DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 are pending and currently under review.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/01/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
The term “average grain size” in claim 3 is interpreted to refer to recrystallized grains as defined in [0033 instant spec.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi et al. (JP2017122244, machine translation referred to herein) in view of Kim et al. (KR20170074265, machine translation referred to herein); and further in view of Kumano et al. (US 2017/0184200) and/or Matsubayashi et al. (US 2017/0233845).
Regarding claim 1, Adachi et al. discloses an austenitic stainless steel cold rolled product (ie. sheet) having a composition as seen in table 1 below [abstract, p.3-4]. Adachi et al. further teaches a recrystallized grain size of up to 5 micrometers and a recrystallization portion of 20% or less [abstract, p.4-5]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition and microstructure of Adachi et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Adachi et al. does not expressly teach carbonitrides having a size and density as claimed. Kim et al. discloses that it is known to control carbonitride precipitation in austenitic stainless steel to have a size of at least 30 nm and a number density of at least 10 per 100 micrometers squared to control mechanical properties such as strength and creep resistance [0011, 0043]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of Adachi et al. by controlling carbonitride parameters as disclosed by Kim et al. for the aforementioned benefit. The examiner notes that the carbonitride parameters of Kim et al. overlap with those as claimed. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach a thickness range as claimed. However, the examiner submits that the claimed thickness range would have been obvious in view of the prior art. Kumano et al. discloses that it is known to provided austenitic stainless steels for gaskets having a plate thickness of 0.1 to 0.4 mm [abstract, 0015, claim 5]. Matsubayashi et al. also teaches austenitic stainless steels for gasket applications having a sheet plate thickness of 0.05 to 0.5 mm [0001, 0011]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of the aforementioned prior art by utilizing the plate thicknesses of Kumano et al. or Matsubayashi et al. because these are disclosed to be known plate thicknesses for gasket applications, which is the same application as Adachi et al. above. Alternatively, the examiner notes that all of the claimed features are disclosed in the prior art, although not necessarily in a single reference, wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to arrive at the claimed features by providing a steel having the composition and structure (disclosed by Adachi et al. and Kim et al.) and specifying a particular thickness range known to be suitable for gasket applications (disclosed by Kumano et al. and/or Matsubayashi et al.) to arrive at the predictable result of a desired steel composition/structure for gaskets. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). In either situation, the examiner notes that the overlap between the thickness range of Kumano et al. or Matsubayashi et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Adachi et al. (wt.%)
C
0 – 0.03
0.01 – 0.1
Si
0 – 1
0 – 2
Mn
0 – 1.5
0 – 3
Cr
15 – 20
10 – 20
Ni
6.5 – 9
5 – 10
N
0.03 – 0.15
0.01 – 0.2
At least one Nb, V, Ti
0.03 – 0.3
0 – 0.5
Mo
0 – 2
0
Cu
0 – 1.5
0
Co
0 – 1
0
Ca, Mg, Zr, Sn, Pb, W
0 – 0.1
0
P
0 – 0.1
0
S
0 – 0.01
0
Al
0 – 0.1
0
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi et al. (JP2017122244, machine translation referred to herein) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujisawa et al. (JP5920555, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach an inclusion as claimed. Fujisawa et al. discloses that it is known to include 0.1 to 2 weight percent Cu and/or 0.1 to 2 weight percent Mo in austenitic stainless steels to increase the stability of austenite [p.2, 4]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of the aforementioned prior art by including Cu and/or Mo in the amounts disclosed by Fujisawa et al. for the aforementioned benefit. The examiner notes that the overlap between the steel composition of the prior art and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended limitations of steel thickness have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734