Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first receiver configured to interface with a linear guide and a second receiver configured to interface with an element configured to contribute to moving the carriageless print head along the linear guide in claim 1. Examiner is interpreting an element as specified in claim 24 as a belt and a first receiver and a second receiver as 112 a and 112 b in figure 1A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/ 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 14-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over NPL Wim3rl: A water-cooled 3d Print head in view of Ohno (US 2017/0282297 A1).
Regarding claim 1, NPL discloses carriageless print head, for use in extrusion-based additive construction (see figure) comprising: a cold end comprising (see annotated figure below): a first receiver of a first type (see figure below) formed in the cold end, the first receiver configured to interface with a linear guide, and a second receiver formed in the cold end, the second receiver of a second type formed in the body of the cold end (see figure below), the second receiver configured to interface with an element configured to contribute to moving the carriageless print head along the linear guide, and a hot end configured to provide a melt zone, the hot end coupled with the cold end (see figure where the hot end and cold end are attached) (as for the configured language, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.)
The NPL further depicts the first receiver extending substantially linearly through the body from a first end of the body to a second end of the body, the second receiver configured to interface with an element configured to contribute to moving the carriageless print head along a linear guide (see annotated figure). If Applicant does not agree with this interpretation, also analogous art, Ohno (US2017/0282297 A1) depicts the first receiver extending substantially linearly through the body from a first end of the body to a second end of the body, the second receiver configured to interface with an element configured to contribute to moving the carriageless print head along a linear guide (see annotated figure below). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the first receiver extending substantially linearly through the body from a first end of the body to a second end of the body, the second receiver configured to interface with an element configured to contribute to moving the carriageless print head along a linear guide for the benefit of having a simple structure with good mobility [0005].
Regarding claim 12, NPL depicts the hot and cold end having a unibody construction (they are attached together).
Regarding claim 14, NPL depicts the second receiver being adjacent to and aligned with the first receiver (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 15, NPL depicts a top surface of the cold end comprises a first slot (where the blue washers attach) which extends downwardly toward a bottom surface of the cold end and is configured to receive a first material feed.
Regarding claim 16, NPL depicts wherein the second receiver extends substantially from a front end of the cold end to a rear end of the cold end, and the first receivers extends substantially from the front end to the rear end (NPL figures shows the receivers going from the tope surface to a bottom surface).
Regarding claim 17, NPL depicts the top surface further comprising a second slot(where the blue washers attach) which extends downwardly towards the bottom surface and is configured to receive a second material feed.
Regarding claim 20, NPL depicts wherein the cold end comprises a top surface and a bottom surface (see figures) , the top surface comprising :a third slot (in front of the blue washer) which extends downwardly towards the bottom surface and is configured to receive a cooling fluid, a fourth slot (in front of the blue washer) which extends downwardly towards the bottom surface and is configured to expel the cooling fluid, and the cold end further comprising a fluid channel having a perimeter, wherein the perimeter of the fluid channel is contained within the cold end (see figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Wim3rl: A water-cooled 3d Print head in view of Ohno (US 2017/0282297 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MacPhee et al (US 2004/0080064 A1) and Holldeorfer (US2018/0200955 A1).
Regarding claim 9, NPL is silent to a temperature sensor configured to monitor a temperature of the cold end. However, analogous print head art, MacPhee et al, discloses the sensors throughout the printer head [0049]. Additionally, MacPhee discloses computer system 130 monitors the relative temperature and pressure within barrel 114 via sensors 115 located throughout the extruder mechanism, as shown in FIG. 7. Using sensors 115, computer system 130 monitors and adjusts the speed, torque, and temperature of motor 110 as well as the temperatures within the barrel 114 using heater bands 117 [0030]. Figure 7 depicts the sensor 115 in the cold section near 110, 112 and 114i. Further, printer head, Holldeorfer discloses sensors near the active cooling unit in the print head [0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a temperature sensor all over the extruder, including the cold side, configured to monitor a temperature of the cold end, as taught by MacPhee et al and Holleorfer, into the print head taught by the combination of NPL to monitor the temperature throughout the extruder. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Further, MPEP 2144.4 states Shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975) The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious. It has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400.
Regarding claim 10, NPL is silent to a temperature sensor configured to monitor a temperature of a heat break connected to the hot and the cold end. However, analogous art, MacPhee et al, discloses computer system 130 monitors the relative temperature and pressure within barrel 114 via sensors 115 located throughout the extruder mechanism, as shown in FIG. 7. Using sensors 115, computer system 130 monitors and adjusts the speed, torque, and temperature of motor 110 as well as the temperatures within the barrel 114 using heater bands 117 [0030]. Figure 7 depicts the sensor 115 in the cold section near 110, 112 and 114i. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a temperature sensor configured to monitor a temperature of a heat break connected to the hot and the cold end, as taught by MacPhee et al, into the print head taught by NPL to monitor temperature throughout the extruder. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 11, MacPhee discloses multiple sensors (115) throughout the extruder to measure different temperatures [0030].
Regarding claim 13, NPL depicts the hot and cold end and the heat break having a unibody construction (they are attached together).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Wim3rl: A water-cooled 3d Print head in view of Ohno (US 2017/0282297 A1) as applied to claim 20 above and further in view of translated Jing (CN106239922A).
Regarding claim 21, NPL does not explicitly disclose wherein the fluid channel intersects with the third slot and the fourth slot, wherein the fluid channel extends from the third slot to the fourth slot. However, rearranging the third slot to the fourth slot is within the skillset of one ordinary skilled in the art. MPEP 2144.04 states Shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975) The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious. It has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400. Further, analogous art, Jing teaches wherein the fluid channel intersect with the third slot and the fourth slot, wherein the fluid channel extends from the third slot to the fourth slot [pg. 7 5th paragraph, figure 2 shows channels connecting the two 106s]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the fluid channel intersects with the third slot and the fourth slot, wherein the fluid channel extends from the third slot to the fourth slot since it have been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being NPL Wim3rl: A water-cooled 3d Print head in view of Ohno (US 2017/0282297 A1), as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Bloom et al (US20110077480 A1).
Regarding claim 22, NPL is silent to a fluid channel plug. However, Bloom, which is a fluid transfer system that teaches fluid channel plug to facilitate fluid transfer [0065] and prevent fluid flow inside the channel [0083]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have combined the fluid channel plug of Bloom with NPL’s fluid channel such that the plug is part of the fluid channel with a reasonable expectation of successful results because Bloom recognizes that the plug can facilitate fluid transfer [0065] and prevent fluid flow inside the channel [0083].
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being NPL Wim3rl: A water-cooled 3d Print head in view of Ohno (US 2017/0282297 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wolf (US2016/0236408 A1).
Regarding claim 24, NPL does not explicitly disclose the element is a belt. However, it is conventionally well known for printer heads to have belts. Analogous printer head art, Wolf, discloses the use of belts to move printer heads since they weigh less and reduce stretching forces and tearing in the extrusion assembly [0059]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a belt since they weigh less and reduce stretching forces and tearing in the extrusion assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in light of newly cited reference Ohno (US 2017/0282297 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754