DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0137230 (Schleuning) in view JP-2016127214 (Uehira).
For claim 1, Schleuning teaches a driver circuit (fig. 8c), comprising:
an array of optical emitters arranged in one or more rows (fig. 8c, 3 rows of 4 emitters in vertical direction; fig. 8c has been rotated in the annotated figure below so that the direction of rows and columns correspond to the directions in the instant application and the chargers are at the right side of the figure for easier comparison to the instant application) and one or more columns (fig. 8c, 4 columns if 3 emitters in horizontal direction; fig. 8c has been rotated in the annotated figure below),
wherein the array of optical emitters includes an optical emitter (fig. 8c, could be any of the 12 shown emitters, but the rejection will consider the upper left emitter as “an optical emitter” which is the upper right emitter in the annotated figure) associated with a row of the one or more rows (fig. 8c, left row; row1 in annotated figure below) and a column of the one or more columns (fig. 8c, top column; col 1);
a capacitive element connected to the row (fig. 8c, capacitor between VDD1 and VSS);
a generic voltage charger/booster element connected to the capacitive element, wherein the voltage booster element is configured to boost an input voltage (fig. 8c, charger between VDD1 and VSUPPLY charges/boosts the voltage on the capacitive element which is used as an input voltage to the emitter laser array, [0188]); and
a second switch having an open state and a closed state,
wherein the second switch in the closed state is to select the column,
wherein the second switch in the closed state is to cause discharging of the capacitive element through the row and the column to provide an electrical pulse to the optical emitter associated with the row and the column (fig. 8c, top switch connected to driver with VDRIVER-2; right switch connected to driver with VDRIVER-2 in annotated figure below selects col 1).
Schleuning does not teach the voltage charger/booster element includes an inductive element;
a first switch having an open state and a closed state,
wherein the first switch in the closed state is to cause charging of the inductive element,
wherein the charging is performed via a charging circuit path that comprises the inductive element and the first switch connected to the inductive element,
wherein the first switch is configured to charge the inductive element for a first duration that is based on an optical pulse amplitude that is to be produced for the optical emitter, and
wherein the first switch transitioning from the closed state to the open state is to cause discharging of the inductive element to charge the capacitive element,
wherein the discharging is performed via a discharging circuit path that comprises:
a first discharging path comprising a first capacitive element of a first row, a first optical emitter of a first row and a first column, and a first discharging switch of the first column; and
a second discharging path comprising the first capacitive element of the first row, a second optical emitter of the first row and a second column, and a second discharging switch of the second column.
However, Uehira teaches a pulsed emitter with a voltage booster/charger (fig. 3) is configured to boost an input voltage,
wherein the voltage booster (i.e. the charger) includes an inductive element (fig. 3, L); and
a first switch having an open state and a closed state,
wherein the first switch in the closed state is to cause charging of the inductive element (fig. 3, Tr2),
wherein the charging is performed via a charging circuit path that comprises the inductive element and the first switch connected to the inductive element (fig. 3, L and Tr2),
wherein the first switch is configured to charge the inductive element for a first duration that is based on an optical pulse amplitude that is to be produced for the optical emitter (fig. 4,t1-t2, [0044] “based on an optical pulse amplitude that is to be produced for the optical emitter” does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art and does not provide patentability; further, charging duration of the inductive element contributes to the optical amplitude produced from the emitter), and
wherein the first switch transitioning from the closed state to the open state is to cause discharging of the inductive element in order to charge a capacitive element (fig. 3, C; [0045]). The charging unit of Uehira has the advantage of boosting the voltage across the capacitor as well as providing a short charging time ([0032] and [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Uehira’s charger configuration with an inductor and first switch as well as Uehira’s timing as a simple substitution for the generic voltage booster/chargers in Schleuning in order to charge the capacitive element of Schleuning as the substituted components and their functions were known in the art and the substitution would have yielded predictable results. In the present case, the substituted component provides a particular means to charge the capacitor. See MPEP 2143 I.B. Uehira’s configuration has the additional advantage of boosting the voltage across the capacitor as well as providing a short charging time.
The combination of Schleuning and boosting the voltage across the capacitor as well as providing a short charging time as taught by Uehira is illustrated in the modified fig. 8C of Schleuning below. While only the first and second charger of fig. 8C is modified below, any additional chargers can be equally replaced by the inductor L, diode and switch Tr2 taught by Uehira.
Considering the combination and the modified figure, it can be seen that the combination is substantially similar to the applicant’s invention shown in fig. 1 of the instant application.
The combination teaches wherein the discharging is performed via a discharging circuit path that comprises:
a first discharging path comprising a first capacitive element of a first row (modified fig. 8C, top capacitor), a first optical emitter of a first row and a first column (modified fig. 8C, emitter of row 1, col 1), and a first discharging switch of the first column (modified fig. 8C, transistor at top of col. 1); and
a second discharging path comprising the first capacitive element of the first row (modified fig. 8C, top capacitor), a second optical emitter of the first row and a second column (modified fig. 8C, emitter of row 1, col 2), and a second discharging switch of the second column (modified fig. 8C, transistor at top of col. 2).
Uehira further teaches the second (firing) switch (fig. 3, Tr1) is configured to discharge the capacitive element for a second duration that is based on an optical pulse width that is to be produced for the optical emitter (Fig. 4, Tr1; “that is based on an optical pulse width that is to be produced for the optical emitter” does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art and does not provide patentability; further, the second duration inherently effects the pulse width of the optical pulse).
The limitation “wherein the first duration and the second duration are specific to the optical emitter to be pulsed” does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art and does not provide patentability.
Uehira further teaches the first duration and the second duration start at different times (fig. 4, t1 and t3, “based on optical pulse amplitude and the optical pulse width respectively” does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art and does not provide patentability; further, the first and second duration inherently effects the amplitude pulse width of the optical pulse),
wherein the driver circuit performs independent timing control for charging and discharging via the first switch and the second switch, wherein the charging and discharging are initiated at independently selected times and duration (fig. 3, Tr1 and Tr2 are independently controlled by 24 and 26).
The combination also teaches driver circuit performs independent timing control for charging and discharging via the first switch and the second switch, wherein the charging and discharging are initiated at independently selected times and duration (modified fig. 8C, second switch is independently controlled by the left “switches driver” and the first switch is controlled by 26).
The left “switches drivers” in the modified fig. 8C provides independent variability of the second switch based on a trigger control signal and Uehira teaches independent variability of the first switch Tr2 via controller 26 ([0039, “changing the on time of Tr2”).
For claim 2, Uehira further teaches the voltage booster element further includes a blocking diode between the capacitive element and the inductive element (fig. 3, D).
For claim 3, the combination in the rejection of claim 1 teaches the array of optical emitters is arranged in multiple rows (fig. 8c, 3 rows of 4 emitters in vertical direction; 3 horizontal rows in modified fig. 8C), and
wherein the inductive element is one of multiple inductive elements (modified fig. 8C, L and L’), the first switch is one of multiple first switches (modified fig. 8C, S1 and S1’) respectively connected to the multiple inductive elements, and the capacitive element is one of multiple capacitive elements respectively connected to the multiple rows and the multiple inductive elements (modified fig. 8C, illustrates 3 capacitors connected to 3 rows).
For claim 4, the combination teaches the multiple first switches (modified fig. 8C, S1 and S1’) control charging of respective inductive elements of the multiple inductive elements (modified fig. 8C, L and L’).
For claim 5, Schleuning teaches the array of optical emitters is arranged in multiple columns (fig. 8c, 4 columns of 3 emitters in horizontal direction, modified fig. 8C, 4 vertical columns), and wherein the second switch is one of multiple second switches respectively connected to the multiple columns (fig. 8c, switches connected to driver with VDRIVER-2 at the top of each column in modified fig. 8C).
For claim 6, Schleuning teaches the multiple second switches control selection of respective columns of the multiple columns (fig. 8C, each switch connected to driver with VDRIVER-2 selects a column).
For claim 8, the combination does not teach the duration is based on a current path length associated with the optical emitter. However, a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 214), and the combination teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
For claim 10, Schleuning teaches a controller (fig. 8c) for an array of optical emitters arranged in a plurality of rows (fig. 8c, 3 rows of 4 emitters in vertical direction) and a plurality of columns (fig. 8c, 4 columns if 3 emitters in horizontal direction), comprising:
a plurality of capacitive elements respectively connected to the plurality of rows (fig. 8c, 3 capacitors);
a plurality of chargers respectively connected to the plurality of capacitive elements to charge a capacitive element, of the plurality of capacitive elements, for a row of the plurality of rows (fig. 8c, 3 chargers); and
a plurality of second switches respectively connected to the plurality of columns, wherein the plurality of second switches have an open state and a closed state (fig. 8c, 4 switches connected to driver with VDRIVER-2), and
wherein a second switch, of the plurality of second switches, connected to a column (fig. 8C, top horizontal column) of the plurality of columns, in the closed state is to cause discharging of the capacitive element through the row (fig. 8C, left vertical row) and the column (fig. 8c, top switch connected to driver with VDRIVER-2),
Schleuning does not teach the plurality of chargers include
a plurality of inductive elements respectively connected to the plurality of capacitive elements;
a plurality of first switches respectively connected to the plurality of inductive elements, wherein the plurality of first switches have an open state and a closed state, wherein a first switch, of the plurality of first switches, in the closed state is to cause charging of an inductive element of the plurality of inductive elements, and
wherein the charging is performed via a charging circuit path that comprises the inductive element and the first switch connected to the inductive element,
wherein the first switch is configured to charge the inductive element for a first duration that is based on an optical pulse amplitude that is to be produced for the optical emitter, and
wherein the first switch transitioning from the closed state to the open state is to cause discharging of the inductive element to charge a capacitive element, of the plurality of capacitive elements, for a row of the plurality of rows,
wherein the discharging is performed via a discharging circuit path that comprises:
a first discharging path comprising a first capacitive element of a first row, a first optical emitter of a first row and a first column, and a first discharging switch of the first column; and
a second discharging path comprising the first capacitive element of the first row, a second optical emitter of the first row and a second column, and a second discharging switch of the second column.
However, Uehira teaches a pulsed emitter with a charger (fig. 3) is configured to boost an input voltage,
wherein the voltage booster (i.e. the charger) includes an inductive element (fig. 3, L); and
a first switch having an open state and a closed state,
wherein the first switch in the closed state is to cause charging of the inductive element (fig. 3, Tr2),
wherein the charging is performed via a charging circuit path that comprises the inductive element and the first switch connected to the inductive element (fig. 3, L and Tr2),
wherein the first switch is configured to charge the inductive element for a first duration that is based on an optical pulse amplitude that is to be produced for the optical emitter (fig. 4,t1-t2, [0044] “based on an optical pulse amplitude that is to be produced for the optical emitter” does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art and does not provide patentability; further, charging duration of the inductive element contributes to the optical amplitude produced from the emitter), and
wherein the first switch transitioning from the closed state to the open state is to cause discharging of the inductive element in order to charge a capacitive element (fig. 3, C; [0045]). The charging unit of Uehira has the advantage of boosting the voltage across the capacitor as well as providing a short charging time ([0032] and [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Uehira’s charger configuration with an inductor and first switch as well as Uehira’s timing as a simple substitution for the generic chargers in Schleuning in order to charge the capacitive element of Schleuning as the substituted components and their functions were known in the art and the substitution would have yielded predictable results. In the present case, the substituted component provides a particular means to charge the capacitor. See MPEP 2143 I.B. Uehira’s configuration has the additional advantage of boosting the voltage across the capacitor as well as providing a short charging time.
Using Uehira’s configuration in each of the generic chargers of Schleuning results in the plurality of inductive elements (modified fig. 8C, L and L’) and first switches (modified fig. 8C, S1 and S1’) connected to the plurality of capacitive elements (modified fig. 8C).
Considering the combination and the modified figure 8C illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above, it can be seen that the combination is substantially similar to the applicant’s invention shown in fig. 1 of the instant application.
The combination teaches wherein the discharging is performed via a discharging circuit path that comprises:
a first discharging path comprising a first capacitive element of a first row (modified fig. 8C, top capacitor), a first optical emitter of a first row and a first column (modified fig. 8C, emitter of row 1, col 1), and a first discharging switch of the first column (modified fig. 8C, transistor at top of col. 1); and
a second discharging path comprising the first capacitive element of the first row (modified fig. 8C, top capacitor), a second optical emitter of the first row and a second column (modified fig. 8C, emitter of row 1, col 2), and a second discharging switch of the second column (modified fig. 8C, transistor at top of col. 2).
Uehira further teaches the second (firing) switch (fig. 3, Tr1) is configured to discharge the capacitive element for a second duration that is based on an optical pulse width that is to be produced for the optical emitter (Fig. 4, Tr1; “that is based on an optical pulse width that is to be produced for the optical emitter” does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art and does not provide patentability; further, the second duration inherently effects the pulse width of the optical pulse).
The limitation “wherein the first duration and the second duration are specific to the optical emitter to be pulsed” does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art and does not provide patentability.
Uehira further teaches the first duration and the second duration start at different times (fig. 4, t1 and t3, “based on optical pulse amplitude and the optical pulse width respectively” does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art and does not provide patentability; further, the first and second duration inherently effects the amplitude pulse width of the optical pulse),
wherein the controller performs independent timing control for charging and discharging via the first switch and the second switch, wherein the charging and discharging are initiated at independently selected times and duration (fig. 3, Tr1 and Tr2 are independently controlled by 24 and 26).
The combination also teaches driver circuit performs independent timing control for charging and discharging via the first switch and the second switch, wherein the charging and discharging are initiated at independently selected times and duration (modified fig. 8C, second switch is independently controlled by the left “switches driver” and the first switch is controlled by 26).
The left “switches drivers” in the modified fig. 8C provides independent variability of the second switch based on a trigger control signal and Uehira teaches independent variability of the first switch Tr2 via controller 26 ([0039, “changing the on time of Tr2”).
For claim 11, the combination teaches the plurality of inductive elements are included in respective voltage booster elements (modified fig. 8C, L and L’; see Uehira , [0032]), and wherein the respective voltage booster elements also include respective blocking diodes (modified fig. 8C, D and D’).
For claim 12, the combination teaches the respective blocking diodes (modified fig. 8c, D and D’) are in series between the plurality of capacitive elements (modified fig. 8c, top two capacitors) and the plurality of inductive elements (modified fig. 8c, L and L’).
For claim 13, Uehira teaches the plurality of first switches, in the closed state, are to cause charging of the plurality of inductive elements ([0044] and fig. 4, t1-t2). The combination does not explicitly teach charging of the plurality of inductive elements for at least two different durations. However, a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 214), and the combination teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
For claim 14, Schleuning teaches wherein the plurality of second switches, in the closed state, are to cause discharging of the plurality of capacitive elements (fig. 8C). The combination does not explicitly teach discharging of the plurality of capacitive elements for at least two different durations. However, a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 214), and the combination teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
For claim 15, Schleuning teaches a method, comprising:
causing, by a device and using a charger connected to a capacitive element of the device, the charging of a capacitive element (fig. 8c, the chargers charge the capacitors, for claim 15, the rejection will specifically consider the left capacitor as “the capacitor”) ,
wherein the device comprises an array of optical emitters arranged in one or more rows (fig. 8c, 3 rows of 4 emitters in vertical direction) and one or more columns (fig. 8c, 4 rows of 3 emitters in horizontal direction),
wherein the array of optical emitters includes an optical emitter associated with a row the one or more rows and the one or more columns (fig. 8c, upper left emitter, associated with the left row), and
wherein the capacitive element is connected to the row of (fig. 8C, left capacitor connected to left row); and
causing, by the device and using a second switch (fig. 8c, top switch connected to driver with VDRIVER-2) connected to a column of the array of optical emitters (fig. 8c, top 3 emitters in horizontal direction; modified fig. 8C, col 1), discharging of the capacitive element, to an optical emitter associated with the row and the column, for a second duration (fig. 8c, top left emitter, [0185]).
Schleuning does not teach the charging of the capacitive element uses a booster element connected to the capacitive element causing an input voltage boost.
Schleuning does not teach the device charges the capacitive element by using a first switch to charge of an inductive element for a first duration based on an optical pulse amplitude that is to be produced for the optical emitter;
wherein the charging is performed via a charging circuit path that comprises the inductive element and the first switch connected to the inductive element, and
causing by the device and, using the first switch, discharging of the inductive element to charge a capacitive element,
wherein the discharging is performed via a discharging circuit path that comprises:
a first discharging path comprising a first capacitive element of a first row, a first optical emitter of a first row and a first column, and a first discharging switch of the first column; and
a second discharging path comprising the first capacitive element of the first row, a second optical emitter of the first row and a second column, and
a second discharging switch of the second column.
Schleuning does not teach wherein the first duration and the second duration start at different times.
However, Uehira teaches a method of using pulsed emitter (fig. 3) with a voltage booster as a charger (fig. 3, L, D, 26and Tr2) connected to the capacitive element (fig. 3, C) configured to boost an input voltage of the capacitor [0032],
the device charges the capacitive element (fig. 3, C) by using a first switch (fig. 3, Tr2) to charge of an inductive element for a first duration based on an optical pulse amplitude that is to be produced for the optical emitter (fig. 3, L, [0039] “ON time” controls the current and consequently, the amplitude);
wherein the charging is performed via a charging circuit path that comprises the inductive element and the first switch connected to the inductive element (fig. 3, L and Tr2, fig. 4;[0044]-[0045]), and
causing by the device and, using the first switch, discharging of the inductive element to charge a capacitive element (fig. 4, t2-t3, [0045]).
The charging unit of Uehira has the advantage of boosting the voltage across the capacitor as well as providing a short charging time ([0032] and [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Uehira’s charger configuration with an inductor and first switch as well as Uehira’s timing as a simple substitution for the generic chargers in Schleuning in order to charge the capacitive element of Schleuning as the substituted components and their functions were known in the art and the substitution would have yielded predictable results. In the present case, the substituted component provides a particular means to charge the capacitor. See MPEP 2143 I.B. Uehira’s configuration has the additional advantage of boosting the voltage across the capacitor as well as providing a short charging time.
Using Uehira’s configuration in each of the generic chargers of Schleuning results in the plurality of inductive elements (modified fig. 8C, L and L’) and first switches (modified fig. 8C, S1 and S1’) connected to the plurality of capacitive elements (modified fig. 8C).
Considering the combination and the modified figure 8C illustrated in the rejection of claim 1 above, it can be seen that the combination is substantially similar to the applicant’s invention shown in fig. 1 of the instant application.
The combination teaches wherein the discharging is performed via a discharging circuit path that comprises:
a first discharging path comprising a first capacitive element of a first row (modified fig. 8C, top capacitor), a first optical emitter of a first row and a first column (modified fig. 8C, emitter of row 1, col 1), and a first discharging switch of the first column (modified fig. 8C, transistor at top of col. 1); and
a second discharging path comprising the first capacitive element of the first row (modified fig. 8C, top capacitor), a second optical emitter of the first row and a second column (modified fig. 8C, emitter of row 1, col 2), and
a second discharging switch of the second column (modified fig. 8C, transistor at top of col. 2).
While the combination does not explicitly state the second duration is “based on” an optical pulse width that is to be produced for the optical emitter, the second duration inherently effects the pulse width of the optical pulse either terminating the pulse before the capacitor is fully discharged or allowing time for the capacitor to fully discharge. Further, the limitation, “the second duration is based on an optical pulse width that is to be produced for the optical emitter,” does not require an additional step to be performed and does not appear to give additional meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps of the claim and does not distinguish the claimed method from the prior art as applied. See MPEP 2111.04.
The limitation “wherein the first duration and the second duration are specific to the optical emitter to be pulsed” does not require an additional step to be performed and does not appear to give additional meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps of the claim and does not distinguish the claimed method from the prior art as applied. See MPEP 2111.04.
Uehira further teaches the first duration and the second duration start at different times (fig. 4, t1 and t3, “based on optical pulse amplitude and the optical pulse width respectively” does not require an additional step to be performed and does not appear to give additional meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps of the claim and does not distinguish the claimed method from the prior art as applied. See MPEP 2111.04; further, the first and second duration inherently effects the amplitude pulse width of the optical pulse),
wherein the device performs independent timing control for charging and discharging via the first switch and the second switch, wherein the charging and discharging are initiated at independently selected times and duration (fig. 3, Tr1 and Tr2 are independently controlled by 24 and 26).
The combination also teaches driver circuit performs independent timing control for charging and discharging via the first switch and the second switch, wherein the charging and discharging are initiated at independently selected times and duration (modified fig. 8C, second switch is independently controlled by the left “switches driver” and the first switch is controlled by 26).
The left “switches drivers” in the modified fig. 8C provides independent variability of the second switch based on a trigger control signal and Uehira teaches independent variability of the first switch Tr2 via controller 26 ([0039, “changing the on time of Tr2”).
For claim 16, the combination does not teach “wherein the first duration is based on a location of the optical emitter in the array of optical emitters.” However, the limitation does not require an additional step to be performed and does not appear to give additional meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps of claim 15. The additional limitation, therefore does not distinguish the claimed method from the prior art as applied in the rejection of claim 15 above. See MPEP 2111.04.
For claim 17, the combination does not teach “wherein the first duration is based on a return signal, associated with the optical emitter, received at the device.” However, the limitation does not require an additional step to be performed and does not appear to give additional meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps of claim 15. The additional limitation, therefore does not distinguish the claimed method from the prior art as applied in the rejection of claim 15 above. See MPEP 2111.04.
For claim 18, the combination does not teach “wherein the first duration is different from a duration for charging another inductive element configured to discharge to another capacitive element connected to another row of the array of optical emitters.” However, the limitation does not require an additional step to be performed and does not appear to give additional meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps of claim 15. The additional limitation, therefore does not distinguish the claimed method from the prior art as applied in the rejection of claim 15 above. See MPEP 2111.04.
For claims 21, 23-24 Schleuning teaches the column (fig. 8C, top horizontal column) is no longer selected when the second switch is in the open state (fig. 8C, top switch connected to VDriver-2).
For claims 22 Schleuning teaches the open state corresponds to opening a cathode path of the column (fig. 8C, top horizontal column has an open cathode path when switch connected to VDriver-2 is open).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/3/2026 have been fully considered. The rejections under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Carter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828