DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 11/18/2025.
Claims 1-6, 8-22, 24-30 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 16, 17, 30 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and claims 7, 23, has been previously canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 11/18/2025 , with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 1 as “1. (Currently Amended) An apparatus for wireless communication at a first central unit (CU) of a wireless network, comprising:
memory; and
at least one processor communicatively connected to the memory, the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a first distributed unit (DU) associated with the first CU of the wireless network, an indication of one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports admission during an energy saving mode of the first DU or an operation below a full capacity of the first DU, wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU,
wherein the at least one capability includes: a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping, and whether the UE is capable of providing cross link interference (CLI) measurement and reporting;
receive, from a second CU of the wireless network, a handover request to handover the UE from a second DU to the first DU, wherein the second DU is associated with the second CU; and
transmit, to the first DU based on the indication and the handover request and while the first DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, a request for the admission of at least one resource in response to the at least one resource having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU.”
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See PARK et al. (US 20190253966 A1; hereinafter as “PARK”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-22, 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BYUN et al. (US 20220264447 A1; hereinafter as “BYUN”) in view of PARK et al. (US 20190253966 A1; hereinafter as “PARK”) and further in view of TEYEB et al. (US 20230247495 A1; hereinafter as “TEYEB”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to BYUN unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, BYUN teaches, an apparatus (fig. 1-4, Fig. 10 : gNB-CU, also Fig. 17, gNB-CU) for wireless communication at a first central unit (CU) of a wireless network (fig. 12: CU and DU in wireless communication, Fig. 17), comprising:
memory (“Referring to FIG. 5, a wireless device 100 may be a Central Unit (CU) in a wireless communication system. The CU may include a processor 102, a memory 104, and a transceiver 106. ”: [0109]); and
at least one processor communicatively connected to the memory (“Referring to FIG. 5, a wireless device 100 may be a Central Unit (CU) in a wireless communication system. The CU may include a processor 102, a memory 104, and a transceiver 106. ”:[0109]), the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a first distributed unit (DU) (==gNB-DU1 in fig. 17) associated with the first CU (==gNB CU in Fig. 17) of the wireless network, an indication of one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports admission during an energy saving mode of the first DU or an operation below a full capacity of the first DU (see fig. 17 ; gNB-CU receives a deactivation request (==an indication) from gNB-DU1. Aforesaid ”deactivation request (==an indication) may indicate that the gNB-DU 1 wants to enter into energy saving mode”: [0247]; aforesaid “deactivation request may include the list of cell(s) which the gNB-DU 1 manages. The deactivation request may be included in the information which represents service status of a cell which the gNB-DU 1 manages.”: [0249]; Aforesaid “F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available).”: [0161]; gNG CU receives deactivation request from gNB-DU to enter in saving energy mode : ]0112]-[0114]; “… gNB-CU receives deactivation request from gNB-DU1 indicating that gNB-DU1 wants to enter into energy saving mode:[00245]- [0247]); aforesaid gNB CU is not connected to any UE which below the capacity of gNB DU1 : no UE is connected to gNB DU1 : [0198]-[0199] ; “DU may transmit the deactivation request when there is no UE or IAB-node within coverage of the DU. For example, the DU may transmit the deactivation request when there is no data to be transmitted to and/or received from UEs or IAB-nodes connected to the DU. ”: [0206]; NOTE: gNB-DU1 is in full capacity but NO UE is connected to gNB DU1 now, so gNB-DU1 is not utilizing it full capacity so it is below its full capacity) ;
and
transmit, to the first DU (==gNB-DU1 1 in fig. 17) based on the indication… and while the first DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, a request for the admission of at least one resource in response to the at least one resource having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU (see fig. 17 element 1703, “when the gNB-CU accepts the deactivation request from the gNB-DU 1, the gNB-CU may transmit, to the gNB-DU 1, an existing message or a new message including the deactivation accept. The deactivation accept may indicate that the deactivation request from the gNB-DU 1 is permitted. ”: [0254]; aforesaid “gNB-DU 1 may enter into energy saving mode ”: [0257]-[0260]; “UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ” : [0161]; “F1 UE context management function also supports the release of the context previously established in the gNB-DU. The release of the context is triggered by the gNB-CU either directly or following a request received from the gNB-DU. The gNB-CU request the gNB-DU to release the UE Context when the UE enters RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE. ”: [0162]-[0170]).
While BYUN teaches “receive, from a first distributed unit (DU) associated with the first CU of the wireless network, an indication of one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports admission during an energy saving mode of the first DU or an operation below a full capacity of the first DU”,
BYUN does not expressively disclose:
wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU,
wherein the at least one capability includes:
a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping, and
whether the UE is capable of providing cross link interference (CLI) measurement and reporting,
receive, from a second CU of the wireless network, a handover request to handover the UE from a second DU to the first DU, wherein the second DU 1s associated with the second CU; and
transmit, to the first DU based on … the handover request …., a request for the admission of at least one resource in response to the at least one resource having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU.
PARK, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU ( wireless device sends it’s capability information restriction information for network device/DU to network device/DU: “ capability restriction request may be sent by the wireless device (e.g., if allowed by a network) to signal the limited availability of some capabilities (e.g., due to hardware sharing, interference, and/or overheating) to the base station”: [0200]; aforesaid UE’s capability information includes serving information by DU : “ Inefficient radio resource configuration, increased call dropping, and/or increased link failures may occur, for example, if a base station DU configures radio resources of a cell without sufficient information, for example, from one or more wireless devices. Without sufficient information, the base station DU may configure non-preferred radio resource parameters and/or previously failed resource configuration parameters without wireless device information (e.g., resource preferences information and/or failure information of a wireless device).”: [0300]-[0301]; ),
wherein the at least one capability includes:
a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping ( Part of capability of US, aforesaid wireless device provide beam sweeping after getting information from Base station : Aforesaid wireless device, are “similar or the same under” a configured criterion (==capability of UE ). In a multi-beam operation, a wireless device may perform an uplink beam sweeping to access a cell.”: [0245]-[0246]), and
whether the UE is capable of providing cross link interference (CLI) measurement and reporting (UE capability information include, inter alia, interference : ]0200]; “A wireless device may report its radio access capability information, which may be static. A base station may request one or more indications of capabilities for a wireless device to report based on band information (==cross talk interference information measurement and reporting ). A temporary capability restriction request may be sent by the wireless device (e.g., if allowed by a network) to signal the limited availability of some capabilities (e.g., due to hardware sharing, interference (NOTE: band information with interference which is crosstalk link measurement and report), and/or overheating) to the base station [0328]; NOTE: UE capability information include, inter alia, interference measurement and reporting to Base Station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN to include the above recited limitations as taught by PARK. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve wireless communications without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency: (PARK; [0002]).
The combination for BYUN and PARK does not expressively disclose:
receive, from a second CU of the wireless network, a handover request to handover the UE from a second DU to the first DU, wherein the second DU 1s associated with the second CU; and
transmit, to the first DU based … the handover request …., a request for the admission of at least one resource in response to the at least one resource having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU.
TEYEB, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
receive, from a second CU of the wireless network (==source CU), a handover request to handover the UE from a second DU to the first DU, wherein the second DU is associated with the second CU (target CU receives from source CU (==a second CU) a first handover command/request to migrate one child node (==UE) from source DU to target DU: : [0273]; “ a first handover command for at least one child node of the migrating node being handed over from the source CU (==second CU of the wireless Network ) and source DU to the target CU (==first Central Unit CU) and target DU” [0108]; “target CU uses the information to perform proper admission control. The target CU-CP responds to the HANDOVER REQUEST with a HANDOVER REQUEST ACK that indicates the list of admitted and not admitted PDU session resources (for each concerned UE/IAB node included in the handover request), which is essentially the list of the QoS flows associated with each UE/IAB-MT. ”: [0104] ; “Performing admission control for the UEs and IAB nodes included in the handover request. ”: [0150]-[0151]); and
transmit, to the first DU (==target DU) based … the handover request …., a request for the admission (==HANDOVER REQUEST ACK ) of at least one resource in response to the at least one resource having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU (target CU sends target DU UE admission information : “a first handover command for at least one child node of the migrating node being handed over from the source CU and source DU to the target CU and target DU (==first DU )”: [0108]; “ HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE-like message includes the list of admitted and not admitted PDU session resources that are associated with the concerned UEs and IAB nodes and contains the HandoverCommand only for the MT of the first migrating IAB node, which directly or indirectly serves all the UEs and other IAB nodes included in the HANDOVER REQUEST. ”: [0152]-0153]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN in view PARK to include the above recited limitations as taught by TEYEB. The suggestion/motivation would be to support in New Radio (NR) reduces cross-link interference between backhaul and access links facilitating higher densification (TEYEB; [0002]).
Regarding claim 16, BYUN teaches a method of wireless communication at a first central unit (CU) of a wireless network (fig. 17), comprising:
receiving, from a first distributed unit (DU) associated with the first CU of the wireless network, an indication of one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports admission during an energy saving mode of the first DU or an operation below a full capacity of the first DU, wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU, wherein the at least one capability includes a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping,and whether the UE is capable of providing cross link interference (CLI) measurement and reporting;
receiving, from a second CU of the wireless network, a handover request to handover the UE from a second DU to the first DU, wherein the second DU is associated with the second CU; and transmitting, to the first DU based on the indication and the handover request and while the first DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, a request for the admission of at least one resource in response to the at least one resource having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated by the first DU. (Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, BYUN teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a distributed unit (DU) of a wireless network (see fig.10 gNB-DU), comprising:
a memory (“Referring to FIG. 5, a wireless device 100 may be a Central Unit (CU) in a wireless communication system. The CU may include a processor 102, a memory 104, and a transceiver 106. ”: [0109]); and
at least one processor communicatively connected to the memory, the at least one processor (“Referring to FIG. 5, a wireless device 100 may be a Central Unit (CU) in a wireless communication system. The CU may include a processor 102, a memory 104, and a transceiver 106. ”:[0109]), configured to:
transmit, to a first central unit (CU) of the wireless network (fig. 1-4, Fig. 10 : gNB-CU, also Fig. 17, gNB-CU), an indication of one or more types of resources for which the DU supports admission during an energy saving mode of the DU or an operation below a full capacity of the DU (see fig. 17 where gNB-CU receives a deactivation request (==an indication) from gNB-DU. Aforesaid ”deactivation request (==an indication) may indicate that the gNB-DU 1 wants to enter into energy saving mode”: [0247]; aforesaid “deactivation request may include the list of cell(s) which the gNB-DU 1 manages. The deactivation request may be included in the information which represents service status of a cell which the gNB-DU 1 manages.”: [0249]; Aforesaid “F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available).”: [0161] “The modification of the F1 UE context can be initiated by either gNB-CU or gNB-DU. The receiving node can accept or reject the modification. The F1 UE context management function also supports the release of the context previously established in the gNB-DU.”:[0162]); and
receive, from the first CU based on the indication,…….. a request for the admission of at least one resource having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated to the first CU (see fig. 17 element 1703, “when the gNB-CU accepts the deactivation request from the gNB-DU 1, the gNB-CU may transmit, to the gNB-DU 1, an existing message or a new message including the deactivation accept. The deactivation accept may indicate that the deactivation request from the gNB-DU 1 is permitted. ”: [0254]; “UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ” : [0161]; “F1 UE context management function also supports the release of the context previously established in the gNB-DU. The release of the context is triggered by the gNB-CU either directly or following a request received from the gNB-DU. The gNB-CU request the gNB-DU to release the UE Context when the UE enters RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE. ”: [0162]-[0170]).
While BYUN teaches “receive, from the first CU based on the indication,…….. a request for the admission of at least one resource having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated to the first CU”,
BYUN does not expressively teach:
wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU, wherein the at least one capability includes:
a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping, and
whether the UE is capable of providing cross link interference (CLI) measurement and reporting,
receive, from the first CU based on the indication and a handover request from a second CU and while DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, a request for the admission…. indicated by the first DU.
PARK, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU (“A base station may determine at least one power configuration parameter for a wireless device. The at least one power configuration parameter may be based on information received from the wireless device.”[abstract]; “ By communicating information, for example, an indication of a preference of the wireless device for one or more power saving configurations (and/or other wireless device information), from a wireless device to a base station (e.g., a base station DU (==first DU in claim) via a base station CU), advantages may be achieved for the wireless device (and/or for additional wireless devices that may communicate with the base station). ”:[301]),
wherein the at least one capability includes:
a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping ( “A wireless device may be configured to monitor a PDCCH on one or more beam pair links simultaneously, for example, depending on a capability of the wireless device”: “ In a multi-beam operation, a wireless device may perform an uplink beam sweeping to access a cell.”: [0245]-[0246]), and
(UE capability information include, inter alia, interference : ]0200]; “The base station DU 1602 determine and/or indicate that one or more wireless devices is to use a beam other than a certain beam if measurement results of the one or more wireless devices are similar to measurement results of the wireless device at a failure, for example, if the certain beam of a served cell of the base station DU 1602 experiences large interferences (e.g., interference above a threshold value) such as from neighboring cells or other technologies.”; [0328]; NOTE: UE capability information include, inter alia, interference measurement and reporting to Base Station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN to include the above recited limitations as taught by PARK. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve wireless communications without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency: (PARK; [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN to include the above recited limitations as taught by PARK. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve wireless communications without adversely increasing signaling overhead and/or decreasing spectral efficiency: (PARK; [0002]).
The combination for BYUN and PARK does not expressively disclose:
receive, from the first CU based on the indication and a handover request from a second CU and while DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, a request for the admission…. indicated by the first DU.
TEYEB, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
receive, from the first CU based on the indication and a handover request from a second CU and while DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, a request for the admission…. indicated by the first DU (target CU receives from source CU (==a second CU) a first handover command/request to migrate one child node (==UE) from source DU to target DU: : [0273]; “ a first handover command for at least one child node of the migrating node being handed over from the source CU (==second CU of the wireless Network ) and source DU to the target CU (==first Central Unit CU) and target DU” [0108]; “target CU uses the information to perform proper admission control. The target CU-CP responds to the HANDOVER REQUEST with a HANDOVER REQUEST ACK that indicates the list of admitted and not admitted PDU session resources (for each concerned UE/IAB node included in the handover request), which is essentially the list of the QoS flows associated with each UE/IAB-MT. ”: [0104] ; “Performing admission control for the UEs and IAB nodes included in the handover request. ”: [0150]-[0151]; (target CU sends target DU UE admission information : “a first handover command for at least one child node of the migrating node being handed over from the source CU and source DU to the target CU and target DU (==first DU )”: [0108]; “ HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE-like message includes the list of admitted and not admitted PDU session resources that are associated with the concerned UEs and IAB nodes and contains the HandoverCommand only for the MT of the first migrating IAB node, which directly or indirectly serves all the UEs and other IAB nodes included in the HANDOVER REQUEST. ”: [0152]-0153]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN in view PARK to include the above recited limitations as taught by TEYEB. The suggestion/motivation would be to support in New Radio (NR) reduces cross-link interference between backhaul and access links facilitating higher densification (TEYEB; [0002]).
Regarding claim 30, BYUN teaches A method of wireless communication at a distributed unit (DU) of a wireless network, comprising:
transmitting, to a first central unit (CU) of the wireless network, an indication of one or more types of resources for which the DU supports admission during an energy saving mode of the DU or an operation below a full capacity of the DU, wherein the one or more types of resources are associated with at least one capability of a user equipment (UE) to be served by the first DU, wherein the at least one capability includes a beam correspondence associated with beam sweeping and whether the UE is capable of providing cross link interference (CLI) measurement and reporting; and
receiving, from the first CU based on the indication and a handover request from a second CU and while the DU is operating under the energy saving mode or below the full capacity, a request for the admission of at least one resource having a type included in the one or more types of resources indicated to the first CU. (Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 17).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 2, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus further includes: a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein to receive the indication, the at least one processor configured to receive the indication via the transceiver (see fig. 10 where aforesaid gNB-CU is connected to gNB-DU using F1 interface “gNB-CU and gNB-DU are connected via an F1 interface. The gNB-CU terminates the F1 interface connected to the gNB-DU. The gNB-DU terminates the F1 interface connected to the gNB-CU. One gNB-DU is connected to only one gNB-CU ”: [0147]).
Regarding claim 3, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the DU to setup or modify a context for the UE (see “The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ”: [0160]; “the establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ”: [0160]-[1064]).
Regarding claim 4, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the first DU to setup or modify a traffic instance for the UE (“The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ”: [0161]-[0162]).
Regarding claim 5, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the DU to allocate a communication resource for the UE (“The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available).”: [0161]).
Regarding claim 6, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports the admission include a device type to be served by the DU (admission control criteria include resource for UE [0161]-0163]; UE can support resource a particular cell/resource : [0139]).
Regarding claim 8, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports the admission include a traffic instance type to be configured at the first DU (“The mapping between QoS flows and radio bearers is performed by gNB-CU and the granularity of bearer related management over F1 is radio bearer level. For NG-RAN, the gNB-CU provides an aggregated DRB QoS profile and QoS flow profile to the gNB-DU, and the gNB-DU either accepts the request or rejects it with appropriate cause value. To support packet duplication for intra-gNB-DU carrier aggregation (CA), one data radio bearer should be configured with two GPRS tunneling protocol (GTP)-U tunnels between gNB-CU and a gNB-DU. ”: [0163]-[-0164]).
Regarding claim 9, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the first DU supports the admission are associated with a condition on a quality of service (QoS) parameter for a traffic instance of the UE to be setup at the DU (“the mapping between QoS flows and radio bearers is performed by gNB-CU and the granularity of bearer related management over F1 is radio bearer level. For NG-RAN, the gNB-CU provides an aggregated DRB QoS profile and QoS flow profile to the gNB-DU, and the gNB-DU either accepts the request or rejects it with appropriate cause value. To support packet duplication for intra-gNB-DU carrier aggregation (CA), one data radio bearer should be configured with two GPRS tunneling protocol (GTP)-U tunnels between gNB-CU and a gNB-DU. ”: [0164]-[0170]).
Regarding claim 10, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, PARK teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one capability further includes a processing time associated with the UE for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and sending a corresponding hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (“A base station may send (e.g., transmit) DCI and/or control signaling via a PDCCH. The DCI may comprise a format of a plurality of formats. The DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS), request(s) for CSI (e.g., aperiodic CQI reports), request(s) for an SRS, uplink power control commands for one or more cells, one or more timing information (e.g., TB transmission/reception timing, HARQ feedback timing, etc.), and/or the like”: [0243]).
Regarding claim 11, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication is applicable to multiple UEs (see fig. 1: multiple UEs: [0162]-[063]).
Regarding claim 12, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TEYEB teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: forward the indication to the second CU ( “a method is performed by a target Central Unit (CU) during a handover of a migrating node from source CU and source Distributed Unit (DU) to the target CU and a target DU ”: [0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN in view PARK to include the above recited limitations as taught by TEYEB. The suggestion/motivation would be to support in New Radio (NR) reduces cross-link interference between backhaul and access links facilitating higher densification (TEYEB; [0002]).
Regarding claim 13, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, TEYEB teaches, The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the handover request includes a secondary node (SN) addition (handover request includes a second CU: [0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of BYUN in view PARK to include the above recited limitations as taught by TEYEB. The suggestion/motivation would be to support in New Radio (NR) reduces cross-link interference between backhaul and access links facilitating higher densification (TEYEB; [0002]).
Regarding claim 14, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: admit or reject the resource request based on the indication ( “The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ”: [0161]).
Regarding claim 15, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the first DU, a query for a list of resources in which the first DU is capable to admit; and receive, from the first DU, the indication based on the query (see fig. 16, 1603 fig. 17, 1703, [0163]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 18, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to operate in the energy saving mode or below the full capacity and to transmit the indication based on the operation in the energy saving mode or below the full capacity ((see fig. 17 where gNB-CU receives a deactivation request (==an indication) from gNB-DU. Aforesaid ”deactivation request (==an indication) may indicate that the gNB-DU 1 wants to enter into energy saving mode”: [0247]; aforesaid “deactivation request may include the list of cell(s) which the gNB-DU 1 manages. The deactivation request may be included in the information which represents service status of a cell which the gNB-DU 1 manages.”: [0249]; Aforesaid “F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available).”: [0161] “The modification of the F1 UE context can be initiated by either gNB-CU or gNB-DU. The receiving node can accept or reject the modification. The F1 UE context management function also supports the release of the context previously established in the gNB-DU.”:[0162])).
Regarding claim 19, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, TEYEB teaches The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the DU to setup or modify a context for the UE associated with the handover request ( “ he F1 UE context management function supports the establishment and modification of the necessary overall UE context.The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ”: [0159]-[0161]).
Regarding claim 20, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the DU to setup or modify a traffic instance for the UE (“The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available). ”: [0161]-[0162]).
Regarding claim 21, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the request for the admission of the at least one resource requests the DU to allocate a communication resource for the UE (“The establishment of the F1 UE context is initiated by the gNB-CU and accepted or rejected by the gNB-DU based on admission control criteria (e.g., resource not available).”: [0161] ).
Regarding claim 22, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the DU supports the admission include a device type to be served by the DU (admission control criteria include resource for UE [0161]-0163]; UE can support resource a particular cell/resource : [0139]).
Regarding claim 24, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the DU supports the admission include a traffic instance type to be configured at the DU (“The mapping between QoS flows and radio bearers is performed by gNB-CU and the granularity of bearer related management over F1 is radio bearer level. For NG-RAN, the gNB-CU provides an aggregated DRB QoS profile and QoS flow profile to the gNB-DU, and the gNB-DU either accepts the request or rejects it with appropriate cause value. To support packet duplication for intra-gNB-DU carrier aggregation (CA), one data radio bearer should be configured with two GPRS tunneling protocol (GTP)-U tunnels between gNB-CU and a gNB-DU. ”: [0163]-[-0164]).
Regarding claim 25, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more types of resources for which the DU supports the admission are associated with a condition on a quality of service (QoS) parameter for a traffic instance of the UE to be setup at the DU.
(“the mapping between QoS flows and radio bearers is performed by gNB-CU and the granularity of bearer related management over F1 is radio bearer level. For NG-RAN, the gNB-CU provides an aggregated DRB QoS profile and QoS flow profile to the gNB-DU, and the gNB-DU either accepts the request or rejects it with appropriate cause value. To support packet duplication for intra-gNB-DU carrier aggregation (CA), one data radio bearer should be configured with two GPRS tunneling protocol (GTP)-U tunnels between gNB-CU and a gNB-DU. ”: [0164]-[0170]).
Regarding claim 26, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 25 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the condition includes at least one of: a guaranteed flow bit rate below a bit rate threshold, or a packet delay budget above a delay budget threshold ([0164], [0124]).
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 28, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the indication is applicable to multiple user equipments (UEs) (see fig. 1: multiple UEs: [0162]-[063])..
Regarding claim 29, BYUN in view of PARK and TEYEB teaches the invention of claim 17 as set forth above. Further, BYUN teaches, The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the first CU, a query for a list of resources in which the first DU is capable to admit; and transmit, to the CU, the indication based on the query (see fig. 16, 1603 fig. 17, 1703, [0163]-[0165]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411