Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 03/11/2026, claims 1-3, 7-12, and 16-18 are pending. Claims 1 and 7-9 are currently amended. No claims are new. Claims 4-6 and 13-15 are presently cancelled.
The amended claims 7-9 and 16-18 are indicated infra as being allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
As addressed in the prior action, the replacement drawing Fig. 2, filed 11/14/2025, is approved. The examiner-annotated drawing is included as an attachment for clarity of record.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7-9 recite “at least a static voltage of the second electrical storage device”, which should be revised to “at least [[a]] the static voltage of the second electrical storage device” because the static voltage was introduced prior in claim 1, lines 36-37.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima (US 20130173105 A1; hereinafter “Koj”), in view of Saint-Leger et al. (US 9,643,498 B2; hereinafter “Saint”), Okamura (US 20160039306 A1; hereinafter “Oka”), Takahashi (US 2014/0239915 A1; hereinafter “Taka”), Iwaizono (US 2004/0162698 A1; hereinafter “Iwa”), and Tashiro et al. (US 2016/0236581 A1; hereinafter “Tash”).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Koj discloses a power supply system (“electric vehicle 1”, Figs. 1, 4, 6), comprising the following.
Koj further discloses a high-voltage circuit (“20” and connected power lines depicted in Fig. 1) having a first electrical storage device (“storage device 20”, Fig. 1).
Koj further discloses a low-voltage circuit (“17” and connected power lines depicted in Fig. 1) having a second electrical storage device (“storage device 17”, Fig. 1).
Koj further discloses the second electrical storage device (17) has a static voltage which is lower (¶ [29]: “the voltage between terminals Va of the storage device 20 and the voltage between terminals Vb of the storage device 17 have a relation of Va>Vb”; thus, “17” has a lower static voltage than “20”) than the first electrical storage device (20).
Koj further discloses a voltage converter (“electric power converter 16”, Fig. 1) which converts voltage (¶ [20]; Fig. 1 depicts interfaces of “16”, “17”, and “20”) between the high-voltage circuit (“20” + connected power lines) and the low-voltage circuit (“17” + connected power lines).
Koj further discloses a power converter (“inverter 11”, Fig. 1) which converts power (¶ [21, 26]; Fig. 1 depicts interfaces of “10”, “11”, and “20”) between a rotary electrical machine (“driving motor 10”) coupled with a drive wheel (“drive wheels 3a, 3b”), and the high-voltage circuit (“20” + connected power lines).
Koj further discloses a control device (“motor ECU 12”, Fig. 1) which controls transfer of power between the first electrical storage device (20) and the second electrical storage device (17) and the rotary electrical machine (10), by operating the voltage converter (16) and the power converter (11) (¶ [26] describes transfer of power between these devices; Fig. 1 depicts interfaces of “10”, “11”, “12”, “16”, “17”, and “20”).
As addressed supra, Koj discloses that the second electrical storage device has a static voltage which is lower than the first electrical storage device. However, Koj does not disclose the combination with the “second electrical storage device having a variation range of closed circuit voltage which overlaps the first electrical storage device”.
Koj further does not disclose “a second electrical storage device temperature acquisition unit for acquiring a second electrical storage device temperature, which is a temperature of the second electrical storage device”.
Koj further does not disclose “wherein the control device, in a case of the second electrical storage device temperature being higher than a first temperature threshold, executes input limitation control of controlling a regeneration power supplied to the second electrical storage device via the power converter and the voltage converter to within a range establishing a regeneration power upper limit as an upper limit, and makes the regeneration power upper limit approach 0 as the second electrical storage device approaches a second temperature threshold, wherein the second temperature threshold is higher than the first temperature threshold; wherein the control device inhibits charge of the second electrical storage device, in a case of the second electrical storage device temperature being higher than the second temperature threshold, and wherein the control device, in a case of the second electrical storage device temperature being higher than a third temperature threshold, wherein the third temperature threshold is higher than the second temperature threshold, controls output power of the second electrical storage device to within a range establishing an output power upper limit as an upper limit, and makes the output power upper limit approach 0 as the second electrical storage device temperature rises, and wherein the control device, in a case of the second electrical storage device temperature being higher than the third temperature threshold, controls output power of the first electrical storage device to within a range establishing a first output power upper limit as an upper limit, and sets the first output power upper limit based on a static voltage of the second electrical storage device to prevent the second electrical storage device turning to discharge.”
Saint teaches a high-voltage circuit (combo of “7” and “9”; Fig. 1) having a first electrical storage device (“second battery 7”; Fig. 1).
Saint further teaches a low-voltage circuit (combo of “4”, “6”, and “10”; Fig. 1) having a second electrical storage device (“first battery 4”; Fig. 1).
Saint further teaches the second electrical storage device (4) having a variation range of closed circuit voltage (“4” operates in static range from “V0mini_Batt1” to “V0max_Batt2”; Fig. 2; closed circuit range is likely wider, per further discussion included infra) which overlaps (overlapping region from “V0mini_Batt2” to “V0max_Batt1”; see annotated Fig. 2 and further discussion, included infra) the first electrical storage device (“7” operates in static range from “V0mini_Batt2” to “V0max_Batt2”; Fig. 2; closed circuit range is likely wider, per further discussion included infra).
Saint further teaches the second electrical storage device (4) having a static voltage (“4” has static voltage of “V0max_Batt1”; Fig. 1) which is lower (Fig. 2 shows “V0max_Batt1” is lower than “V0max_Batt2”) than the first electrical storage device (“7” has static voltage of “V0max_Batt2”; Fig. 1).
Saint’s Fig. 2 illustrates the static voltage range of the first electrical storage device (7) ranges from “V0mini_Batt2” to “V0Max_Batt2”. Saint’s Fig. 2 further illustrates the static voltage range of the second electrical storage device ranges from “V0_mini_Batt1” to “V0_max_Batt1”.
From the instant application’s Fig. 2 (included infra), one can surmise the closed-circuit voltage (CCV) range will be wider than the open-circuit static voltage range for each of the two electrical storage devices (4, 7) taught by Saint. Thus, the range of overlapping closed-circuit voltages taught by Saint is even larger than the range of overlapping static voltages illustrated in Saint’s Fig. 2.
Saint further teaches a voltage converter (“DC/DC transformer 8”; Fig. 1) which converts voltage (col. 2, lines 9-18) between the high-voltage circuit (combo of “7” and “9”) and the low-voltage circuit (combo of “4”, “6”, and “10”).
Saint further teaches this arrangement of two electrical storage devices with overlapping voltage ranges with one having a higher static voltage, as well as the voltage converter between the low- and high-voltage circuits to improve both the cold start power and the endurance of the system (col. 1, lines 11-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the two electrical storage devices disclosed by Koj such that they have overlapping closed circuit voltage ranges in combination with the second electrical storage device having a lower static voltage, as taught by Saint, to improve both the cold start power and the endurance of the system.
Oka teaches a second electrical storage device temperature acquisition unit (“temperature of capacitor” is shown to be acquired by Fig. 4b; thus, an acquisition unit for “temperature of capacitor” is inherently present, but not drawn) for acquiring a second electrical storage device temperature (Fig. 4b depicts temperature of “capacitor 32”), which is a temperature of the second electrical storage device (“capacitor 32”; Figs. 1, 3b, 4c).
Oka further teaches that the control device (“ECU 40”, Fig. 1), in a case of the second electrical storage device temperature (Fig. 4b depicts temperature of “capacitor 32”) being higher than a first temperature threshold (Fig. 4b, temperature at which the curve transitions from full performance to slope downward; annotated Fig. 4b provided infra), does the following.
Oka further teaches that the control device (40) executes input limitation control of controlling a regeneration power (¶ [25]: “power level of at least one of the first and second electrical sources can be adjusted by using the electrical power which is generated by the regeneration”) supplied to the second electrical storage device (“capacitor 32”) via the power converter (“inverter 35”; Fig. 1) and the voltage converter (“electrical power converter 33”; Fig. 1) to within a range establishing a regeneration power upper limit as an upper limit (¶ [94-98]; Fig. 4b depicts the “performance of capacitor” approach zero at the “allowable upper limit temperature”; Fig. 4c depicts the reduction in “power transmission rate” which the “ECU 40” controls in correlation with the reduced “performance of capacitor”).
Oka further teaches the control device (40) makes the regeneration power upper limit approach 0 (¶ [94-98]; Fig. 4b depicts the “performance of capacitor” linearly decreasing and approaching zero as the “temperature of capacitor” approaches the “allowable upper limit temperature”; Fig. 4c depicts the reduction in “power transmission rate” which the “ECU 40” controls in correlation with the reduced “performance of capacitor”) as the second electrical storage device temperature (“temperature of capacitor”; Fig. 4b) approaches a second temperature threshold (“allowable upper limit temperature” at end of “th24” region, at which “performance of capacitor” is reduced to zero; annotated Fig. 4b provided supra).
Oka further teaches the second temperature threshold (“allowable upper limit temperature”; annotated Fig. 4b) is higher than the first temperature threshold (temperature at which the curve transitions from full performance to slope downward; annotated Fig. 4b).
Oka further teaches the control device (40) inhibits charge (Fig. 4c depicts the reduction in “power transmission rate” which the “ECU 40” controls in correlation with the reduced “performance of capacitor”; Fig. 4b shows the “performance of capacitor” is zero when the “temperature of capacitor” is ≥ the “allowable upper temperature”; thus, the input charge power to “capacitor 32” is inhibited) of the second electrical storage device (“capacitor 32”), in a case of the second electrical storage device temperature (“temperature of capacitor”; Fig. 4b) being higher than the second temperature threshold (“allowable upper limit temperature”; Fig. 4b).
Oka further teaches the second electrical storage device temperature acquisition unit and for the control device to use the two temperature thresholds to limit the regeneration power into the second electrical storage device at high temperatures to suppress the second electrical storage device’s deterioration when charging in a high-temperature state (¶ [93-95]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the power supply system disclosed by the combo of Koj & Saint to limit the regeneration power into the second electrical storage device at high temperatures, as taught by Oka, to suppress the second electrical storage device’s deterioration when charging in a high-temperature state.
Taka teaches (see annotated Fig. 13, included infra) the control device (“controller 30”; Fig. 1), in a case of the second electrical storage device temperature (“cell temperature” of Fig. 13) being higher than a third temperature threshold (“Tr”; Fig. 13), does the following.
Taka further teaches the control device (30) controls output power (“Wout”; Fig. 13) of the second electrical storage device (“assembled battery 10”; Fig. 1) to within a range establishing an output power upper limit as an upper limit (“upper limit electric power (output)”; Fig. 13)
Taka further teaches the control device (30) makes the output power upper limit approach 0 as the second electrical storage device temperature rises (Fig. 13 shows the output power upper limit linearly decrease from the level at “Tr” to zero at “Tlim”).
Taka further teaches reducing the output power upper limit at temperatures above the third temperature threshold to protect the battery from damage due to precipitation of lithium during discharging at high temperatures (¶ [8-9, 14-15]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the control device disclosed by the combo of Koj, Saint, & Oka to incorporate a third temperature threshold above which the output power upper limit is controlled to reduce/approach 0, as taught by Taka, to protect the second electrical storage device from damage due to precipitation of lithium during discharging at high temperatures
Neither Oka (teaching for first/second temperature thresholds) nor Taka (teaching for third temperature threshold) teaches “the third temperature threshold is higher than the second temperature threshold”. However, it is well known in the art that discharge power of a battery does not need to be limited until temperatures well above the maximum temperature for safe charging of the battery.
Iwa teaches (see annotated Fig. 3, included infra) the third temperature threshold (95°C, above which discharging is inhibited) is higher than the second temperature threshold (47°C, above which charging is inhibited).
Iwa further teaches this difference in safe temperatures for charging vs. discharging a battery because discharging is safer than charging at higher temperatures for avoiding deterioration (¶ [10, 15-17]). Thus, the discharging of the battery can be completed at higher temperatures (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the third temperature threshold (for limiting discharge power) disclosed by the combo of Koj, Saint, Oka, & Taka to be higher than the second temperature threshold (for inhibiting charge power), as taught by Iwa, to enable the second electrical storage device’s stored energy to be usable at higher temperatures and improves safety by avoiding deterioration of the second electrical storage device.
Tash teaches that the control device (“controller 30”, Fig. 1), in a case of the second electrical storage device temperature (“battery temperature”; Fig. 13) being higher than the third temperature threshold (“T2”; Fig. 13), does the following.
Tash further teaches that the control device (30) controls output power (Fig. 3 shows discharge power of “auxiliary battery” to be limited less than the difference of “SWout” and “Wout”) of the first electrical storage device (“auxiliary battery 40”; Fig. 1) to within a range establishing a first output power upper limit as an upper limit (difference of “SWout and “Wout”; Fig. 3; steps S411-412 of Fig. 14).
Tash further teaches the control device (30) sets the first output power upper limit (difference of “SWout” and “Wout”; Fig. 3) based on a static voltage (because each of “SWout” and “Wout” governs the output power of the second elec. storage device “10”, they are inherently based on the closed-circuit voltage range of the second elec. storage device; as evidenced by Saint Fig. 2, the closed-circuit voltage of any battery is inherently based around its static voltage range; thus, the first output power upper limit, i.e. “SWout” minus “Wout”, of the first elec. storage device “40” is inherently also based on the static voltage of the second elec. storage device “10”; reference Saint’s annotated Fig. 2, included supra, for the evidence of the inherent relationship of closed-circuit voltage and static voltage ranges of a battery) of the second electrical storage device (10) to prevent the second electrical storage device (10) turning to discharge (in the scenario where the “vehicle request” is zero, then neither electrical storage device “40” or “10” turns to discharge to meet demand; note this claim language is significantly more broad than that of dependent claims 7-9).
NOTE: The claim term “based on a static voltage” is written very broadly. The language of claims 7-9 is more effectively restrictive than “based on”. The “voltage converter” converts from a higher voltage (input/output of “first electrical storage device”) to a lower voltage (input/output of “second electrical storage device”). Thus, operations of the “voltage converter” are based on the closed-circuit voltages of each battery. As detailed supra, batteries’ closed-circuit voltages are inherently based on their static voltages. Thus, the output power from the “first electrical storage device” is based on the static voltage of the second electrical storage device.
Tash further teaches this to suppress deterioration of an electrical storage device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the power supply system and control device disclosed by the combo of Koj, Saint, Oka, Taka, & Iwa to incorporate a first output power upper limit, as taught by Tash, to suppress deterioration of the first electrical storage device by controlling the transfer of power at high temperatures.
Regarding Claim 2, the combo of Koj, Saint, Oka, Taka, Iwa, & Tash teaches the power supply system according to claim 1.
Koj does not disclose “a first remaining amount parameter acquisition unit for acquiring a first remaining amount parameter which increases in response to a remaining amount of the first electrical storage device, wherein the control device supplies regeneration power to the first electrical storage device, in a case of a requested regeneration power relative to the rotary electrical machine exceeding the regeneration power upper limit and the first remaining amount parameter being less than a first remaining amount threshold, during execution of the input limitation control”.
Oka further teaches a first remaining amount parameter acquisition unit (¶ [16]: “adjusting device”) for acquiring a first remaining amount parameter (¶ [16]: “difference between the residual power level of the first electrical source and the target amount") which increases in response to a remaining amount of the first electrical storage device (¶ [16]: “the adjusting device may adjust the residual power level of the first electrical source such that a difference between the residual power level of the first electrical source and the target amount becomes smaller”).
Oka further teaches the control device (“ECU 40” in Fig. 1; also described as “adjusting device” in the Abstract and ¶ [10, 15-19]) supplies regeneration power to the first electrical storage device (“ECU 40” uses the “electrical power converter 33” to provide regeneration power to “battery 31”; connections shown in Fig. 1; ¶ [70]), in a case of a requested regeneration power relative to the rotary electrical machine exceeding the regeneration power upper limit (¶ [94-98]; Fig. 4(b) depicts the “performance of capacitor” approach zero at the “allowable upper limit temperature”; Fig. 4(c) depicts the reduction in “power transmission rate” which the “ECU 40” controls in correlation with the reduced “performance of capacitor”) and the first remaining amount parameter being less than a first remaining amount threshold (“target amount of the SOC of the battery 31”), during execution of the input limitation control (¶ [70]: “ECU 40 controls the distribution of the electrical power to set a SOC … of the battery 31 equal to a battery SOC center which is a target amount of the SOC of the battery 31”).
Okamura teaches this to maximize the energy storage without exceeding rated capacity of the of the energy storage devices. This improves the fuel efficiency of the vehicle by improving storage of electrical power which is generated by regeneration (¶ [45]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the power supply system disclosed by the combo of Koj, Saint, Oka, Taka, Iwa, & Tash to incorporate a first remaining amount parameter acquisition unit and associated control device functionalities, as further taught by Oka, to maximize energy storage and improve efficiency.
Regarding Claim 3, the combo of Koj, Saint, Oka, Taka, Iwa, & Tash teaches the power supply system according to claim 2.
Koj does not disclose “the control device, in a case of being during execution of the input limitation control and the first remaining amount parameter being greater than the first remaining amount threshold, controls regeneration power supplied from the rotary electrical machine to the high-voltage circuit to within a range establishing a total regeneration power upper limit as the upper limit, and makes the total regeneration power upper limit approach 0 as the second electrical storage device temperature rises”.
Oka further teaches that the control device (40), in a case of being during execution of the input limitation control and the first remaining amount parameter being greater than the first remaining amount threshold (¶ [16]: “adjusting device may adjust the residual power level of the first electrical source such that a difference between the residual power level of the first electrical source and the target amount becomes smaller”), does the following.
Oka further teaches the control device (40) controls regeneration power supplied from the rotary electrical machine (“motor generator 10”, Fig. 1) to the high-voltage circuit (“battery 31”, also described as “first electrical source” per ¶ [13] and connected power lines depicted in Fig. 1) to within a range establishing a total regeneration power upper limit (“power transmission rate”; Figs. 3b, 4c) as the upper limit (¶ [94-98]; Fig. 4a depicts the “performance of battery” approach zero at the “allowable upper limit temperature”; Fig. 4c depicts the reduction in “power transmission rate” which the “ECU 40” controls in correlation with the reduced “performance of battery”).
Oka teaches the control device (40) makes the total regeneration power upper limit approach 0 as the second electrical storage device temperature rises (¶ [94-98]; Fig. 4b depicts the “performance of capacitor” approach zero at the “allowable upper limit temperature”; Fig. 4c depicts the reduction in “power transmission rate” which the “ECU 40” controls in correlation with the reduced “performance of capacitor”).
Okamura teaches this to suppress deterioration of an electrical storage device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply system disclosed by the combo of Koj, Saint, Oka, Taka, Iwa, & Tash to incorporate the total regeneration power upper limit, as further taught by Oka, to suppress deterioration of the second electrical storage device.
Regarding Claims 10-12, the combo of Koj, Saint, Oka, Taka, Iwa, & Tash teaches the power supply system according to claim 1 (i.e., for claim 10), according to claim 2 (i.e., for claim 11), and according to claim 3 (i.e., for claim 12).
Koj fails to teach “the control device inhibits charge and discharge of the second electrical storage device, in a case of the second electrical storage device temperature being higher than a fourth temperature threshold, wherein the fourth temperature threshold is higher than the first temperature threshold”.
Taka further teaches (see annotated Fig. 13, included supra in claim 1 section) the control device (30) inhibits charge and discharge (Fig. 13 shows both “Win” and “Wout” are zero above “Tlim”) of the second electrical storage device (10), in a case of the second electrical storage device temperature (“cell temperature”; Fig. 13) being higher than a fourth temperature threshold (“Tlim”; Fig. 13)
Taka further teaches to inhibit the input and output power at temperatures above the fourth temperature threshold to protect the battery from damage due to precipitation of lithium during discharging at high temperatures (¶ [8-9, 14-15]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the power supply system and control device disclosed by the combo of Koj, Saint, Oka, Taka, Iwa, & Tash to inhibit both charge and discharge of the second electrical storage device above a fourth temperature threshold, as further taught by Taka, to protect the second electrical storage device from damage due to precipitation of lithium during discharging at high temperatures.
Thus, the combo of Koj, Saint, Oka, Taka, Iwa, & Tash teaches the fourth temperature threshold (“Tlim”, incorporated from Taka’s Fig. 13) is higher (see note 10-1, included infra) than the first temperature threshold (see annotated Oka Fig. 4b, included supra)
NOTE 10-1: The “fourth temperature threshold” incorporated from Taka is higher than the “third temperature threshold” incorporated from Taka (e.g. T4 > T3). Based on the teachings of Iwa, the “third temperature threshold” was modified to be higher than the “second temperature threshold” of Oka (e.g. T3 > T2). Oka’s “second temperature threshold” is higher than Oka’s “first temperature threshold” (e.g. T2 > T1). Thus, the “fourth temperature threshold” incorporated from Taka is higher than the “first temperature threshold” of Oka (e.g. T4 > T1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 16-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action (i.e. objections to claims 7-9 infra) and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 7-9, though the prior art teaches the subject matter of claims 1-3, it fails to teach the inclusion of and the combination with “the control device sets the first output power upper limit so that a lower limit voltage for a closed circuit voltage of the first electrical storage device becomes at least a static voltage of the second electrical storage device”.
Claim 16-18 would be allowable due to their dependency on claims 7-9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859