CTNF 17/641,538 CTNF 80573 DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claim 1 , there is an obvious problem with interpreting claim 1 in light of the specification. Instant claim 1 requires the “ shielding unit disposed between the first shielding plate …and the second shielding plate ”. Careful consideration of the portions of the specification below show that this is incorrect. The instant specification points to item 112 as the shielding unit, but this shielding unit depicted in the drawings actually includes the first shielding plate (113) and second shielding plate (114). Since a shielding unit 112 cannot be “disposed between” parts of itself, it cannot be the case that the shielding unit is correctly claimed here. Other claims are rejected by dependence. While not necessarily an issue of indefiniteness, Applicant should also note that instant Fig. 7 and Fig. 9 are not included in the scope of claim 1 because they either (i) do not have any third shielding plate (see Fig. 9) or (ii) do not have a third shielding plate “disposed between” the first shielding plate and second shielding plate (see Fig. 7, item 115-3 is located below second shielding plate, not between first and second shielding plates). PNG media_image1.png 645 664 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 648 572 media_image2.png Greyscale Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tahara (US 20090008034) in view of Kamaji (US 20190237309) . As to claim 1 , Tahara teaches a plasma processing device including a processing chamber (102) in which a sample is plasma processed (W), a radio frequency power supply for supplying microwave radio frequency power ([0050], microwave excitation), a sample stage on which the sample is placed (106), a first shielding plate for shielding an ion (142), and a second shielding plate disposed below the first shielding plate for shielding the ion (144), the plasma processing device further comprising a shielding unit/third shielding plate (146) disposed between the first shielding plate (142) having a first opening (142a) and the second shielding plate (144) having a second opening (144a), wherein the shielding unit is located to shield a line that passes through the first opening and the second opening (146 surrounds all lines between 142a and 144a). Tahara is silent to a magnetic field forming mechanism for forming a magnetic field in the processing chamber. Kamaji teaches a magnetic field forming mechanism (solenoid coils 105). It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate the Kamaji solenoid coils into Tahara motivated by forming the magnetic field inside the processing chamber in order to adjust the plasma within the chamber. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in light of the fact that both references are directed to plasma processing devices. As to claim 2 , as shown in Tahara’s Fig. 1, the first and second shielding plates are disposed opposingly, and as shown in Tahara’s Fig. 2, at least some of the first openings (142a) are outside the second openings (144a). As to claims 3-6 , Tahara shows the shielding unit/third shielding plate (146) is in contact with the second shielding plate (144). While not specifically disclosed as “integrally formed” with the second shielding plate, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make these portions integral in order to eliminate movement of the shielding unit/third shielding plate (146) relative to the second shielding plate (144). As to claims 7-8 , Tahara shows the shielding unit/third shielding plate (146) is in contact with the first shielding plate (142) and the second shielding plate (144). While not specifically disclosed as “integrally formed” with the first and second shielding plates, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make these portions integral in order to eliminate movement of the shielding unit/third shielding plate (146) relative to the first (142) and second shielding plate (144). As to claims 9 and 10 , Tahara teaches that the first shielding plate (142), second shielding plate (144), shielding unit/third shielding plate (146) are all formed from an insulating materials such as oxides or quartz ([0052]), which are dielectrics . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalnitsky (US 4,836,902) in view of Naoyuki (WO 2016190036) . As to claim 1 , Kalnitsky teaches plasma processing device including a processing chamber (Fig. 3) in which a sample is plasma processed. Kalnitsky teaches a radio frequency power supply for supplying microwave radio frequency power (4:26) and a sample stage (below 12) on which the sample (12) is placed. Kalnitsky further teaches a first shielding plate (56) for shielding an ion and a second shielding plate (50) disposed below the first shielding plate. The Kalnitsky plasma processing device further comprising a shielding unit (58) disposed between the first shielding plate and the second shielding plate having a second opening (54). The shielding unit is located in a position which shields a line that passes between the first shielding plate and the second opening. Kalnitsky is silent to (a) a magnetic field forming mechanism for forming a magnetic field in the processing chamber, and (b) the first shielding plate having a first opening. Naoyuki teaches (a) a magnetic field forming mechanism (solenoid coils 114), and (b) a first shielding plate (Fig. 17, item 116) having first openings. It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate the Naoyuki solenoid coils into Tahara motivated by forming the magnetic field inside the processing chamber in order to adjust the plasma within the chamber. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in light of the fact that both references are directed to plasma processing devices. It would have also been prima facie obvious to incorporate the Naoyuki first shielding plate into Tahara motivated by controlling the plasma across the entire diameter of the Tahara chamber. As to claim 2 , the Naoyuki openings in the first shielding plate are depicted as being outside the opening in the second shielding plate. As to claims 3-8 , Tahara teaches a plasma processing device where the shielding unit is depicted as integrally formed with the second shielding plate and first shielding plate. While Tahara does not specifically teach that the shielding unit (58) is separable/in contact with the second shielding plate (50), one would have found it obvious to make the parts separable in order to permit replacement of each individual component separate from the others. As to claims 9 and 10 , Tahara’s first shielding plate (56), second shielding plate (50), and shielding unit (58) can all be made from quartz (3:10-22), a dielectric . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalnitsky (US 4,836,902) in view of Kamaji (US 20190237309) . As to claim 1 , Kalnitsky teaches plasma processing device including a processing chamber (Fig. 3) in which a sample is plasma processed. Kalnitsky teaches a radio frequency power supply for supplying microwave radio frequency power (4:26) and a sample stage (below 12) on which the sample (12) is placed. Kalnitsky further teaches a first shielding plate (56) for shielding an ion and a second shielding plate (50) disposed below the first shielding plate. The Kalnitsky plasma processing device further comprising a shielding unit (58) disposed between the first shielding plate and the second shielding plate having a second opening (54). The shielding unit is located in a position which shields a line that passes between the first shielding plate and the second opening. Kalnitsky is silent to (a) a magnetic field forming mechanism for forming a magnetic field in the processing chamber, and (b) the first shielding plate having a first opening. Kamaji teaches (a) a magnetic field forming mechanism (solenoid coils 105), and (b) a first shielding plate (102) having first openings. It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate the Kamaji solenoid coils into Tahara motivated by forming the magnetic field inside the processing chamber in order to adjust the plasma within the chamber. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in light of the fact that both references are directed to plasma processing devices. It would have also been prima facie obvious to incorporate the openings from Kamaji into the first shielding plate in order to allow and diffuse gas flow through the first shielding plate. As to claim 2 , in the combination of Kamaji with Tahara, the Kamaji openings would be placed across the entire surface of the Tahara first shielding plate, including outside of the area of the second shielding plate. As to claims 3-8 , Tahara teaches a plasma processing device where the shielding unit is depicted as integrally formed with the second shielding plate and first shielding plate. While Tahara does not specifically teach that the shielding unit (58) is separable/in contact with the second shielding plate (50), one would have found it obvious to make the parts separable in order to permit replacement of each individual component separate from the others. As to claims 9 and 10 , Tahara’s first shielding plate (56), second shielding plate (50), and shielding unit (58) can all be made from quartz (3:10-22), a dielectric. Conclusion Tan (US 20120285621) (item 430), Kostamo (US 20220235465) (item 110), and Xu (US 20140120731) (item 373) are pertinent to the claimed invention. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW J DANIELS whose telephone number is (313)446-4826. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8:30-5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christina Johnson can be reached at 571-272-1176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742 Application/Control Number: 17/641,538 Page 2 Art Unit: 1742 Application/Control Number: 17/641,538 Page 3 Art Unit: 1742