DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 06/04/2026.
Claims 1-6, 8-22, 24-30 are pending and are examined in this office action.
No claim has been amended.
No new claim has been added and claims 7, 23, has been previously canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/04/2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 1 as “
1. (Currently Amended) An apparatus for wireless communication at a first central unit (CU) of a wireless network, comprising:
memory; and
at least one processor communicatively connected to the memory, the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a first distributed unit (DU) associated with the first CU of the wireless network prior to a request for admission of at least one resource, an indication of one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports admission during an energy saving mode of the first DU or an operation below a full capacity of the first DU, wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU, wherein the at least one capability includes a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping, and whether the UE is capable of providing cross link interference (CLI) measurement and reporting; and
transmit, to the first DU based on the indication and while the first DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, the request for the admission of the at least one resource that is selected by the CU based on having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU as supported for admission when the DU is in the energy saving mode or the operation below the full capacity.”
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See XU9629 et al. (US 20210329629 A1; hereinafter as “XU9629”).
Regarding other independent claims 16, 17, 30: the applicant alleges that these independent claims are allowable since they are similar to aforesaid independent claim above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of above independent claim. Thus the rejection is deemed proper.
Regarding all dependent claims: the applicant alleges that all dependent claims are allowable since they depend from all the independent claims above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of independent claims. Thus the rejection is deemed proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-22, 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BYUN et al. (US 20220264447 A1; hereinafter as “BYUN”) in view of PARK et al. (US 20190253966 A1; hereinafter as “PARK”) and further in view of XU9629 et al. (US 20210329629 A1; hereinafter as “XU9629”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to BYUN unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, BYUN teaches, an apparatus (fig. 1-4, Fig. 10 : gNB-CU, also Fig. 17, gNB-CU) for wireless communication at a first central unit (CU) of a wireless network (fig. 12: CU and DU in wireless communication, Fig. 17), comprising:
memory (“Referring to FIG. 5, a wireless device 100 may be a Central Unit (CU) in a wireless communication system. The CU may include a processor 102, a memory 104, and a transceiver 106. ”: [0109]); and
at least one processor communicatively connected to the memory (“Referring to FIG. 5, a wireless device 100 may be a Central Unit (CU) in a wireless communication system. The CU may include a processor 102, a memory 104, and a transceiver 106. ”:[0109]), the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a first distributed unit (DU) (==gNB-DU1 in fig. 17) associated with the first CU (==gNB CU in Fig. 17) of the wireless network prior to a request for admission of at least one resource, an indication of one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports admission during an energy saving mode of the first DU or an operation below a full capacity of the first DU (see fig. 15 : CU receives from DU , a first message including deactivation request from the DU: “ in step 1501, the CU may receive, from the DU, a first message including deactivation request for the DU.”: “ The DU may transmit, to the CU, the first message including the deactivation request based on situation of the connected UEs …. For example, the DU may transmit the deactivation request when there is no UE or IAB-node within coverage of the DU. For example, the DU may transmit the deactivation request when there is no data to be transmitted to and/or received from UEs or IAB-nodes connected to the DU.
[0207] The first message may include list of cells managed by the DU. For example, the list of cells may be included in the deactivation request. For other example, the deactivation request may be included in information on service status of a cell which the DU manages.
”: [0205]-[0207]; NOTE: CU and DU are in connected mode PRIOR to a request for Admission of at least one resource; At this time, DU asks for Deactivation;
see fig. 17 ; gNB-CU receives a deactivation request (==an indication) from gNB-DU1. Aforesaid ”deactivation request (==an indication) may indicate that the gNB-DU 1 wants to enter into energy saving mode”: [0247]; aforesaid “deactivation request may include the list of cell(s) which the gNB-DU 1 manages (==one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports ). The deactivation request may be included in the information which represents service status of a cell which the gNB-DU 1 manages.”: [0249]; Aforesaid “F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available).”: [0161]; gNG CU receives deactivation request from gNB-DU to enter in saving energy mode : ]0112]-[0114]; “… gNB-CU receives deactivation request from gNB-DU1 indicating that gNB-DU1 wants to enter into energy saving mode:[00245]- [0247]); aforesaid gNB CU is not connected to any UE which below the capacity of gNB DU1 : no UE is connected to gNB DU1 : [0198]-[0199] ; “DU may transmit the deactivation request when there is no UE or IAB-node within coverage of the DU. For example, the DU may transmit the deactivation request when there is no data to be transmitted to and/or received from UEs or IAB-nodes connected to the DU. ”: [0206]; NOTE: gNB-DU1 is in full capacity but NO UE is connected to gNB DU1 now, so gNB-DU1 is not utilizing it full capacity so it is below its full capacity) ;
and
transmit, to the first DU (==gNB-DU1 1 in fig. 17) based on the indication and while the first DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, the request for the admission of the at least one resource having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU (see fig. 15: transmit to UE a second message in response to the first message based on the determination, “ the CU may transmit, to the DU, a second message in response to the first message. The second message may include information informing that the deactivation request for the DU is accepted or not based on the determination.
[0214] For example, the second message may include a positive acknowledgement indicating that the deactivation request is accepted.
[0215] For another example, the second message may include a negative acknowledgement indicating that the deactivation request is not accepted.
[0216] According to some embodiments of the present disclosure, the CU may be connected to another DU. When the CU determines to permit the deactivation of the DU, the CU may transmit, to another DU, a third message informing that the DU enters to energy save mode.
[0217] For example, when the other DU receives the third message, the other DU may release connection with the DU which is in the energy saving mode.
”: [0213]-[0217];
see fig. 17 element 1703, “when the gNB-CU accepts the deactivation request from the gNB-DU 1, the gNB-CU may transmit, to the gNB-DU 1, an existing message or a new message including the deactivation accept. The deactivation accept may indicate that the deactivation request from the gNB-DU 1 is permitted. ”: [0254]; aforesaid “gNB-DU 1 may enter into energy saving mode ”: [0257]-[0260]; “UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ” : [0161]; “F1 UE context management function also supports the release of the context previously established in the gNB-DU. The release of the context is triggered by the gNB-CU either directly or following a request received from the gNB-DU. The gNB-CU request the gNB-DU to release the UE Context when the UE enters RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE. ”: [0162]-[0170]; NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below).
While BYUN teaches “receive, from a first distributed unit (DU) associated with the first CU of the wireless network prior to a request for admission of at least one resource, an indication of one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports admission during an energy saving mode of the first DU or an operation below a full capacity of the first DU ”,
BYUN does not expressively disclose:
wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU,
wherein the at least one capability includes:
a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping, and
whether the UE is capable of providing cross link interference (CLI) measurement and reporting,
transmit, ….., the request for the admission of the at least one resource that is selected by the CU based on having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU as supported for admission when the DU is in the energy saving mode or the operation below the full capacity.
PARK, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU ( wireless device sends it’s capability information restriction information for network device/DU to network device/DU: “ capability restriction request may be sent by the wireless device (e.g., if allowed by a network) to signal the limited availability of some capabilities (e.g., due to hardware sharing, interference, and/or overheating) to the base station”: [0200]; aforesaid UE’s capability information includes serving information by DU : “ Inefficient radio resource configuration, increased call dropping, and/or increased link failures may occur, for example, if a base station DU configures radio resources of a cell without sufficient information, for example, from one or more wireless devices. Without sufficient information, the base station DU may configure non-preferred radio resource parameters and/or previously failed resource configuration parameters without wireless device information (e.g., resource preferences information and/or failure information of a wireless device).”: [0300]-[0301]; ),
wherein the at least one capability includes:
a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping ( Part of capability of US, aforesaid wireless device provide beam sweeping after getting information from Base station : Aforesaid wireless device, are “similar or the same under” a configured criterion (==capability of UE ). In a multi-beam operation, a wireless device may perform an uplink beam sweeping to access a cell.”: [0245]-[0246]), and
whether the UE is capable of providing cross link interference (CLI) measurement and reporting (UE capability information include, inter alia, interference : ]0200]; “A wireless device may report its radio access capability information, which may be static. A base station may request one or more indications of capabilities for a wireless device to report based on band information (==cross talk interference information measurement and reporting ). A temporary capability restriction request may be sent by the wireless device (e.g., if allowed by a network) to signal the limited availability of some capabilities (e.g., due to hardware sharing, interference (NOTE: band information with interference which is crosstalk link measurement and report), and/or overheating) to the base station [0328]; NOTE: UE capability information include, inter alia, interference measurement and reporting to Base Station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN to include the above recited limitations as taught by PARK. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve wireless communications without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency: (PARK; [0002]).
The combination for BYUN and PARK does not expressively disclose:
transmit, ….., the request for the admission of the at least one resource that is selected by the CU based on having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU as supported for admission when the DU is in the energy saving mode or the operation below the full capacity.
XU9629, in the same field of
transmit, ….., the request for the admission of the at least one resource that is selected by the CU based on having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU as supported for admission when the DU is in the energy saving mode or the operation below the full capacity (see fig. 5 where CU 110 transmit “an admission request” the Donor DU 110-12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2: “ The Donor-CU 110-11 transmits (210) a first admission request to the Donor-DU 110-12. The first admission request comprises information about a resource set for the terminal device 130. For example, the resource set may be a DRB set, and/or a QoS flow set to be established for the terminal device 130. The first admission request also indicates the next downstream IAB node to reach the terminal device. The downstream IAB node may or may not be the serving IAB node for the terminal device 130. ”: [0059]; admission base on power saving of terminal : [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN in view PARK to include the above recited limitations as taught by XU9629. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve admission control in an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) system. (XU9629; [0001]).
Regarding claim 16, BYUN teaches a method of wireless communication at a first central unit (CU) of a wireless network (fig. 17), comprising:
receiving, from a first distributed unit (DU) associated with the first CU of the wireless network prior to a request for admission of at least one resource, , an indication of one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports admission during an energy saving mode of the first DU or an operation below a full capacity of the first DU, wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU, wherein the at least one capability includes a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping,and whether the UE is capable of providing cross link interference (CLI) measurement and reporting;
transmitting, to the first DU based on the indication and while the first DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, the request for the admission of at least one resource in response to the at least one resource that is selected by the CU based on having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU as supported for admission when DU is in the energy saving mode or the operation below the full capacity . (Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, BYUN teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a distributed unit (DU) of a wireless network (see fig.10 gNB-DU), comprising:
a memory (“Referring to FIG. 5, a wireless device 100 may be a Central Unit (CU) in a wireless communication system. The CU may include a processor 102, a memory 104, and a transceiver 106. ”: [0109]); and
at least one processor communicatively connected to the memory, the at least one processor (“Referring to FIG. 5, a wireless device 100 may be a Central Unit (CU) in a wireless communication system. The CU may include a processor 102, a memory 104, and a transceiver 106. ”:[0109]), configured to:
transmit, to a first central unit (CU) of the wireless network (fig. 1-4, Fig. 10 : gNB-CU, also Fig. 17, gNB-CU) prior to a request for admission of at least one resource, an indication of one or more types of resources for which the DU supports admission during an energy saving mode of the DU or an operation below a full capacity of the DU (see fig. 15 : CU receives from DU , a first message including deactivation request from the DU: “ in step 1501, the CU may receive, from the DU, a first message including deactivation request for the DU.”: “ The DU may transmit, to the CU, the first message including the deactivation request based on situation of the connected UEs …. For example, the DU may transmit the deactivation request when there is no UE or IAB-node within coverage of the DU. For example, the DU may transmit the deactivation request when there is no data to be transmitted to and/or received from UEs or IAB-nodes connected to the DU.
[0207] The first message may include list of cells managed by the DU. For example, the list of cells may be included in the deactivation request. For other example, the deactivation request may be included in information on service status of a cell which the DU manages.
”: [0205]-[0207]; NOTE: CU and DU are in connected mode PRIOR to a request for Admission of at least one resource; At this time, DU asks for Deactivation;
see fig. 17 ; gNB-CU receives a deactivation request (==an indication) from gNB-DU1. Aforesaid ”deactivation request (==an indication) may indicate that the gNB-DU 1 wants to enter into energy saving mode”: [0247]; aforesaid “deactivation request may include the list of cell(s) which the gNB-DU 1 manages (==one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports ). The deactivation request may be included in the information which represents service status of a cell which the gNB-DU 1 manages.”: [0249]; Aforesaid “F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available).”: [0161]; gNG CU receives deactivation request from gNB-DU to enter in saving energy mode : ]0112]-[0114]; “… gNB-CU receives deactivation request from gNB-DU1 indicating that gNB-DU1 wants to enter into energy saving mode:[00245]- [0247]); aforesaid gNB CU is not connected to any UE which below the capacity of gNB DU1 : no UE is connected to gNB DU1 : [0198]-[0199] ; “DU may transmit the deactivation request when there is no UE or IAB-node within coverage of the DU. For example, the DU may transmit the deactivation request when there is no data to be transmitted to and/or received from UEs or IAB-nodes connected to the DU. ”: [0206]; NOTE: gNB-DU1 is in full capacity but NO UE is connected to gNB DU1 now, so gNB-DU1 is not utilizing it full capacity so it is below its full capacity) ; and
receive, from the first CU based on the indication,…….. the request for the admission of having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated to the first CU (see fig. 15: transmit to UE a second message in response to the first message based on the determination, “ the CU may transmit, to the DU, a second message in response to the first message. The second message may include information informing that the deactivation request for the DU is accepted or not based on the determination.
[0214] For example, the second message may include a positive acknowledgement indicating that the deactivation request is accepted.
[0215] For another example, the second message may include a negative acknowledgement indicating that the deactivation request is not accepted.
[0216] According to some embodiments of the present disclosure, the CU may be connected to another DU. When the CU determines to permit the deactivation of the DU, the CU may transmit, to another DU, a third message informing that the DU enters to energy save mode.
[0217] For example, when the other DU receives the third message, the other DU may release connection with the DU which is in the energy saving mode.
”: [0213]-[0217];
see fig. 17 element 1703, “when the gNB-CU accepts the deactivation request from the gNB-DU 1, the gNB-CU may transmit, to the gNB-DU 1, an existing message or a new message including the deactivation accept. The deactivation accept may indicate that the deactivation request from the gNB-DU 1 is permitted. ”: [0254]; aforesaid “gNB-DU 1 may enter into energy saving mode ”: [0257]-[0260]; “UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ” : [0161]; “F1 UE context management function also supports the release of the context previously established in the gNB-DU. The release of the context is triggered by the gNB-CU either directly or following a request received from the gNB-DU. The gNB-CU request the gNB-DU to release the UE Context when the UE enters RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE. ”: [0162]-[0170]; NOTE: crossed/missed limitation will be addressed by another reference below).
While BYUN teaches “receive, from the first CU based on the indication,…….. a request for the admission of at least one resource having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated to the first CU”,
BYUN does not expressively teach:
wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU, wherein the at least one capability includes:
a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping, and
whether the UE is capable of providing cross link interference (CLI) measurement and reporting,
receive, from the first CU based on the indication and while DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, the request for the admission of the at least one resource selected based on ….. indicated by the first DU.
PARK, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU (“A base station may determine at least one power configuration parameter for a wireless device. The at least one power configuration parameter may be based on information received from the wireless device.”[abstract]; “ By communicating information, for example, an indication of a preference of the wireless device for one or more power saving configurations (and/or other wireless device information), from a wireless device to a base station (e.g., a base station DU (==first DU in claim) via a base station CU), advantages may be achieved for the wireless device (and/or for additional wireless devices that may communicate with the base station). ”:[301]),
wherein the at least one capability includes:
a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping ( “A wireless device may be configured to monitor a PDCCH on one or more beam pair links simultaneously, for example, depending on a capability of the wireless device”: “ In a multi-beam operation, a wireless device may perform an uplink beam sweeping to access a cell.”: [0245]-[0246]), and
(UE capability information include, inter alia, interference : ]0200]; “The base station DU 1602 determine and/or indicate that one or more wireless devices is to use a beam other than a certain beam if measurement results of the one or more wireless devices are similar to measurement results of the wireless device at a failure, for example, if the certain beam of a served cell of the base station DU 1602 experiences large interferences (e.g., interference above a threshold value) such as from neighboring cells or other technologies.”; [0328]; NOTE: UE capability information include, inter alia, interference measurement and reporting to Base Station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN to include the above recited limitations as taught by PARK. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve wireless communications without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency: (PARK; [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN to include the above recited limitations as taught by PARK. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve wireless communications without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency: (PARK; [0002]).
The combination for BYUN and PARK does not expressively disclose:
receive, from the first CU based on the indication and while DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, the request for the admission of the at least one resource selected based on ….. indicated by the first DU.
XU9629, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
receive, from the first CU based on the indication and while DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, the request for the admission of the at least one resource selected based on ….. indicated by the first DU (see fig. 5 where CU 110 transmit “an admission request” the Donor DU 110-12 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2: “ The Donor-CU 110-11 transmits (210) a first admission request to the Donor-DU 110-12. The first admission request comprises information about a resource set for the terminal device 130. For example, the resource set may be a DRB set, and/or a QoS flow set to be established for the terminal device 130. The first admission request also indicates the next downstream IAB node to reach the terminal device. The downstream IAB node may or may not be the serving IAB node for the terminal device 130. ”: [0059]; admission base on power saving of terminal : [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN in view PARK to include the above recited limitations as taught by XU9629. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve admission control in an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) system. (XU9629; [0001]).
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 17.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 2, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus further includes: a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein to receive the indication, the at least one processor configured to receive the indication via the transceiver (see fig. 10 where aforesaid gNB-CU is connected to gNB-DU using F1 interface “gNB-CU and gNB-DU are connected via an F1 interface. The gNB-CU terminates the F1 interface connected to the gNB-DU. The gNB-DU terminates the F1 interface connected to the gNB-CU. One gNB-DU is connected to only one gNB-CU ”: [0147]).
Regarding claim 3, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the DU to setup or modify a context for the UE (see “The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ”: [0160]; “the establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ”: [0160]-[1064]).
Regarding claim 4, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the first DU to setup or modify a traffic instance for the UE (“The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ”: [0161]-[0162]).
Regarding claim 5, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the DU to allocate a communication resource for the UE (“The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available).”: [0161]).
Regarding claim 6, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports the admission include a device type to be served by the DU (admission control criteria include resource for UE [0161]-0163]; UE can support resource a particular cell/resource : [0139]).
Regarding claim 8, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports the admission include a traffic instance type to be configured at the first DU (“The mapping between QoS flows and radio bearers is performed by gNB-CU and the granularity of bearer related management over F1 is radio bearer level. For NG-RAN, the gNB-CU provides an aggregated DRB QoS profile and QoS flow profile to the gNB-DU, and the gNB-DU either accepts the request or rejects it with appropriate cause value. To support packet duplication for intra-gNB-DU carrier aggregation (CA), one data radio bearer should be configured with two GPRS tunneling protocol (GTP)-U tunnels between gNB-CU and a gNB-DU. ”: [0163]-[-0164]).
Regarding claim 9, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports the admission are associated with a condition on a quality of service (QoS) parameter for a traffic instance of the UE to be setup at the DU (“the mapping between QoS flows and radio bearers is performed by gNB-CU and the granularity of bearer related management over F1 is radio bearer level. For NG-RAN, the gNB-CU provides an aggregated DRB QoS profile and QoS flow profile to the gNB-DU, and the gNB-DU either accepts the request or rejects it with appropriate cause value. To support packet duplication for intra-gNB-DU carrier aggregation (CA), one data radio bearer should be configured with two GPRS tunneling protocol (GTP)-U tunnels between gNB-CU and a gNB-DU. ”: [0164]-[0170]).
Regarding claim 10, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, PARK teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one capability further includes a processing time associated with the UE for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and sending a corresponding hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (“A base station may send (e.g., transmit) DCI and/or control signaling via a PDCCH. The DCI may comprise a format of a plurality of formats. The DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS), request(s) for CSI (e.g., aperiodic CQI reports), request(s) for an SRS, uplink power control commands for one or more cells, one or more timing information (e.g., TB transmission/reception timing, HARQ feedback timing, etc.), and/or the like”: [0243]).
Regarding claim 11, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication is applicable to multiple UEs (see fig. 1: multiple UEs: [0162]-[063]).
Regarding claim 12, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU9629 teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: forward the indication to the second CU (handover request : [0049], [0128])
Regarding claim 13, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, XU9629 teaches, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the handover request includes a secondary node (SN) addition (handover request includes a second CU: (handover request : [0049], [0128])
Regarding claim 14, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: admit or reject the resource request based on the indication ( “The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ”: [0161]).
Regarding claim 15, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the first DU, a query for a list of resources in which the first DU is capable to admit; and receive, from the first DU, the indication based on the query (see fig. 16, 1603 fig. 17, 1703, [0163]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 18, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to operate in the energy saving mode or below the full capacity and to transmit the indication based on the operation in the energy saving mode or below the full capacity ((see fig. 17 where gNB-CU receives a deactivation request (==an indication) from gNB-DU. Aforesaid ”deactivation request (==an indication) may indicate that the gNB-DU 1 wants to enter into energy saving mode”: [0247]; aforesaid “deactivation request may include the list of cell(s) which the gNB-DU 1 manages. The deactivation request may be included in the information which represents service status of a cell which the gNB-DU 1 manages.”: [0249]; Aforesaid “F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available).”: [0161] “The modification of the F1 UE context can be initiated by either gNB-CU or gNB-DU. The receiving node can accept or reject the modification. The F1 UE context management function also supports the release of the context previously established in the gNB-DU.”:[0162])).
Regarding claim 19, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, XU9629 teaches The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the DU to setup or modify a context for the UE ([0048], [0128]).
Regarding claim 20, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the DU to setup or modify a traffic instance for the UE (“The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ”: [0161]-[0162]).
Regarding claim 21, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the DU to allocate a communication resource for the UE (“The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available).”: [0161] ).
Regarding claim 22, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the DU supports the admission include a device type to be served by the DU (admission control criteria include resource for UE [0161]-0163]; UE can support resource a particular cell/resource : [0139]).
Regarding claim 24, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the DU supports the admission include a traffic instance type to be configured at the DU (“The mapping between QoS flows and radio bearers is performed by gNB-CU and the granularity of bearer related management over F1 is radio bearer level. For NG-RAN, the gNB-CU provides an aggregated DRB QoS profile and QoS flow profile to the gNB-DU, and the gNB-DU either accepts the request or rejects it with appropriate cause value. To support packet duplication for intra-gNB-DU carrier aggregation (CA), one data radio bearer should be configured with two GPRS tunneling protocol (GTP)-U tunnels between gNB-CU and a gNB-DU. ”: [0163]-[-0164]).
Regarding claim 25, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the DU supports the admission are associated with a condition on a quality of service (QoS) parameter for a traffic instance of the UE to be setup at the DU.
(“the mapping between QoS flows and radio bearers is performed by gNB-CU and the granularity of bearer related management over F1 is radio bearer level. For NG-RAN, the gNB-CU provides an aggregated DRB QoS profile and QoS flow profile to the gNB-DU, and the gNB-DU either accepts the request or rejects it with appropriate cause value. To support packet duplication for intra-gNB-DU carrier aggregation (CA), one data radio bearer should be configured with two GPRS tunneling protocol (GTP)-U tunnels between gNB-CU and a gNB-DU. ”: [0164]-[0170]).
Regarding claim 26, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 25 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the condition includes at least one of: a guaranteed flow bit rate below a bit rate threshold, or a packet delay budget above a delay budget threshold ([0164], [0124]).
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 28, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the indication is applicable to multiple user equipments (UEs) (see fig. 1: multiple UEs: [0162]-[063])..
Regarding claim 29, BYUN in view of PARK and XU9629 teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the first CU, a query for a list of resources in which the first DU is capable to admit; and transmit, to the CU, the indication based on the query (see fig. 16, 1603 fig. 17, 1703, [0163]-[0165]).
Conclusion
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411