DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. AU2019903396, filed on 09/12/2019.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 15 are amended. Claims 4-5, 7-14, and 16-20 are as previously presented. Claims 2-3 and 6 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1, 4-5, and 7-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on February 27, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-22, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 7-20 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of applicant’s amendment regarding the sealing cover of the removable container and newly found prior art regarding that feature.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the claim objections to claim 1 and 15.
Applicant argues that primary reference Wang teaches away from incorporating a seal between the cover plate 56 and holding tray 5. Applicant argues that the water tank 52 is already enclosed by the cover plate 56 and there would be no need for sealing.
It is the Examiner’s position that this argument is not persuasive as while it is true that Wang includes a water tank 52 in the holding tray 5, there is also a receiving chamber 51 in the holding tray. The holding tray includes two chambers 51 and 52 that hold fluids and both chambers combined are enclosed by the sidewalls and floor of the holding tray. Since the receiving chamber 51 fluid is ultimately poured out, there is incentive to place a seal on the cover of the holding tray because fluid leakage during the transport of the holding tray to the pouring location would not be desirable.
Applicant argues that for primary reference Wang that there is no mention of the electric heating tray being mounted anywhere else, let alone to a floor of the cooking chamber.
Examiner agrees that this feature is not mentioned within Wang, which is why a secondary reference Akashi is relied upon.
Applicant argues that Akashi has the evaporation dish on a raised shelf and that the water entering the evaporation dish is external instead of being embedded into the bottom of the receptacle itself. Applicant argues that these structural differences would make it impossible to modify Wang with Akashi.
It is the Examiner’s position that applicant’s argument is not persuasive. The evaporation dish in Akashi is on a raised shelf, however applicant’s claim limitations only require that “the receptacle being mounted to a floor of the cooking cavity so as to be flush with the floor of the cooking cavity” and that limitation is satisfied. The shelf of Akashi is part of the floor of the cooking cavity and the receptacle or evaporation dish is flush with the shelf. If applicant intends to have the evaporation dish be flush with the entirety of the floor, then the limitation would need to include being flush with the lowest point of the cooking cavity floor.
However, Examiner notes that there are evaporation dishes that are flush with the lowest point of the cooking cavity floor as shown in Shon et al. (KR 20090085965 A) which has the evaporation dish 31 flush with a floor 12 that is flat.
Examiner notes that there is reasoning for lowering the position of the receptacle in Akashi, which would be to allow for scaling to be cleaned by a user. It is the Examiner’s position that a higher located evaporation dish would still achieve the same end result of allowing steam to be generated, but be more difficult to clean. The lowered evaporation dish would then improve the user experience through allowing for easier access to cleaning.
Regarding the water piping being embedded within the bottom of the receptacle itself, it is the Examiner’s position that this argument is not persuasive because the limitation is not within applicant’s claims. There is no limitation regarding how the fluid inlet connects to the receptacle. Examiner also notes that whether the fluid inlet is embedded or external would still lead to the same end result in a fluid inlet supplies water to an evaporation dish to be generated into steam.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 15’s new limitation, “inhibit egress of fluids from the chamber from the chamber of the removable container”. The line “from the chamber” is repeated. The limitation should instead be, “inhibit egress of fluids from the chamber of the removable container”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (EP 1898156 A1) in view of Akashi et al. (EP 1741986 A1, hereinafter Akashi) in view of Klinger et al. (FR 2895066 A1, hereinafter Klinger) and Gasparini et al. (EP 1995525 A1, hereinafter Gasparini) and Goff (US 1097126 A1) and Allemand (FR 2912303 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an steam-assisted cooking oven (Abstract, “A steam oven”) having a body (Abstract, “The housing 2 of the oven has its inner wall provided with a position structure for positioning the plate door 9 of the oven.”) that includes a base (Fig. 4, where the housing 2 has a base at the bottom side),
a ceiling (Fig. 4, where the housing 2 has a ceiling at the top side), and
a wall extending between the base and the ceiling, the wall at least partly surrounding a cooking cavity (Fig. 4, where the housing 2 has side walls that surround a cooking cavity; Abstract, “accommodating chamber 21”);
the base including a base cavity located below the cooking cavity (Para. 0011, “The housing 2 is provided with an accommodating groove 20 at the bottom”, where the accommodating groove is located within the base cavity that is below the cooking cavity) and a base opening that extends between the base cavity and the cooking cavity (Para. 0018, “accommodating chamber 21, letting the insert hole 57 of the cover plate 56 aligned to the draining hole 22 at the bottom of the housing 2.”, where the draining hole 22 is that opening);
the oven further including a removable container having a body, with the body having a floor and sidewalls that define a chamber to hold fluids therein (Para. 0014, “The holding tray 5 to be received in the accommodating groove 20 of the housing 2 is formed with two receiving chambers 50, 51 in the interior, having a water tank 52 positioned in the first receiving chamber 50.”, where the entirety of the holding tray housing 2 is the chamber that holds fluid therein), the base cavity adapted to receive the removable container (Para. 0014, “The holding tray 5 to be received in the accommodating groove 20 of the housing 2”),
the removable container being movable relative to the base cavity between a storage position in which the removable container is retained in the base cavity (Fig. 4, where the location of the holding tray 5 is shown to be completely within the base cavity), and an open position in which the removable container is at least partially exposed relative to the base cavity (Para. 0020, “When the water tank 52 is to be filled with water or when the water gathered in the receiving chamber 51 of the holding tray 5 is to be poured out, simply draw out the holding tray 5 from the accommodating groove 20 at the bottom of the housing 2.”, where the tray that has the water tank can be removed);
the removable container being provided with a lid that at least partially encloses the chamber (Para. 0014, “A cover plate 56 to be covered on the holding tray 5”), the lid having an opening to provide a passage for receipt of fluids into the chamber (Para. 0014, “A cover plate 56 to be covered on the holding tray 5 is bored with an insert hole 57 aligned to the draining hole 22 at the bottom of the housing 2 and the second receiving chamber 51 of the holding tray 5.”, where the chamber that holds fluids therein is made of the water tank 52 and the receiving chamber 51);
the oven further including an interface assembly providing a connection between a fluid outlet of the removable container and the cooking cavity (Para. 0014, “its rear side bored with an outflow hole 54 fixed with a sleeve 55 for combining the connecting pipe 23 in the housing 2.”), the interface assembly including:
a receptacle mounted above the base, the receptacle having an open top that is exposed to the cooking cavity, the receptacle further including a fluid inlet (Para. 0012, “The electric heating tray 3 with a recessed hollow 30 is positioned below the water feeding pipe 26”);
a plumbing assembly connecting the fluid outlet of the removable container and the fluid inlet of the open receptacle, the plumbing assembly including a fluid pump operable to direct a flow of fluid from the fluid outlet of the removable container into fluid inlet of the receptacle (Para. 0011, “a connecting pipe 23 connected with a water-pumping motor 24 having the other end connected with a duct 25”), the plumbing assembly being located below the floor of the cooking cavity (Fig. 9, where the water-pumping motor is shown to be partially located below the floor of the cooking cavity 21); and
a heating assembly mounted to an underside of the receptacle (Para., 0012, “The electric heating tray 3 with a recessed hollow 30…has its outer wall embedded with an electric heating tube 31.”), the heating assembly being adapted to heat fluids in the receptacle for evaporation of said fluids into the cooking cavity (Para. 0018, “electric heater 62 in the accommodating chamber 21 for heating and make the electric heating tube 31 of the electric heating tray 3 electrically connected for heating the water in the recessed hollow 30 of the electric heating tray 3 to produce steam.”).
Wang does not disclose:
the receptacle mounted inside the cooking cavity, the receptacle being mounted to a floor of the cooking cavity so as to be flush with the floor of the cooking cavity, where the open top exposed via a cavity opening in the floor of the cooking cavity such that the receptacle is accessible via the cooking cavity;
the plumbing assembly completely below the floor of the cooking cavity and above the base;
the heating assembly so as to be located below the floor of the cooking cavity and above the base;
the heating assembly further including a temperature sensor adapted to detect a temperature of the receptacle, whereby the temperature sensor is located below the floor of the cooking cavity so as to be isolated from the cooking cavity,
wherein the heating assembly includes a heating element mounted to a substrate, with the substrate being mounted to the underside of the receptacle, and wherein the heating element is brazed to the substrate, and the substrate is brazed to the underside of the receptacle; and
wherein a seal is provided between the lid and the body of the removable container to sealingly engage the lid to the body to inhibit egress of fluids from the chamber of the removable container
However, Akashi discloses, in the similar field of steam creation within ovens (Para. 0040, “the steam supply portion 15 comprises an evaporation dish 35”), where the receptacle is connected to a removable container (Para. 0041, “disposed a water tank 53 for storing water therein which is to be supplied to the evaporation dish 35, a water pump 55, and a water supply pipe line 57…the watertank53 is re movably mounted in the main body case 10.), where the receptacle is mounted inside the cooking cavity to the floor of the cooking cavity so as to be flush with the floor of the cooking cavity (Para. 0056, “evaporate water in the pool recessed portion 35a of the evaporation dish 35, with the result that the steam S is generated.”, and Fig. 2, where the evaporation dish 35 is shown to be flush with the cooking cavity floor), where the open top is exposed via a cavity in the floor of the cooking cavity so that the receptacle is accessible via the cooking cavity (Fig. 2, where the floor of the cooking cavity includes the receptacle and the receptacle has an exposed open top; Para. 0072, “steam S is supplied into the heating chamber 11 from the evaporation dish 35 disposed within the heating chamber 11, not only the structure of the cooking apparatus 100 can be simplified when compared with a cooking apparatus in which a boiler device is provided outside the heating chamber 11, but also dirt such as a scale attached to the evaporation dish 35 can be removed simply to thereby be able to maintain a sanitary environment easily.”), and where the heating assembly is located below the floor of the cooking cavity and inside the base cavity (Para. 0040, “although not shown, there is employed a heater having a structure in which an aluminum die cast heat block with a heat generating element such as a sheath heater is in contact with the evaporation dish 35… there may also be employed a structure in which a plate heater or the like is bonded to the evaporation dish 35.”, and Para. 0046, “evaporation dish heating heater 37”, where Fig .2 shows that the heater 37 is located below the floor of the cooking cavity and inside the base cavity). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the receptacle and heater in Wang to include the receptacle being flush with the cooking cavity and the heating element connected underneath the receptacle as taught by Akashi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to simplify the evaporation dish structure while providing the benefit of being able to remove scale build up to maintain a sanitary environment, as stated by Akashi, Para. 0072, “steam S is supplied into the heating chamber 11 from the evaporation dish 35 disposed within the heating chamber 11, not only the structure of the cooking apparatus 100 can be simplified when compared with a cooking apparatus in which a boiler device is provided outside the heating chamber 11, but also dirt such as a scale attached to the evaporation dish 35 can be removed simply to thereby be able to maintain a sanitary environment easily.”.
Klinger discloses, in the similar field of steam creation within ovens (Page 1, Para. 2, “aims ovens comprising a device for injecting steam into the furnace enclosure.”), where the plumbing assembly that connects the removable container to a receptacle is completely below the floor of the cooking cavity and above the base (Page 4, Para. 5, “inlet sleeve 12 of the device 1 is connected to a mechanical pump 20 sucking water from the tank 48 through a pipe 22.”; Fig. 5, where the water pump 20 is shown to be below the floor of the cooking cavity 52, where the pump is above the base created by the bottom wall),
where the heating assembly is below the floor of the cooking cavity and inside the base cavity as well (Modified Fig. 3, where the heating element is shown to be located in the casing 2 construed to be the substrate; Fig. 5, where the entire heating system is shown to be below the cooking cavity floor 52),
where the heating assembly includes a temperature sensor that detects the temperature of the receptacle and is below the floor of the cooking cavity (Page 2, last Para., “Advantageously, the internal recess opens at the level of at least one of the ends of the heating element, such a configuration makes it possible, in particular, to facilitate the realization of the thermal brake, but also offers the possibility of accommodating, in the opening made A temperature sensor for regulating the device”, where by being able to detect the temperature of the heating element, the temperature of the receptacle can be detected as the heating element is the only source of heating for the receptacle), and
where the heating assembly includes a substrate where the heating element is mounted to (Page 4, Para. 6, “The water is thus heated by the heating element 16 provided in the casing 2”; modified Fig. 3, where the substrate and heating element are shown). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the receptacle and plumbing systems in modified Wang to be located in the positions as taught by Klinger.
Regarding the positioning of the plumbing assembly to be located below the floor of the cooking cavity and above the base, it is the Examiner's position that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to try as Klinger shows that a water pump can achieve the same end results of driving water from a removable tank to a receptacle (Page 4, Para. 5, “The water thus flows from the tank 48 to the pump 20 and then into the sleeve 12 towards the device 1 as illustrated by the arrows F.”). Since both Wang and Klinger achieve the same end results with the plumbing systems and the only difference is that the plumbing system is below the cooking cavity in Klinger, the positioning of the plumbing system would be a mere matter of user design choice in selecting different positions to try.
Regarding the positioning of the substrate being on the underside of the receptable, it is the Examiner’s position that mere rearrangement of parts is an obvious modification to make. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). It is the Examiner’s position that the substate and heating element being located above in Klinger or rearranged to be opposite would still be able to achieve the same end result of heating the water within the receptacle. As a result, the contact location of the heating element would be a mere matter of user design choice.
Modified Figure 3, Klinger
Gasparini discloses, in the similar field of steam ovens (Abstract, “water to flow into the reservoir (4) and an outlet for the steam from the reservoir (4)”), where heating elements can be brazed to a substrate (Para. 0034, “the heat generated 30 comprises an electrical resistor brazed on the surface of the reservoir 4 external to the cavity 2.”, where the heating element is brazed to a receptacle that is mounted to the cooking floor with an open top exposed to the surface). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating assembly with the substrate and receptacle connections in modified Wang to be brazed as taught by Gasparini, where the substrate is from the teaching of Klinger’s casing 2 that surrounds the heating element.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to have a more rapid activation of the heat generator with better heat exchange and energy savings, as stated by Gasparini, Para. 0034, “electrical resistor brazed on the surface of the reservoir 4 external to the cavity 2. This enables a more rapid activation of the heat generator 30, a better heat exchange with the water of the reservoir 4 and consequently energy savings.”.
Further, Goff discloses, in the similar field of cooking apparatuses (Title, “Cooking Apparatus”), where different components of the cooking apparatus can be brazed together (Page 3 lines 56-63, “The casting 8, at its outer edge, is provided with an overlapping lip 14 to engage over the upper edge of casing 6, but it is to be understood that the casting 8 will be soldered, brazed, or otherwise rigidly and permanently attached to the casing.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction of the substrate and receptacle in modified Wang to be brazed together as taught by Goff.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to permanently attach two pieces together, which can prevent detachment and unnecessary repairs, as stated by Goff, Page 3 lines 56-63, “it is to be understood that the casting 8 will be soldered, brazed, or otherwise rigidly and permanently attached to the casing.”.
Allemand discloses, in the similar field of steam cooking ovens (Page 1, last Para., “household appliances for steam cooking, and in particular in the field of ovens.”), where a seal is provided between the lid and body of the removable container to sealingly engage the lid to the body to inhibit egress of fluids from the chamber of the removable container (Page 4, Para. 1, “Alternatively, to facilitate the cleaning of the tank, it can be provided a removable cover assembled on the tank with screws or clips, using a seal over the entire periphery of the lid to ensure the necessary seal.”, where the lid is 42 and the tank is 40). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the lid and body of the removable container in modified Wang to include the seal over the entire periphery of the lid as taught by Allemand.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to clean the removable container through a removable lid, where the sealing structure allows the removable container to be sealed which prevents leakages, Page 4, Para. 1, “Alternatively, to facilitate the cleaning of the tank, it can be provided a removable cover assembled on the tank with screws or clips, using a seal over the entire periphery of the lid to ensure the necessary seal.”.
Regarding the use of a seal for a water tank lid, it is the Examiner's position that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to try as the purpose of a water tank is hold fluids within. When a removable lid is used for a water tank, then there is a possibility that the water tank no longer becomes water tight and the fluid within would then start leaking. As a result, prior art such as Allemand shows that a sealing structure is used for removable lids in water tank in order to prevent leakages. Allemand also shows that a lid can be welded onto the water tank in an airtight manner and selecting between the different lid configurations would then be a mere matter of user design choice.
Regarding claim 4, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the heating assembly is located above the base of the oven and below the cooking cavity (Teaching from Klinger, Modified Fig. 3, where the heating element is shown to be located in the casing 2 construed to be the substrate; Fig. 5, where the entire heating system is shown to be below the cooking cavity floor 52 and above the base of the oven which is pointed to by the reference 1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 4, as set forth above, discloses wherein the plumbing assembly is located adjacent the base of the oven and outside of the cooking cavity (Wang, Para. 0018, “Next, the water in the water tank 52 is pumped by the water-pumping motor 24 and conveyed to the water feeding pipe 26”, where Fig. 9 shows that the water pumping motor 24 is located adjacent to the base while being outside of the cooking cavity).
Regarding claim 12, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses further including an inner oven assembly (Wang, Abstract, “A steam oven includes an accommodating chamber 21”) and a base assembly (Wang, Para. 0011, “The housing 2 is provided with an accommodating -groove 20 at the bottom”), with the base assembly providing the base of the oven, and the inner oven assembly including a cavity part that has a base and sidewall portions that are integrally formed (Wang, Fig. 9, where the inner oven assembly 21 includes a base and sidewalls that are integrally formed within the oven, and where the accommodating groove 20 is at the base of the oven).
Regarding claim 14, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the fluid pump is controllable to create an optimum ratio of flow rate of fluids being introduced into the receptacle to power density (Wang, Para. 0018, “Next, the water in the water tank 52 is pumped by the water-pumping motor 24 and conveyed to the water feeding pipe 26 in the housing 2 to flow into the recessed hollow 30 of the electric heating tray 3. Subsequently, respectively turn the control selectors on the upper outer wall of the housing 2 to set time, temperature and function for roasting and steaming food according to practical needs”) so as to cause a desired amount of steam to be directed into the cooking cavity (Wang, Claim 13, where steam amounts can be controlled, “a steam regulating selector and a function control selector.”).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses a steam-assisted cooking oven (Abstract, “A steam oven”) having a body (Abstract, “The housing 2 of the oven has its inner wall provided with a position structure for positioning the plate door 9 of the oven.”) that includes a base (Fig. 4, where the housing 2 has a base at the bottom side),
a ceiling (Fig. 4, where the housing 2 has a base at the bottom side), and
a wall extending between the base and the ceiling, the wall at least partly surrounding a cooking cavity (Fig. 4, where the housing 2 has side walls that surround a cooking cavity; Abstract, “accommodating chamber 21”),
the base including a base cavity located below the cooking cavity (Para. 0011, “The housing 2 is provided with an accommodating groove 20 at the bottom”, where the accommodating groove is located within the base cavity that is below the cooking cavity) and a base opening that extends between the base cavity and the cooking cavity (Para. 0018, “accommodating chamber 21, letting the insert hole 57 of the cover plate 56 aligned to the draining hole 22 at the bottom of the housing 2.”, where the draining hole 22 is that opening),
the oven further including a removable container having a body, with the body having a floor and sidewalls that define a chamber to hold fluids therein (Para. 0014, “The holding tray 5 to be received in the accommodating groove 20 of the housing 2 is formed with two receiving chambers 50, 51 in the interior, having a water tank 52 positioned in the first receiving chamber 50.”, where the entirety of the holding tray housing 2 is the chamber that holds fluid therein), the base cavity being adapted to receive the removable container (Para. 0014, “The holding tray 5 to be received in the accommodating groove 20 of the housing 2”),
the removable container being movable relative to the base cavity between a storage position in which the removable container is retained in the base cavity (Fig. 4, where the location of the holding tray 5 is shown to be completely within the base cavity), and an open position in which the removable container is at least partially exposed relative to the base cavity (Para. 0020, “When the water tank 52 is to be filled with water or when the water gathered in the receiving chamber 51 of the holding tray 5 is to be poured out, simply draw out the holding tray 5 from the accommodating groove 20 at the bottom of the housing 2.”, where the tray that has the water tank can be removed),
the removable container being provided with a lid that at least partially encloses the chamber (Para. 0014, “A cover plate 56 to be covered on the holding tray 5 is bored with an insert hole 57 aligned to the draining hole 22 at the bottom of the housing 2”),
the lid having an opening to provide a passage for receipt of fluids into the chamber (Para. 0014, “A cover plate 56 to be covered on the holding tray 5 is bored with an insert hole 57 aligned to the draining hole 22 at the bottom of the housing 2”), the sidewalls including one or more features that engage corresponding guide portions located in the base cavity so as to locate and guide the removable container with respect to the base cavity (Claim 1, “steam oven comprising a housing having its bottom formed with an accommodating groove, said housing formed with an accommodating chamber in its interior, said accommodating chamber having its lower side bored with a draining hole communicating with said accommodating groove”, where from modified Fig. 4 and 6, the front of the water tank includes a protruding part that extends on the sidewalls, where that section connects with the accommodating groove to locate the container position);
the oven further including an interface assembly providing a connection between a fluid outlet of the removable container and the cooking cavity (Para. 0014, “its rear side bored with an outflow hole 54 fixed with a sleeve 55 for combining the connecting pipe 23 in the housing 2.”), the interface assembly including:
a receptacle mounted above the base, the receptacle having an open top that is exposed to the cooking cavity, the receptacle further including a fluid inlet (Para. 0012, “The electric heating tray 3 with a recessed hollow 30 is positioned below the water feeding pipe 26”);
a plumbing assembly connecting the fluid outlet of the removable container and the fluid inlet of the open receptacle, the plumbing assembly including a fluid pump operable to direct a flow of fluid from the fluid outlet of the removable container into fluid inlet of the receptacle (Para. 0011, “a connecting pipe 23 connected with a water-pumping motor 24 having the other end connected with a duct 25”), the plumbing assembly being located below the floor of the cooking cavity (Fig. 9, where the water-pumping motor is shown to be partially located below the floor of the cooking cavity 21); and
a heating assembly mounted to an underside of the receptacle (Para., 0012, “The electric heating tray 3 with a recessed hollow 30…has its outer wall embedded with an electric heating tube 31.”), the heating assembly being adapted to heat fluids in the receptacle for evaporation of said fluids into the cooking cavity (Para. 0018, “electric heater 62 in the accommodating chamber 21 for heating and make the electric heating tube 31 of the electric heating tray 3 electrically connected for heating the water in the recessed hollow 30 of the electric heating tray 3 to produce steam.”).
Modified Figs. 4 and 6, Wang
Wang does not disclose:
the receptacle mounted inside the cooking cavity, the receptacle being mounted to a floor of the cooking cavity so as to be flush with the floor of the cooking cavity, where the open top exposed via a cavity opening in the floor of the cooking cavity such that the receptacle is accessible via the cooking cavity;
the plumbing assembly completely below the floor of the cooking cavity and above the base;
the heating assembly so as to be located below the floor of the cooking cavity and above the base;
the heating assembly further including a temperature sensor adapted to detect a temperature of the receptacle, whereby the temperature sensor is located below the floor of the cooking cavity so as to be isolated from the cooking cavity,
wherein the heating assembly includes a heating element mounted to a substrate, with the substrate being mounted to the underside of the receptacle, and wherein the heating element is brazed to the substrate, and the substrate is brazed to the underside of the receptacle;
wherein a seal is provided between the lid and body of the removable container to sealingly engage the lid to the body to inhibit egress of fluids from the chamber from the chamber of the removable container.
However, Akashi discloses, in the similar field of steam creation within ovens (Para. 0040, “the steam supply portion 15 comprises an evaporation dish 35”), where the receptacle is connected to a removable container (Para. 0041, “disposed a water tank 53 for storing water therein which is to be supplied to the evaporation dish 35, a water pump 55, and a water supply pipe line 57…the watertank53 is re movably mounted in the main body case 10.), where the receptacle is mounted inside the cooking cavity to the floor of the cooking cavity so as to be flush with the floor of the cooking cavity (Para. 0056, “evaporate water in the pool recessed portion 35a of the evaporation dish 35, with the result that the steam S is generated.”, and Fig. 2, where the evaporation dish 35 is shown to be flush with the cooking cavity floor), where the open top is exposed via a cavity in the floor of the cooking cavity so that the receptacle is accessible via the cooking cavity (Fig. 2, where the floor of the cooking cavity includes the receptacle and the receptacle has an exposed open top; Para. 0072, “steam S is supplied into the heating chamber 11 from the evaporation dish 35 disposed within the heating chamber 11, not only the structure of the cooking apparatus 100 can be simplified when compared with a cooking apparatus in which a boiler device is provided outside the heating chamber 11, but also dirt such as a scale attached to the evaporation dish 35 can be removed simply to thereby be able to maintain a sanitary environment easily.”), and where the heating assembly is located below the floor of the cooking cavity and inside the base cavity (Para. 0040, “although not shown, there is employed a heater having a structure in which an aluminum die cast heat block with a heat generating element such as a sheath heater is in contact with the evaporation dish 35… there may also be employed a structure in which a plate heater or the like is bonded to the evaporation dish 35.”, and Para. 0046, “evaporation dish heating heater 37”, where Fig .2 shows that the heater 37 is located below the floor of the cooking cavity and inside the base cavity). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the receptacle and heater in Wang to include the receptacle being flush with the cooking cavity and the heating element connected underneath the receptacle as taught by Akashi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to simplify the evaporation dish structure while providing the benefit of being able to remove scale build up to maintain a sanitary environment, as stated by Akashi, Para. 0072, “steam S is supplied into the heating chamber 11 from the evaporation dish 35 disposed within the heating chamber 11, not only the structure of the cooking apparatus 100 can be simplified when compared with a cooking apparatus in which a boiler device is provided outside the heating chamber 11, but also dirt such as a scale attached to the evaporation dish 35 can be removed simply to thereby be able to maintain a sanitary environment easily.”.
Klinger discloses, in the similar field of steam creation within ovens (Page 1, Para. 2, “aims ovens comprising a device for injecting steam into the furnace enclosure.”), where the plumbing assembly that connects the removable container to a receptacle is completely below the floor of the cooking cavity and above the base (Page 4, Para. 5, “inlet sleeve 12 of the device 1 is connected to a mechanical pump 20 sucking water from the tank 48 through a pipe 22.”; Fig. 5, where the water pump 20 is shown to be below the floor of the cooking cavity 52, where the pump is above the base created by the bottom wall),
where the heating assembly is below the floor of the cooking cavity and inside the base cavity as well (Modified Fig. 3, where the heating element is shown to be located in the casing 2 construed to be the substrate; Fig. 5, where the entire heating system is shown to be below the cooking cavity floor 52),
where the heating assembly includes a temperature sensor that detects the temperature of the receptacle and is below the floor of the cooking cavity (Page 2, last Para., “Advantageously, the internal recess opens at the level of at least one of the ends of the heating element, such a configuration makes it possible, in particular, to facilitate the realization of the thermal brake, but also offers the possibility of accommodating, in the opening made A temperature sensor for regulating the device”, where by being able to detect the temperature of the heating element, the temperature of the receptacle can be detected as the heating element is the only source of heating for the receptacle), and
where the heating assembly includes a substrate where the heating element is mounted to (Page 4, Para. 6, “The water is thus heated by the heating element 16 provided in the casing 2”; modified Fig. 3, where the substrate and heating element are shown). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the receptacle and plumbing systems in modified Wang to be located in the positions as taught by Klinger.
Regarding the positioning of the plumbing assembly to be located below the floor of the cooking cavity and above the base, it is the Examiner's position that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to try as Klinger shows that a water pump can achieve the same end results of driving water from a removable tank to a receptacle (Page 4, Para. 5, “The water thus flows from the tank 48 to the pump 20 and then into the sleeve 12 towards the device 1 as illustrated by the arrows F.”). Since both Wang and Klinger achieve the same end results with the plumbing systems and the only difference is that the plumbing system is below the cooking cavity in Klinger, the positioning of the plumbing system would be a mere matter of user design choice in selecting different positions to try.
Regarding the positioning of the substrate being on the underside of the receptable, it is the Examiner’s position that mere rearrangement of parts is an obvious modification to make. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). It is the Examiner’s position that the substate and heating element being located above in Klinger or rearranged to be opposite would still be able to achieve the same end result of heating the water within the receptacle. As a result, the contact location of the heating element would be a mere matter of user design choice.
Gasparini discloses, in the similar field of steam ovens (Abstract, “water to flow into the reservoir (4) and an outlet for the steam from the reservoir (4)”), where heating elements can be brazed to a substrate (Para. 0034, “the heat generated 30 comprises an electrical resistor brazed on the surface of the reservoir 4 external to the cavity 2.”, where the heating element is brazed to a receptacle that is mounted to the cooking floor with an open top exposed to the surface). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating assembly with the substrate and receptacle connections in modified Wang to be brazed as taught by Gasparini, where the substrate is from the teaching of Klinger’s casing 2 that surrounds the heating element.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to have a more rapid activation of the heat generator with better heat exchange and energy savings, as stated by Gasparini, Para. 0034, “electrical resistor brazed on the surface of the reservoir 4 external to the cavity 2. This enables a more rapid activation of the heat generator 30, a better heat exchange with the water of the reservoir 4 and consequently energy savings.”.
Further, Goff discloses, in the similar field of cooking apparatuses (Title, “Cooking Apparatus”), where different components of the cooking apparatus can be brazed together (Page 3 lines 56-63, “The casting 8, at its outer edge, is provided with an overlapping lip 14 to engage over the upper edge of casing 6, but it is to be understood that the casting 8 will be soldered, brazed, or otherwise rigidly and permanently attached to the casing.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction of the substrate and receptacle in modified Wang to be brazed together as taught by Goff.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to permanently attach two pieces together, which can prevent detachment and unnecessary repairs, as stated by Goff, Page 3 lines 56-63, “it is to be understood that the casting 8 will be soldered, brazed, or otherwise rigidly and permanently attached to the casing.”.
Allemand discloses, in the similar field of steam cooking ovens (Page 1, last Para., “household appliances for steam cooking, and in particular in the field of ovens.”), where a seal is provided between the lid and body of the removable container to sealingly engage the lid to the body to inhibit egress of fluids from the chamber of the removable container (Page 4, Para. 1, “Alternatively, to facilitate the cleaning of the tank, it can be provided a removable cover assembled on the tank with screws or clips, using a seal over the entire periphery of the lid to ensure the necessary seal.”, where the lid is 42 and the tank is 40). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the lid and body of the removable container in modified Wang to include the seal over the entire periphery of the lid as taught by Allemand.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to clean the removable container through a removable lid, where the sealing structure allows the removable container to be sealed which prevents leakages, Page 4, Para. 1, “Alternatively, to facilitate the cleaning of the tank, it can be provided a removable cover assembled on the tank with screws or clips, using a seal over the entire periphery of the lid to ensure the necessary seal.”.
Regarding the use of a seal for a water tank lid, it is the Examiner's position that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to try as the purpose of a water tank is hold fluids within. When a removable lid is used for a water tank, then there is a possibility that the water tank no longer becomes water tight and the fluid within would then start leaking. As a result, prior art such as Allemand shows that a sealing structure is used for removable lids in water tank in order to prevent leakages. Allemand also shows that a lid can be welded onto the water tank in an airtight manner and selecting between the different lid configurations would then be a mere matter of user design choice.
Regarding claim 16, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, as set forth above, discloses wherein the removable container is moveable along a direction that is generally parallel to a surface on which the oven is placed upon (Wang, modified Figs. 4 and 6, where the removable water tank moves parallel to the surface that the oven bottom is placed on).
Regarding claim 17, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 16, as set forth above, discloses wherein the removable container is slidable in the direction along the surface to move the removable container between the storage and open positions (Wang, modified Figs. 4 and 6, where the removable water tank moves parallel to the surface that the oven bottom is placed on, where it is slid along the same direction between a removed position in Fig. 4 and a storage position in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, as set forth above, discloses wherein the base cavity is located centrally at a front or proximal portion of the oven (Wang, modified Figs. 4 and 6, where the base cavity that is the accommodating groove is located centrally at the front of the oven).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (EP 1898156 A1) in view of Akashi et al. (EP 1741986 A1, hereinafter Akashi) in view of Klinger et al. (FR 2895066 A1, hereinafter Klinger) and Gasparini et al. (EP 1995525 A1, hereinafter Gasparini) and Goff (US 1097126 A1) and Allemand (FR 2912303 A1) in further view of Reay (BR PI0601334 A).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Wang does not disclose:
wherein the interface assembly further includes a switch to detect the absence or presence of the removable container in the base cavity.
However, Reay discloses, in the similar field of steam ovens (Abstract, “an oven
comprising a cooking cavity, a steam generator operatively connected to the cooking cavity for
introducing steam into the cooking cavity”), where there is a switch to detect the presence of the water tank (Page 7, Para. 4, “After combining, the receptors of the valve 94, 96 opens the normally closed valves 74, 76 that help to support the container 50 the furnace 10 in a form that the user has not that manually support the container 50, and the sensor container 98 detects the presence of the container 50 and sends one signal for the controller 36.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the interface of the water tank in modified Wang to include the features as taught by Reay.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to detect the container so as to not activate the water pump when the container is not attached properly, as stated by Reay, Page 6, Para. 6 from end, “Additionally, the controller 36 communicates with the sensor if the container 98 the form that the controller 36 not to activate pump 126 a less that the sensor container 98 to detect the presence of the container 50.”.
Regarding claim 8, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, as set forth above, discloses wherein the switch is located towards a rear portion of the removable container (Teaching from Reay, Page 7, Para. 4, “After combining, the receptors of the valve 94, 96 opens the normally closed valves 74, 76 that help to support the container 50 the furnace 10 in a form that the user has not that manually support the container 50, and the sensor container 98 detects the presence of the container 50 and sends one signal for the controller 36.”, and Fig. 2, where the presence sensor 98 is located at the rear of the removable water container).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (EP 1898156 A1) in view of Akashi et al. (EP 1741986 A1, hereinafter Akashi) in view of Klinger et al. (FR 2895066 A1, hereinafter Klinger) and Gasparini et al. (EP 1995525 A1, hereinafter Gasparini) and Goff (US 1097126 A1) and Allemand (FR 2912303 A1) in further view of Nozawa et al. (EP 2442025 A1, hereinafter Nozawa).
Regarding claim 9, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Wang does not disclose:
wherein the interface assembly further includes a sensor to detect a fluid level in the chamber of the removable container.
However, Nozawa discloses, in the similar field of steam cookers with removable water tanks (Abstract, “A steam cooker includes: a heating chamber (20) that stores an item to be cooked (90); a removable water tank (30)”), where there is a sensor to detect the fluid level of the removable water tank (Para. 0022, “In the water storage portion 31, there is provided a water level sensor 36 that is immersed in the water passed from the water tank 30 and that detects the water level. The water level sensor 36 has electrodes 36a, 36b and 36c in descending order of depth of immersion; the water level of the water tank 30 is detected”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the water tank in modified Wang to include a water level sensor as taught by Nozawa.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to determine water level and hardness of the water, which can help a user know when the water tank should be cleaned, as stated by Nozawa, Para. 0024, “A resistance between the electrodes 36a and 36b of the water level sensor 36 or between the electrodes 36a and 36c is detected, and thus the hardness of water in the water tank 30 is detected.”, and Para. 0041, “When the hardness of the water within the water tank 30 is high, the interval of cleaning of the steam generating device 40 is set shorter than an interval set when the hardness is low”.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (EP 1898156 A1) in view of Akashi et al. (EP 1741986 A1, hereinafter Akashi) in view of Klinger et al. (FR 2895066 A1, hereinafter Klinger) and Gasparini et al. (EP 1995525 A1, hereinafter Gasparini) and Goff (US 1097126 A1) and Allemand (FR 2912303 A1) in further view of Fan (CN 107752734 A).
Regarding claim 10, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Wang does not disclose:
further including a heat shield located between the heating assembly and the plumbing assembly.
However, Fan discloses, in the similar field of steam cookers (Page 1, Para. 2, “water is heated to boil to produce steam rapidly cooking food”), where a heat shield surrounds a heating assembly (Page 2, Para. 3, “the insulating chamber is set at the lower part of evaporator, evaporator bottom electric heating element, an evaporator device temperature control switch, a timing switch device in the insulating chamber, orderly and electrically connected with an electric heating element, a temperature control switch and a timing switch.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the heating assembly in modified Wang to include an insulated chamber as taught by Fan, which would separate the plumbing assembly and water tank from the heating assembly in Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to insulate the heating assembly to allow for faster cooking times, as stated by Fan, Page 2, Para. 2, “a time control little water is heated to boiling, realize automatic supplying starting power heating can generate steam and stored only for floating-little boiling water quickly evaporating device, it shortens the cooking time of the meal saves energy and brings convenience to the people.”.
Regarding claim 11, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 10, as set forth above, discloses wherein the heat shield is integrally formed with the base (Teaching from Fan, Page 2, Para. 3, “the insulating chamber is set at the lower part of evaporator, evaporator bottom electric heating element, an evaporator device temperature control switch, a timing switch device in the insulating chamber, orderly and electrically connected with an electric heating element, a temperature control switch and a timing switch.”, where Fig. 1 shows that the evaporator device 12 is located at the bottom of the assembly, where the heat shield surrounds it and would be integrally formed with the base of the system).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (EP 1898156 A1) in view of Akashi et al. (EP 1741986 A1, hereinafter Akashi) in view of Klinger et al. (FR 2895066 A1, hereinafter Klinger) and Gasparini et al. (EP 1995525 A1, hereinafter Gasparini) and Goff (US 1097126 A1) and Allemand (FR 2912303 A1) in further view of Conte et al. (EP 3312514 A1, hereinafter Conte).
Regarding claim 13, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 12, as set forth above.
Modified Wang does not disclose:
wherein the inner oven assembly further includes a tray adapted to be mounted on the base portion of the cavity part, the tray including mounting features that cooperate with corresponding mounting features located on the base portion of the cavity part, and wherein the tray is in the form of a crumb tray.
However, Conte discloses, in the similar field of cooking ovens (Abstract, “oven for cooking products”), where there is a tray mounted on the base portion of the cavity part that collects food debris, where the tray includes mounting features (Para. 0081, “The oven 1 can also comprise a pan 20 or the like mounted in the cooking chamber CC beneath the basket assembly 4 and set to collect the possible dirt that could fall from the products during cooking.”, where the language ‘mounted’ from Para. 0081 is construed as the pan having a mounting feature that corresponds with the base of the cooking chamber, as that is where the pan is mounted). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the bottom cavity of modified Wang to include the features as taught by Conte.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to collect dirt from products during cooking, which can help with improving the cleanliness of the system, as stated by Conte, Para. 0081, “The oven 1 can also comprise a pan 20 or the like mounted in the cooking chamber CC beneath the basket assembly 4 and set to collect the possible dirt that could fall from the products during cooking.”.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (EP 1898156 A1) in view of Akashi et al. (EP 1741986 A1, hereinafter Akashi) in view of Klinger et al. (FR 2895066 A1, hereinafter Klinger) and Gasparini et al. (EP 1995525 A1, hereinafter Gasparini) and Goff (US 1097126 A1) and Allemand (FR 2912303 A1) in further view of Ribau et al. (EP 2037183 A1, hereinafter Ribau).
Regarding claim 19, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, as set forth above.
Modified Wang does not disclose:
wherein the lid is removable and includes a cover member mountable to the lid, with the cover member being movable between a closed position to enclose the opening of the lid and an open position to expose the opening of the lid.
However, Ribau discloses, in the similar field of steam ovens (Abstract, “A steam oven device”), where there is a removable lid on the water tank (Para. 0020, “Top wall 13 is formed as a primary lid which may be completely removed from the body of water tank 10. Thus, the interior of water tank 10 is fully accessible for cleaning purposes.”) that has a cover member on the lid that moves between an open and closed position (Para. 0022, “In the shown embodiment primary lid 13 has a smaller secondary lid 14 which is pivotably connected with primary lid 13. Secondary lid 14 can be moved between open and closed positions with respect to an opening 22 provided in primary lid 13 for the purpose of refilling water to water tank 10”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the water tank in modified Wang to include the features as taught by Ribau.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to access the water tank for cleaning purposes for the removable lid and being able to refill the water tank with the secondary lid, as stated by Ribau, Para. 0020, “Top wall 13 is formed as a primary lid which may be completely removed from the body of water tank 10. Thus, the interior of water tank 10 is fully accessible for cleaning purposes.”, and Para. 0022, “Secondary lid 14 can be moved between open and closed positions with respect to an opening 22 provided in primary lid 13 for the purpose of refilling water to water tank 10”.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (EP 1898156 A1) in view of Akashi et al. (EP 1741986 A1, hereinafter Akashi) in view of Klinger et al. (FR 2895066 A1, hereinafter Klinger) and Gasparini et al. (EP 1995525 A1, hereinafter Gasparini) and Goff (US 1097126 A1) and Allemand (FR 2912303 A1) in further view of Ribau et al. (EP 2037183 A1, hereinafter Ribau) and Kitayama et al. (US 20170059171 A1, hereinafter Kitayama).
Regarding claim 20, modified Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 19, as set forth above.
Modified Wang does not disclose:
wherein the cover member is biased to the closed position.
However, Kitayama discloses, in the similar field of steam cooking ovens (Para. 0045, “a water supply tank 26, and a steam generating device 100.”), where a similar cover for a water tank is biased to the closed position (Para. 0086, “An opening/closing door 460 is pivotably mounted on the rear face side on the lid 450 of the water supply tank 426. The opening/closing door 460 pivots inward and is biased so as to be closed from inside by spring members not shown.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the secondary lid in modified Wang to have the feature as taught by Kitayama.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to seal the water tank through the springs always pushing the secondary lid outwards, which would help prevent leakage, as stated by Kitayama, Para. 0086, “An opening/closing door 460 is pivotably mounted on the rear face side on the lid 450 of the water supply tank 426. The opening/closing door 460 pivots inward and is biased so as to be closed from inside by spring members not shown.”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
03/16/2026
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761