Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed on May 11, 2026. U.S. patent applications, foreign patents, and non-patent literature documents have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Xi et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0159966) held further in view of Kim et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0235425), herein referred to as “Kim”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Xi discloses: A method for determining a spatial domain transmission filter, which is applied to a terminal device, the method comprising: determining a spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting an uplink resource according to configuration information and a transmission state in case of spatial relationship information corresponding to the uplink resource not being configured by a network device
[0173] It may be possible that two or more TRPs do not share the same association between SRS resources and beams or use different SRS resource and beam pairs. In this configuration, the lead TRP sends the SRS-SpatialRelationInfo, which comprises the association of SRS resources with different beams. FIG. 14 is a table with examples of association of the SRS resource with spatial domain transmission filters for multiple TRPs. Spatial relation information for the SRS resource is given in FIG. 14. The spatialRelationInfo field in each SRS-Resource information element (IE) may comprise more than one beam information. Spatial info in the spatialRelationInfo field may be indicated or configured by TCI states. In this case, if more than one spatial relationship or more than 1 RS ID is indicated by a spatialRelationInfo field, the corresponding TCI state associated with the spatialRelationInfo field may include more than one spatial info or more than 1 RS ID.
Note: The filter is determined by the TCI state (per Applicant’s specification paragraph [0048]).
wherein the uplink resource comprises: a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource which is not configured with corresponding spatial relation information; or, the uplink resource comprises: a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource, which is not configured with corresponding spatial relation information
[0173] It may be possible that two or more TRPs do not share the same association between SRS resources and beams or use different SRS resource and beam pairs. In this configuration, the lead TRP sends the SRS-SpatialRelationInfo, which comprises the association of SRS resources with different beams. FIG. 14 is a table with examples of association of the SRS resource with spatial domain transmission filters for multiple TRPs. Spatial relation information for the SRS resource is given in FIG. 14. The spatialRelationInfo field in each SRS-Resource information element (IE) may comprise more than one beam information. Spatial info in the spatialRelationInfo field may be indicated or configured by TCI states. In this case, if more than one spatial relationship or more than 1 RS ID is indicated by a spatialRelationInfo field, the corresponding TCI state associated with the spatialRelationInfo field may include more than one spatial info or more than 1 RS ID.
wherein determining the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the uplink resource according to the configuration information and the transmission state comprises: when the terminal device is a terminal device with beam correspondence that relies on uplink beam sweeping, determining the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the uplink resource according to a path loss reference signal configured for the uplink resource by the network side, wherein the spatial transmission filter is the same as a spatial domain filter used for receiving the path loss reference signal.
[0109] SRS TX beam indication may be communicated by a SRS resource or by a DL RS. The DL RS may be a CSI-RS, synchronization signal blocks (SSB), or the like. FIG. 5 is a table with examples of spatial relations between a DL RS(s) and an UL SRS(s) TX beam. In certain configurations, an indicate or indication to a WTRU may be a command for the WTRU to perform some task, operation, procedure, or the like. In certain configurations, a received command may also be an indication.
[0110] The configuration of the spatial elation between a reference RS, which can be an SSB, a SS/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block, CSI-RS, SRS, or the like, and the target SRS may be indicated by a higher layer parameter. For instance, SRS-SpatialRelationInfo may be utilized. For details of SRS beam indication for UL BM, a similar or different message may be needed. Performing beam sweeping for U-1, U-2, U-3, or the like based on configured SRS-SpatialRelationInfo may also be desirable. A WTRU may determine a SRS beam indication for global or local TX beam sweeping, be configured for efficient SRS beam indication for UL BM with low latency, or the like.
Note: Per Applicant’s specification, the path loss reference signal may be a CSI or SSB (paragraph [0074].
Xi does not disclose the final limitation.
However, Kim discloses: when the terminal device is a terminal device with beam correspondence that does not rely on uplink beam sweeping, determining the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the uplink resource according to reception of a synchronization signal block corresponding to a Master Information Block, wherein the spatial domain transmission filter is the same as a spatial domain filter used for receiving the synchronization signal block.
[0189] Alternatively, the remaining parameters, excluding the frequency-axis resource allocation information and TCI state configuration information, among the parameters configured via RRC, may be configured to be always the same as the configuration of control region #0 configured by the MIB. In case that the UE is informed of the remaining parameters including a parameter that is different from the configuration of control region #0, the UE may determine that the RRC configuration has an error. In addition, the TCI state may be configured to be a reference signal set (SS/PBCH block index or CSI-RS resource index) including an SS/PBCH block index associated (association) with control region #0 configured by the MIB.
Note: Applicant’s specification paragraphs [0070]-[0071] specify the relationship between the filter and the SS/PBCH-MIB combination, which is demonstrated here.
Xi and Kim are considered to be analogous because they pertain to a wireless communications network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xi to include the concept of
determining the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the uplink resource according to reception of a synchronization signal block corresponding to a MIB, wherein the spatial domain transmission filter is the same as a spatial domain filter used for receiving the synchronization signal block as taught by Kim so as to potentially save signaling overhead.
Regarding Claim 10,
Xi discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the SRS resource comprises at least one of: an SRS resource supporting codebook transmission, an SRS resource supporting non-codebook transmission, an SRS resource supporting antenna switching, or an SRS resource supporting positioning.
[0152] FIG. 10 is a table with examples of TCI table based beam indication for multiple DL BWPs. In FIG. 10, a TCI state may comprise a RS set with multiple RS IDs for multiple BWPs. For example, TCI state 0 indicates CRI#0 and SSB#3 for BWP1 and BWP2, respectively. In this configuration, cross-carrier or cross-BWP beam indication may utilize a TCI state or table. When a WTRU receives one TCI field in a DCI, which beam is indicated to the WTRU for subsequent PDSCH reception may be based on the current active BWP of the WTRU. For example, if the WTRU receives a TCI field with value 1, the WTRU may apply beam CRI#4 if the WTRU's current active BWP is BWP2. When the WTRU switches active BWPs dynamically by DCI-based or timer-based switching, the corresponding beam used for PDSCH reception for the target BWP may change correspondingly.
Note: The RS set includes the SRS, as shown:[0098] In LTE, sounding reference signal (SRS) may be a reference signal (RS) transmitted by the WTRU in the UL direction for a network node, such as eNodeB, to estimate the UL channel quality over a wider bandwidth. The network node may use this information for UL frequency selective scheduling, UL timing estimation, or the like. Single SRS, periodic SRS, aperiodic SRS, or the like may be utilized. Single SRS and periodic SRS transmissions may be classified as trigger type 0 SRS transmissions that may be configured by higher layer, radio resource control (RRC), or the like signaling. Aperiodic SRS transmission may be classified as a trigger type 1 SRS transmission that may be configured by RRC but triggered by downlink control information (DCI). The network may configure the WTRU with a WTRU-specific SRS configuration. WTRU specific SRS configuration may provide time domain resources, subframe resources, frequency domain resources, or the like indicated with wide band SRS on the entire bandwidth of interest, narrow band SRS allowing the WTRU to do frequency hopping between transmissions, or the like.
Regarding Claim 11,
Xi discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink resource comprises: an aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource.
[0126] Additionally, this indication information may be communicated with dynamic signaling, a higher layer message, a RRC message, a layer 2 message, a MAC-CE, a L1 control message, a DCI, or the like. Dynamic signaling may be transmitted from a network device, gNB, TRP, or the like to a WTRU to activate one or a subset of the configured SRS set(s) for a WTRU to perform UL BM. For example, an aperiodic SRS resource set may be activated or triggered by DCI where flag information indicates if the WTRU transmits this SRS resource set with UL TX beam sweeping or a fixed UL TX beam(s). In certain configurations, dynamic signaling may also be dedicated to indicate when or if the WTRU performs UL TX beam sweeping.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Xi discloses: An apparatus for determining a spatial domain transmission filter, comprising: a processor, configured to determine a spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting an uplink resource according to configuration information and a transmission state in case of spatial relationship information corresponding to the uplink resource not being configured by a network device
[0173] It may be possible that two or more TRPs do not share the same association between SRS resources and beams or use different SRS resource and beam pairs. In this configuration, the lead TRP sends the SRS-SpatialRelationInfo, which comprises the association of SRS resources with different beams. FIG. 14 is a table with examples of association of the SRS resource with spatial domain transmission filters for multiple TRPs. Spatial relation information for the SRS resource is given in FIG. 14. The spatialRelationInfo field in each SRS-Resource information element (IE) may comprise more than one beam information. Spatial info in the spatialRelationInfo field may be indicated or configured by TCI states. In this case, if more than one spatial relationship or more than 1 RS ID is indicated by a spatialRelationInfo field, the corresponding TCI state associated with the spatialRelationInfo field may include more than one spatial info or more than 1 RS ID.
Note: The filter is determined by the TCI state (per Applicant’s specification paragraph [0048]).
wherein the uplink resource comprises: a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource which is not configured with corresponding spatial relation information; or, the uplink resource comprises: a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource, which is not configured with corresponding spatial relation information
[0173] It may be possible that two or more TRPs do not share the same association between SRS resources and beams or use different SRS resource and beam pairs. In this configuration, the lead TRP sends the SRS-SpatialRelationInfo, which comprises the association of SRS resources with different beams. FIG. 14 is a table with examples of association of the SRS resource with spatial domain transmission filters for multiple TRPs. Spatial relation information for the SRS resource is given in FIG. 14. The spatialRelationInfo field in each SRS-Resource information element (IE) may comprise more than one beam information. Spatial info in the spatialRelationInfo field may be indicated or configured by TCI states. In this case, if more than one spatial relationship or more than 1 RS ID is indicated by a spatialRelationInfo field, the corresponding TCI state associated with the spatialRelationInfo field may include more than one spatial info or more than 1 RS ID.
wherein determining the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the uplink resource according to the configuration information and the transmission state comprises: when the terminal device is a terminal device with beam correspondence that relies on uplink beam sweeping, determining the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the uplink resource according to a path loss reference signal configured for the uplink resource by the network side, wherein the spatial transmission filter is the same as a spatial domain filter used for receiving the path loss reference signal.
[0109] SRS TX beam indication may be communicated by a SRS resource or by a DL RS. The DL RS may be a CSI-RS, synchronization signal blocks (SSB), or the like. FIG. 5 is a table with examples of spatial relations between a DL RS(s) and an UL SRS(s) TX beam. In certain configurations, an indicate or indication to a WTRU may be a command for the WTRU to perform some task, operation, procedure, or the like. In certain configurations, a received command may also be an indication.
[0110] The configuration of the spatial elation between a reference RS, which can be an SSB, a SS/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block, CSI-RS, SRS, or the like, and the target SRS may be indicated by a higher layer parameter. For instance, SRS-SpatialRelationInfo may be utilized. For details of SRS beam indication for UL BM, a similar or different message may be needed. Performing beam sweeping for U-1, U-2, U-3, or the like based on configured SRS-SpatialRelationInfo may also be desirable. A WTRU may determine a SRS beam indication for global or local TX beam sweeping, be configured for efficient SRS beam indication for UL BM with low latency, or the like.
Note: Per Applicant’s specification, the path loss reference signal may be a CSI or SSB (paragraph [0074].
Xi does not disclose the final limitation.
However, Kim discloses: when the terminal device is a terminal device with beam correspondence that does not rely on uplink beam sweeping, determining the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the uplink resource according to reception of a synchronization signal block corresponding to a Master Information Block, wherein the spatial domain transmission filter is the same as a spatial domain filter used for receiving the synchronization signal block.
[0189] Alternatively, the remaining parameters, excluding the frequency-axis resource allocation information and TCI state configuration information, among the parameters configured via RRC, may be configured to be always the same as the configuration of control region #0 configured by the MIB. In case that the UE is informed of the remaining parameters including a parameter that is different from the configuration of control region #0, the UE may determine that the RRC configuration has an error. In addition, the TCI state may be configured to be a reference signal set (SS/PBCH block index or CSI-RS resource index) including an SS/PBCH block index associated (association) with control region #0 configured by the MIB.
Note: Applicant’s specification paragraphs [0070]-[0071] specify the relationship between the filter and the SS/PBCH-MIB combination, which is demonstrated here.
Xi and Kim are considered to be analogous because they pertain to a wireless communications network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xi to include the concept of
determining the spatial domain transmission filter for transmitting the uplink resource according to reception of a synchronization signal block corresponding to a MIB, wherein the spatial domain transmission filter is the same as a spatial domain filter used for receiving the synchronization signal block as taught by Kim so as to potentially save signaling overhead.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Xi in view of Kim, held further in view of John Wilson et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0356420), herein referred to as “John Wilson”.
Regarding Claim 9,
Xi in view of Kim does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 9.
However, John Wilson discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein transmission on the uplink resource is in a millimeter wave frequency band.
[0004] Some wireless communications systems (e.g., systems supporting millimeter wave (mmW) communications) may use beamforming in order to overcome the relatively high path losses associated with high carrier frequencies in these systems. Accordingly, one or both of a base station and a UE may utilize beamformed transmissions when communicating, including utilizing the beamformed transmission of control channels. Additionally, a single control channel may be associated with multiple TCI states. A control channel may be transmitted over multiple TCI states, including on multiple transmit beams. In some cases, the amount of resources (e.g., the number of resource elements) available for control channel transmissions may also differ per TCI state, introducing complications for encoding and decoding of control channel transmissions. As such, improved encoding and decoding techniques are desired which may enable more efficient control channel transmissions associated with multiple TCI states.
Xi in view Kim and John Wilson are considered to be analogous because they pertain to a wireless communications network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xi in view of Kim to include the concept of transmission over millimeter wave frequencies as taught by John Wilson so as to demonstrate full 5G capabilities.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411