD subjects of Valtueňa who are further comorbid for atherosclerosis.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valtueňa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garnett et al. (Ther Adv Hematol (2013), 4(6), 366-378).
The teachings of Valtueňa are relied upon as set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, Valtueňa does not teach acute graft versus host disease
Garnett reviews the state of the art at that time for treating acute and chronic graft versus host disease (Abstract). Garnett teaches that historically, acute graft versus host disease (aGVHD) was defined as symptoms occurring within 100 days of allogeneic haematopoetic stem cell transplant recipients (1st paragraph of the Introduction on p366). Garnett teaches that grade I a GVHD may respond to topical steroid therapy whereas systemic corticosteroids are the mainstay of first-line treatment of grade II-IV aGVHD (p367, right column, 1st two paragraphs under “First-line management of acute graft-versus-host disease), reading on claim 5. Garnett teaches a starting dosage of prednisolone or methylprednisolone of 1-2 mg/kg/day depending on GVHD severity (paragraph spanning p367-368), reading on claim 5. Garnett teaches that steroids have many well documented side effects, including immunosuppression, hyperglycaemia and osteopenia, meaning that a balance must be drawn between benefit and risk of prolonged courses (paragraph spanning p368-369), reading on claim 5.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to further treat for acute GVHD in the subjects of Valtueňa in view of Garnett. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because Valtueňa envisions treating graft versus host disease with HDL, and because Garnett teaches that the disease is known to have an acute phase and a chronic phase. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Garnett teaches that while steroids are a known first-line treatment for GVHD, steroids have many well documented side effects, including immunosuppression, hyperglycaemia and osteopenia thus making Valtueňa’s methods of treating GVHD advantageous to avoid the known side effects of prolonged steroid treatment for acute GVHD as taught by Garnett.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments on pages 4-8 of the reply have been fully considered, but not found persuasive of error for the reasons given below.
On pages 6-7 of the reply, Applicant alleges that does not teach every element of at least independent claim 1. This not found persuasive of error because Valtueňa sets forth a prima facie case for obviousness by expressly contemplating that their conjugates (e.g. HDL containing Apo linker P144 fused to murine Apolipoprotein A1 or HDL containing Apo linker P144 fused to murine Apolipoprotein A1 formulated with HDL to subjects) to subjects for the treatment of graft-versus-host disease at ¶0113 and 0117 as cited above and so reasonably teaches administering HDL and/or their HDL mimetic for the treatment of graft-versus-host disease absent any showing of nonobviousness to the contrary. The fact that the inventor (may have) recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. No claims are free of the art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean C. Barron/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653