DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
The applicant argues that Ooiwa does not teach a busbar because it is unlabeled. This argument is not persuasive because without a busbar, the device would not function, because the busbar connects the windings to the power source. In order to expedite prosecution however, a new prior art with explicit discussion of a busbar is applied.
The applicant argues on page 13 that there is no separation of layers in Kamibayashi. This argument is not persuasive because wire layers 102 are clearly separated/spaced as shown in figure 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, 8-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
In re claims 1 and 18, the examiner could not find where in the originally filed specification the newly added limitation of evenly spaced legs is present. This limitation is thus considered to be new matter.
Claims 1, 6, 8-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claims 1 and 18 the term “evenly spaced” is vague and indefinite because it is not clear what it means. There is no explanation that can be found in the specification. The claims will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooiwa et al. (US 2010/0026132) in view of Kamibayashi et al. (US 8049390) and Paetzold et al. (US 2012/0206094).
In re claim 1, Ooiwa, in figures 1-15, discloses a system for a stator assembly of an electric motor, comprising: a plurality of segmented slots positioned around an inner cylindrical surface of the stator (22); and a plurality of hairpin wires (231,232) of different widths stacked within each of the segmented slots; wherein each of the segmented slots includes four layers with each layer housing one or more legs of one or more corresponding hairpin wires; wherein the four layers sequentially increase in width and decrease in height in a radially outward direction (as seen in figures 8-9 and 13-15); wherein a first width of a first layer of the four layers is less than a second width of a second layer of the four layers, the first layer proximal to the inner cylindrical surface of the stator; wherein the four layers include four layers; wherein a third width of a third layer of the four layers is greater than the second width; and wherein a fourth width of a fourth layer of the four layers is greater than the third width (as shown in figures 8-9 and 13-15), wherein the first layer is proximal to a rotor of the electric motor, wherein the third layer is adjacent to the fourth layer, wherein the second layer is adjacent to the third layer, and wherein the first layer is adjacent to the second layer (as seen in the figures). Ooiwa does not teach each layer having at least two legs. Kamibayashi teaches that it is known in the art to have each layer have a separation separating two separate legs/wires/windings across the width of each layer (the wires are separated within the slot as shown in the figures) of the same dimensions in each layer shown in a similar device and having the claimed widths relationships in each layer (see figure 5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used layers of two (or more) windings as taught by Kamibayashi instead of single layer windings in the device of Ooiwa to increase redundancy and allow for independent current control in the windings. Ooiwa does not explicitly discuss a busbar. Paetzold however, in figures 1-5, teaches a similar device having phase busbars connecting an input voltage source to the wires (see paragraph 17 for detailed disclosure). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used phase busbars as taught by Paetzold in the device of Ooiwa/Kamibayashi to connect the wires to the input voltage source so that the device can function.
In re claim 6, Ooiwa, in figures 1-15, discloses fifth-seventh separations dividing the four layers from one another (as best seen in figures 8-9 and 13-15).
In re claim 8, Ooiwa, in figures 1-15, discloses end turns (231c, 232c).
In re claim 9, Ooiwa, in figures 1-15, discloses a motor housing (4) directly circumferentially surrounding the stator assembly.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooiwa et al. (US 2010/0026132) in view of Kamibayashi et al. (US 8049390), Paetzold, and Horng et al. (US 2007/0216239).
In re claim 10, Ooiwa/Kamibayashi/Paetzold disclose the claimed device but do not explicitly discuss a permanent magnet in a rotor core. Horng however teaches that it is known in the art to use a permanent magnet (33) in a rotor core. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a permanent magnet as taught by Horng in the device of Ooiwa/Kamibayashi/Paetzold to increase magnetic field strength of the rotor.
In re claim 11, Ooiwa/Kamibayashi/Paetzold disclose the claimed device but do not explicitly discuss a balancing plate. Horng however teaches that it is known in the art to use a balancing plate (35 or 45) coupled to the rotor core. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a balancing plate as taught by Horng in the device of Ooiwa/Kamibayashi/Paetzold to assist in rotational balance of the device.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooiwa et al. (US 2010/0026132) in view of Rahman et al. (US 2010/0320864) and Paetzold et al. (US 2012/0206094).
In re claim 12, Ooiwa, in figures 1-15, discloses a system for conductive windings for a stator (22) of an electric motor, comprising: a first set of conductive hairpin winding wires of a first width extending through a first layer of a slot positioned along an inner surface of the stator; and a second set of conductive hairpin winding wires of a second width inserted within a second layer of the slot, the second width greater than the first width; a third set of conductive hairpin windings of a third width inserted within a third layer of the slot positioned adjacent to the second laver; and a fourth set of conductive hairpin windings of a fourth width inserted within a fourth layer of the slot positioned adjacent to the third layer, the third width greater than the second width and the fourth width greater than the third width, wherein the second layer has a greater width than the first layer; wherein the second layer has a smaller height than the first layer (as best seen in figures 8-9 and 13-15); a plurality of hairpin wires (231, 232) of different widths stacked within each of the segmented slots; wherein each of the segmented slots includes multiple layers with each laver housing one or more legs of one or more corresponding hairpin wires; and wherein the one or more legs in the first laver have a different width than the one or more legs in the second layer (as best seen in figures 8-9 and 13-15); wherein the first layer is proximal to a rotor of the electric motor, wherein the third layer is adjacent to the fourth layer, wherein the second layer is adjacent to the third layer, and wherein the first layer is adjacent to the second layer. Ooiwa does not disclose that each that each set of conductive hairpin winding wires includes two legs of different wires. Rahman however teaches a similar device having legs of different wires (305A-D) in each set in a layer (as seen in figures 3-4) and having the claimed widths, and also including a separation dividing each layer across a width of each layer (as seen in the figures). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used two legs of different wires as taught by Rahman instead of single leg in the device of Ooiwa to increase redundancy and allow for independent current control in the windings. Ooiwa does not explicitly discuss a busbar. Paetzold however, in figures 1-5, teaches a similar device having phase busbars connecting an input voltage source to the wires (see paragraph 17 for detailed disclosure). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used phase busbars as taught by Paetzold in the device of Ooiwa/Rahman to connect the wires to the voltage source so that the device can function as intended.
In re claim 13, Ooiwa/Rahman, in figures 1-15, discloses that the slot is segmented in shape with a width of the slot diverging from a first end proximal to a rotor to a second end proximal to a housing of the electric motor (as best seen in figures 8-9 and 13-15).
In re claim 15, Ooiwa in view of Rahman discloses that the two legs in the third set of conductive hairpin winding wires are greater than widths of the two legs in a portion of the plurality of winding wires that are positioned within the second set of conductive hairpin winding wires (Ooiwa discloses four sets while Rahman discloses two legs in each set); and the two legs in the fourth set of conductive hairpin winding wires are greater than widths of the two legs in a portion of the plurality of winding wires that are positioned within the third set of conductive hairpin winding wires.
In re claim 16, Ooiwa in view of Rahman discloses that the slot includes eight legs corresponding to eight conductive hairpin windings of four widths (as discussed above).
In re claim 17, Ooiwa, in figures 1-15, discloses fifth-seventh separations dividing the four layers from one another (as best seen in figures 8-9 and 13-15).
In re claim 18, Ooiwa, in figures 1-15, discloses a system for conductive windings for a stator of an electric motor, comprising: a plurality of radial slots (25) evenly spaced circumferentially around an inner cylindrical surface (see paragraph 32) with each slot diverging from the inner cylindrical surface of the stator towards an outer cylindrical surface of the stator; and a plurality of conductive hairpin winding wires (231, 232) of varying widths inserted within each radial slot; wherein each of the plurality of radial slots includes multiple layers with each layer housing one or more legs of one or more corresponding conductive hairpin windings; wherein the multiple layers sequentially increase in width and decrease in height in a radially outward direction; and wherein the one or more legs in the first layer have a different width than the one or more legs in the second layer (as best seen in figures 8-9 and 13-15); wherein the first layer is proximal to a rotor of the electric motor, wherein the third layer is adjacent to the fourth layer, wherein the second layer is adjacent to the third layer, and wherein the first layer is adjacent to the second layer. Ooiwa does not disclose that each that each set of conductive hairpin winding wires includes two legs of different wires. Rahman however teaches a similar device having legs of different wires (305A-D) in each set (as seen in figures 3-4) and having the claimed widths, and also including a separation evenly dividing each layer across a width of each layer (as seen in the figures) such that the legs are evenly spaced. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used two legs of different wires as taught by Rahman instead of single leg in the device of Ooiwa to increase redundancy and allow for independent current control in the windings. Ooiwa does not explicitly discuss a busbar. Paetzold however, in figures 1-5, teaches a similar device having phase busbars connecting an input voltage source to the wires (see paragraph 17 for detailed disclosure). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used phase busbars as taught by Paetzold in the device of Ooiwa/Rahman to connect the wires to the voltage source so that the device can function.
In re claim 19, Ooiwa, in figures 1-15, discloses that each radial slot includes four sets of conductive hairpin winding wires with a width of the conductive hairpin winding wires increasing from a first end of the radial slot proximal to the inner cylindrical surface of the stator towards a second end of the radial slot proximal to the outer cylindrical surface of the stator (as best seen in figures 8-9 and 13-15).
In re claim 20, Ooiwa in view of Rahman discloses that each set of conductive hairpin winding wires includes two conductive hairpin winding wires of same dimensions (as shown by Rahman).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/Alexander Talpalatski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837