DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Remarks
The amendment filed on 03/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, and 8 were amended, no claims have been canceled, no claims have been added, and claims 11-12 wire withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “bonding means” in claims 4-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant has amended claims 1, 4, and 8 to overcome the cited 112(b) rejection of said claims and therefore, the rejection cited in the Office Action mailed on 12/05/2025 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/183875 A1-Kwon et al. (hereinafter “Kwon”, all citations are made to the machine English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a cell culture test device (cell culture apparatus 100, page 4, paragraph 3, line 1, Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of well units (plurality of well units 110, page 4, paragraph 3, lines 1-2, Fig. 1), each of which comprises an inlet portion (opening of well unit 210, shown in Fig. 3, that is the opening of well unit 210) through which a first fluid and a second fluid are introduced (first fluid introduced and a second fluid introduced, page 4, paragraph 3, lines 2-3, Fig. 1) and a bottom portion comprising a first sub-well (first sub-well 120, page 4, paragraph 3, line 2, Fig. 1) comprising a first fluid-accommodating space (first sub-well 120 includes a space for receiving a first fluid, page 4, paragraph 3, line 2). However, Kwon does not explicitly teach an edge groove formed along an outer circumference of a lower end of the first fluid-accommodating space to accommodate a portion of the first fluid.
For claim 1, another embodiment of Kwon (referring to Fig. 5), teaches a first subwell 520 and a groove (micropatterned groove 522, page 6, paragraph 1, line 3), which reads on the instant claim limitation of an edge groove formed along an outer circumference of a lower end of the first fluid-accommodating space to accommodate a portion of the first fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include an edge groove formed along an outer circumference of a lower end of the first fluid-accommodating space to accommodate a portion of the first fluid, as taught by a different embodiment, Fig 5 of Kwon, because Kwon teaches the groove, 522 allows for a sample to be fixed in a desired region due to a well having a groove (page 6, paragraph 1, lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon teaches the invention discussed above in claim 1. Further, Kwon teaches a second fluid, also discussed above. Kwon also teaches a barrier 140 prevents the first fluid from overflowing into the second sub-well so that contamination of the first fluid with the second sub-well including the solid bioactive agent can be prevented (col. 6, lines 54-58). However, Kwon does not teach an edge groove formed along an outer circumference of a lower end of the first fluid-accommodating space to accommodate a portion of the first fluid.
For claim 2, another embodiment of Kwon (referring to Fig. 5), teaches a first subwell 520 and a groove (micropatterned groove 522, page 6, paragraph 1, line 3), which reads on the instant claim limitation of an edge groove formed along an outer circumference of a lower end of the first fluid-accommodating space to accommodate a portion of the first fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include an edge groove formed along an outer circumference of a lower end of the first fluid-accommodating space to accommodate a portion of the first fluid, as taught by a different embodiment, Fig 5 of Kwon, because Kwon teaches the groove, 522 allows for a sample to be fixed in a desired region due to a well having a groove (page 6, paragraph 1, lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon teaches the invention discussed above in claim 1. Also, Kwon teaches a groove—groove 322, which also, corresponds to groove 522, may have a depth or thickness of 200 µm, which is within the claimed range thickness of 1 to 2000 µm (page 5, paragraph 1, lines 7-8). Further, Kwon teaches an edge groove of a first subwell 520 and a different embodiment of Kwon, referring to Fig. 5, does teach an edge groove, 522, also discussed above. However, Kwon does not explicitly teach the groove having a thickness of 1 to 2000 µm and a width of 300 to 2000 µm.
For claim 3, another embodiment of Kwon (referring to Fig. 5), teaches a first subwell 520 and a groove (micropatterned groove 522, page 6, paragraph 1, line 3), which reads on the instant claim limitation of an edge groove formed along an outer circumference of a lower end of the first fluid-accommodating space to accommodate a portion of the first fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include an edge groove formed along an outer circumference of a lower end of the first fluid-accommodating space to accommodate a portion of the first fluid, as taught by a different embodiment, Fig 5 of Kwon, because Kwon teaches the groove, 522 allows for a sample to be fixed in a desired region due to a well having a groove (page 6, paragraph 1, lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon teaches wherein the cell culture test device further comprises a bonding means disposed on a rear surface of the cell culture test device to prevent leakage of the first fluid (a thin film filling the concave portion 121 including the micropatterned groove 122 can be formed, page 5, paragraph 1, lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon teaches wherein the bonding means is an optically transparent film (since the solid thin film has a thickness in the above-described range, the biological material immobilized in the interior can be observed in a single cell or a single cell colony unit, page 6, paragraph 8, lines 7-9).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon teaches the invention discussed above in claim 4. Further, modified Kwon teaches a bonding means, a first fluid, and a first-fluid accommodating space and an edge groove. However, Kwon does not explicitly teach a pressure control channel.
For claim 6, a different embodiment of Kwon teaches microchannels of the bottom recess 321 (col. 6, lines 25-26, Figs. 3a-b), which reads on the instant claim limitation of a pressure control channel.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the cell culture test of Kwon and further include a pressure control channel as taught by a different embodiment of Kwon. Further, a different embodiment of Kwon teaches the shape and width of the recess are not limited as long as the largest possible amount of the mixture solution can be loaded while maintaining the dimensions and width, which facilitates accurate control over responses to the bioactive agent (col. 8, lines 39-44).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon discloses wherein the bottom portion comprises a second sub-well (second sub-well 130 is for receiving the second fluid, page 5, paragraph 2, line 1, Fig. 1) in which the second fluid is accommodated and an antibiotic (the second fluid may be a solution containing a physiologically active substance, page 4, paragraph 5, lines 3-4) is loaded at a specific location.
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses wherein each well unit includes a stepped portion that protrudes toward a center of the well unit along a circumference of an inner wall of the well unit such that the well unit has a lower portion whose inner width is smaller than that of an upper portion at the inlet portion side (Fig. 1 shows stepped regions of each well unit 210, also shown in annotated Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon discloses wherein the stepped portion has an angle of 90° or more with respect to the advancing direction of the second fluid such that the introduced second fluid is prevented from advancing vertically from the bottom portion (a stepped portion of well unit 210 having an angle of 90° is shown in annotated Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon discloses wherein the stepped portion has a continuous edge shape along the circumference of the inner wall (the stepped portion discussed above included a continuous edge shape along the circumference of the inner wall as shown below in annotated Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and the dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. More specifically, the current rejection above pertains to new reference(s) relied upon to address the newly amended claim limitations; the arguments filed rely on the reference or combination of references not currently being used in the present Office Action. In particular, a different embodiment of the relied upon reference has been cited for the present rejection of the claims.
Additionally, regarding applicant’s argument “Kwon also fails to disclose the alternative ‘increases in diameter from upper end to lower end’ limitation” is also not found persuasive because as cited in claim 1 of the instant application, and acknowledged by applicant, it is merely an “alternative” feature, that is not required by the claim. Therefore, for the reasons discussed above in the rejection, claims 1-10 stand rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799