DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4,7,9 are under examination.
Restriction/Election
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, HER-3 CD4+T cell epitopes, SEQ ID: 1 (an epitope from an extracellular domain) in the reply filed on June 23, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that both the group and species restrictions are improper because a requirement for restriction is only proper “if there is a patentable difference between the groups/species as claimed and there would be a serious burden on examiner if there is no restriction.” This is not found persuasive because the instant application is a 371 application, not an US application. Therefore, whether or not to restrict is based on unity of invention analysis, not factors such as relatedness and search burden. Under a 371/unity of invention analysis, groups and species should be kept together when there is a “special technical” feature among them which is not already known in the prior art. In this case the shared technical feature among the groups and species is a dendritic cell pulsed with a HER-2 or HER-3 CD4+ T cell epitope. This shared technical feature is not a special technical feature because such a pulsed dendritic cell was already taught in the prior art. Czerniecki (WO 2016011343) teaches a dendritic cell pulsed with at least one HER-3 CD4+ T cell epitope (Page 4, ln 32-Page 5, ln 7). The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-6,8,10-14,23,28-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-III, HER-2 CD4+T cell epitopes, SEQ 2-17, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 23, 2025.
Examiner would like to point out that the unexamined claims which mention Taxol are indefinite because Taxol is a trademark.
Markush Rejection
Claims 1-4,7,9 are rejected on the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and/or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons: HER-2 and HER-3 CD4+ T cell epitopes are distinct structurally and functionally. Furthermore, the sequences presented in the instant set of claims differ structurally and functionally. In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claims to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. §134 and 37 CFR 41.31(a)(1) (emphasis provided).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Czerniecki I (WO 2017014810)
Czerniecki I discloses an anti-cancer therapy comprising at least one dendritic cell pulsed with at least one HER-3 CD4+ T cell epitope (Page 8, lines 14; Pages 44-45, Materials and Methods Section—Protocol Overview Subsection) as in instant Claim 1. Czerniecki I discloses SEQ ID:1 which is an extracellular domain (SEQ ID: 1, bottom of Page 17) as in instant claims 2-3. Czerniecki I teaches wherein the HER-3 CD4 T cell epitope is located in the intracellular domain of HER3 (several sequences on Page 18 are from intracellular domains) as in instant Claim 4.
The reference anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czerniecki I (WO 2017014810) in view of Czerniecki II (AU 2017201074)
Czerniecki I applies as above to teach claims 1-4. Czerniecki I teaches using pulsed dendritic cells to treat cancer. Czerniecki I does not teach adding additional agents such as Taxol to an anti-cancer regime. Czerniecki II does teach adding an anti-cancer agent such as Taxol to an anticancer regime (Paragraph 5 of Czerniecki II). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have added an additional agent such as Taxol taught by Czerniecki II. An artisan would have been motivated to have added an additional agent such as Taxol since it can be used as a chemotherapeutic agent to combat cancer (Paragraph 227 of Czerniecki II). There would have been a high expectation for success because Taxol can be used successfully in cancer treatment (Paragraph 227) as in instant Claim 7
Czerneicki I does not teach exposing the cells to IL-12 before administration. However, Czerneicki II teaches that the dendritic cells can be manipulated to produce IL-12 (Claim 1 and Paragraph 156) which would cause cell activation before administration. It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have manipulated the dendritic cells to produce IL-12 as taught by Czerneicki II. An artisan would have been motivated to have had the cells produce IL-12 cytokine because it successfully encourages a protective T cell response against cancer (Claim 1 and Paragraph 156 of Czerneicki II). Because IL-12 generates a protective T cell response, there would be a high expectation for success (Paragraph 156 of Czerneicki II) as in instant Claim 9.
Czerniecki I recites a dendritic cell pulsed with at least one HER-3 CD4+Tcell epitope which can be used in a cancer treatment regime. However, Czerniecki I does not include anticancer agents and/or IL-12 exposure. However, an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have included anticancer agents with the regime of Czerniecki I since agents such as Taxol taught by Czerniecki II can be used to successfully treat cancer. Furthermore, one would have been motivated to encourage IL-12 secretion/exposure in order to promote a more robust response from protective T cells. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of the skill of an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (See KSA International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007)). People of ordinary skill in the art will be highly educated individuals, possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.s and Ph.D.s. They will be medical doctors, scientists, or engineers. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable and well-read in the relevant literature and have the practical experience in molecular biology, cell culture, and immunology. Therefore, the level of ordinary skill in this art is high.
Double Patenting
Claims1-2,7,9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3,5 of copending Application No. 18/021,845 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of 18/021,845 are a species of the instant set of claims. The anticancer composition of 18/021,845 features the same limitations as the instant set of claims but also mentions a fecal microbial transplant. Claims 1-2 of 18/021,845 recite the dendritic cells pulsed with HER3 epitopes. Instant claim 7 corresponds to claims 1 and 5. Instant claim 9 corresponds to claim 3 of 18/021,845. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2,9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/021,847 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of 18/021,847 are a species of the instant set of claims. The anticancer composition of 18/021,847 features the same limitations as the instant set of claims and also mentions a fecal microbial transplant. Claims 1-2 of Application 18/021,847 correspond to instant claims 1-2. Instant claim 9 corresponds to claim 3 of Application 18/021,847. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,5-6 of copending Application No. 18/569,178 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 5-6 of 18/569,178 are species of the instant set of claims because they recite pulsed dendritic cells with HER-3 epitopes. Therefore, instant claims 1-3 correspond to claims 1 and 5-6 of 18/569,178. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
All claims stand rejected.
LAUREN K. VAN BUREN
Examiner
Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638