Claim 1 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-5, filed 07/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yang (US 20050175726) and Erlenbach (US 5037592) in view of Rubens (US 4693856).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 14, 17-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20050175726) and Erlenbach (US 5037592) in view of Rubens (US 4693856).
.Regarding Claim 1 Yang discloses , device for processing a particle foam material for producing a particle foam molded part a mold unit which delimits a molding cavity (Figure 1, [0022], [0027], mold half 51, 52, with cavity- 55 with foam material 110 ), comprising: at least one functional unit (Figure 1, pressure supply unit-80), through at least portions of which at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device flows (Figure 1,[0030]), at least one supply unit for supplying the or at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device to the at least one functional unit (Figure 1, [0030], [0035], control valve-80), wherein the at least one supply unit comprises a supply line coupled to the mold unit, the supply line providing the at least one working medium to the mold unit (Figures 1, 1, valve-80 connected with the mold unit with a supply line) and at least one discharge unit for discharging the or at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device from the at least one functional unit, wherein the at least one discharge unit comprises a discharge line coupled to the mold unit and through which the at least one working medium can be discharged from the mold unit, (Figure 1, [0023] discharge unit-12 ), wherein the at least one functional unit is separate from the mold unit, wherein the at least one functional unit is at least one of: a pressure-generating unit for generating compressed air or for generating pressure-reduced air by depressurizing compressed air (Figure 1, pressure supply-80); and a pressure storage unit for storing compressed air to be supplied to the mold unit (Figure 1, source-81, [0030]). Yang didn’t disclose that a treatment/perparation unit is assigned to the functional unit.
In the related field of endeavor pertaining the art, Erlenbach discloses at least one preparation unit assigned to the functional unit (Figure 1, treatment/preparation unit-40, col 8 line 20-25) which is or can be connected to the at least one supply unit and/or to the at least one discharge unit and is designed for preparing the or at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device (Col 8 line 20-45); the at least one functional unit comprises at least one of: a steam-generating unit for generating steam which is to be supplied to the mold unit (Figure 1, steam generator-32) .
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Yang’s teaching with that of Erlenbach’s treatment unit for the purpose of apply surface coatings during production to clean the units associated with the molding system. .
Further, Erlenbach wherein the at least one preparation unit is separate from the at least one functional unit and is arranged between the at least one supply unit and the at least one discharge unit (Figure 1 showing preparation unit-40 is between the supply unit-51 and discharge unit-18) but didn’t disclose preparation unit comprises an energy exchanger, the energy exchanger exchanging thermal energy between the at least one working medium and an additional working medium. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Reubens disclose comprises an energy exchanger, the energy exchanger exchanging thermal energy between the at least one working medium and an additional working medium (Figure 1, heat transfer jacket-27, heat source-28 and cooling medium-31 are two mediums., Col 4 line 12-17).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to modify Erlenbauch teaching with that of Reuben’s thermal exchanger for the purpose of recovering waste energy to reduce operational costs.
17. Regarding Claim 2 Erlenbach discloses, wherein the preparation unit is connected to the device by control technology (Figure 1, preparation unit-40 controlled by valves-52, col 8 line 40-48).
18. Regarding Claim 3 Erlenbach discloses,wherein at least the at least one preparation unit is arranged or formed on or in a housing structure (Figure 1, preparation unit-40 is formed in an enclosed structure).
19. Regarding Claim 5 Erlenbach discloses, wherein the at least one preparation unit is arranged so as to be connected between the at least one supply unit and the at least one discharge unit (Figure 1 showing preparation unit-40 is between the supply unit-51 and discharge unit-28), to form a flow circuit unit that forms a flow circuit for the at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device (Figure 1, col 8 line 20-32).
20. Regarding Claim 6, Erlenbach discloses wherein the at least one preparation unit is modifies physical parameter of the at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device (Figure 1, col 5 line 33-36, col 8 line 26-32, temperature can be modified which is a physical parameter ).
21. Regarding Claim 7, Erlenbach discloses wherein the at least one preparation unit is designed for modifying the pressure of the at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device (Figure 1, preparation unit-40, Col 8, line20-25).
22. Regarding Claim 8, Erlenbach discloses, wherein the at least one preparation unit is modifies the temperature of the at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device (Figure 1, col 5 line 33-36, col 8 line 26-32 temperature can be modified which is a physical parameter).
23. Regarding Claim 9, Erlenbach discloses, wherein the at least one preparation modifies the physical state of the at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the deviceFigure 1, col 5 line 33-36, col 8 line 26-32 temperature can be modified).
24. Regarding Claim 10, Erlenbach discloses, wherein the at least one preparation unit modifies the energy content of the er-at least one working medium that is er-can be used in the operation of the deviceFigure 1, col 5 line 33-36, col 8 line 26-32 temperature/energy can be modified).
25. Regarding Claim 11, Erlenbach discloses at least one preparation unit is modifies the flow properties, of the at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device (Figure 1, col 5 line 33-36, temperature/energy can be modified which can affect the flow properties like speed).
26. Regarding Claim 14, Erlenbach discloses wherein one storage unit (Figure 1 vessel-61), which is or can be arranged downstream of the at least one preparation unit and is designed for storing working medium to be discharged from the at least one preparation unit (col 8 line 20-25).
27. Regarding Claim 17, Yang discloses wherein the supply unit is designed for at least one of: supplying the at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device to the mold (Figure 1,[0030]), mold 51/52) for carrying out an expansion process of a particle foam material that is introduced into the molding cavity and is to be processed by means of the device
28. Regarding Claim 18 Yang discloses wherein the mod delimiting a molding cavity comprises at least one, working-medium receiving space for receiving steam (Yang, Figure 1, cavity-55, [0030]).
29. Regarding Claim 19 Yang discloses the mold comprising a first die element delimiting a first portion of the molding cavity ( Figure 1, mold half 51, 52, mold cavity-55). Further, Erlenbach disclses at least one additional mold delimiting an additional portion of the molding cavity
30. Regarding Claim 20 Yang discloses wherein the at least one functional unit is designed as or comprises the mold delimiting a molding cavity (Figure 1, functional unit-80, cavity-55 with foam material 110).
31. Regarding Claim 23, Erlenbach discloses at least one functional unit is designed as or comprises a pressure-generating unit for generating pressure-modified working medium ( Figure 1, [0022], pressure unit-80).
32. Regarding Claim 24 Yang discloses the -at least one functional unit is designed as or comprises an, in particular chamber like or chamber shaped, pressure storage unit for storing pressure-modified, in particular pressure increased, working medium, supplied to the mold delimiting a molding cavity (Figure 1, [0022], [0030]).
29. Regarding Claim 25 Erlenbach discloses wherein at least one functional unit is designed as or comprises a temperature-control unit, which is designed for temperature-controlling at least one additional functional unit of the device (Figure 6, temperature controlled valve-55, Col 11 line 42-49, Col 8 line 26-32 discloses a temperature controlled medium by using heater ).
33. Regarding Claim 26 Erlenbach discloses a preparation unit for preparing a working medium for a device for processing a particle foam material for producing a particle foam molded part, in particular for a device (Figure 1, treatment/preparation unit-40, col 8 line 20-25’ Col 9, line 31-46).
34. Regarding Claim 28 Reuben discloses wherein the energy exchanger removes thermal energy from the at least one working medium and supplies the thermal energy to the additional working medium (Figure 1, heat transfer jacket-27, heat source-28 and cooling medium-31 are two mediums., Col 4 line 12-20).
35. Claim(s) 12,15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang US 20050175726 and Erlenbach, US 5037592 in view of Rubens (US 4693856) and further in view of Maeda, US 4631159.
36. Regarding Claim 12, Yang/Erlenbach discloses wherein the at least one preparation unit is designed for modifying physical parameter of the at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device (Figure 1, col 5 line 33-36, col 8 line 26-32, temperature can be modified which is a physical parameter, Erlembach ) but did not disclose that one preparation unit (col 1 57-60; steam is added with blowing mixture to modify the chemical composition of the working medium/steam).
37. It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Yang/ Erlenbach’s device for processing a particle foam with the teaching of Maeda’s blowing agent for the purpose of creating lighter foamed part body.
38. Regarding Claim 15, Yang/Erlenbach discloses that wherein the at least one supply unit is designed for supplying a working-medium mixture (Figure 1, condensate supply unit-51, Erlenbach) but did not disclose that containing two working media that differ in at least one chemical. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Maeda discloses that containing at least two working media that differ in at least one chemical, to the mold of the device that delimits a molding cavity (Maeda, US 4631159 col 1 57-60, blowing gas is used as second media with the steam, therefore combining Erlenbach which discloses the die/mold unit of the device with a cavity-30 (Figure 1) modified by Maeda second media in the working mixture the claim limitation can be met ).
39. It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Yang/Erlenbach’s device for processing a particle foam with the teaching of Maeda’s blowing agent used as second medium for the purpose of creating lighter foamed part body.
40. Regarding Claim 16, Yang/Erlenbach discloses a mixing unit (Figure 1, mixing unit-50), which is or can be assigned to the mold unit that delimits a molding cavity (Figure 1, die unit of the device with a cavity-30 ) but did not disclose that containing two working media that differ in at least one chemical parameter.and is designed for mixing at least two working media that differ in at least one chemical parameter to form a working-medium mixture. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Maeda discloses (Maeda, US 4631159 col 1 57-60, blowing gas is used s another media, therefore combining Erlenbach which discloses the die unit of the device with a cavity-30 (Figure 1) modified by Maeda second media in the working mixture the claim limitation can be met.
41. It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Yang/Erlenbach’s device for processing a particle foam with the teaching of Maeda’s blowing agent used as second medium for the purpose of creating lighter foamed part body.
42. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang US 20050175726 and Erlenbach, US 5037592 in view of Rubens (US 4693856) and further in view of WO210079212 hereinafter WO’212, translation is attached.
43. Regarding Claim 13, Yang/Erlenback discloses one preparation unit (Figure 1, treatment/preparation unit-40, col 8 line 20-25, Erlenbach) but did not disclose that preparation unit is designed for removing in particular particulate impurities. In the same field of endeavor pertaining to the art, WO’212 discloses at least one preparation unit is designed for removing in particular particulate impurities from the working medium or at least one working medium that is or can be used in the operation of the device ([0013]).
44. It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the time of Applicant’s invention to modify Yang/Erlenbach’s device for processing a particle foam with the teaching of WO’212 for treating the steam so that the uncondensed dry steam reaches the foam particle to form the foamed molded part (abstract, WO’212)
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741