This Office Action is in response to Applicant Amendment and Arguments filed on 1/09/2026. This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Claim(s) 12 - 22 are pending for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the previous rejection of claims 12 - 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are deemed moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are a “control device” as recited in claims 1.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the control device the specification states “Control device 10 can for example be connected to a (schematically shown) vehicle bus30 in such a way that a current speed of the vehicle, a signal relating to a request by the driver for the acceleration of the vehicle, a current transverse acceleration of the vehicle, and/or a respective operating state of the at least one vehicle stabilization controller of the vehicle can be provided to control device10. Optionally, control device10 can also be connected "directly" to a speed sensor in order to measure a current speed of the 5vehicle, o a sensor for recognizing a request by the driver for the acceleration of the vehicle, to a transverse acceleration sensor for measuring a current transverse acceleration of the vehicle, to the at least one vehicle stabilization controller of the vehicle, and/or to an electronics unit for estimating a current speed of the vehicle and/or a current transverse acceleration of the vehicle.” This it will be interpreted that the structure of the control device is an electronic component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim(s) 12 and 20 the “Wherein during the transition mode and only before the elapsing of the minimum transition time, the autonomous system ignores all actuations by the driver” is recited. While the specification discusses ignoring all actuations by the driver during the transition mode. It is devoid of an description that the ignoring of driver actuations only occurs before the elapsing of the minimum transition time.
Claims 13-19 and 21-22 fail to cure the deficiencies of claims 12 and 22 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urano et al, (US 20180105184 A1, hereinafter known as Urano) in view of Jutkowtiz et al. (US 10421465 B1, hereinafter known as Jutkowitz) Wang (US 20210061312 A1).
Urano and Jutkowitz were cited in a previous office action.
Regarding Claim 12, Urano teaches An autonomous system for a vehicle, comprising: a control device configured in such a way that, using the control device of the autonomous system in an autonomous mode, at least one target variable of a trip of the vehicle is autonomously defined, and at least one vehicle component of the vehicle is autonomously controlled corresponding to the at least one defined target variable;
{Para [0064] “The traveling plan creating unit 13 sets a target route of the vehicle based on a preset destination, the position of the vehicle on the map recognized by the vehicle position recognizing unit 21, and the map information of the map database 4. The destination may be a destination which is set by the driver or may be destination which is automatically set by the vehicle control system 100 using a known technique. The target route is a route on which the vehicle travels automatically when the driving mode of the vehicle is the automatic driving mode.”
Para [0066] “The traveling plan creating unit 13 creates a traveling plan of the vehicle based on the target route, the map information of the map database 4, the traveling environment of the vehicle recognized by the traveling environment recognizing unit 22, and the traveling state of the vehicle recognized by the traveling state recognizing unit 23. The traveling plan includes a control target value of the vehicle depending on the position of the vehicle on the target route. The position on the target route is a position in the direction in which the target route extends on the map. The position on the target route refers to a set longitudinal position set in advance at predetermined intervals (for example, 1 m) in the direction in which the target route extends. The control target value is a value which serves as a control target of the vehicle in the traveling plan. The control target value is set in correlation with the set longitudinal positions on the target route. The traveling plan creating unit 13 creates the traveling plan by setting the set longitudinal position at predetermined intervals on the target route and setting the control target value (for example, a target lateral position and a target vehicle speed) for each set longitudinal position. The set longitudinal position and the target lateral position may be set together as coordinates of a single position. The set longitudinal position and the target lateral position refer to information of a longitudinal position and information of a lateral position which are set as a target in the traveling plan.”
}
wherein the autonomous system, when there is a received or self-defined item of information relating to a presence of at least one functional impairment of the autonomous system in the autonomous mode and/or of the at least one controlled vehicle component, is operated in a transition mode for at least a specified minimum transition time, and wherein, in which transition mode, the at least one controlled vehicle component and/or at least one additional vehicle component of the traveling vehicle, is controlled by the control device corresponding to a specified transition program;
{Para [0069] “The automatic driving mode execution condition is a condition which is preset to execute the automatic driving mode. The automatic driving mode execution condition includes a first automatic driving mode execution condition which is satisfied by the vehicle state and a second automatic driving mode execution condition which is satisfied by the occupant state. Examples of the first automatic driving mode execution condition which is satisfied by the vehicle state include a condition that the vehicle be in an area (for example, an automobile road) in which the automatic driving mode is executable, a condition that the vehicle speed of the vehicle be lower than a speed threshold value (for example, a legal speed limit), a condition that a steering angle of the vehicle be less than a steering angle threshold value, a condition that a change in a vehicle motion (such as an acceleration/deceleration, a roll rate, a pitch rate, and a yaw rate) be less than a change threshold value, and a condition that a camera of the vehicle be in a normal state. The first automatic driving mode execution condition may include conditions that doors be closed, that a hood be closed, that a trunk be closed, that door mirrors be opened, that direction indicators be turned off (or that the on state of the direction indicators not be inconsistent with the situation of the vehicle), that a headlight be in an automatic ON mode, that a wiper be in an automatic operation mode, and that a hand brake not be pulled.”
Where the vehicle the autonomous driving condition isn’t passed if there is an abnormality with the camera, e.g. a functional impairment. As can be seen in fig. 4 label s52 and label s54
Para [0078] “When the driving mode of the vehicle is switched from the transition mode to the manual driving mode, the mode switching unit 15 performs a preset manual driving preparation process. The manual driving preparation process includes various processes for causing the driver to prepare for manual driving. The manual driving preparation process includes a process of securing a margin time until the driver starts the manual driving due to extension of the transition mode or the like. Various known processes can be employed as the manual driving preparation process.”
Where the margin of time can be considered a minimum transition time. Para [0031] discusses that automatic vehicle control can still be performed to some extent during the transition mode.
}
wherein during the transition mode and before the elapsing of the minimum transition time, the vehicle prepares the driver
{Para [0078] “The manual driving preparation process includes a process of securing a margin time until the driver starts the manual driving due to extension of the transition mode or the like. Various known processes can be employed as the manual driving preparation process.”
}
Urano does not teach, wherein after an elapsing of the minimum transition time, the autonomous system is operated in the transition mode until at least one current speed of the vehicle is below a specified maximum speed, and/or there is a request by a driver for an acceleration of the vehicle, and/or a current transverse acceleration of the vehicle is below a specified maximum transverse acceleration, and/or at least one vehicle stabilization controller of the vehicle is inactive.
and
wherein during the transition mode and only before the elapsing of the minimum transition time, the autonomous system ignores all actuations by the driver for controlling manually the at least one vehicle component.
However, Jutkowitz teaches wherein after an elapsing of the minimum transition time, the autonomous system is operated in the transition mode until at least one current speed of the vehicle is below a specified maximum speed, and/or there is a request by a driver for an acceleration of the vehicle, and/or a current transverse acceleration of the vehicle is below a specified maximum transverse acceleration, and/or at least one vehicle stabilization controller of the vehicle is inactive.
{ Column 6 “With the identification of the condition 170, the ADAS 115 can present an indication via the user interface 135 to have the occupant 110 assume control of one or more vehicular functions. The user interface 135 can be used to present the indication, comprising audio stimuli, visual stimuli, or tactile stimuli, or any combination thereof, to call the occupant 110 to assume manual control of the driving controls 120. As the indication is presented, the ADAS 115 can maintain a timer to identify a time elapsed since the initiation of the presentation of the indication. The ADAS 115 can compare the elapsed time to a threshold time. The ADAS 115 may have set the threshold time based on the time T to the occurrence of the condition 170 (e.g., at a fixed fraction). The threshold time can correspond to a point in time at which the audio stimuli, visual stimuli, or tactile stimuli produced via the user interface 135 is deemed ineffective at bringing the occupant 110 to attention and to takeover manual control of the driving controls 120.”
Where the threshold time can be considered a minimum transition time
Column 6 “Responsive to determining that the elapsed time is greater than the threshold time, the ADAS 115 can change an operational mode of the chassis controls to mechanically induce a force feedback or perturbation from within the electric vehicle 105 in accordance to a defined feedback pattern. …. The chassis controls can initially be in a normal mode, and the ADAS 115 can change the operational mode of the chassis controls to an escalation mode. Under the normal mode, the chassis controls can react to an external force by reducing the external force from outside the electric vehicle 105, for example, by dampening shock from bumps in the driving surface 160 via the suspension system 140. Under the escalation mode, the chassis controls can mechanically induce a force feedback by actuating the suspension system 140, the acceleration system 145, the brake system 150, and the steering system 155 in accordance with the defined feedback pattern.”
Column 28 “With the chassis control module 230 in the escalation mode, the response detector module 225 can maintain the timer to measure and identify a time elapsed since the mechanical inducement of the internal force feedback via chassis controls 240. The timer may be the same as the time used to measure the time elapsed since the presentation of the indication via the user interface 135. The response detector module 225 can compare the elapsed time with a handover-critical threshold time. The handover-critical threshold time here can represent an ultimate time at which the occupant 110 should assume manual control of the vehicular functions prior to the occurrence of the condition 170. The response detector module 225 can set the handover-critical threshold time based on the estimated time to the occurrence of the condition 170. For example, the response detector module 225 can set the handover-critical threshold time to a fixed proportion (e.g., 50-75%) of the estimated time to the occurrence of the condition 170.”
Where the handover-critical threshold time can be considered a maximum transition time.
Column 29 “The response detector module 225 can determine that the elapsed time since the initiation of the mechanical inducement of the internal force feedback is less than or equal to the handover-critical threshold time. While the elapsed time is less than the threshold time, the response detector module 225 can continue to monitor for user input on the driving controls 120 (e.g., the steering wheels, accelerator pedal, and brake pedal). The response detector module 225 can detect the user input on the driving controls 120 prior to the elapsed time exceeding the handover-critical threshold time. In response to detecting the user input prior to the handover-critical threshold time, the response detector module 225 can determine that the occupant 110 is assuming manual control of vehicular functions. In addition, the policy enforcement module 220 can return, revert, or otherwise cause the chassis control module 230 to change from the escalation mode to the normal mode. In response to the assumption of manual control, the vehicle control unit 210 can change the operational mode from the autonomous mode to the manual mode”
The driver pressing the accelerator or brake pedal can be considered a request by the driver for an acceleration of the vehicle. In response to this the vehicle is switched to the manual mode
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Urano to incorporate the teachings of Jutkowitz to transition to a manual mode if an accelerator/brake pedal is used before a maximum transition time because it improves convenience and safety (Jutkowitz Column 29 “The response detector module 225 can determine that the elapsed time since the initiation of the mechanical inducement of the internal force feedback is less than or equal to the handover-critical threshold time. While the elapsed time is less than the threshold time, the response detector module 225 can continue to monitor for user input on the driving controls 120 (e.g., the steering wheels, accelerator pedal, and brake pedal). The response detector module 225 can detect the user input on the driving controls 120 prior to the elapsed time exceeding the handover-critical threshold time. In response to detecting the user input prior to the handover-critical threshold time, the response detector module 225 can determine that the occupant 110 is assuming manual control of vehicular functions. In addition, the policy enforcement module 220 can return, revert, or otherwise cause the chassis control module 230 to change from the escalation mode to the normal mode. In response to the assumption of manual control, the vehicle control unit 210 can change the operational mode from the autonomous mode to the manual mode”… “Conversely, the response detector module 225 can determine that the elapsed time since the mechanical inducement of the internal force feedback is greater than the handover-critical threshold time. Responsive to determining that the elapsed time is greater than the handover critical threshold time, the policy enforcement module 220 can initiate an automated countermeasure procedure to transition the electric vehicle 105 into a stationary state. To initiate the automated countermeasure procedure, the policy enforcement module 220 can invoke the vehicle control unit 210 to navigate the electric vehicle 105 to the stationary state using the environmental data acquired by the environmental sensors 125. The vehicle control unit 210 may still be in autonomous mode, as the occupant 110 has not assumed manual control of the vehicular function. Based on the digital map data structure generated using the environmental data from the environmental sensors 125, the vehicle control unit 210 can identify a location of the condition 170. Using the location of the condition 170, the vehicle control unit 210 can identify a location to transition the electric vehicle 105 to the stationary state. For example, the location for the stationary state may include a shoulder or a stopping lane on the side of the road. The location for the stationary state may be closer to the current location of the electric vehicle 105 than the location of the condition 170.”) The vehicle is stopping to due to the maximum transition time to avoid putting itself in an operating condition it cannot handle, but switches to the manual mode based on user input allowing the driver to continue traveling (increases convenience) while maintain safety in the worst case scenario.
Urano in view of Jutkowtiz does not teach wherein during the transition mode and only before the elapsing of the minimum transition time, the autonomous system ignores all actuations by the driver for controlling manually the at least one vehicle component.
However Wang teaches wherein during the transition mode and only before the elapsing of the minimum transition time, the autonomous system ignores all actuations by the driver for controlling manually the at least one vehicle component.
{para [0041] “Once the drive mode controller 204 has determined that the driving mode can be changed, the drive mode controller can update the drive mode 214 to a pending switching state. The pending switching state may be a temporary driving mode during which the drive mode controller can ensure no change in driving state should cause the driving mode change to be stopped. For example, a cancel driving mode change instruction may be received, either through the driver manipulated one or more input devices, or by the autonomous drive unit detecting a change in conditions based on sensor data. In some embodiments, such a change in conditions that may generate a cancel driving mode change instruction may include a sudden change in speed of nearby vehicles, indicating a sudden slowdown or the end of a slowdown in traffic. The length of time during which the movable object is in the pending switching state may be fixed or may vary depending on current driving conditions. For example, the pending switching state may be a first length of time in low traffic conditions and a second, longer, length of time in high traffic conditions. In some embodiments, the pending switching state may last for the same amount of time when switching between any modes or may be different lengths of time when switching from autonomous to manual mode as compared to switching from manual to autonomous mode.”
The length of time can be considered as the minimum transition time.
Para [0042] “While the movable object is in pending switching state mode, both the autonomous drive unit 124 and the driver may provide driving inputs to the control manager 122. Control manager 122 may receive the driving inputs via autonomous input manager 216, which interfaces with autonomous drive unit 124, and driver input manager 218, which interfaces with the one or more input devices 118. In pending switching state mode, the inputs may be combined using control weights 220. The control weights 220 may be indexed to how long the movable object has been in the pending switching state. For example, the maximum weight value may be 1 and the minimum weight value may be 0. When the movable object first enters pending switching state mode from autonomous mode, the autonomous inputs may be weighted 1 and the manual inputs may be weighted 0, effectively keeping the movable object in autonomous mode. As the time spent in pending switching state mode continues, the weight applied to autonomous inputs may be reduced as the weight applied to the manual inputs increases, until at the end of the pending switching state, the weight applied to manual inputs is 1 and the weight applied to autonomous inputs is 0. Similarly, when switching from manual mode to autonomous mode, the above described weights may be reversed. In some embodiments, the control output may be obtained by summing the weighted inputs, or otherwise combining the weighted inputs into a single control output. At the end of the pending switching state, the drive mode controller 204 can update the driving mode to the new state. By combining the inputs in the above described manner, any sudden, unintentional inputs provided by the driver when first taking control of the movable object would be ignored or muted in favor of the autonomous inputs.”
Where driver input is only being ignored initially.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Urano in view of Jutkowtiz to incorporate the teachings of Wang to ignore driver inputs during transition because a drivers first inputs when taking control may be unintentional para [0042] “At the end of the pending switching state, the drive mode controller 204 can update the driving mode to the new state. By combining the inputs in the above described manner, any sudden, unintentional inputs provided by the driver when first taking control of the movable object would be ignored or muted in favor of the autonomous inputs.” Which improves safety.
Regarding Claim 13, Urano in view of Jutkowtiz and Wang teaches The autonomous system as recited in claim 12. Jutkowitz further teaches wherein the autonomous system is also operated in the transition mode after the elapsing of the minimum transition time until either a current speed of the vehicle is below the specified maximum speed or a specified maximum transition time has elapsed.
{ Column 6 “With the identification of the condition 170, the ADAS 115 can present an indication via the user interface 135 to have the occupant 110 assume control of one or more vehicular functions. The user interface 135 can be used to present the indication, comprising audio stimuli, visual stimuli, or tactile stimuli, or any combination thereof, to call the occupant 110 to assume manual control of the driving controls 120. As the indication is presented, the ADAS 115 can maintain a timer to identify a time elapsed since the initiation of the presentation of the indication. The ADAS 115 can compare the elapsed time to a threshold time. The ADAS 115 may have set the threshold time based on the time T to the occurrence of the condition 170 (e.g., at a fixed fraction). The threshold time can correspond to a point in time at which the audio stimuli, visual stimuli, or tactile stimuli produced via the user interface 135 is deemed ineffective at bringing the occupant 110 to attention and to takeover manual control of the driving controls 120.”
Where the threshold time can be considered a minimum transition time
Column 6 “Responsive to determining that the elapsed time is greater than the threshold time, the ADAS 115 can change an operational mode of the chassis controls to mechanically induce a force feedback or perturbation from within the electric vehicle 105 in accordance to a defined feedback pattern. …. The chassis controls can initially be in a normal mode, and the ADAS 115 can change the operational mode of the chassis controls to an escalation mode. Under the normal mode, the chassis controls can react to an external force by reducing the external force from outside the electric vehicle 105, for example, by dampening shock from bumps in the driving surface 160 via the suspension system 140. Under the escalation mode, the chassis controls can mechanically induce a force feedback by actuating the suspension system 140, the acceleration system 145, the brake system 150, and the steering system 155 in accordance with the defined feedback pattern.”
Column 28 “With the chassis control module 230 in the escalation mode, the response detector module 225 can maintain the timer to measure and identify a time elapsed since the mechanical inducement of the internal force feedback via chassis controls 240. The timer may be the same as the time used to measure the time elapsed since the presentation of the indication via the user interface 135. The response detector module 225 can compare the elapsed time with a handover-critical threshold time. The handover-critical threshold time here can represent an ultimate time at which the occupant 110 should assume manual control of the vehicular functions prior to the occurrence of the condition 170. The response detector module 225 can set the handover-critical threshold time based on the estimated time to the occurrence of the condition 170. For example, the response detector module 225 can set the handover-critical threshold time to a fixed proportion (e.g., 50-75%) of the estimated time to the occurrence of the condition 170.”
Where the handover-critical threshold time can be considered a maximum transition time.
}
Regarding Claim 14, Urano in view of Jutkowtiz and Wang teaches The autonomous system as recited in claim 12. Jutkowitz further teaches wherein the autonomous system is operated in the transition mode after the elapsing of the minimum transition time until either a specified maximum transition time has elapsed or until there is a request by the driver for the acceleration of the vehicle and a current transverse acceleration of the vehicle is below the specified maximum transverse acceleration and the at least one vehicle stabilization controller is inactive.
{ Column 6 “With the identification of the condition 170, the ADAS 115 can present an indication via the user interface 135 to have the occupant 110 assume control of one or more vehicular functions. The user interface 135 can be used to present the indication, comprising audio stimuli, visual stimuli, or tactile stimuli, or any combination thereof, to call the occupant 110 to assume manual control of the driving controls 120. As the indication is presented, the ADAS 115 can maintain a timer to identify a time elapsed since the initiation of the presentation of the indication. The ADAS 115 can compare the elapsed time to a threshold time. The ADAS 115 may have set the threshold time based on the time T to the occurrence of the condition 170 (e.g., at a fixed fraction). The threshold time can correspond to a point in time at which the audio stimuli, visual stimuli, or tactile stimuli produced via the user interface 135 is deemed ineffective at bringing the occupant 110 to attention and to takeover manual control of the driving controls 120.”
Where the threshold time can be considered a minimum transition time
Column 6 “Responsive to determining that the elapsed time is greater than the threshold time, the ADAS 115 can change an operational mode of the chassis controls to mechanically induce a force feedback or perturbation from within the electric vehicle 105 in accordance to a defined feedback pattern. …. The chassis controls can initially be in a normal mode, and the ADAS 115 can change the operational mode of the chassis controls to an escalation mode. Under the normal mode, the chassis controls can react to an external force by reducing the external force from outside the electric vehicle 105, for example, by dampening shock from bumps in the driving surface 160 via the suspension system 140. Under the escalation mode, the chassis controls can mechanically induce a force feedback by actuating the suspension system 140, the acceleration system 145, the brake system 150, and the steering system 155 in accordance with the defined feedback pattern.”
Column 28 “With the chassis control module 230 in the escalation mode, the response detector module 225 can maintain the timer to measure and identify a time elapsed since the mechanical inducement of the internal force feedback via chassis controls 240. The timer may be the same as the time used to measure the time elapsed since the presentation of the indication via the user interface 135. The response detector module 225 can compare the elapsed time with a handover-critical threshold time. The handover-critical threshold time here can represent an ultimate time at which the occupant 110 should assume manual control of the vehicular functions prior to the occurrence of the condition 170. The response detector module 225 can set the handover-critical threshold time based on the estimated time to the occurrence of the condition 170. For example, the response detector module 225 can set the handover-critical threshold time to a fixed proportion (e.g., 50-75%) of the estimated time to the occurrence of the condition 170.”
Where the handover-critical threshold time can be considered a maximum transition time.
}
Regarding Claim 15, Urano in view of Jutkowtiz and Wang teaches The autonomous system as recited in claim 12. Urano further teaches wherein at least one target variable of a travel of the vehicle, and/or a target acceleration of the travel of the vehicle, and/or a target deceleration of the travel of the vehicle, and/or a target travel direction of the travel of the vehicle, is autonomously defined as the at least one target variable by the control device of the autonomous system in the autonomous mode.
{ Para [0066] “The traveling plan creating unit 13 creates a traveling plan of the vehicle based on the target route, the map information of the map database 4, the traveling environment of the vehicle recognized by the traveling environment recognizing unit 22, and the traveling state of the vehicle recognized by the traveling state recognizing unit 23. The traveling plan includes a control target value of the vehicle depending on the position of the vehicle on the target route. The position on the target route is a position in the direction in which the target route extends on the map. The position on the target route refers to a set longitudinal position set in advance at predetermined intervals (for example, 1 m) in the direction in which the target route extends. The control target value is a value which serves as a control target of the vehicle in the traveling plan. The control target value is set in correlation with the set longitudinal positions on the target route. The traveling plan creating unit 13 creates the traveling plan by setting the set longitudinal position at predetermined intervals on the target route and setting the control target value (for example, a target lateral position and a target vehicle speed) for each set longitudinal position. The set longitudinal position and the target lateral position may be set together as coordinates of a single position. The set longitudinal position and the target lateral position refer to information of a longitudinal position and information of a lateral position which are set as a target in the traveling plan.”
Where a target vehicle speed and target lateral position can both be considered a target variable of a travel of the vehicle, additionally a target lateral position can be considered under broadest reasonable interpretation a target travel direction of the travel of the vehicle
}
Regarding Claim 16, Urano in view of Jutkowtiz and Wang teaches The autonomous system as recited in claim 12. Urano further teaches wherein at least one activation signal is capable of being issued to at least one warning device of the vehicle by the autonomous system in the transition mode.
{ Para [0161] “In S58, the ECU 10 performs notification of switching to the transition mode and notification of the reason for switching using the notification control unit 17. The notification control unit 17 notifies the driver of the reason for switching to the transition mode depending on the unsatisfied conditions among the automatic driving mode execution conditions. When the driving mode of the vehicle is switched to the transition mode due to the vehicle state, the notification control unit 17 notifies the driver of the reason for switching to the transition mode based on the vehicle state. When the driving mode of the vehicle is switched to the transition mode due to the occupant state, the notification control unit 17 notifies the driver of the reason for switching to the transition mode based on the occupant state. Thereafter, the ECU 10 ends the current process. When the automatic driving mode start operation is not cancelled, the ECU 10 performs the mode switching process from the transition mode illustrated in FIG. 3.”
Para [0048] “The HMI 9 is an interface that is used to input and output information between the vehicle control system 100 and the driver. The HMI 9 includes, for example, a display and a speaker and functions as a notification device that notifies the driver of information. The HMI 9 may include a head up display (HUD) as a display. The HMI 9 performs an image output to the display and a voice output from the speaker in accordance with a control signal from the ECU 10. The HMI 9 may use a portable information terminal or a wearable device connected to the ECU 10 by radio communication as an input and output terminal. The HMI 9 may perform notification of a driver by vibration by driving a vibration actuator disposed in a seat or a wearable device.”
}
Regarding Claim 17, Urano in view of Jutkowtiz and Wang teaches The autonomous system as recited in claim 12. Jutkowitz further teaches wherein the autonomous system is operated in an emergency braking mode after the elapsing of a specified maximum transition time, in which emergency braking mode the at least one and/or at least one additional vehicle component of the traveling vehicle is controllable by the control device in such a way that the vehicle can be brought to a standstill by the at least one controlled vehicle component.
{ Column 6 “With the identification of the condition 170, the ADAS 115 can present an indication via the user interface 135 to have the occupant 110 assume control of one or more vehicular functions. The user interface 135 can be used to present the indication, comprising audio stimuli, visual stimuli, or tactile stimuli, or any combination thereof, to call the occupant 110 to assume manual control of the driving controls 120. As the indication is presented, the ADAS 115 can maintain a timer to identify a time elapsed since the initiation of the presentation of the indication. The ADAS 115 can compare the elapsed time to a threshold time. The ADAS 115 may have set the threshold time based on the time T to the occurrence of the condition 170 (e.g., at a fixed fraction). The threshold time can correspond to a point in time at which the audio stimuli, visual stimuli, or tactile stimuli produced via the user interface 135 is deemed ineffective at bringing the occupant 110 to attention and to takeover manual control of the driving controls 120.”
Where the threshold time can be considered a minimum transition time
Column 6 “Responsive to determining that the elapsed time is greater than the threshold time, the ADAS 115 can change an operational mode of the chassis controls to mechanically induce a force feedback or perturbation from within the electric vehicle 105 in accordance to a defined feedback pattern. …. The chassis controls can initially be in a normal mode, and the ADAS 115 can change the operational mode of the chassis controls to an escalation mode. Under the normal mode, the chassis controls can react to an external force by reducing the external force from outside the electric vehicle 105, for example, by dampening shock from bumps in the driving surface 160 via the suspension system 140. Under the escalation mode, the chassis controls can mechanically induce a force feedback by actuating the suspension system 140, the acceleration system 145, the brake system 150, and the steering system 155 in accordance with the defined feedback pattern.”
Column 28 “With the chassis control module 230 in the escalation mode, the response detector module 225 can maintain the timer to measure and identify a time elapsed since the mechanical inducement of the internal force feedback via chassis controls 240. The timer may be the same as the time used to measure the time elapsed since the presentation of the indication via the user interface 135. The response detector module 225 can compare the elapsed time with a handover-critical threshold time. The handover-critical threshold time here can represent an ultimate time at which the occupant 110 should assume manual control of the vehicular functions prior to the occurrence of the condition 170. The response detector module 225 can set the handover-critical threshold time based on the estimated time to the occurrence of the condition 170. For example, the response detector module 225 can set the handover-critical threshold time to a fixed proportion (e.g., 50-75%) of the estimated time to the occurrence of the condition 170.”
Where the handover-critical threshold time can be considered a maximum transition time.
Column 29-30 “Conversely, the response detector module 225 can determine that the elapsed time since the mechanical inducement of the internal force feedback is greater than the handover-critical threshold time. Responsive to determining that the elapsed time is greater than the handover critical threshold time, the policy enforcement module 220 can initiate an automated countermeasure procedure to transition the electric vehicle 105 into a stationary state. To initiate the automated countermeasure procedure, the policy enforcement module 220 can invoke the vehicle control unit 210 to navigate the electric vehicle 105 to the stationary state using the environmental data acquired by the environmental sensors 125. The vehicle control unit 210 may still be in autonomous mode, as the occupant 110 has not assumed manual control of the vehicular function. Based on the digital map data structure generated using the environmental data from the environmental sensors 125, the vehicle control unit 210 can identify a location of the condition 170. Using the location of the condition 170, the vehicle control unit 210 can identify a location to transition the electric vehicle 105 to the stationary state. For example, the location for the stationary state may include a shoulder or a stopping lane on the side of the road. The location for the stationary state may be closer to the current location of the electric vehicle 105 than the location of the condition 170.”
Column 30 “Based on the generated path, the vehicle control unit 210 can set, adjust, or otherwise control the steering system, the acceleration system, and the brake system. For example, the vehicle control unit 210 can turn the wheels using the steering system toward the target direction or target location. The vehicle control unit 210 can also achieve the target speed for the electric vehicle 105 by applying the accelerator of the acceleration system 145 to increase the speed, shifting a gearbox of the vehicle 105, or by applying the brakes of the brake system 150 to decrease the speed. In response to determining that the electric vehicle 105 is at the target location, the vehicle control unit 210 can apply the brakes of the brake system 150 to maintain the stationary state.”
}
Regarding Claim 18, Urano in view of Jutkowtiz and Wang teaches The autonomous system as recited in claim 12. Urano further teaches wherein the autonomous system includes the vehicle component controllable by the autonomous system or at least one of the vehicle components controllable by the autonomous system.
{Fig. 5 which shows the Vehicle control system. The vehicle control system can be considered the “autonomous system” This vehicle control systems includes the actuators 8 as well as the sensors.
Para [0046] “The actuator 8 is a device that performs traveling control of the vehicle. The actuator 8 includes at least a throttle actuator, a brake actuator, and a steering actuator. The throttle actuator controls an amount of air supplied to an engine (a throttle opening level) in accordance with a control signal from the ECU 10 and controls a driving force of the vehicle. When the vehicle is a hybrid vehicle, a control signal from the ECU 10 is input to a motor as a power source in addition to the amount of air supplied to the engine to control a driving force thereof. When the vehicle is an electric vehicle, a control signal from the ECU 10 is input to a motor as a power source to control a driving force thereof. In this case, the motor is a power source that constitutes the actuator 8.”
}
Regarding Claim 19, Urano in view of Jutkowtiz and Wang teaches The autonomous system as recited in claim 18. Urano further teaches wherein the autonomous system is configured at least as a brake system.
{Fig. 5 which shows the Vehicle control system. The vehicle control system can be considered the “autonomous system” This vehicle control systems includes the actuators 8 as well as the sensors.
Para [0046] “The actuator 8 is a device that performs traveling control of the vehicle. The actuator 8 includes at least a throttle actuator, a brake actuator, and a steering actuator. The throttle actuator controls an amount of air supplied to an engine (a throttle opening level) in accordance with a control signal from the ECU 10 and controls a driving force of the vehicle. When the vehicle is a hybrid vehicle, a control signal from the ECU 10 is input to a motor as a power source in addition to the amount of air supplied to the engine to control a driving force thereof. When the vehicle is an electric vehicle, a control signal from the ECU 10 is input to a motor as a power source to control a driving force thereof. In this case, the motor is a power source that constitutes the actuator 8.”
Where the vehicle control system has the ability to brake the vehicle.
}
Regarding claim 20, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 12 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 21, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 13 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 22, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 14 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668