Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claim 1 in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that as claim 2 depends from claim 1, the restriction is improper. This is not found persuasive because Group I and Group II share a special technical feature of Sn-Ti intermetallic compound having a particle size of 3 microns or less and a Ti amount of 0.5-3 wt%. See rejection below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 5609919) in view of either one of KR 10-2006-0025503 or Nakata (US 2004/0079194).
Yuan teaches a method of preparing a Sn alloy (abstract, col. 2, lines 50-65) comprising melting the alloy and spraying the molten material through a nozzle producing a particle having a size of 0.1-1000 microns (abstract; col. 2, lines 25-37, 50-65) in an inert gas atmosphere (col. 8, lines 25-35). This particle size range overlaps with the claimed range of less than 3 microns. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). Additionally, Yuan teaches that the size of the particles produced can be controlled to by timing the impulses and the size/shape of the nozzle orifice (col. 40, lines 40-56). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the parameters of the spray in order to obtain a particle size overlapping with the claim range through routine experimentation.
Yuan fails to teach Sn alloy is Sn-Ti with a Ti content of 0.5-3 wt%.
503, however, teaches a Sn-Ti alloy with a content of Ti of 1.8 wt% and size of 0.1 microns (paragraph 0069 and claims 1-4).
Nakata teaches a method of making Sn-Ti alloy with a Ti amount of 0.01-3 wt% (para. 0059-0068) having a particle size of 0.1-20 microns (claim 13).
As Yuan is not particularly limited with regard to the Sn alloy and 503 teaches a known Sn-Ti alloy with a content of Ti of 1.8 wt % and a size of 0.1 microns and Nakata teaches a method of making Sn-Ti alloy with a Ti amount of 0.01-3 wt% (para. 0059-0068) having a particle size of 0.1-20 microns, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the SnTi(1.8 wt%) or Sn alloy containing Ti in an amount of 0.01-3 Tin wt% in Yuan in order to process a Sn alloy known in the art as taught by 503 or Nakata, respectively.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Savage (US 4762553) and either one of KR 10-2006-0025503 or Nakata (US 2004/0079194).
Yuan teaches a method as described above in claim 1.
If Yuan fails to teach that the spraying and solidifying through a nozzle is in an inert gas atmosphere, Savage will be relied upon herein.
Savage teaches a method of forming metal alloy particles (abstract) by spraying molten particles through an atomization die (nozzle) in a medium of inert gas for the purpose of preserving the high purity of the powders during solidification (col. 4, lines 10-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide spraying molten particles through a nozzle in a medium of inert gas in Yuan in order to preserve the high purity of the powders during solidification as taught by Savage.
Conclusion
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735