DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 22 August 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the absorber side" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also unclear if this limitation refers to a side of the absorber, a side of the side sheet, or a side of a layer between the side sheet and the absorber.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the center side" in lines 14-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "left and right compressed grooves" in lines 3. Previously, only compressed grooves were disclosed. It is unclear if this limitation is intended to further limit the previously disclosed compressed grooves, or to refer to additional compressed grooves.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishitani et al. (9,029,626) in view of Fujioka et al. (8,216,206) and Nakanishi et al. (5,201,727).
With respect to claim 1, Nishitani discloses an absorbent article, as shown in figure 1, comprising an absorber 30, side sheets 41 and 42 on a skin-contact surface side over an entire length, and a pair of wing-shaped flaps 61 and 62 protruding outward in a width direction to be fixed to an undergarment in a region S corresponding to a body fluid discharge portion of a wearer, as shown in figure 2. The side sheets 41 and 42 comprise a non-adhesive portion extending between 51ff/52ff and 51rf/52rf in which a center portion of the side sheets is not bonded to the absorber side in a longitudinal section including the region S, as shown in figure 1 and disclosed in column 5, lines 13-15. The side sheets further comprise an adhesive portion 51f/r and 52f/r in which the side sheets are bonded to the absorber side, as disclosed in column 5, lines 4-6, at an outer side and both ends of the non-adhesive portion, as shown in figures 1 and 2. An edge of the side sheets 41 and 42 is located to the center side in the width direction from a side edge 31 and 32 of the absorber 30, as shown in figure 1. The adhesive portion adjacent the outer side of the non-adhesive portion has an edge in the width direction provided in a position in the vicinity of the side edge of the absorber 30, as shown in figure 2. The absorber 30 has a constricted portion 31 and 32 constricted into an arc shape inward in the width direction on both sides in the longitudinal section including the region S, as shown in figure 1. The edge of the adhesive portion is provided in a position overlapped to a narrowest portion of the constricted portion 31 and 32, as shown in figure 1.
Nishitani discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the side sheets not including an elastically stretchable member, and a wing displacement prevention adhesive layer with a side edge at an inner side that coincides with a virtual line linking the side edges of the absorber in the constricted portion.
Fukioka discloses an absorbent article having side sheets 8, as shown in figure 1, and discloses in column 1, lines 19-23, that elastically stretchable members in side sheets cause discomfort to a wearer. Fukioka teaches the use of side sheets that do not include elastically stretchable members improve feeling to the wearer, as disclosed in column 1, lines 25-28. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make side sheets of Nishitani that do not include an elastically stretchable member, as taught by Fukioka, to improve the comfort and feel to the wearer.
Nakanishi discloses an absorbent article having a pair of wing-shaped flaps 5, as shown in figure 2. The wing-shaped flaps are provided with a wing displacement prevention adhesive layer 6, as shown in figure 2, which has a side edge at an inner side that coincides with the side edge of the absorber 4, as shown in figures 1b and 2. Nakanishi teaches that the wing prevention adhesive layer allows the article to be fixed to undergarments irrespective of the shape of the undergarment, as disclosed in column 3, lines 6-10. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wing-shaped flaps of Nishitani with a wing displacement adhesive layer that coincides with a side edge of the absorber, as taught by Nakanishi, to allow the article to be securely fixed to different shapes of undergarments. Since the side edges of the absorber of Nishitani have a constricted portion in the region of the flaps, when modified by the teaching of Nakanishi, the side edge of the inner side of the adhesive layer will coincide with a virtual line linking the side edges of the absorber in the front and back of the constricted portion.
With respect to claim 3, Nishitani further discloses compressed grooved 101, 102, 201, and 202 dented toward a non-skin side and formed on a skin-contact surface of a main body part in which the absorber 30 is interposed, as shown in figure 2. The compressed grooves are formed on both side portions of the longitudinal section in a region M corresponding to the body fluid discharge portion of a wearer and in a planar shape bulge to an outer side in the width direction, as shown in figure 1.
With respect to claim 4, a maximum bulging portion of each compressed groove 101, 102, 201, and 202 of Nishitani is provided in a position coinciding with the longitudinal direction L of the article, as shown in figure 1.
With respect to claim 5, rigidity of the absorber 30 at the outer side S1 and S2 of the compressed groove 201 and 202 is set to be lower than rigidity of the absorber 30 between the compressed grooves, as disclosed in column 6, lines 47-50.
With respect to claim 6, a center portion of the wing-shaped flap 61 and 62 and a center portion of the non-adhesive portion are provided in the position M coinciding with the longitudinal direction L of the article, as shown in figure 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patents 5,387,210; 5,752,947; 7,122,713; and 7,550,646 disclose absorbent articles having side sheets.
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781